DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 101-103, 107, 111-113, and 117 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wickenkamp (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0029057).
Regarding claim 101, Wickenkamp discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising determining, in relation to an account associated with a content source, a first progress point at which a first user previously stopped consuming a content item provided by the content source, and a second progress point at which a second user previously stopped consuming the content item provided by the content source (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0094] – Fig. 6 shows an illustrative media progress bar 600 – media progress bar 600 may comprise timeline 602, a first amount of the media asset duration 604 comprising a first start time 606 and first stop time 608, a second amount of the media asset duration 610 comprising a second start time 612 and a second stop time 614, an overlap time period 616, and a critical portion indicator 618; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); identifying first information associated with the first progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); identifying second information associated with the second progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); receiving, from a device, a request to access the content source (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0099] – for example, one or more of the first start time 606, second start time 612, first stop time 608 and/or the second stop time 614 may update and move across the timeline 602 in real-time as users are watching a media asset – in some embodiments, one or more users may partially consume a media asset, select pause or stop, and resume watching the media asset at a later time – when the partially-consumed media asset is selected to resume consumption, the media asset may begin playback at the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed); and providing, for simultaneous display at the device: a title of the content item (Figs. 6 and 8 – media assets; paragraph [0094] – Fig. 6 shows an illustrative media progress bar 600 – media progress bar 600 may comprise timeline 602, a first amount of the media asset duration 604 comprising a first start time 606 and first stop time 608, a second amount of the media asset duration 610 comprising a second start time 612 and a second stop time 614, an overlap time period 616, and a critical portion indicator 618; paragraph [0103] – Fig. 8 shows an illustrative screen 800 for providing group asset recommendations – group assets screen 802 includes a list of recommended assets 804, asset drop-down button 805, progress bars 806, critical portion indicator 807, available source indicator 808, user overlap indicator 810, furthest watched indicator 812, genre indicator 814, and key 816; paragraph [0104] – the list of assets 804 may be a list of assets stored on the user’s DVR with associated progress bars – in this manner, a user or group of users may browse the contents of the user’s DVR and quickly determine assets which some or all of the members of the group have previously seen); a first option associated with the first information, wherein the first option is selectable to resume the content item from the first progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); and a second option associated with the second information, wherein the second option is selectable to resume the content item from the second progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); and based on receiving selection of the first option, providing, for output at the device, the content item from the first progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0099] – for example, one or more of the first start time 606, second start time 612, first stop time 608 and/or the second stop time 614 may update and move across the timeline 602 in real-time as users are watching a media asset – in some embodiments, one or more users may partially consume a media asset, select pause or stop, and resume watching the media asset at a later time – when the partially-consumed media asset is selected to resume consumption, the media asset may begin playback at the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed; in the example shown in Fig. 6, the user can restart the program from any time, but the recommended start time based on the both of the user’s consumption would be the first stop time 608 since it’s the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed).
Regarding claim 102, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 101 including that wherein an option to restart the content item from a beginning of the content item is simultaneously provided for display with the first option and the second option (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0099] – for example, one or more of the first start time 606, second start time 612, first stop time 608 and/or the second stop time 614 may update and move across the timeline 602 in real-time as users are watching a media asset – in some embodiments, one or more users may partially consume a media asset, select pause or stop, and resume watching the media asset at a later time – when the partially-consumed media asset is selected to resume consumption, the media asset may begin playback at the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed; in the example shown in Fig. 6, the user can restart the program from any time they desire including the beginning, but the recommended start time based on the both of the user’s consumption would be the first stop time 608 since it’s the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed – all of the viewing information available though is given to the viewer to allow them to make the best decision for them).
Regarding claim 103, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 101 including that wherein: the first information comprises a first image associated with the first progress point (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); and the second information comprises a second image associated with the second progress point (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); and the providing, for simultaneous display at the device (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0094] – Fig. 6 shows an illustrative media progress bar 600 – media progress bar 600 may comprise timeline 602, a first amount of the media asset duration 604 comprising a first start time 606 and first stop time 608, a second amount of the media asset duration 610 comprising a second start time 612 and a second stop time 614, an overlap time period 616, and a critical portion indicator 618), further comprises: providing for display the first image in association with the first option (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); and providing for display the second image in association with the second option (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator).
Regarding claim 107, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 101 including that wherein: the first information comprises an indication of a first timestamp of the first progress point within a duration of the content item (Figs. 6 and 8 – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); the second information comprises an indication of a second timestamp of the second progress point within the duration the content item (Figs. 6 and 8 – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asse - t duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); and the providing, for simultaneous display at the device (Figs. 6 and 8 – media assets – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0094] – Fig. 6 shows an illustrative media progress bar 600 – media progress bar 600 may comprise timeline 602, a first amount of the media asset duration 604 comprising a first start time 606 and first stop time 608, a second amount of the media asset duration 610 comprising a second start time 612 and a second stop time 614, an overlap time period 616, and a critical portion indicator 618; paragraph [0103] – Fig. 8 shows an illustrative screen 800 for providing group asset recommendations – group assets screen 802 includes a list of recommended assets 804, asset drop-down button 805, progress bars 806, critical portion indicator 807, available source indicator 808, user overlap indicator 810, furthest watched indicator 812, genre indicator 814, and key 816; paragraph [0104] – the list of assets 804 may be a list of assets stored on the user’s DVR with associated progress bars – in this manner, a user or group of users may browse the contents of the user’s DVR and quickly determine assets which some or all of the members of the group have previously seen), further comprises: providing for display the first timestamp in association with the first option (Figs. 6 and 8 – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); and providing for display the second timestamp in association with the second option (Figs. 6 and 8 – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator).
Regarding claim 111, Wickenkamp discloses a system, comprising memory configured to store a first progress point associated with a content item and a second progress point associated with the content item in relation to an account with a content source (Fig. 3 – memory; paragraphs [0052]-[0059]); control circuitry configured to: determine, in relation to the account associated with a content source, the first progress point at which a first user previously stopped consuming the content item provided by the content source, and a second progress point at which the second user previously stopped consuming the content item provided by the content source (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0094] – Fig. 6 shows an illustrative media progress bar 600 – media progress bar 600 may comprise timeline 602, a first amount of the media asset duration 604 comprising a first start time 606 and first stop time 608, a second amount of the media asset duration 610 comprising a second start time 612 and a second stop time 614, an overlap time period 616, and a critical portion indicator 618; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); identify first information associated with the first progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); identify second information associated with the second progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); receive, from a device, a request to access the content source (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0099] – for example, one or more of the first start time 606, second start time 612, first stop time 608 and/or the second stop time 614 may update and move across the timeline 602 in real-time as users are watching a media asset – in some embodiments, one or more users may partially consume a media asset, select pause or stop, and resume watching the media asset at a later time – when the partially-consumed media asset is selected to resume consumption, the media asset may begin playback at the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed); and provide, for simultaneous display at the device: a title of the content item (Figs. 6 and 8 – media assets; paragraph [0094] – Fig. 6 shows an illustrative media progress bar 600 – media progress bar 600 may comprise timeline 602, a first amount of the media asset duration 604 comprising a first start time 606 and first stop time 608, a second amount of the media asset duration 610 comprising a second start time 612 and a second stop time 614, an overlap time period 616, and a critical portion indicator 618; paragraph [0103] – Fig. 8 shows an illustrative screen 800 for providing group asset recommendations – group assets screen 802 includes a list of recommended assets 804, asset drop-down button 805, progress bars 806, critical portion indicator 807, available source indicator 808, user overlap indicator 810, furthest watched indicator 812, genre indicator 814, and key 816; paragraph [0104] – the list of assets 804 may be a list of assets stored on the user’s DVR with associated progress bars – in this manner, a user or group of users may browse the contents of the user’s DVR and quickly determine assets which some or all of the members of the group have previously seen); a first option associated with the first information, wherein the first option is selectable to resume the content item from the first progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); and a second option associated with the second information, wherein the second option is selectable to resume the content item from the second progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); and based on receiving selection of the first option, provide, for output at the device, the content item from the first progress point (Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0099] – for example, one or more of the first start time 606, second start time 612, first stop time 608 and/or the second stop time 614 may update and move across the timeline 602 in real-time as users are watching a media asset – in some embodiments, one or more users may partially consume a media asset, select pause or stop, and resume watching the media asset at a later time – when the partially-consumed media asset is selected to resume consumption, the media asset may begin playback at the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed; in the example shown in Fig. 6, the user can restart the program from any time, but the recommended start time based on the both of the user’s consumption would be the first stop time 608 since it’s the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed).
Regarding claim 112, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 111 including that wherein an option to restart the content item from a beginning of the content item is simultaneously provided for display with the first option and the second option (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0099] – for example, one or more of the first start time 606, second start time 612, first stop time 608 and/or the second stop time 614 may update and move across the timeline 602 in real-time as users are watching a media asset – in some embodiments, one or more users may partially consume a media asset, select pause or stop, and resume watching the media asset at a later time – when the partially-consumed media asset is selected to resume consumption, the media asset may begin playback at the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed; in the example shown in Fig. 6, the user can restart the program from any time they desire including the beginning, but the recommended start time based on the both of the user’s consumption would be the first stop time 608 since it’s the earliest point that all users in the group have consumed – all of the viewing information available though is given to the viewer to allow them to make the best decision for them).
Regarding claim 113, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 111 including that wherein: the first information comprises a first image associated with the first progress point (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); and the second information comprises a second image associated with the second progress point (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); and the control circuitry, in performing the providing, for simultaneous display at the device (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0094] – Fig. 6 shows an illustrative media progress bar 600 – media progress bar 600 may comprise timeline 602, a first amount of the media asset duration 604 comprising a first start time 606 and first stop time 608, a second amount of the media asset duration 610 comprising a second start time 612 and a second stop time 614, an overlap time period 616, and a critical portion indicator 618), is further configured to: provide for display the first image in association with the first option (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); and provide for display the second image in association with the second option (Wickenkamp: Figs. 6 and 8; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator).
Regarding claim 117, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 111 including that wherein: the first information comprises an indication of a first timestamp of the first progress point within a duration of the content item (Figs. 6 and 8 – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); the second information comprises an indication of a second timestamp of the second progress point within the duration the content item (Figs. 6 and 8 – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asse - t duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator); and the control circuitry, in performing the providing, for simultaneous display at the device (Figs. 6 and 8 – media assets – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0094] – Fig. 6 shows an illustrative media progress bar 600 – media progress bar 600 may comprise timeline 602, a first amount of the media asset duration 604 comprising a first start time 606 and first stop time 608, a second amount of the media asset duration 610 comprising a second start time 612 and a second stop time 614, an overlap time period 616, and a critical portion indicator 618; paragraph [0103] – Fig. 8 shows an illustrative screen 800 for providing group asset recommendations – group assets screen 802 includes a list of recommended assets 804, asset drop-down button 805, progress bars 806, critical portion indicator 807, available source indicator 808, user overlap indicator 810, furthest watched indicator 812, genre indicator 814, and key 816; paragraph [0104] – the list of assets 804 may be a list of assets stored on the user’s DVR with associated progress bars – in this manner, a user or group of users may browse the contents of the user’s DVR and quickly determine assets which some or all of the members of the group have previously seen), is further configured to: provide for display the first timestamp in association with the first option (Figs. 6 and 8 – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0095] – the timeline 602 may represent the duration of a media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a first user has watched the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishing feature – the first amount of the media asset duration 604 may start at first start time 606 and end at first stop time 608 – the stop time 608 may be denoted by an indicator); and provide for display the second timestamp in association with the second option (Figs. 6 and 8 – the timestamps are shown as their position on the timeline; paragraph [0096] – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may represent a portion of the media asset duration that a second user has watched the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 is less than the entire duration of the media asset – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may be highlighted by a particular color, shading, pattern, or any other distinguishable feature – the second amount of the media asset duration 610 may start at the second start time 612 and end at the second stop time 614 – the second stop time 614 may be denoted by an indicator).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 104-106 and 114-116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wickenkamp (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0029057) in view of Aher et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0392407).
Regarding claim 104, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 101, but fails to disclose that wherein: the first information comprises a first video preview associated with the first progress point; and the second information comprises a second video preview associated with the second progress point; and the providing, for simultaneous display at the device, further comprises: providing for display at least one of: the first video preview in association with the first option; or the second video preview in association with the second option.
Referring to the Aher et al. reference, Aher et al. discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: wherein: the first information comprises a first video preview associated with the first progress point (Fig. 3 – first progress point 310-1; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points); and the second information comprises a second video preview associated with the second progress point (Fig. 3 – second progress point 310-2; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points); and the providing, for simultaneous display at the device (Fig. 3; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points), further comprises: providing for display at least one of: the first video preview in association with the first option (Fig. 3 – first progress point 310-1; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points); or the second video preview in association with the second option (Fig. 3 – second progress point 310-2; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had provided preview videos at specific points along the timeline that were identified based on the content viewing profile as disclosed by Aher et al. in the method disclosed by Wickenkamp in order to provide the viewer with content information so they can decide which time point they want to resume consuming the media asset from.
Regarding claim 105, Wickenkamp in view of Aher et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 101 and 104 including that wherein the first video preview comprises video corresponding to a first set of frames within a threshold period of time prior to the first progress point of the content item, and the second video preview comprises video corresponding to a second set of frames within the threshold period of time prior to the second progress point (Aher et al.: Fig. 3 – first progress point 310-1 and second progress point 310-2; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – in some embodiments, the skipping operation may be paused for a duration of approximately 2 seconds (threshold would be approximately 2 seconds in this example) - this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points; in order to remind the viewer what they were viewing at that progress point, the video would need to contain images prior to the progress point because everything after that progress point would be all new content for the viewer).
Regarding claim 106, Wickenkamp in view of Aher et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 101, 104, and 105 including that wherein the first video preview further comprises audio of the first set of frames, and the second video preview further comprises audio of the second set of frames (Aher et al.: Fig. 3; paragraph [0012] – in some embodiments, a preview image and/or audio clip is displayed at each of the identified jump points to allow the user to easily identify and navigate to the desired play positions).
Regarding claim 114, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 111, but fails to disclose that wherein: the first information comprises a first video preview associated with the first progress point; and the second information comprises a second video preview associated with the second progress point; and the control circuitry, in performing the providing, for simultaneous display at the device, is further configured to: provide for display at least one of: the first video preview in association with the first option; or the second video preview in association with the second option.
Referring to the Aher et al. reference, Aher et al. discloses a system, comprising: wherein: the first information comprises a first video preview associated with the first progress point (Fig. 3 – first progress point 310-1; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points); and the second information comprises a second video preview associated with the second progress point (Fig. 3 – second progress point 310-2; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points); and the control circuitry, in performing the providing, for simultaneous display at the device (Fig. 3; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points), is further configured to: provide for display at least one of: the first video preview in association with the first option (Fig. 3 – first progress point 310-1; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points); or the second video preview in association with the second option (Fig. 3 – second progress point 310-2; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had provided preview videos at specific points along the timeline that were identified based on the content viewing profile as disclosed by Aher et al. in the system disclosed by Wickenkamp in order to provide the viewer with content information so they can decide which time point they want to resume consuming the media asset from.
Regarding claim 115, Wickenkamp in view of Aher et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 111 and 114 including that wherein the first video preview comprises video corresponding to a first set of frames within a threshold period of time prior to the first progress point of the content item, and the second video preview comprises video corresponding to a second set of frames within the threshold period of time prior to the second progress point (Aher et al.: Fig. 3 – first progress point 310-1 and second progress point 310-2; paragraph [0038] – in Fig. 3, a media content skip operation screen display is configured as a media content skip operation screen display 302 – a progress bar 304 indicates a current play position 306 – based on the requested skip rate, the system determines a plurality of uniformly spaced time points 308; paragraph [0039] – in addition, the system identifies a plurality of jump points 310 based on a content viewing profile – the system identifies jump points 310-1 and 310-2 based on the user’s content viewing profile – jump points 310-1 and 310-2 may be identified based on content viewing profile and/or scene characteristics; paragraph [0040] – a preview image and/or video is displayed for the user at the jump points 310-1 and 310-2 – in some embodiments, the skipping operation may be paused for a duration of approximately 2 seconds (threshold would be approximately 2 seconds in this example) - this allows the user to review the preview clip and make a selection – the user may decide to resume consuming the media asset or continue the skipping operation along the determined time points; in order to remind the viewer what they were viewing at that progress point, the video would need to contain images prior to the progress point because everything after that progress point would be all new content for the viewer).
Regarding claim 116, Wickenkamp in view of Aher et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 111, 114, and 115 including that wherein the first video preview further comprises audio of the first set of frames, and the second video preview further comprises audio of the second set of frames (Aher et al.: Fig. 3; paragraph [0012] – in some embodiments, a preview image and/or audio clip is displayed at each of the identified jump points to allow the user to easily identify and navigate to the desired play positions).
Claims 108-110 and 118-120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wickenkamp (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0029057) in view of Daw et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0136447).
Regarding claim 108, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 101, but fails to disclose that the method further comprises: determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user; and based at least in part on the determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user, causing the first option, associated with the first progress point of the first user, to be emphasized in relation to the second option in the simultaneous display of the first option and the second option.
Referring to the Daw et al. reference, Daw et al. discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user (Figs. 3A-5B; Table 1; paragraph [0055] – registered users; paragraph [0056] – the account may comprise a premises profile of the premises 102a and a respective user profile of each of the one or more of the multiple users; paragraph [0057] – the user profile may comprise one or more of the user’s viewing history (e.g., program information of the user's current program, the user's current viewing progress point of the current program, program information of a corresponding program, the user's stop marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's resume marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's farthest viewing progress point of a corresponding program, device information of device(s) with which the user consumes a corresponding program, etc.); the user's personal information (e.g., user's viewing preferences, user's habits); information of the user's mobile device (e.g., the user's username associated with the mobile device, the user's mobile phone number, the device identification of the user's mobile device, etc.); information of the user's selected display devices which the system may automatically activate when the user is within a predetermined distance from these devices (e.g., a television located in the premises 102a, a display device on a refrigerator located in the premises 102a, a display device integrated in the user's vehicle, etc.); or any other information associated with the user); and based at least in part on the determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user, causing the first option, associated with the first progress point of the first user, to be emphasized in relation to the second option in the simultaneous display of the first option and the second option (Figs. 3A-5B; Table 1; paragraphs [0037]-[0045] – examples of timelines of progress for different users as they watch a program, and the timelines may comprise markers that may be stored to assist in synchronizing viewing progress between multiple users – multiple users may start watching a same video program, but may later have different viewing progresses – the system may track and synchronize the viewing progresses of the multiple users; paragraph [0040] – Fig. 4C, only the User A comes back and continues to watch the video program – the system may provide an option on the display screen of the display device 300 and ask the User A whether to continue to watch the video program – for example, the display screen may display a text message – “Welcome Back! Do you want to resume where you left off? You are behind the user B for scene 2 and scene 3.” – the system may provide an option for the User A to select to catch up with the User B; paragraph [0054] – Figs. 5A and 5B comprise a flow chart showing an example method for providing options for a returning user to catch up with others and synchronizing viewing progress between multiple users; paragraph [0055] – registered users; paragraph [0056] – the account may comprise a premises profile of the premises 102a and a respective user profile of each of the one or more of the multiple users; paragraph [0057] – the user profile may comprise one or more of the user’s viewing history (e.g., program information of the user's current program, the user's current viewing progress point of the current program, program information of a corresponding program, the user's stop marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's resume marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's farthest viewing progress point of a corresponding program, device information of device(s) with which the user consumes a corresponding program, etc.); the user's personal information (e.g., user's viewing preferences, user's habits); information of the user's mobile device (e.g., the user's username associated with the mobile device, the user's mobile phone number, the device identification of the user's mobile device, etc.); information of the user's selected display devices which the system may automatically activate when the user is within a predetermined distance from these devices (e.g., a television located in the premises 102a, a display device on a refrigerator located in the premises 102a, a display device integrated in the user's vehicle, etc.); or any other information associated with the user; paragraphs [0055]-[0120] – Figs. 5A and 5B are explained in detail; paragraph [0088] – if it is determined that there is a returning user, the process may proceed to steps 514-536, which may provide one or more options for the returning user to catch up with the other users who are in the current viewing session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had determined that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user based on the user’s habits as disclosed by Daw et al. in the method disclosed by Wickenkamp in order to provide the viewer with the best recommended content along with their progress points.
Regarding claims 109 and 110, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 101, but fails to disclose that wherein determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user is based at least on comparing a time of day of a historical consumption session of the first user to a current time of day when the content source is being accessed or is based at least on comparing a pattern of historical user interface inputs of the first user to a pattern of current user interface inputs being received.
Referring to the Daw et al. reference, Daw et al. discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user is based at least on comparing a time of day of a historical consumption session of the first user to a current time of day when the content source is being accessed or is based at least on comparing a pattern of historical user interface inputs of the first user to a pattern of current user interface inputs being received (Figs. 3A-5B; Table 1; paragraphs [0037]-[0045] – examples of timelines of progress for different users as they watch a program, and the timelines may comprise markers that may be stored to assist in synchronizing viewing progress between multiple users – multiple users may start watching a same video program, but may later have different viewing progresses – the system may track and synchronize the viewing progresses of the multiple users; paragraph [0040] – Fig. 4C, only the User A comes back and continues to watch the video program – the system may provide an option on the display screen of the display device 300 and ask the User A whether to continue to watch the video program – for example, the display screen may display a text message – “Welcome Back! Do you want to resume where you left off? You are behind the user B for scene 2 and scene 3.” – the system may provide an option for the User A to select to catch up with the User B; paragraph [0054] – Figs. 5A and 5B comprise a flow chart showing an example method for providing options for a returning user to catch up with others and synchronizing viewing progress between multiple users; paragraph [0055] – registered users; paragraph [0056] – the account may comprise a premises profile of the premises 102a and a respective user profile of each of the one or more of the multiple users; paragraph [0057] – the user profile may comprise one or more of the user’s viewing history (e.g., program information of the user's current program, the user's current viewing progress point of the current program, program information of a corresponding program, the user's stop marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's resume marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's farthest viewing progress point of a corresponding program, device information of device(s) with which the user consumes a corresponding program, etc.); the user's personal information (e.g., user's viewing preferences, user's habits); information of the user's mobile device (e.g., the user's username associated with the mobile device, the user's mobile phone number, the device identification of the user's mobile device, etc.); information of the user's selected display devices which the system may automatically activate when the user is within a predetermined distance from these devices (e.g., a television located in the premises 102a, a display device on a refrigerator located in the premises 102a, a display device integrated in the user's vehicle, etc.); or any other information associated with the user; paragraphs [0055]-[0120] – Figs. 5A and 5B are explained in detail; paragraph [0088] – if it is determined that there is a returning user, the process may proceed to steps 514-536, which may provide one or more options for the returning user to catch up with the other users who are in the current viewing session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had determined that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user based on the user’s habits as disclosed by Daw et al. in the method disclosed by Wickenkamp in order to provide the viewer with the best recommended content along with their progress points.
Regarding claim 118, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 111, but fails to disclose wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: determine that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user; and based at least in part on the determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user, cause the first option, associated with the first progress point of the first user, to be emphasized in relation to the second option in the simultaneous display of the first option and the second option.
Referring to the Daw et al. reference, Daw et al. discloses a system, comprising: the control circuitry is further configured to: determine that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user (Figs. 3A-5B; Table 1; paragraph [0055] – registered users; paragraph [0056] – the account may comprise a premises profile of the premises 102a and a respective user profile of each of the one or more of the multiple users; paragraph [0057] – the user profile may comprise one or more of the user’s viewing history (e.g., program information of the user's current program, the user's current viewing progress point of the current program, program information of a corresponding program, the user's stop marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's resume marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's farthest viewing progress point of a corresponding program, device information of device(s) with which the user consumes a corresponding program, etc.); the user's personal information (e.g., user's viewing preferences, user's habits); information of the user's mobile device (e.g., the user's username associated with the mobile device, the user's mobile phone number, the device identification of the user's mobile device, etc.); information of the user's selected display devices which the system may automatically activate when the user is within a predetermined distance from these devices (e.g., a television located in the premises 102a, a display device on a refrigerator located in the premises 102a, a display device integrated in the user's vehicle, etc.); or any other information associated with the user); and based at least in part on the determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user, cause the first option, associated with the first progress point of the first user, to be emphasized in relation to the second option in the simultaneous display of the first option and the second option (Figs. 3A-5B; Table 1; paragraphs [0037]-[0045] – examples of timelines of progress for different users as they watch a program, and the timelines may comprise markers that may be stored to assist in synchronizing viewing progress between multiple users – multiple users may start watching a same video program, but may later have different viewing progresses – the system may track and synchronize the viewing progresses of the multiple users; paragraph [0040] – Fig. 4C, only the User A comes back and continues to watch the video program – the system may provide an option on the display screen of the display device 300 and ask the User A whether to continue to watch the video program – for example, the display screen may display a text message – “Welcome Back! Do you want to resume where you left off? You are behind the user B for scene 2 and scene 3.” – the system may provide an option for the User A to select to catch up with the User B; paragraph [0054] – Figs. 5A and 5B comprise a flow chart showing an example method for providing options for a returning user to catch up with others and synchronizing viewing progress between multiple users; paragraph [0055] – registered users; paragraph [0056] – the account may comprise a premises profile of the premises 102a and a respective user profile of each of the one or more of the multiple users; paragraph [0057] – the user profile may comprise one or more of the user’s viewing history (e.g., program information of the user's current program, the user's current viewing progress point of the current program, program information of a corresponding program, the user's stop marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's resume marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's farthest viewing progress point of a corresponding program, device information of device(s) with which the user consumes a corresponding program, etc.); the user's personal information (e.g., user's viewing preferences, user's habits); information of the user's mobile device (e.g., the user's username associated with the mobile device, the user's mobile phone number, the device identification of the user's mobile device, etc.); information of the user's selected display devices which the system may automatically activate when the user is within a predetermined distance from these devices (e.g., a television located in the premises 102a, a display device on a refrigerator located in the premises 102a, a display device integrated in the user's vehicle, etc.); or any other information associated with the user; paragraphs [0055]-[0120] – Figs. 5A and 5B are explained in detail; paragraph [0088] – if it is determined that there is a returning user, the process may proceed to steps 514-536, which may provide one or more options for the returning user to catch up with the other users who are in the current viewing session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had determined that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user based on the user’s habits as disclosed by Daw et al. in the system disclosed by Wickenkamp in order to provide the viewer with the best recommended content along with their progress points.
Regarding claims 119 and 120, Wickenkamp discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 111, but fails to disclose wherein the control circuitry is further configured to, in determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user, compare a time of day of a historical consumption session of the first user to a current time of day when the content source is being accessed or compare a pattern of historical user interface inputs of the first user to a pattern of current user interface inputs being received.
Referring to the Daw et al. reference, Daw et al. discloses a system, comprising: the control circuitry is further configured to, in determining that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user, compare a time of day of a historical consumption session of the first user to a current time of day when the content source is being accessed or compare a pattern of historical user interface inputs of the first user to a pattern of current user interface inputs being received (Figs. 3A-5B; Table 1; paragraphs [0037]-[0045] – examples of timelines of progress for different users as they watch a program, and the timelines may comprise markers that may be stored to assist in synchronizing viewing progress between multiple users – multiple users may start watching a same video program, but may later have different viewing progresses – the system may track and synchronize the viewing progresses of the multiple users; paragraph [0040] – Fig. 4C, only the User A comes back and continues to watch the video program – the system may provide an option on the display screen of the display device 300 and ask the User A whether to continue to watch the video program – for example, the display screen may display a text message – “Welcome Back! Do you want to resume where you left off? You are behind the user B for scene 2 and scene 3.” – the system may provide an option for the User A to select to catch up with the User B; paragraph [0054] – Figs. 5A and 5B comprise a flow chart showing an example method for providing options for a returning user to catch up with others and synchronizing viewing progress between multiple users; paragraph [0055] – registered users; paragraph [0056] – the account may comprise a premises profile of the premises 102a and a respective user profile of each of the one or more of the multiple users; paragraph [0057] – the user profile may comprise one or more of the user’s viewing history (e.g., program information of the user's current program, the user's current viewing progress point of the current program, program information of a corresponding program, the user's stop marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's resume marker(s) associated with a stream of a corresponding program, the user's farthest viewing progress point of a corresponding program, device information of device(s) with which the user consumes a corresponding program, etc.); the user's personal information (e.g., user's viewing preferences, user's habits); information of the user's mobile device (e.g., the user's username associated with the mobile device, the user's mobile phone number, the device identification of the user's mobile device, etc.); information of the user's selected display devices which the system may automatically activate when the user is within a predetermined distance from these devices (e.g., a television located in the premises 102a, a display device on a refrigerator located in the premises 102a, a display device integrated in the user's vehicle, etc.); or any other information associated with the user; paragraphs [0055]-[0120] – Figs. 5A and 5B are explained in detail; paragraph [0088] – if it is determined that there is a returning user, the process may proceed to steps 514-536, which may provide one or more options for the returning user to catch up with the other users who are in the current viewing session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had determined that a user from which the request to access the content source is likely the first user based on the user’s habits as disclosed by Daw et al. in the system disclosed by Wickenkamp in order to provide the viewer with the best recommended content along with their progress points.
Conclusion
/HEATHER R JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481
June 19, 2026