DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application number 19/201,621 filed on 05/07/2025, in
which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2025 have been received
and considered.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 reads “about the at least one axis” but should read “about at least one axis”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
5. Claims 1, 2, 5, and 7 is rejected under 35 USC §102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by (US 20230341875 A1) to Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses A single-handed controller for controlling an aerial vehicle, comprising: a body having an elongated shape; (Zhang Paragraph 0212: “The rotation of the handheld control device may be more intuitively transformed into the attitude control of the unmanned aerial vehicle, to achieve the purpose of three-way interaction between human, the handheld control device, and the unmanned aerial vehicle. In some embodiments, the user may be able to operate the unmanned aerial vehicle with only one hand. The body movements such as wrist rotation may be converted into adjustment instructions for the unmanned aerial vehicle's attitude in a way that conforms to human intuition.”)
a processor connected to the body; (Zhang Paragraph 0253: “The handheld control device 620 includes an attitude sensor 621, one or more processors 622, and a communication circuit 623.”) a transmitter connected to the body and in electronic communication with the processor;
one or more of: an input mechanism connected to the body and positionable in a plurality of positions, the input mechanism in electronic communication with the processor; or an orientation sensor connected to the body and in electronic communication with the processor; (Zhang Paragraph 0045: “Exemplarily, in one embodiment, the handheld control device may include a sensor, and the sensor of the handheld control device may be used to collect the attitude information of the handheld control device. The attitude information may include at least one of a pitch angle, a yaw angle, a roll angle, horizontal moving speed, vertical moving speed, or a height above the ground. For example, the sensor of the handheld control device may include at least one of an inertial measurement unit (IMU)”)
a memory in electronic communication with the processor having instructions stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Zhang Paragraph 0253: “The handheld control device 620 includes an attitude sensor 621, one or more processors 622, and a communication circuit 623.”) (Zhang Paragraph 0291: “The computer-readable storage medium may be an internal storage unit of the handheld control device described in any of the foregoing embodiments of the present disclosure, such as a hard disk or a memory of the handheld control device.”)
one or more of: using the orientation sensor: detect a rotation of the body about the at least one axis; (Zhang Paragraph 0045: “Exemplarily, in one embodiment, the handheld control device may include a sensor, and the sensor of the handheld control device may be used to collect the attitude information of the handheld control device. The attitude information may include at least one of a pitch angle, a yaw angle, a roll angle, horizontal moving speed, vertical moving speed, or a height above the ground. For example, the sensor of the handheld control device may include at least one of an inertial measurement unit (IMU)”) or using the input mechanism: detect a first position of the plurality of positions; using the transmitter one or more of: send a command to change an angle of the aerial vehicle based on detecting the rotation of the body about the at least one axis; (Zhang Paragraph 0058: “As shown in FIG. 9, the control information determined according to the roll angle of the handheld control device may also be used to control the unmanned aerial vehicle to rotate in the yaw direction.”) (Zhang Paragraph 0060: “As shown in FIG. 10, when the control information of the unmanned aerial vehicle is used to instruct the gimbal of the unmanned aerial vehicle to make a pitch movement (rotate in the pitch direction),”) or send a command to change one or more of a thrust or a yaw of the aerial vehicle based on the input mechanism being positioned in the first position.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses The controller of claim 1, wherein the orientation sensor is configured to detect a first rotation of the body about a first axis and a second rotation of the body about a second axis, and the transmitter is configured to send commands to change a pitch of the aerial vehicle based on detecting the first rotation and to change a roll of the aerial vehicle based on detecting the second rotation. (Zhang Paragraph 0045: “Exemplarily, in one embodiment, the handheld control device may include a sensor, and the sensor of the handheld control device may be used to collect the attitude information of the handheld control device. The attitude information may include at least one of a pitch angle, a yaw angle, a roll angle, horizontal moving speed, vertical moving speed, or a height above the ground. For example, the sensor of the handheld control device may include at least one of an inertial measurement unit (IMU)”) (Zhang Paragraph 0047: “Exemplarily, as shown in FIG. 2, the wireless communication channel from the unmanned aerial vehicle to the handheld control device and the head-mounted device is called a downlink channel, which is used to transmit data collected by the unmanned aerial vehicle”)
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses The controller of claim 1, further comprising at least one button configured to send commands to reset an attitude sensor of the aerial vehicle. (Zhang Paragraph 0201: “Correspondingly, the attitude initialization at any position function may be designed for the handheld control device. When the user clicks the big round button at any time, any position, and any attitude, the attitude of the handheld control device may be reset to the center”)
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses The controller of claim 1, further comprising a two-axis light configured to indicate a pitch levelness and a roll levelness of the aerial vehicle. (Zhang Paragraph 0062: “It can be understood that the X-axis direction can be used as the light emitted by the “flashlight” to indicate the direction of movement of the unmanned aerial vehicle. Therefore, controlling the direction of movement of the unmanned aerial vehicle according to the attitude information of the handheld control device may be called a flashlight mode.”) (Zhang Paragraph 0158: “When the X-axis direction of the handheld control device, that is, the light emitted by the “flashlight” changes in the vertical direction (rotates along the Y-axis of the earth coordinate system), the unmanned aerial vehicle may generate a speed in the vertical direction.”) (Pitch = rotation about the y-axis and Roll=rotation about the x-axis)
6. Claims 16 is rejected under 35 USC §102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Yang (CN 208852415 U).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses A method for single-handed remote controlling of an aerial vehicle, comprising: detecting a rotation of a body of a controller in communication with the aerial vehicle; (Yang Paragraph 0096: “The solution of this feature is illustrated in FIG. 16. Assuming that the controller reference frame and the drone reference frame are both geographical frame. When the controller X-axis is pointed along a specific direction, the drone would recognize the corresponding direction, and move along this direction until the velocity button is released.”)
transmitting, from the controller and to the aerial vehicle, a command to change an angle of the aerial vehicle based on the rotation of the body; (Yang Paragraph 0096: “The solution of this feature is illustrated in FIG. 16. Assuming that the controller reference frame and the drone reference frame are both geographical frame. When the controller X-axis is pointed along a specific direction, the drone would recognize the corresponding direction, and move along this direction until the velocity button is released.”) detecting a position of an input mechanism of the controller; and transmitting, from the controller and to the aerial vehicle, a command to change one or more of a thrust or a yaw of the aerial vehicle based on the position; (Yang Paragraph 0064: “The Yaw Direction dial: the Yaw Direction dial is used to control drone's movement on yaw direction;”)
wherein the rotation of the body and the position of the input mechanism are input to the controller by a single hand of a user of the controller. (Yang Paragraph 0064: “The Yaw Direction dial: the Yaw Direction dial is used to control drone's movement on yaw direction;”) (Yang Paragraph 0096: “Referring to FIG. 16 illustrating the One-Hand Velocity Control Feature: another feature of the one-handed controller 50 is the directed velocity control feature, where the drone would fly along the aiming direction of this controller when user pushes on the specific button.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20230341875 A1) in view of Walter (CA 2429861 C).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Zhang does not disclose The controller of claim 1, wherein the input mechanism is a joystick positionable in the plurality of positions in two axes, and the transmitter is configured to send commands to change the thrust of the aerial vehicle based on the first position with respect to a first axis of the two axes, and to change the yaw of the aerial vehicle based on the first position with respect to a second axis of the two axes.
However, Walter does teach The controller of claim 1, wherein the input mechanism is a joystick positionable in the plurality of positions in two axes, and the transmitter is configured to send commands to change the thrust of the aerial vehicle based on the first position with respect to a first axis of the two axes, and to change the yaw of the aerial vehicle based on the first position with respect to a second axis of the two axes. (Walter Page 6, Line number 22-Page 7, line number 4: “In the case of manual flying of the aircraft along the axis of tan-pledge by means of at least one usual control stick, use is made of advantageously, as piloting laws, a control law of the fac-charge, an incidence protection law and a protection law 5 in speed, and the actuation of the joystick is simul- at the moment in load factor setpoint, t the moment in load factor setpoint, in limit incidence setpoint and limit speed reference, which are used respectively by the said control law of the load factor,”) (Walter Page 7, line number 14-17: “The present invention also relates to a control system an aircraft, which is likely to generate pilot the aircraft according to at least one control axis (pitch axis, driving axis lances, yaw axis and / or thrust axis of the engines).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include The controller of claim 1, wherein the input mechanism is a joystick positionable in the plurality of positions in two axes, and the transmitter is configured to send commands to change the thrust of the aerial vehicle based on the first position with respect to a first axis of the two axes, and to change the yaw of the aerial vehicle based on the first position with respect to a second axis of the two axes taught by Walter. This would have been for the benefit to provide at least two different pilot laws that related to the control axis that allows each to determine the control orders of the aircraft in order to maintain the impact of the aircraft above a prescribed maximum value. [Walter Page 2, line number 11-24]
8. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20230341875 A1) in view of Moy (WO 2024039824 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Zhang does not disclose The controller of claim 1, further comprising at least one button is configured to send commands to adjust a trim of the aerial vehicle.
However, Moy does teach The controller of claim 1, further comprising at least one button is configured to send commands to adjust a trim of the aerial vehicle. (Moy Page 34, Paragraph 2: “As a further non-limiting example, adjusting the aircraft function as a function of the interaction with the user may include adjusting the trim of aircraft 1320, wherein adjusting the trim may include engaging and/or disengaging the trim.”) (Moy Page 34, Paragraph 2: “For example and without limitation, an interaction may include a depression, a toggle, a rotation, a button press,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include The controller of claim 1, further comprising at least one button is configured to send commands to adjust a trim of the aerial vehicle taught by Moy. This would have been for the benefit to provide a flight control system for an electric aircraft which includes a propulsor configured to generate lift to propel an electric aircraft and pilot input to allow a pilot to control an aircraft in an intuitive manner. [Moy Page 2, Paragraph 6-7]
9. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20230341875 A1) in view of Hachitsuka (JP 2024123428 A).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Zhang does not disclose The controller of claim 1, further comprising at least one button configured to send commands to maintain one or more of a current heading, a position, or an orientation of the aerial vehicle.
However, Hachitsuka does teach The controller of claim 1, further comprising at least one button configured to send commands to maintain one or more of a current heading, a position, or an orientation of the aerial vehicle. (Hachitsuka Page 3, Paragraph 1: “The controllers 4A to 4F have input means 4g (e.g., cross-shaped or stick-shaped keys, various buttons, touch panels, etc.) that can input commands to the corresponding drones 3A to 3F individually. Operations performed by the drones 3A to 3F in response to commands output as wireless signals based on input operations using the input means 4g of the controllers 4A to 4F may include basic operations for changing or maintaining the positions of the drones 3A to 3F (e.g., moving forward, backward, moving left or right, turning, ascending, descending, hovering at a specified position, etc.)”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include The controller of claim 1, further comprising at least one button configured to send commands to maintain one or more of a current heading, a position, or an orientation of the aerial vehicle taught by Hachitsuka. This would have been for the benefit to provide A game system which includes drones that can fly, associated with controllers that steer the drones, and a panel which is allowed to turn toward a deep side when the drones collide with the panel at a predetermined speed in order to avoid other aircrafts while they fly. [Hachitsuka Page 1, Paragraph 1 and Paragraph 5]
10. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20230341875 A1) in view of (US 20200272144 A1) to Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Zhang does not disclose The controller of claim 1, further comprising a rechargeable battery positionable within the body for powering one or more of the input mechanism, the orientation sensor, the transmitter, the processor, or the memory, and a power receiving unit for charging the rechargeable battery, wherein the power receiving unit is configured for one or more of wired charging or wireless charging.
However, Yang does teach The controller of claim 1, further comprising a rechargeable battery positionable within the body for powering one or more of the input mechanism, the orientation sensor, the transmitter, the processor, or the memory, and a power receiving unit for charging the rechargeable battery, wherein the power receiving unit is configured for one or more of wired charging or wireless charging. (Yang Paragraph 0065: “The USB-C Port: The USB-C port is used to charge the controller via this port and access the controller to laptop/computer via this port, to upgrade controller's firmware. The LCD screen may display controller battery level; drone battery level;”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include The controller of claim 1, further comprising a rechargeable battery positionable within the body for powering one or more of the input mechanism, the orientation sensor, the transmitter, the processor, or the memory, and a power receiving unit for charging the rechargeable battery, wherein the power receiving unit is configured for one or more of wired charging or wireless charging taught by Yang. This would have been for the benefit to provide a one-handed remote-controller for drones to control drone's directions and gimbal angles with a single hand in order to solve the deficiencies of using a two hand controller that is complicated for the user to learn and operate. [Yang Paragraph 0004 and 0021]
11. Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20230341875 A1) in view of (US 20230244224 A1) to Zhou et al. (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Zhang does not disclose The controller of claim 1, wherein the transmitter is configured to communicate via one or more of radio frequency (RF) signals, infrared (IR) signals, optical signals, or acoustic signals.
However, Zhou does teach The controller of claim 1, wherein the transmitter is configured to communicate via one or more of radio frequency (RF) signals, infrared (IR) signals, optical signals, or acoustic signals. (Zhou Paragraph 0090: “With reference to FIG. 2C, remote controller 100 includes an antenna 281 in antenna portion 180”) (Zhou Paragraph 0134: “In some exemplary embodiments, devices of remote control system 500 communicate in real-time via any suitable communication technologies, such as local area network (LAN), wide area network (WAN) (e.g., the Internet), cloud environment, telecommunications network (e.g., 3G, 4G, 5G), WiFi, Bluetooth, radiofrequency (RF), infrared (IR), or any other communication technologies.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include The controller of claim 1, wherein the transmitter is configured to communicate via one or more of radio frequency (RF) signals, infrared (IR) signals, optical signals, or acoustic signals taught by Zhou. This would have been for the benefit to provide improved remote controllers and improved control components of remote controllers so the user can use one free one hand to do other tasks when the other hand is handling the controller. [Zhou Paragraph 0005-0006]
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Zhang does not disclose The controller of claim 1, wherein the transmitter is directional to selectively transmit signals in a specific direction.
However, Zhou does teach The controller of claim 1, wherein the transmitter is directional to selectively transmit signals in a specific direction. (Zhou Paragraph 0042: “In some exemplary embodiments, when the user is holding portion 160 in the vertical direction, which is substantially parallel to a frontal plane of the user body, and controlling a movable device in the front direction or front-top direction relative to the user, the antenna of remote controller 100 faces substantially towards the movable device so that a signal from the antenna can be effectively received by the movable device.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include The controller of claim 1, wherein the transmitter is directional to selectively transmit signals in a specific direction taught by Zhou. This would have been for the benefit to provide improved remote controllers and improved control components of remote controllers so the user can use one free one hand to do other tasks when the other hand is handling the controller. [Zhou Paragraph 0005-0006]
12. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20230341875 A1) in view of (US 20250116488 A1) to Branco Ferreira et al. (hereinafter Branco).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Zhang does not disclose The controller of claim 1, further comprising a security device configured to disable the controller until the security device is deactivated.
However, Branco does teach The controller of claim 1, further comprising a security device configured to disable the controller until the security device is deactivated. (Branco Paragraph 0037: “In this embodiment, the control unit is additionally configured to disable the remote controller if the user identified by the biometric sensor is not a certified user. A certified user is a user that is authorized to operate a remote controller.”) (Note: The security device is deactivated when the authorized user is detected)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include The controller of claim 1, further comprising a security device configured to disable the controller until the security device is deactivated taught by Branco. This would have been for the benefit to provide a method for intercepting and controlling target-drones, which allows to control the target-drone's flight route, causing it to land in a predetermined landing position in order to disclose a strategy for the protection of restricted areas that is equally effective but that does not destroy or cause physical damage to the target-drone. [Branco Paragraph 0005 and 0007]
13. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20230341875 A1) in view of (US 20220083055 A1) to Rigau et al. (hereinafter Rigau).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Zhang does not disclose The controller of claim 1, further including a body extension connected to and extending from the body, wherein the body is positionable in and proportional to grasp of a hand of a user, and wherein, when the controller is grasped by the user, the body extension extends past the grasp of the hand of the user.
However, Rigau does teach The controller of claim 1, further including a body extension connected to and extending from the body, wherein the body is positionable in and proportional to grasp of a hand of a user, and wherein, when the controller is grasped by the user, the body extension extends past the grasp of the hand of the user. (Rigau Paragraph 0055: “For example, the user in the activity zone 102 may use a wand 144 or any other physical object to interact directly with the robots. The tracking system 112 for example tracks movements of the wand 144, and the computing system 120 for example controls the robots as a function of these movements. For example, one or more drones may be repulsed by the wand 144, or directed to areas indicated by the wand 144, although any type of interaction could be envisaged.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include The controller of claim 1, further including a body extension connected to and extending from the body, wherein the body is positionable in and proportional to grasp of a hand of a user, and wherein, when the controller is grasped by the user, the body extension extends past the grasp of the hand of the user taught by Rigau. This would have been for the benefit to provide a processing device for implementing a mixed reality system in order to solve the difficulty in providing mixed reality environments in which events involving virtual elements in a virtual world that can be synchronized with the dynamic behavior of real objects in the physical world. [Rigau Paragraph 0006 and 0008]
14. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 208852415 U) in view of Zhang (US 20230341875 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses claim 16, accordingly the rejection gf claim 16 is incorporated above.
Yang does not disclose The method of claim 16, wherein: detecting the rotation includes: detecting a first rotation of the body about a first axis; and detecting a second rotation of the body about a second axis; and transmitting the command to change the angle includes: transmitting a pitch command to change a pitch of the aerial vehicle based on the first rotation; and transmitting a roll command to change a roll of the aerial vehicle based on the second rotation.
However, Zhang does teach The method of claim 16, wherein: detecting the rotation includes: detecting a first rotation of the body about a first axis; and detecting a second rotation of the body about a second axis; and transmitting the command to change the angle includes: transmitting a pitch command to change a pitch of the aerial vehicle based on the first rotation; and transmitting a roll command to change a roll of the aerial vehicle based on the second rotation. (Zhang Paragraph 0055: “the angle at which the handheld control device rotates around the Y axis is called a pitch angle, and the angle at which the handheld control device rotates around the X axis is called a roll angle.”) (Note: The first and second rotations are non-limiting)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang to include The method of claim 16, wherein: detecting the rotation includes: detecting a first rotation of the body about a first axis; and detecting a second rotation of the body about a second axis; and transmitting the command to change the angle includes: transmitting a pitch command to change a pitch of the aerial vehicle based on the first rotation; and transmitting a roll command to change a roll of the aerial vehicle based on the second rotation taught by Zhang. This would have been for the benefit to provide a movable object control method that obtains the attitude information of a handheld control device to control movement of the movable object in order to control movable objects by another method than just relying on the accelerators of remote controllers. [Zhang Paragraph 0003 and 0004]
15. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 208852415 U) in view of Zhang (US 20230341875 A1) and further in view of (US 20150307191 A1) to Samuel et al. (hereinafter Samuel).
Regarding claim 18, Yang in view of Zhang teaches claim 17, accordingly, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated above.
Yang in view of Zhang does not teach The method of claim 17, wherein the aerial vehicle includes at least one actuatable appendage that is actuatable to flutter, and further comprising: in connection with transmitting the pitch command, transmitting a command to adjust an angle of the at least one actuatable appendage; and in connection with transmitting the roll command, transmitting a command to adjust one or more of a magnitude or a speed of fluttering of the at least one actuatable appendage.
However, Samuel does teach The method of claim 17, wherein the aerial vehicle includes at least one actuatable appendage that is actuatable to flutter, and further comprising: in connection with transmitting the pitch command, transmitting a command to adjust an angle of the at least one actuatable appendage; (Samuel Paragraph 0052: “The controller 102 can control the lift-generating mechanism 104 and/or the steering mechanism 106 fly the flapping wing aerial vehicle 100. For example, the controller 102 can send appropriate control signals to the lift-generating mechanism 104 to flap the wings 108 at an appropriate frequency to take advantage of the resonant effects of the lift-generating mechanism 104 and the wings 108, as described in further detail below. The controller 102 can also send appropriate control signals to the steering mechanism 106 to effect changes in one or more of roll, pitch, yaw, surge, sideslip, and heave by altering stroke motion (e.g., end points or stroke plane inclination) to direct the aerial vehicle over a desired path or to maintain the aerial vehicle at a desired position.”) and in connection with transmitting the roll command, transmitting a command to adjust one or more of a magnitude or a speed of fluttering of the at least one actuatable appendage. (Samuel Paragraph 0091: “Referring to FIG. 19A, control of wing stroke motion to provide roll control for an aerial vehicle 1502 is illustrated in further detail. The aerial vehicle 1502 can have original, unmodified wing stroke positions 1504 and a center stroke position 1506. By using the disclosed steering mechanisms, roll control may be achieved by altering the stroke amplitude for one of the wings with respect to the other wing.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Zhang to include The method of claim 17, wherein the aerial vehicle includes at least one actuatable appendage that is actuatable to flutter, and further comprising: in connection with transmitting the pitch command, transmitting a command to adjust an angle of the at least one actuatable appendage; and in connection with transmitting the roll command, transmitting a command to adjust one or more of a magnitude or a speed of fluttering of the at least one actuatable appendage taught by Samuel. This would have been for the benefit to provide a wing-flapping device for an aerial vehicle can include a pair of wing support members, a lift-generating mechanism, and a steering mechanism in order to reduce the scale of flapping wing flight such as wing feedback and wing actuation. [Samuel Paragraph 0004 and 0008]
16. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 208852415 U) in view of Walter (CA 2429861 C).
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses claim 16, accordingly, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated above.
Yang does not disclose The method of claim 16, wherein: detecting the position includes: detecting a first axial component of the position along a first axis; and detecting a second axial component of the position along a second axis; and transmitting the command to change one or more of the thrust or yaw includes: transmitting a thrust command to change the thrust of the aerial vehicle based on the first axial component of the position; and transmitting a yaw command to change the yaw of the aerial vehicle based on the second axial component of the position.
However, Walter does teach The method of claim 16, wherein: detecting the position includes: detecting a first axial component of the position along a first axis; and detecting a second axial component of the position along a second axis; and transmitting the command to change one or more of the thrust or yaw includes: transmitting a thrust command to change the thrust of the aerial vehicle based on the first axial component of the position; and transmitting a yaw command to change the yaw of the aerial vehicle based on the second axial component of the position. (Walter Page 6, Line number 22-Page 7, line number 4: “In the case of manual flying of the aircraft along the axis of tan-pledge by means of at least one usual control stick, use is made of advantageously, as piloting laws, a control law of the fac-charge, an incidence protection law and a protection law 5 in speed, and the actuation of the joystick is simul- at the moment in load factor setpoint, t the moment in load factor setpoint, in limit incidence setpoint and limit speed reference, which are used respectively by the said control law of the load factor,”) (Walter Page 7, line number 14-17: “The present invention also relates to a control system an aircraft, which is likely to generate pilot the aircraft according to at least one control axis (pitch axis, driving axis lances, yaw axis and / or thrust axis of the engines).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang to include TThe method of claim 16, wherein: detecting the position includes: detecting a first axial component of the position along a first axis; and detecting a second axial component of the position along a second axis; and transmitting the command to change one or more of the thrust or yaw includes: transmitting a thrust command to change the thrust of the aerial vehicle based on the first axial component of the position; and transmitting a yaw command to change the yaw of the aerial vehicle based on the second axial component of the position taught by Walter. This would have been for the benefit to provide at least two different pilot laws that related to the control axis that allows each to determine the control orders of the aircraft in order to maintain the impact of the aircraft above a prescribed maximum value. [Walter Page 2, line number 11-24]
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claim 8, 9, 10, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/K.J.H./Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664