Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2026 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Objections
The objections to the claims 1, 3, 6-14, and 17 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, 6-14, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroder U.S. Patent Publication Number US20040196775A1(hereinafter Schroder) in view of Hans-Jürgen 2000 Hamburg Tietze German Patent Publication DE3002013A1(hereinafter Tietze), and further in view of Brock U.S. Patent Number US3156472A(hereinafter Brock). The rejection is based on the English translation of DE3002013A1 provided in DE3002013A1_ENG. Pdf (Google machine translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Schroder discloses a device for mounting a tone arm (para. [0003.] i.e., ...pick-up arm and the turntable it is mounted on.), in particular a tone arm of a record player (Fig. 1 i.e., pick-up arm tube 21; para. [0029] i.e., pick-up arm tube 21; para. [0001] i.e., replay of records; para. [0003] i.e., tonearm-cartridge resonance ), comprising: - a first component (Fig. 1 i.e., "lower permanent magnet 14" and "setting 20"; para. [0031] i.e., The lower permanent magnet 14 is held by/set into the aluminum setting 20... ); and - a tone arm holding body (Fig. 1 i.e., "arm chassis 15 a" and "arm chassis 15 b"; para. [0030] i.e., ...firmly attached to the lower extension of the pick-up arm chassis 15 b...) which is mounted on a bearing apparatus (Fig. 1 i.e., torsion element 10 ; para. [0029] i.e., torsion element 10) so as to be rotatable about a first axis (para. [0012] i.e., a torsion element ... is running congruent to the vertical axis of rotation) and pivotable relative to the first component about a second axis (para. [0012] i.e., ...through the horizontal pivot inside the receiving element of the arm tube... ), wherein a first magnetic means (Fig. 1 i.e., lower permanent magnet 14) is arranged or formed on the tone arm holding body (Fig. 1 i.e., "14" and "15 b"; para. [0030] i.e., the permanent magnet 14, firmly attached to the lower extension of the pick-up arm chassis 15 b. ) and a second magnetic means (Fig. 1 i.e., permanent magnet 13; para. [0030] i.e., permanent magnet 13 ) is arranged or formed on the first component (Fig. 1; "14" and "20"), wherein the first magnetic means and the second magnetic means interact with one another via a magnetic force (para. [0007] i.e., … repelling force in relation to the field generated by the two permanent magnets.) but remains silent as to wherein the bearing apparatus comprises a single-point bearing having a contact point on a part of the tone arm holding body and wherein the tone arm holding body has a receiving space in which a component of the first component is received, the receiving space being delimited by a wall portion of the tone arm holding body, and the wall portion being arranged at least in portions in a receiving recess of the first component.
In an analogous art, Tietze teaches the bearing apparatus comprises a single-point bearing (Fig. 1 i.e., 4b; para. [0055] i.e., point bearings 4b ) having a contact point on a part of the tone arm holding body (Fig. 1, the end of point bearing 4b, which is supported by the tone arm carrier 5a; para. [0055] i.e., point bearings 4b), the tone arm holding body has a receiving space (Fig. 1, the inner space of the hollow vertical column 14; para. [0003] i.e., a hollow vertical column (14) ) in which a component of the first component is received (Fig. 1 i.e., 51" and "4a,b,c" ; para. [0055] i.e., tonearm carrier 5a mounted by means of ball bearings 4a or point bearings 4b or cutting bearings 4c), and the receiving space being delimited by a wall portion of the tone arm holding body (Fig. 1 , outer wall of 14; para. [0003] i.e., a hollow vertical column (14) ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the point bearing feature, as taught by Tietze, into a tone arm in order to provide stable support for the tone arm while reducing friction during movement (Tietze, para. 52-53).
In an analogous art, Brock teaches the wall portion being arranged at least in portions in a receiving recess of the first component (Fig. 1 i.e., 7; Col. 3 lines 17-40 i.e., tone arm body 7 ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the receiving recess configuration, as taught by Brock, into a tone arm in order to fit snugly about bearing member when the tone arm elements are fully assembled (Brock, Col. 3 lines 17-40).
Regarding Claim 2, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above. Schroder further teaches the device wherein the first component is arranged below the tone arm holding body (Fig. 1 "21", "14", and "20"; The lower permanent magnet 14 and setting 20 are arranged below the pick-up arm tube 21. ).
Regarding Claim 3, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above. Schroder further teaches the device wherein the first component is formed at least in portions as the second magnetic means (para. [0031] i.e., The lower permanent magnet 14 is held by/set into the aluminum setting 20... ).
Regarding Claim 4, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the first component has a receiving recess into which the tone arm holding body can be received at least in portions.
In an analogous art, Brock teaches a tonearm device wherein the first component has a receiving recess into which the tone arm holding body can be received at least in portions (Fig. 1 i.e., 7; Col. 3 lines 17-40 i.e., tone arm body 7 ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the receiving recess configuration, as taught by Brock, into a tone arm in order to fit snugly about bearing member when the tone arm elements are fully assembled (Brock, Col. 3 lines 17-40).
Regarding Claim 5, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 4 as discussed above but remains silent as to the receiving recess is designed as a ring groove.
In an analogous art, Brock teaches (Fig. 1 i.e., 10; Col. 3 lines 17-40 i.e., tone arm body 7; Col. 2 lines 25-30 i.e., circular passage 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the receiving recess configuration, as taught by Brock, into a tone arm in order to fit snugly about bearing member when the tone arm elements are fully assembled (Brock, Col. 3 lines 17-40).
Regarding Claim 6, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above. Schroder further teaches the device wherein the first component is designed as a circular ring-shaped body (Fig. 2 i.e., 20; The element 20 is a ring-shaped body.).
Regarding Claim 7, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above. Schroder further teaches the device wherein the first component is arranged or formed immovably or rigidly with the bearing apparatus (para. [0030] i.e.,...torsion element 10 is centered, free of play/slack, by the lower, drilled(hole 22) permanent magnet, fixed/held by a knot 23, or glued in. ).
Regarding Claim 12, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the tone arm holding body comprises a receiving space for receiving a component of the bearing apparatus, wherein the receiving space is delimited by a wall portion of the tone arm holding body and the first magnetic means is arranged or formed at least in portions, on the wall portion.
In an analogous art, Tietze teaches the tone arm holding body comprises a receiving space (Fig. 1, the inner space of the hollow vertical column 14; para. [0003] i.e., a hollow vertical column (14) ) for receiving a component of the bearing apparatus (Fig. 1 i.e., 51" and "4a,b,c" ; para. [0055] i.e., tonearm carrier 5a mounted by means of ball bearings 4a or point bearings 4b or cutting bearings 4c), wherein the receiving space is delimited by a wall portion of the tone arm holding body (Fig. 1 , outer wall of 14; para. [0003] i.e., a hollow vertical column (14) ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the receiving space configuration, as taught by Tietze, into a tone arm, in order to provide stable support for the tone arm while reducing friction during movement (Tietze, para. 52-53).
In an analogous art, Brock teaches the first magnetic means is arranged or formed at least in portions, on the wall portion (Fig. 1 i.e., 7; Col. 3 lines 17-40 i.e., tone arm body 7 ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the components’ positional configuration, as taught by Brock, into a tone arm in order to fit snugly about bearing member when the tone arm elements are fully assembled (Brock, Col. 3 lines 17-40).
Regarding Claim 14, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above. Schroder further teaches the device wherein the first magnetic means and the second magnetic means each comprise at least two magnetic elements designed as permanent magnets(para. [0030] i.e., permanent magnet 13, ..., and the permanent magnet 14).
Regarding Claim 15, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above. Schroder further teaches the device wherein the first axis is a vertical axis (para. [0029] i.e., vertical axis of rotation the pick-up arm).
Regarding Claim 16, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above. Schroder further teaches the device wherein the second axis is a horizontal axis (para. [0012] i.e., through the horizontal pivot ).
Regarding Claim 17, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above. Schroder further teaches a method for mounting the tone arm of the record player, by means of the device with the method steps: - providing the first component (Fig. 1 i.e., "lower permanent magnet 14" and "setting 20"; para. [0031] i.e., The lower permanent magnet 14 is held by/set into the aluminum setting 20... ), wherein the second magnetic means (Fig. 1 i.e., permanent magnet 13; para. [0030] i.e., permanent magnet 13 ) is arranged or formed on the first component (Fig. 1; "14" and "20"); - providing the tone arm holding body (Fig. 1 i.e., "arm chassis 15 a" and "arm chassis 15 b"; para. [0030] i.e., ...firmly attached to the lower extension of the pick-up arm chassis 15 b...), wherein the first magnetic means (Fig. 1 i.e., lower permanent magnet 14) is arranged or formed on the tone arm holding body (Fig. 1 i.e., "14" and "15 b"; para. [0030] i.e., the permanent magnet 14, firmly attached to the lower extension of the pick-up arm chassis 15 b. ); and - arranging the tone arm holding body in such a way that the tone arm holding body is mounted on the bearing apparatus (Fig. 1 i.e., torsion element 10 ; para. [0029] i.e., torsion element 10) and that the first magnetic means and the second magnetic means interact with one another via a magnetic force (para. [0007] i.e., … repelling force in relation to the field generated by the two permanent magnets.).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroder in view of Tietze and Brock as applied to claims 1-7, 12, and 14-17, and further in view Tan U. S. Patent Publication Number US20250140282A1(hereinafter Tan).
Regarding Claim 8, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the first magnetic means and the second magnetic means each comprise at least two magnetic elements.
In an analogous art, Tan teaches a tonearm device wherein the first magnetic means and the second magnetic means each comprise at least two magnetic elements (Fig. 3 i.e., cylindrical magnets 124; para. [0035] i.e., the pair of cylindrical magnets 124 are neodymium magnets).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the two magnetic elements of Tan into the tone arm device in order to provide a strong magnetic attraction configured to anchor the arm wand (para. 35).
Regarding Claim 9, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to at least a first and a second magnetic element of the first magnetic means or at least a first and a second magnetic element of the second magnetic means are arranged or designed symmetrically to one another.
In an analogous art, Tan teaches a tonearm device wherein at least a first and a second magnetic element of the first magnetic means (Fig. 3 i.e., cylindrical magnets 124; para. [0035] i.e., the pair of cylindrical magnets 124 are neodymium magnets) or at least a first and a second magnetic element of the second magnetic means are arranged or designed symmetrically to one another(Fig. 3 i.e., 124; Fig. 3 shows that the cylindrical magnets 124 are symmetrically arranged.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the symmetrical arrangement of magnets of Tan into the tone arm device in order to provide a strong magnetic attraction configured to anchor the arm wand (para. 35).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroder in view of Tietze and Brock as applied to claims 1-7, 12, and 14-17, and further in view Ridler et al. U. S. Patent Number US4200828A (hereinafter Ridler).
Regarding Claim 10, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the first magnetic means and the second magnetic means each comprise at least one, magnetic element, wherein the at least one magnetic element has an elongated shape with a longitudinal axis, and wherein the longitudinal axis includes an angle α between 5° and 175°, with the first axis.
In an analogous art, Ridler teaches the moment of the compound magnet part depends on the angle (θ and φ) allowing the stylus to rest in a record groove during the playing of a record with a required amount of pressure (Col. 2 lines. 32-68 i.e., angle).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the reference, would also have recognized the desirability of improved tone arm device. Ridler teaches adjusting the angle is one of a finite number known to be useful for a magnetic interaction. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the angle adjustment of Ridler in an attempt to provide an improved magnetic interaction, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because the angle variation as claimed has the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to make the angle as claimed.
Regarding Claim 11, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the first magnetic means and the second magnetic means each comprise at least one, magnetic element, wherein the at least one magnetic element has an elongated shape with a longitudinal axis, and wherein the longitudinal axis is aligned at an angle β to a horizontal line and the angle β is between 1.5° and 45°.
In an analogous art, Ridler teaches the moment of the compound magnet part depends on the angle (θ and φ) allowing the stylus to rest in a record groove during the playing of a record with a required amount of pressure (Col. 2 lines. 32-68 i.e., angle).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the reference, would also have recognized the desirability of improved tone arm device. Ridler teaches adjusting the angle is one of a finite number known to be useful for a magnetic interaction. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the angle adjustment of Ridler in an attempt to provide an improved magnetic interaction, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because the angle variation as claimed has the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to make the angle as claimed. Additionally, the angles α is defined with respect to the longitudinal axis, while the angle β is defined with respect to the horizontal line. Therefore, applying the value of β would likewise have been obvious.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroder in view of Tietze, and further in view of Brock.
Regarding Claim 18, Schroder teaches a device for mounting a tone arm (para. [0003.] i.e., ...pick-up arm and the turntable it is mounted on.) of a record player(Fig. 1 i.e., pick-up arm tube 21; para. [0029] i.e., pick-up arm tube 21; para. [0001] i.e., replay of records; para. [0003] i.e., tonearm-cartridge resonance ), comprising: - a first component (Fig. 1 i.e., "lower permanent magnet 14" and "setting 20"; para. [0031] i.e., The lower permanent magnet 14 is held by/set into the aluminum setting 20... ), and - a tone arm holding body (Fig. 1 i.e., "arm chassis 15 a" and "arm chassis 15 b"; para. [0030] i.e., ...firmly attached to the lower extension of the pick-up arm chassis 15 b...) which is mounted on a bearing apparatus (Fig. 1 i.e., torsion element 10 ; para. [0029] i.e., torsion element 10) so as to be rotatable about a first axis (para. [0012] i.e., a torsion element ... is running congruent to the vertical axis of rotation) and pivotable relative to the first component about a second axis (para. [0012] i.e., ...through the horizontal pivot inside the receiving element of the arm tube... ) but remains silent as to the bearing apparatus comprises a central single-point bearing relative to the first component having a contact point on a part of the tone arm holding body, the first component has a receiving recess into which at least a portion of the tone arm holding body is received.
In an analogous art, Tietze teaches the bearing apparatus comprises a central single-point bearing relative to the first component (Fig. 1 i.e., be; para. [0055] i.e., point bearings by ) having a contact point on a part of the tone arm holding body (Fig. 1, the end of point bearing lb., which is supported by the tone arm carrier a; para. [0055] i.e., point bearings be).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the point bearing feature, as taught by Tietze, into a tone arm in order to provide stable support for the tone arm while reducing friction during movement (Tietze, para. 52-53).
In an analogous art, Brock teaches the first component has a receiving recess into which at least a portion of the tone arm holding body is received (Fig. 1 i.e., 7; Col. 3 lines 17-40 i.e., tone arm body 7 ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the receiving recess configuration, as taught by Brock, into a tone arm in order to fit snugly about bearing member when the tone arm elements are fully assembled (Brock, Col. 3 lines 17-40).
Schroder further teaches a first magnetic means (Fig. 1 i.e., lower permanent magnet 14) is arranged or formed on the tone arm holding body (Fig. 1 i.e., "14" and "15 b"; para. [0030] i.e., the permanent magnet 14, firmly attached to the lower extension of the pick-up arm chassis 15 b. ) and a second magnetic means (Fig. 1 i.e., permanent magnet 13; para. [0030] i.e., permanent magnet 13 ) is arranged or formed on the first component (Fig. 1; "14" and "20"), wherein the first magnetic means and the second magnetic means interact with one another via a magnetic force (para. [0007] i.e., … repelling force in relation to the field generated by the two permanent magnets.).
Regarding Claim 19, Schroder as modified by Tietze and Brock teaches the device of claim 18 as discussed above but remains silent as to the central single-point bearing comprises a bearing needle that comes into a point contact in a bearing needle receptacle.
In an analogous art, Tietze teaches the central single-point bearing comprises a bearing needle (Fig. 1, i.e., a; para. [0056] i.e., Tension tendon Sa is also there firmly connected ...) that comes into a point contact in a bearing needle receptacle (Fig. 1, the upper portion of Sa ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the point bearing feature, as taught by Tietze, into a tone arm in order to provide stable support for the tone arm while reducing friction during movement (Tietze, para. 52-53).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 14-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688