DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).:
the clevises are concentric external to the central gimbal ring when the gimbal joint is in use (claim 9);
the material reduction area (claim 11);
pressure measuring means placed inside the additional chamber (claim 14);
pressure measuring means placed inside the external annular passage (claim 14);
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are further objected to because figs. 3, 4, 6, and 7b are cross-sectional views but lack proper cross-hatching. See 37 CFR 1.84 (h)(3).
Specification
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "each flat end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 is rejected based on its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feaver et al. (US 2023/0137513 hereinafter “Feaver”).
In regards to claim 1, Feaver discloses a gimbal joint for high-pressure fluid ducts, comprising
a first clevis (110) configured to be sealedly coupled to a first duct (102), said first clevis having first connecting through holes (216),
a second clevis (120) configured to be sealedly coupled to a second duct (104), said second clevis having first connecting through holes (226)
a bellows (210) placed between the first clevis and the second clevis, said bellows configured to form a fluid-tight passage between both ducts,
a central gimbal ring (130), configured to be placed between the first clevis and the second clevis, having second connecting through holes (232), and
pins (240) connecting the first connecting through holes of the clevises with the second connecting through holes of the central gimbal ring, configured to provide a relative rotation between the clevises and the central gimbal ring when the gimbal joint in use,
wherein the central gimbal ring is hollow (see central bore).
In regards to claims 2 and 3, it is noted that these claims are product-by-process claims. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). It is the patentability of the product that is to be determined and not recited process steps irrespective of whether or not only process steps are set forth. Therefore, since “made by means of additive manufacturing” adds no further structure to the claims, the claims have been met.
In regards to claim 4, Feaver further discloses the bellows has flat ends (shown in fig. 6B), and said gimbal joint comprises:
a reinforcement collar (262, 264) placed on each flat end of the bellows, and
a pair of liners (202, 204) internally concentric to the bellows, each flat end of the bellows being sandwiched between an end of the liner and the reinforcement collar, and the ends of the liners being joined to the clevises (shown in fig. 6B).
In regards to claim 5, Feaver further discloses the ends of the liners are joined to the clevises by means of laser welding (see paragraph [0089] which discloses welding) . It is noted that “laser welding” is a product-by-process limitation.. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). It is the patentability of the product that is to be determined and not recited process steps irrespective of whether or not only process steps are set forth.
In regards to claim 6, Feaver further discloses a reinforcement collar (262, 264) placed on each flat end of the bellows (see fig. 6B), said reinforcement collars being joined to the clevises (shown in fig. 6B).
In regards to claim 7, Feaver further discloses the reinforcement collars are joined to the clevises by means of laser welding (see welds 304, 306 which will also join collars to clevises based on location). It is noted that “laser welding” is a product-by-process limitation.. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). It is the patentability of the product that is to be determined and not recited process steps irrespective of whether or not only process steps are set forth.
In regards to claim 8, Feaver further discloses the central gimbal ring is concentric external to the clevises when the gimbal joint in use (shown in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 11, Feaver further discloses the clevises comprise a material reduction area (see thinner area at “214” in fig. 6B) configured to reduce weight, and the external surface of the clevises is corrugated to absorb loads.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feaver as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thompson et al. (US 2022/0099225 hereinafter “Thompson”).
In regards to claim 9, Feaver discloses the gimbal joint of claim 1. Feaver does not disclose the clevises are concentric external to the central gimbal ring when the gimbal joint in use, but rather shows the opposite.
However, Thompson shows a gimbal joint wherein the clevises (100, 150) are concentric external to the central gimbal ring (200) when the gimbal joint in use, achieving no new or unexpected results.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it no more obvious than simple substitution to provide the gimbal joint of Feaver with the clevises being concentric external instead of internal to the central gimbal ring as taught by Thompson, producing no unexpected results. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. See MPEP §2143 (I)(B).
In regards to claim 10, Feaver discloses the gimbal joint of claim 1 but does not disclose the central gimbal ring comprises a plurality of drainage orifices configured to allow dust to escape from the inside of said central gimbal ring during the manufacturing process of the gimbal ring and to drain fluids when the gimbal joint in use.
However, Thompson teaches a similar gimbal joint, with a central gimbal ring (200) that comprises a plurality of drainage orifices (220) configured to allow dust to escape from the inside of said central gimbal ring during the manufacturing process of the gimbal ring and to drain fluids when the gimbal joint in use.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the central gimbal ring of Feaver with drainage orifices, in order to enable the components to withstand significant shear forces while also minimizing their mass, and to increase the stiffness-to-mass ratio of the gimbal ring, as taught by Thompson at paragraph [0034].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not show or suggest a gimbal joint comprising all limitations of claim 12. Feaver discloses most limitations of the claims as shown above but does not show or suggest an additional bellows placed between the first clevis and the second clevis, externally concentric to the central gimbal ring, having flat ends configured to be sealedly coupled to both clevises, said additional bellows forming with the bellows an additional chamber being a fluid-tight passage connected to the external annular passages of both ducts through a plurality of openings in both clevises.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 02/17/2026