DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the product engaging component [being] a drive belt or track” of claim 5, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “product engaging component”, in claims 1-3.
With regard to the term “product engaging component”:
first, the term “component” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “product engaging”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “product engaging” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the product engaging component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210370542, Lindee in view of US 6295906, Kiger.
Regarding Claims 1 and 7-8, Lindee discloses a food processing system (figs 13A-13B, parts 1002, 394, and 125) for cutting a food product into portions (par 0099-0101) the system comprising:
a cutter (125) configured to cut portions from a leading end of an elongate food product (110, par 0099 and 0047);
a transport system (2020 and 1002) configured to transport a food product along a product flow path to the cutter (fig 13B, par 0047, and 0073), wherein the transport system comprises an end gripper (394) configured to grip a trailing end of a food product (110, fig 13B) lying on a product support (1002, fig 13B) in the flow path (fig 13B), and an end gripper positioning assembly (802, par 0089) configured to control the location of the end gripper and bring the end gripper into engagement with a food product at an engagement height above the product support (FIG 13B);
a product engaging component (1003) configured to engage an upper surface of a food product lying on a support surface in the system (par 0084, and 0089);
an electronic position sensor (2002, par 0103) configured to generate a position signal of the workpiece (par 0103), and an electronic controller configured to receive the position signal and to control the engagement height of the end gripper (par 0103, the sensors control the grippers, which are controlled via belt 802, per par 0089) using the end gripper positioning assembly with reference to the position signal.
Lindee lacks the position sensors configured to generate a position signal dependent on the height of the product engaging component above the support surface and the electronic controlling the engagement height of the end gripper using the end gripper positioning assembly with reference to the position signal, emphasis added. Even though Lindee discloses using positions sensors to control the product grippers (Claim 1), and wherein the end gripper positioning assembly comprises an actuator configured to adjust the height of the end gripper under the control of the electronic controller (Claim 7) wherein the end gripper positioning assembly includes a carriage mounted on at least one guide, with the carriage movable between first and second locations on the guide, such that when the carriage is at the first location the end gripper is spaced laterally from the product flow path, and when the carriage is at the second location (Claim 8), wherein the actuator is carried by the carriage (Claim 9) wherein when the carriage is at the first location, the carriage is spaced horizontally from the product flow path (Claim 10) (Specifically, Lindee doses not disclose that the sensors control the gripper based on the specific position of the gripper hold down 1003 in relation to conveyor 1002).
Kiger discloses a workpiece cutting and handling device in which product grippers are controlled via sensors, in the same field of endeavor as the workpiece cutting and handling device in which product grippers are controlled via sensors of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes: a position sensor (32) configured to generate a position signal dependent on the height of a product engaging component (26) above a support surface (inner surfaces of the grippers 24 which engage the work to create a support surface) and an electronic controller (16) configured to control an engagement height of an end gripper (24) using an end gripper positioning assembly 32 with reference to the position signal (“signal”, col. 4, 35-60), (Claim 1), and wherein the end gripper positioning assembly comprises an actuator (contact 34) configured to adjust the height of the end gripper 24 under the control of the electronic controller (col. 4, 35-60), (Claim 7) wherein the end gripper positioning assembly includes a carriage 20 mounted on at least one guide 22, with the carriage movable between first and second locations on the guide (col 4, 40-50), such that when the carriage is at the first location (prior to being forward of the pusher 28), the end gripper is spaced laterally from the product flow path (open position), and when the carriage is at the second location (when moved past the pusher 28), the end gripper is in the product flow path (e.g. when in a closed position) (Claim 8), wherein the actuator 34 is carried by the carriage (fig 7)(Claim 9) wherein when the carriage is at the first location, the carriage is spaced horizontally from the product flow path (see fig 8, where at least portions of the carriage 28 are always horizontal to the flow path of the work) (Claim 10) wherein when the carriage is at the first location, the carriage is spaced horizontally from the product flow path (Claim 10), in order to control the positioning of the workpiece in an automated controlled and mechanically simple manner, (col 4, 35-60 and col 3, 10-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lindee by including position sensors configured to generate a position signal dependent on the height of the product engaging component above the support surface and the electronic controlling the engagement height of the end gripper using the end gripper positioning assembly with reference to the position signal, (Claim 1), and wherein the end gripper positioning assembly comprises an actuator configured to adjust the height of the end gripper under the control of the electronic controller (Claim 7), wherein the end gripper positioning assembly includes a carriage mounted on at least one guide, with the carriage movable between first and second locations on the guide, such that when the carriage is at the first location the end gripper is spaced laterally from the product flow path , and when the carriage is at the second location (Claim 8), wherein the actuator is carried by the carriage (Claim 9) wherein when the carriage is at the first location, the carriage is spaced horizontally from the product flow path (Claim 10) in order to control the positioning of the workpiece in an automated controlled and mechanically simple manner, as taught by Kiger.
Regarding Claim 2, in Lindee the product engaging component 1003 is a guide member located above the support surface (1002) to guide the food product as it travels along the product flow path (fig 13B) towards the cutter 125, fig 13B.
Regarding Claim 3, in Lindee the electronic controller is configured to bring the end gripper 394 into engagement with the food product whilst the product engaging component is in engagement with the food product (fig 13B).
Regarding Claim 4, in Lindee the product engaging component 1003 is a die of a forming module of the system (par 0084), and the die is employed in the forming module to engage an upper surface of a food product (110. Fig 13A).
Regarding Claim 5, in Lindee the product engaging component is a drive belt or track (fig 13B, since food travels along the portion of 1003 which contacts the food product 101; track is defined in Merriam Webster’s Dictionary as “the course along which something moves or progresses”).
Regarding Claim 6, the Lindee device as modified above includes a use wherein the electronic controller is configured to set the engagement height to be such that a region of a food product engaged by the end gripper is unequally spaced from the upper and lower surfaces of the food product. (The term “configured to set the engagement height to be such that a region of a food product engaged by the end gripper is unequally spaced from the upper and lower surfaces of the food product” is considered statements of intended use (emphasis added). It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. The only requirement in these limitations, respectively, is that the prior art reference be capable of said intended use. See MPEP 2114. In this case, the Lindee as modified in view of Kiger the controller is capable of positioning the clamps at different heights depending on the workpiece length and dimensions.
Regarding Claims 12 Lindee discloses a method of operating a food processing system for cutting a food product into portions (par. 0010), wherein the system includes an end gripper (394) configured to grip a trailing end of a food (110) product lying on a product support (1002 and 2020, fig 3A-3B), the method comprising the steps of:
bringing a product engaging component (1003) into engagement with an upper surface of a food product (fig 3B) lying on a support surface (1002) of the system (Fig 3A-3B), and a controller (“Controller”) for controlling with the electronic controller the engagement height of the end gripper above the product support at which the end gripper is brought into engagement with a food product (par 0103, the sensors control the grippers, which are controlled via belt 802, per par 0089).
Lindee lacks detecting the height of the product engagement component above the support surface and generating a position signal dependent on the detected height, receiving the position signal in an electronic controller and controlling with the electronic controller the engagement height of the end gripper above the product support at which the end gripper is brought into engagement with a food product with reference to the position signal (Specifically, Lindee doses not disclose that the sensors controlling the gripper based on the specific position of the gripper hold down 1003 in relation to conveyor 1002 [emphasis added]).
Kiger discloses a workpiece cutting and handling device in which product grippers are controlled via sensors, in the same field of endeavor as the workpiece cutting and handling device in which product grippers are controlled via sensors of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes: a position sensor (32) configured to generate a position signal dependent on the height of a product engaging component (26) above a support surface (inner surfaces of the grippers 24 which engage the work to create a support surface) and an electronic controller (16) configured to control an engagement height of an end gripper (24) using an end gripper positioning assembly 32 with reference to the position signal (“signal”, col. 4, 35-60), in order to control the positioning of the workpiece in an automated controlled and mechanically simple manner, (col 4, 35-60 and col 3, 10-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lindee by including position sensors configured to detect the height of the product engagement component above the support surface and generating a position signal dependent on the detected height, receiving the position signal in an electronic controller and controlling with the electronic controller the engagement height of the end gripper above the product support at which the end gripper is brought into engagement with a food product with reference to the position signal in order to control the positioning of the workpiece in an automated controlled and mechanically simple manner, as taught by Kiger.
Regarding Claim 13, Lindee discloses a method of operating a food processing system of claim 1, the method comprising the steps of: bringing the product engaging component 1003 into engagement with an upper surface of a food product 101 lying on the support surface 1002 of the system (fig 3A-3B);
Lindee lacks detecting the height of the product engagement component above the support surface and generating a position signal dependent on the detected height; and adjusting the engagement height of the end gripper using the end gripper positioning assembly with reference to the position signal.
Kiger discloses a workpiece cutting and handling device in which product grippers are controlled via sensors, in the same field of endeavor as the workpiece cutting and handling device in which product grippers are controlled via sensors of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes: a position sensor (32) configured to generate a position signal dependent on the height of a product engaging component (26) above a support surface (inner surfaces of the grippers 24 which engage the work to create a support surface) and an electronic controller (16) configured to control an engagement height of an end gripper (24) using an end gripper positioning assembly 32 with reference to the position signal (“signal”, col. 4, 35-60), in order to control the positioning of the workpiece in an automated controlled and mechanically simple manner, (col 4, 35-60 and col 3, 10-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lindee by including position sensors configured to detect the height of the product engagement component above the support surface and generating a position signal dependent on the detected height; and adjusting the engagement height of the end gripper using the end gripper positioning assembly with reference to the position signal in order to control the positioning of the workpiece in an automated controlled and mechanically simple manner, as taught by Kiger.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindee and Kiger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of USPGPUB 20100050834 to Reifenhauser.
Modified Lindee lacks the end gripper being a vacuum gripper.
Reifenhauser discloses a food handling and slicing machine, in the same field of endeavor as the food handling and slicing machine of Lindee and of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes an end gripper for handling food to be sliced and the end gripper being a vacuum gripper, 1, fig 3, par 0042, in order to handle and move the food product with less risk of germinal contamination, par 0010.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lindee by changing the end gripper thereof to be a vacuum gripper in order to handle and move the food product with less risk of germinal contamination, as taught by Reifenhauser
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs 5208760 20120297949 8840097 20210130025 5246222 4709605 disclose product grippers that are automated, and USPN/USPGPUB’s 20190134768 20110154969 20070214969 6882434 20100147125 5208760 10751899 11383399 20220134590 20120089244 20160339597 20230131258 20220242677 20240269879 and 20130305892 product handling means. Thus, each of these references disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724