DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Parramon et al (US20180110992A1, hereinafter “Parramon”).
Regarding claim 1, Parramon discloses a method for programming an implantable medical device (IMD) having a plurality of electrodes implantable in a patient's spinal column (par 0080, 0089), the method comprising: causing the IMD to apply a plurality of candidate waveforms to the patient's spinal cord (pars 0075, 0080-0081), wherein each waveform comprises a plurality of sequential pulses (pars 0080, 0094), wherein each pulse comprises a first phase having a first polarity and a second phase having a second polarity opposite of the first polarity (pars 0080-0081, 0085-0086, 0125-0127), wherein the first and second phases are separated by an inter-phase interval, IPI, wherein each of the candidate waveforms has a different IPI (pars 0080-0081, 0085-0086); selecting one of the candidate waveforms for treating the patient based on a determination of effectiveness of each of the candidate waveforms (par 0080-0081, 0083); and programming the IMD with the selected candidate waveform (par 0075, 0083).
Regarding claim 11, Parramon discloses the further comprising determining the plurality of candidate waveforms (pars 0075, 0080-0081).
Regarding claim 12, Parramon discloses determining the plurality of candidate waveforms comprising predicting, based on neural modeling, temporal firing patterns of neural elements evoked by the candidate waveforms (par 0101-0102).
Regarding claim 13, Parramon discloses applying the candidate waveforms comprises using a graphical user interface, GUI to select the candidate waveforms (pars 0072, 0075, 0080-0081).
Regarding claim 14, Parramon discloses the GUI is configured to provide a ranking of the effectiveness of the candidate waveforms (pars 0072, 0076).
Regarding claim 15, Parramon discloses the GUI is configured to provide an indication of an expected physiological and/or clinical effect associated with the stimulation program using the candidate waveforms (par 0072, 0076).
Regarding claim 16, Parramon discloses the second phase is actively driven (pars 0080-0081, 0085-0086, 0125-0127).
Regarding claim 18, Parramon discloses a neuromodulation system comprising: an external device for programming an implantable medical device IMD (pars 0080-0081), wherein the IMD comprises a plurality of electrodes implantable in a patient's spinal column (par 0080, 0089), and wherein the external device comprises a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions (pars 0080-0081), which when executed by the external device configure the external device to: cause the IMD to apply a plurality of candidate waveforms to the patient's spinal cord (pars 0075, 0080-0081), wherein each waveform comprises a plurality of sequential pulses (pars 0080, 0094), wherein each pulse comprises a first phase having a first polarity and a second phase having a second polarity opposite of the first polarity (pars 0080-0081, 0085-0086, 0125-0127), wherein the first and second phases are separated by an inter-phase interval, IPI, wherein each of the candidate waveforms has a different IPI (pars 0080-0081, 0085-0086); select one of the candidate waveforms for treating the patient based on a determination of effectiveness of each of the candidate waveforms (par 0080-0081, 0083); and program the IMD with the selected candidate waveform (par 0075, 0083).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10, 17, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799