DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a plug body”, Claims 4 recites “a first plug body” and “a second plug body” and Claim 5 recites “the first plug body” and “the second plug body”, respectively. This creates confusion as to how many plug bodies exist. It cannot be determined the first and second plug bodies are subassemblies of a plug body assembly or two separate plug bodies. To address this issue, a limitation in Claim 1 such as “at least one plug body” would make the claim definite.
Claim 1 recites “a coupling body” and Claim 4 recites “a first coupling body”, “a second coupling body” and “a third coupling body”. This creates confusion as to how many coupling bodies exist. To address this issue, a limitation in Claim 1 such as “at least one coupling body” would make the claim definite.
Claim 1 recites “a first shape” and “a second shape” associated, respectively, with being “capable of passing through the opening” and “being latched by the opening”. However, it appears that the shape before passing through and after passing through (and therefore the “being latched” shape) would be the same shape and that the only shape change would occur DURING that passing through. Clarification is required.
Claim 6 recites “a loop” in line 10 and “a loop” in line 12, but these are different loops. Examiner suggests “a first loop” and “a second loop”.
Claims 2-3 is rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McNeill, U.S. Patent 7,404,238.
Regarding Claim 1, insofar as the claim is understood, McNeill teaches:
A plug body (see 20, 22); and
a plurality of receptacle bodies (36a-c),
wherein the plug body and the receptacle bodies are coupled and aligned via a coupling body (see below).
Regarding Claim 2, insofar as the claim is understood, McNeill teaches:
The receptacle bodies each have an opening (36a-c), and the plug body is elastically transformed between a first shape and a second shape (see Paragraph [0043], see Examiner’s Note), the first shape being capable of passing through the opening, the second shape being latched by a periphery of the opening (Figs. 4-6).
**Examiner’s Note: Examiner notes that the entire apparatus is made of the same flexible material and therefore both the plug body and the receptacle body will be elastically transformed between a first shape and a second shape.
Regarding Claim 3, insofar as the claim is understood, McNeill teaches:
The plug body and the receptacle bodies are alternately coupled and aligned via the coupling body (see below, see coupling body 24 in Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cochran, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0107033.
Regarding Claim 1, insofar as the claim is understood, Cochran teaches:
A plug body (see below); and
a plurality of receptacle bodies (see below),
wherein the plug body and the receptacle bodies are coupled and aligned via a coupling body (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over McNeill ‘432.
Regarding Claim 4, McNeill teaches:
A first plug body (see below) is disposed on one end,
a first receptacle body (see below) is coupled to the first plug body via a first coupling body (see below),
a second plug body (see below) is positioned on an extension line of the first coupling body and coupled to the first receptacle body via a second coupling body (see below),
a second receptacle body (see below) is positioned on an extension line of the first and second coupling bodies and coupled to the second plug body via a third coupling body (see below), and
the first plug body, the first receptacle body, the second plug body, and the second receptacle body are coupled and aligned with each other (see below).
Examiner submits that the first coupling body, second coupling body and third coupling body all connect the various bodies together into a single assembly and therefore meet the claim limitations because direct connection (or a specific order of connection) is not explicitly required by the claim.
Should Applicant disagree then Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the claimed plug, receptacle and coupling bodies in the specific order of Applicant’s figures because that would permit the McNeill device to form two large loops (as opposed to a small loop and large loop, see 40, 42) and this would permit the storage of more than one cable which would improve the utility of the device (see Figs. 9-11) and rearrangement of parts is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure nor has Applicant cited any criticality to the disclosed order of the bodies in the figures, In re Japikse.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McNeill ‘432 as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Cochran ‘033.
Regarding Claim 5, McNeill teaches:
The first plug body is shaped like a triangle (see above)
And the first receptacle body and the second receptacle body each internally having an opening (see above)
McNeill does not teach:
The second pug body shaped like a letter X
The first receptacle body shaped like a circle
The second receptacle body shaped like a rectangle.
Cochran teaches:
A plug body shaped like a letter X (see Fig. 3, element 310 which is X rotated 45 degrees).
A receptacle body shaped like a circle (see Fig. 3, 304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide McNeill with the teachings of Cochran because the shape changes would provide a visual indicator so a user can match the proper plug to body to the proper receptacle body for the desired loop size and it is arbitrary to delineate the receptacle body to be a rectangle (see below) and a change in shape is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure nor has applicant provided any criticality for the claimed shapes, In re Dailey.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McNeill ‘432.
Regarding Claim 6, McNeill teaches:
A first plug body that is shaped like a triangle (20);
a first receptacle body (34);
a second plug body that is shaped like a triangle (22);
and a second receptacle body (36a)…
…coupling bodies (see below, see drawing selections above)…
…the band is transformable between a state in which the first or second plug body is passed through a hollow section of the first or second receptacle body and latched to form a loop (see Fig. 6, element 40) and a stated in which either one of the first or second receptacle bodies is passed through a hollow section to another one of the first and second receptacle bodies and latched to form a loop (42).
McNeill does not teach:
The first receptacle body shaped like a hollow circle or a hollow square;
The second receptacle body shaped like a hollow circle or a hollow rectangle
The first plug body, the first receptacle body, the second plug body, and the second
receptacle body are aligned via coupling bodies in that order.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the first and second receptacle body shaped like a hollow circle or hollow square or hollow rectangle because the shape changes would provide a visual indicator so a user can match the proper plug to body to the proper receptacle body for the desired loop size and it is arbitrary to delineate the receptacle body to be a rectangle (see below) and a change in shape is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure nor has applicant provided any criticality for the claimed shapes, In re Dailey. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the first plug body, the first receptacle body, the second plug body, and the second receptacle body are aligned via coupling bodies in that order because that would permit the McNeill device to form two large loops (as opposed to a small loop and large loop, see 40, 42) and this would permit that storage of more than one cable which would improve the utility of the device (see Figs. 9-11) and a rearrangement of parts is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure nor has Applicant cited any criticality to the disclosed order of the bodies in the figures, In re Japikse.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677