DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
All claims have been reviewed for compliance with 35 U.S.C. §101 (as set forth in MPEP 2106).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 11,917,408. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘408 patent include all the limitations of the instant claims.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,917,408
A controller coupled to a plurality of mobile devices through a mobile communications environment comprising multiple available networks, the controller being coupled to the mobile communications environment at a location remote from the plurality of mobile devices, and each of the plurality of mobile devices being simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks and collecting network data for each of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks, the controller comprising: (Claim 1)
A controller coupled to a plurality of mobile devices, including at least a first mobile device and a second mobile device, through a mobile communications environment comprising multiple available networks, and the controller being coupled to the mobile communications environment at a location remote from the mobile device, each of the plurality of mobile devices being simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks, the controller comprising: (Claim 1)
a receiver that receives from each of the plurality of mobile devices the collected network data for each of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks, wherein each of the plurality of mobile devices is connected to the receiver via an active one of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks for transmitting the collected network data; (Claim 1)
a receiver that receives, from the first mobile device, first sets of network performance data …with each of the plurality of multiple available networks simultaneously connected to the first mobile device and receives, from the second mobile device, second sets of network performance data…with each of the plurality of multiple networks simultaneously connected to the second mobile device…; (Claim 1)
a processor, coupled to memory resident on the controller, configured to evaluate the collected network data from each of the plurality of mobile devices and, based upon respective rules established for each of the mobile devices, to produce respective sets of operating parameters for the plurality of mobile devices; (Claim 1)
a processor, coupled to memory resident on the controller, configured to evaluate the first and second sets of network performance data…based upon rules established for each of the plurality of mobile devices to produce a first set of operating parameters for the first mobile device and a second set of operating parameters for the second mobile device; (Claim 1)
and a transmitter to transmit to each of the plurality of mobile devices the respective sets of operating parameters. (Claim 1)
and a transmitter to transmit the first and second sets of operating parameters to the first and second mobile devices, respectively…(Claim 1)
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,323,801. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘408 patent include all the limitations of the instant claims.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,323,801
A method of remotely controlling a plurality of mobile devices through a mobile communications environment comprising multiple available networks, wherein each of the plurality of mobile devices is simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks and collects network data for each of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks, the method comprising: (Claim 10)
A method of remotely controlling a plurality of mobile devices through a mobile communications environment comprising multiple available networks, wherein each of the plurality of mobile devices is simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks and collects network data for each of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks, the method comprising: (Claim 1)
receiving from each of the plurality of mobile devices the collected network data for each of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks, wherein one of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks of each of the plurality of mobile devices is active for transmitting the collected network data; (Claim 10)
receiving from each of the plurality of mobile devices the collected network data for each of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks, wherein one of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks of each of the plurality of mobile devices is active for transmitting the collected network data; (Claim 1)
evaluating the collected network data received from each of the plurality of mobile devices based upon respective rules for each of the plurality of mobile devices and producing respective sets of operating parameters for the plurality of mobile devices; (Claim 10)
evaluating the collected network data received from each of the plurality of mobile devices based upon respective rules for each of the plurality of mobile devices and producing respective sets of operating parameters for the plurality of mobile devices; (Claim 1)
and transmitting to each of the plurality of mobile devices the respective sets of operating parameters. (Claim 10)
and transmitting to each of the plurality of mobile devices the respective sets of operating parameters,…(Claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first and second mobile devices" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the at least one of the business intelligence reports or the geographical maps" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 12, 13, 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Raleigh, U.S. Publication No. 2010/0188975, in view of Kim, U.S. Publication No. 2007/0133548. Referring to claims 1, 10, Raleigh discloses a network service policy system wherein a mobile device service monitor agent observes and records network service usage, network capacity availability data, and device location information ([0219] & [0221]: network capacity availability would read on the claimed network data) for multiple devices ([0071] & [0129]: performing the same network usage observation and reporting for a plurality of device shows collected network data for each of the plurality of mobile devices) operating on several networks ([0219]: reports service usage categorized by network possibly including roaming networks, paid service networks, or free service networks & [0250]: synchronized local service usage count for networks controlled by a central provider) and provides the observed usage information to a service controller ([0220] & Figure 20, element 122: service controller reads on the claims receiver), which meets the limitation of a receiver that receives from each of the plurality of mobile devices the collected network data for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks. The multiple mobile devices (Figure 1, elements 100) are actively connected to the service controller (Figure 1, element 122 & Figure 20: shows active connection between device 100 and controller 122 over access network) over a plurality of available networks (Figure 1, elements 125: 4G base station & 3G base station), which meets the limitation of each of the plurality of mobile devices being [simultaneously] connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks and collected network data for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks, wherein each of the plurality of mobile devices is connected to the receiver via an active one of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks for transmitting the collected network data. The service controller utilizes the received network usage information, and network capacity availability ([0221]), for comparison against the service policy specific to that device that includes usage limits ([0265] & [0292]), which meets the limitation of a processor, coupled to memory resident on the controller, configured to evaluate the collected network data from each of the plurality of mobile devices and, based upon respective rules established for each of the plurality mobile devices. If the observed network usage exceeds the defined policy usage limits ([0207]), a policy management server on the service controller ([0279]) can modify the network traffic policies for the device ([0279]-[0280]: updated policy information is transmitted to the devices) in order to throttle network service to the device ([0207] & [0292]), which meets the limitation of to produce respective sets of operating parameters for the plurality of mobile devices, a transmitter to transmit to each of the plurality of mobile devices the respective sets of operating parameters.
Raleigh does not specify that the mobile device is connected to the plurality of networks simultaneously. Kim discloses mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of networks ([0008]-[0010]), which meets the limitation of plurality of mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the mobile devices of Raleigh to be capable of simultaneous connections with the plurality of networks with which the mobile devices have monitored connections in order to provide the user with an efficient means of providing wide bandwidth and stable communication performance in unstable environments as suggested by Kim ([0008]-[0010]).
Referring to claim 3, Raleigh discloses that the service monitor agent records and device service usage/activities in the form of a report that can include GPS location data ([0218]-[0220]), which meets the limitation of wherein the collected network data from each of the plurality of mobile device is stored in a correlated data model for creating at least one of business intelligence reports or geographical maps. Examiner notes that the “for creating” limitation represents an intended use limitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 4, Raleigh discloses that the service monitor agent records and device service usage/activities in the form of a report that can include GPS location data ([0218]-[0220]), which meets the limitation of wherein the business intelligence reports are usable to at least one of monitor at least one of actual or predicted cost of public network use by each of the plurality of mobile devices or analyze productivity of each of the plurality of mobile devices. Examiner notes that the “for creating” limitation from claim 3 and the “usable to” limitation from claim 4 represent intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 5, Raleigh discloses that the service monitor agent records and device service usage/activities in the form of a report that can include GPS location data ([0218]-[0220]), which meets the limitation of wherein the geographical maps are usable to at least one of create geographical maps with overlays of data from the respective sets of operating parameters, provide overlays of locations of each of the plurality of mobile devices over time, or provide overlays of locations of each of the plurality of mobile devices over time with reported signal strength for each of the plurality of multiple networks simultaneously connected to the plurality of mobile devices. Examiner notes that the “for creating” limitation from claim 3 and the “usable to” limitation from claim 5 represent intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 12, Raleigh discloses a billing agent monitors service usage with respect to purchased service levels and provides notifications on usage levels ([0232]) such that per network usage limits can be based on service costs for each network in order to minimize costs ([0115]), which meets the limitation of wherein, with the at least one of the business intelligence reports or the geographical maps, monitoring at least one of actual and predicted cost of public network use by the first and second mobile devices.
Referring to claim 13, Raleigh discloses a network service policy system wherein a mobile device service monitor agent observes and records network service usage, network capacity availability data, and device location information ([0219] & [0221]: device location information reads on the claimed location data) for multiple devices ([0071] & [0129]: performing the same network usage observation and reporting for a plurality of device shows collected network data for each of the plurality of mobile devices) operating on several networks ([0219]: reports service usage categorized by network possibly including roaming networks, paid service networks, or free service networks & [0250]: synchronized local service usage count for networks controlled by a central provider) and provides the observed usage information to a service controller ([0220] & Figure 20, element 122), which meets the limitation of wherein the receiving of the collected network data from each of the plurality of mobile devices is, for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks, correlated with location data over time. The service controller utilizes the received network usage information, and network capacity availability ([0221]), for comparison against the service policy specific to that device that includes usage limits ([0265] & [0292]), which meets the limitation of wherein the evaluating of the collected network data comprises evaluating the collected network data correlated with location data over time based upon the responsive rules for each of the plurality of mobile devices.
Raleigh does not specify that the mobile device is connected to the plurality of networks simultaneously. Kim discloses mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of networks ([0008]-[0010]), which meets the limitation of plurality of mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the mobile devices of Raleigh to be capable of simultaneous connections with the plurality of networks with which the mobile devices have monitored connections in order to provide the user with an efficient means of providing wide bandwidth and stable communication performance in unstable environments as suggested by Kim ([0008]-[0010]).
Referring to claim 18, Raleigh discloses a network service policy system wherein a mobile device service monitor agent observes and records network service usage, network capacity availability data, and device location information ([0219] & [0221]: network capacity availability would read on the claimed network data) for multiple devices ([0071] & [0129]: performing the same network usage observation and reporting for a plurality of device shows collected network data for each of the plurality of mobile devices) operating on several networks ([0219]: reports service usage categorized by network possibly including roaming networks, paid service networks, or free service networks & [0250]: synchronized local service usage count for networks controlled by a central provider) and provides the observed usage information to a service controller ([0220] & Figure 20, element 122: service controller reads on the claims receiver), which meets the limitation of receive from each of the plurality of mobile devices the collected network data for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks. The multiple mobile devices (Figure 1, elements 100) are actively connected to the service controller (Figure 1, element 122 & Figure 20: shows active connection between device 100 and controller 122 over access network) over a plurality of available networks (Figure 1, elements 125: 4G base station & 3G base station), which meets the limitation of each of the plurality of mobile devices being [simultaneously] connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks and collected network data for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks, wherein the collected network data is transmitted over one of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks of each of the plurality of mobile networks. The service controller utilizes the received network usage information, and network capacity availability ([0221]), for comparison against the service policy specific to that device that includes usage limits ([0265] & [0292]), which meets the limitation of evaluate the collected network data received from each of the plurality of mobile devices based upon respective rules established for each of the plurality mobile devices. If the observed network usage exceeds the defined policy usage limits ([0207]), a policy management server on the service controller ([0279]) can modify the network traffic policies for the device ([0279]-[0280]: updated policy information is transmitted to the devices) in order to throttle network service to the device ([0207] & [0292]), which meets the limitation of produce respective sets of operating parameters for the plurality of mobile devices, transmit to each of the plurality of mobile devices the respective sets of operating parameters.
Raleigh does not specify that the mobile device is connected to the plurality of networks simultaneously. Kim discloses mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of networks ([0008]-[0010]), which meets the limitation of plurality of mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the mobile devices of Raleigh to be capable of simultaneous connections with the plurality of networks with which the mobile devices have monitored connections in order to provide the user with an efficient means of providing wide bandwidth and stable communication performance in unstable environments as suggested by Kim ([0008]-[0010]).
Claim 2 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Raleigh, U.S. Publication No. 2010/0188975, in view of Kim, U.S. Publication No. 2007/0133548, and further in view of Anderson, U.S. Publication No. 2003/0002436. Referring to claim 2, Raleigh discloses that the mobile device service monitor agent observes and records network service usage, network capacity availability data, and device location information ([0219] & [0221]) for multiple devices ([0071] & [0129]) such that the network traffic for the device is throttled when the observed network usage exceeds the defined policy usage limits. Raleigh does not disclose increasing traffic monitoring when the observed network usage exceeds the defined policy usage limits. Anderson discloses increasing network traffic monitoring over a specific network link when observed traffic over the network link exceeds a threshold ([0032]), which meets the limitation of wherein the respective sets of operating parameters comprise instructions to modify current operating parameters on the respective mobile device to increase a data collection frequency of the network data on the respective mobile device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the monitor agent of Raleigh to have increased reporting frequency when the service controller determines that the network traffic for the device exceeds the defined policy usage limits in order to ensure that the network is truly being misused as suggested by Anderson ([0032]: increased monitoring to see if excessive pattern persists for a predetermined period shows that network is being misused).
Claims 6-9, 14-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Raleigh, U.S. Publication No. 2010/0188975, in view of Kim, U.S. Publication No. 2007/0133548, and further in view of Hegli, U.S. Publication No. 2003/0105863.
Referring to claim 6, Raleigh discloses that the usage information includes activity versus time per connection and traffic versus time per connection ([0226]), which meets the limitation of the receiver further from each of the plurality of mobile devices usage time data comprising an amount of usage time for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks. The usage limits can include the total amount of traffic received and/or transmitted over a period of time ([0221]) and the usage limits can be implemented in each network ([0270]), which meets the limitation of wherein the respective rules established for each of the plurality of mobile devices further include per user limits [of usage time] per connected network. However, Raleigh does not specify limiting the total amount of time connected to the networks.
Hegli discloses managing network access wherein the managed limits can include total number of bytes transferred, and total amount of time connected ([0042]), which meets the limitation of wherein the processor is further configured to aggregate the amount of usage time for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks of each of the plurality of mobile devices, wherein the respective rules established for each of the plurality of mobile devices further include per user limits of usage time per connected network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the network service policy system of Raleigh to have included a usage limit on the total connection time in order to provide parents or employers the ability to control how much time their children or employees spend on the Internet as suggested by Hegli ([0005] & [0039]).
Raleigh does not specify that the mobile device is connected to the plurality of networks simultaneously. Kim discloses mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of networks ([0008]-[0010]), which meets the limitation of plurality of mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the mobile devices of Raleigh to be capable of simultaneous connections with the plurality of networks with which the mobile devices have monitored connections in order to provide the user with an efficient means of providing wide bandwidth and stable communication performance in unstable environments as suggested by Kim ([0008]-[0010]).
Referring to claim 7, Raleigh discloses that the mobile device user is provided with the created usage projection of the data usage of the user exceeding their current service plan ([0233]), which meets the limitation of the controller is configured to notify a user of one of the plurality of mobile devices of a projected exceeding of respective per user limit of usage time.
Referring to claim 8, Raleigh discloses that the usage information is collected with timestamps ([0270]), which meets the limitation of wherein the receiver further receives from each of the plurality of mobile devices time stamps of an occurrences [of the usage time for each of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks], wherein the processor is further configured to [aggregate] the amount of usage time for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks of each of the plurality of mobile devices according to the time stamps. A billing agent monitors service usage with respect to purchased service levels and provides notifications on usage levels ([0232]), which meets the limitation of monitor a plurality of time periods, in which each of the time stamps are associated with one of the plurality of time periods, and each of the plurality of time periods is associated with a [usage time] billing rate. Per network usage limits can be based on service costs for each network in order to minimize costs ([0115]), which meets the limitation of wherein the respective rules established for each of the plurality of mobile devices further include per user limits of cost per connected network. Raleigh does not specify limiting the total amount of time connected to the networks.
Hegli discloses managing network access wherein the managed limits can include total number of bytes transferred, and total amount of time connected ([0042]), which meets the limitation of occurrence of usage data for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks, aggregate the amount of usage time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the network service policy system of Raleigh to have included a usage limit on the total connection time in order to provide parents or employers the ability to control how much time their children or employees spend on the Internet as suggested by Hegli ([0005] & [0039]).
Raleigh does not specify that the mobile device is connected to the plurality of networks simultaneously. Kim discloses mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of networks ([0008]-[0010]), which meets the limitation of plurality of mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the mobile devices of Raleigh to be capable of simultaneous connections with the plurality of networks with which the mobile devices have monitored connections in order to provide the user with an efficient means of providing wide bandwidth and stable communication performance in unstable environments as suggested by Kim ([0008]-[0010]).
Referring to claim 9, Raleigh discloses that the mobile device user is provided with the created usage projection of the data usage of the user exceeding their current service plan ([0233]), which meets the limitation of wherein the controller is configured to notify a user of the one of the plurality of mobile devices to change networks to avoid exceeding cost limits on the one of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks. Examiner notes that the content of the claimed notification does not receive patentable weight since the content of the claimed notification is never functionally utilized by the claim and would therefore be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05. Additionally, Examiner notes that the “to avoid” limitation represents an intended use limitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Raleigh does not specify that the mobile device is connected to the plurality of networks simultaneously. Kim discloses mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of networks ([0008]-[0010]), which meets the limitation of plurality of mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the mobile devices of Raleigh to be capable of simultaneous connections with the plurality of networks with which the mobile devices have monitored connections in order to provide the user with an efficient means of providing wide bandwidth and stable communication performance in unstable environments as suggested by Kim ([0008]-[0010]).
Referring to claim 14, Raleigh discloses that the usage information includes activity versus time per connection and traffic versus time per connection ([0226]), which meets the limitation of wherein the receiving further includes receiving from each of the plurality of mobile devices usage time data comprising an amount of usage time for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks. The usage limits can include the total amount of traffic received and/or transmitted over a period of time ([0221]) and the usage limits can be implemented in each network ([0270]), which meets the limitation of wherein the respective rules established for each of the plurality of mobile devices further include per user limits [of usage time] per connected network. However, Raleigh does not specify limiting the total amount of time connected to the networks.
Hegli discloses managing network access wherein the managed limits can include total number of bytes transferred, and total amount of time connected ([0042]), which meets the limitation of wherein the evaluating further includes aggregating the amount of usage time for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks of each of the plurality of mobile devices, wherein the respective rules established for each of the plurality of mobile devices further include per user limits of usage time per connected network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the network service policy system of Raleigh to have included a usage limit on the total connection time in order to provide parents or employers the ability to control how much time their children or employees spend on the Internet as suggested by Hegli ([0005] & [0039]).
Raleigh does not specify that the mobile device is connected to the plurality of networks simultaneously. Kim discloses mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of networks ([0008]-[0010]), which meets the limitation of plurality of mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the mobile devices of Raleigh to be capable of simultaneous connections with the plurality of networks with which the mobile devices have monitored connections in order to provide the user with an efficient means of providing wide bandwidth and stable communication performance in unstable environments as suggested by Kim ([0008]-[0010]).
Referring to claim 15, Raleigh discloses that the mobile device user is provided with the created usage projection of the data usage of the user exceeding their current service plan ([0233]), which meets the limitation of the controller is configured to notify a user of one of the plurality of mobile devices of a projected exceeding of respective per user limit of usage time.
Referring to claim 16, Raleigh discloses that the usage information is collected with timestamps ([0270]), which meets the limitation of wherein the receiving further includes receiving from each of the plurality of mobile devices time stamps of an occurrences [of the usage time for each of the simultaneously connected plurality of multiple available networks], wherein the evaluating further includes [aggregating] the amount of usage time for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks of each of the plurality of mobile devices according to the time stamps. A billing agent monitors service usage with respect to purchased service levels and provides notifications on usage levels ([0232]), which meets the limitation of monitoring a plurality of time periods, in which each of the time stamps are associated with one of the plurality of time periods, and each of the plurality of time periods is associated with a [usage time] billing rate. Per network usage limits can be based on service costs for each network in order to minimize costs ([0115]), which meets the limitation of wherein the respective rules established for each of the plurality of mobile devices further include per user limits of cost per connected network. Raleigh does not specify limiting the total amount of time connected to the networks.
Hegli discloses managing network access wherein the managed limits can include total number of bytes transferred, and total amount of time connected ([0042]), which meets the limitation of occurrence of usage data for each of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks, aggregating the amount of usage time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the network service policy system of Raleigh to have included a usage limit on the total connection time in order to provide parents or employers the ability to control how much time their children or employees spend on the Internet as suggested by Hegli ([0005] & [0039]).
Raleigh does not specify that the mobile device is connected to the plurality of networks simultaneously. Kim discloses mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of networks ([0008]-[0010]), which meets the limitation of plurality of mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the mobile devices of Raleigh to be capable of simultaneous connections with the plurality of networks with which the mobile devices have monitored connections in order to provide the user with an efficient means of providing wide bandwidth and stable communication performance in unstable environments as suggested by Kim ([0008]-[0010]).
Referring to claim 17, Raleigh discloses that the mobile device user is provided with the created usage projection of the data usage of the user exceeding their current service plan ([0233]), which meets the limitation of wherein the controller is configured to notify a user of the one of the plurality of mobile devices to change networks to avoid exceeding cost limits on the one of the [simultaneously] connected plurality of multiple available networks. Examiner notes that the content of the claimed notification does not receive patentable weight since the content of the claimed notification is never functionally utilized by the claim and would therefore be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05. Additionally, Examiner notes that the “to avoid” limitation represents an intended use limitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Raleigh does not specify that the mobile device is connected to the plurality of networks simultaneously. Kim discloses mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of networks ([0008]-[0010]), which meets the limitation of plurality of mobile devices simultaneously connected to a plurality of the multiple available networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the mobile devices of Raleigh to be capable of simultaneous connections with the plurality of networks with which the mobile devices have monitored connections in order to provide the user with an efficient means of providing wide bandwidth and stable communication performance in unstable environments as suggested by Kim ([0008]-[0010]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weiss, U.S. Publication No. 2014/0310403, discloses the modification of functional components of a user devices based on device states.
Matthews, U.S. Publication No. 2013/0225152, discloses a device quiet control procedure to limit the communication functions of the device.
Tran, U.S. Publication No. 2011/0185437, discloses selectively providing access to requested content based upon metering policies.
Park, U.S. Publication No. 2010/0146591, discloses an access control system for a device with subscriptions in multiple networks.
Maharajh, U.S. Publication No. 2008/0201225, discloses a consumption profile for a mobile device.
Mori, JP 2004289334, discloses device configurations based upon configuration definitions.
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437