DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to Application No.:19/201,319 filed on 05/07/2025. (Foreign Priority Date: 05/11/2024).
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 6 recites “determining…”. However, it is unclear to the examiner exactly how this determination is carried out and executed. Therefore this claim is rendered as indefinite. The examiner suggests incorporating language to further particularly point out and distinctly claim how the determination is made.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 18-20 attempts to depend from a claim directed to a different statutory category. Claims 18 and 20 are problematic since independent claim 9 is a method claim, not an electronic device claim and not a non-transitory computer storage medium claim. Additionally, regarding claim 19, independent claim 1 is a method claim and not a non-transitory computer storage medium claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wedig, US 20210118212.
Claim 1:
Wedig discloses a pose control method for extended reality, performed by a computer device in communication with an extended reality device (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0037-0039), wherein the method comprises:
receiving pose data of a user and a pose event corresponding to the pose data (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045) sent by the extended reality device (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0037-0039);
updating a virtual object in an extended reality scene based on the pose data (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0037-0039; 0043-0045; 0089; 0095; 0107; 0109);
and causing a target application running on the computer device (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045) to perform a response corresponding to the pose event (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045), wherein real-time images of the target application are transmitted by the computer device to the extended reality device (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045).
Claim 2:
Wedig discloses wherein updating the virtual object in the extended reality scene based on the pose data (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0037-0039; 0043-0045; 0089; 0095; 0107; 0109) comprises: transforming the pose data into target pose data (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0037-0039; 0043-0045; 0089; 0095; 0107; 0109), wherein the target pose data comprises position data and attitude data of joints at different hierarchical levels (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0095; 0119-0123), the position data of a child joint is data of a position of the child joint relative to a parent joint of the child joint (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0119-0120; 0122-0125), and the attitude data of the child joint is data of an attitude of the child joint relative to the parent joint of the child joint (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0119-0120; 0122-0125); and updating the virtual object based on the target pose data (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0119-0120; 0122-0125).
Claim 3:
Wedig discloses wherein in response to the attitude data corresponding to a hand of the user, the target pose data (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0067; 0070; 0119-0120; 0122-0125) further comprises auxiliary position data and auxiliary attitude data corresponding to each finger (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0067; 0070; 0119-0120; 0122-0125), wherein the auxiliary position data comprises data of a position of a terminal joint of the finger relative to a root joint of the hand (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0067; 0070; 0119-0120; 0122-0125), and the auxiliary attitude data comprises data of an attitude of the terminal joint of the finger relative to the root joint of the hand (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0067; 0070; 0119-0120; 0122-0125).
Claim 4:
Wedig discloses wherein before transforming the pose data into the target pose data (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045), the method further comprises: determining whether there is a registered interactor currently (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0024-0026; 0043-0045); and performing step of transforming the pose data into the target pose data (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045) in response to determining that there is no registered interactor currently or in response to determining that there is no data input to the registered interactor within a recent preset time period (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0024-0026; 0043-0045).
Claim 5:
Wedig discloses in response to a detection frequency of the pose data being lower than a data update frequency required to update the virtual object, performing interpolation processing on the pose data to generate pose data whose frequency is consistent with the data update frequency (See Wedig Paragraph 0086).
Claim 6:
Wedig discloses wherein causing the target application running on the computer device (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045) to perform the response corresponding to the pose event comprises: determining an interactor event corresponding to the pose event (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0024-0026; 0043-0045), and causing the target application to perform a response corresponding to the interactor event (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0024-0026; 0043-0045).
Claim 7:
Wedig discloses wherein causing the target application running on the computer device (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045) to perform the response corresponding to the pose event comprises: delivering the pose event to the target application in response to there being no interactor event corresponding to the pose event (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045).
Claim 8:
Wedig discloses wherein the pose data and the pose event (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045) are data that is subjected to serialization processing (See Wedig Paragraphs 0150; 0178-0179) by the extended reality device (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045).
Claim 9:
Wedig discloses pose control method for extended reality, performed by an extended reality device in communication with a computer device (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0037-0039), wherein the method comprises:
acquiring pose data detected by a sensor (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0039-0045);
determining a pose event based on the pose data (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045);
performing serialization processing on the pose data and the pose event (See Wedig Paragraphs 0150; 0178-0179);
and transmitting the pose data and the pose event (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045) that are subjected to the serialization processing to the computer device (See Wedig Paragraphs 0150; 0178-0179), to cause the computer device to update a virtual object in an extended reality scene based on the pose data and cause a target application running on the computer device (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045) to perform a response corresponding to the pose data (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045), wherein real-time images of the target application are transmitted by the computer device to the extended reality device (See Wedig Figure 3; Paragraphs 0043-0045).
Claim 10:
Wedig discloses in response to a detection frequency of the pose data being lower than data update frequency required to update the virtual object (See Wedig Paragraph 0086), performing interpolation processing on the pose data to generate pose data whose frequency is consistent with the data update frequency (See Wedig Paragraph 0086).
Claims 11-17:
Claims 11-17 are rejected on the same basis as claims 1-7.
Claim 18:
Wedig discloses an electronic device, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor; wherein the at least one memory is configured to store program codes, and the at least one processor is configured to invoke the program codes stored in the at least one memory to cause the electronic device to perform the method according to claim 9 (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0037-0039).
Claim 19:
Wedig discloses non-transitory computer storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer storage medium stores program codes, the program codes, when executed by a computer device, cause the computer device to perform the method according to claim 1 (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0037-0039; 0057).
Claim 20:
Wedig discloses non-transitory computer storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer storage medium stores program codes, the program codes, when executed by a computer device, cause the computer device to perform the method according to claim 9 (See Wedig Abstract; Figure 3; Paragraphs 0037-0039; 0057).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9927870 discloses a virtual reality system that uses gestures to obtain commands from a user.
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 September 14, 2026