Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 11/10/2025 includes changes to the claims, remarks and arguments related to the previous rejection. The above have been entered and considered. Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the 112(b) rejection:
Applicant has amended Claim 1 to resolve the clarity of the elements that are displaced as displacement of the light intensity pattern object relative to the imaging device. The 112(b) rejection of the claims is withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejection:
Applicant has amended Claim 1 to add several limitations.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments with regard to Claims 1-16 have been considered in light of the previous references. The arguments and amended claims do not overcome the prior art at the time of the filing of the invention. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new combination of the prior references of Rossi (US 20180267214; “Rossi”) in view of Qiao (US 20140362371; “Qiao”).
Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 16 the closest prior art Rossi (US 20180267214; “Rossi”) which discloses a method for measuring displacement by forming an array of sub-images of a light intensity pattern object focusing the array of spatially distinct sub-images onto a light intensity measuring surface of an imaging device as an array of focused spatially distinct sub-images forming a composite sensed image of the light intensity pattern object.
Rossi nor the prior art discloses the light intensity pattern is unique for each displacement of the light intensity pattern object relative to the imaging device, such that a single displacement solution is produced for each possible displacement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi (US 20180267214; “Rossi”) in view of Qiao (US 20140362371; “Qiao”).
Claim 1. Rossi discloses a method for measuring displacement (Fig. 1: D1) [0006: Structured light can be used, e.g., in applications where distances to objects present in a scene shall be determined. Therein, a light pattern created in the scene by the structured light makes possible to distinguish bodies according to their distance from the apparatus emitting the structured light], comprising: forming an array (L1 microlens array 2) [0291: the illustrated case of Fig. 1 and also in most other Figures, the microlenses 2 are transparent refractive semi-concave microlenses], of spatially distinct sub-images (8) of a light intensity pattern object (S1 led light pattern) based on a light intensity pattern (S1) of the light intensity pattern object [0419: Fig. 27B illustrates a data set taken by detector 33 of device 30 of Fig. 27A. The filled circles represent intensity maxima. The dotted arrows symbolize the first four lines 15 along which detector 33 is read out during a read-out cycle] [0300: Fig. 2 is a schematic illustration of a pattern 8 created by structured light 5 produced by the apparatus of Fig. 1. The pattern 8 is recorded in the far- field] the light intensity pattern object comprising a pattern forming substrate (LSA lights on a board Figs. 16 & 24) configured as a multi-dimensional array (S1) of light intensity pattern portions (S1) that define the light intensity pattern (8) of the light intensity pattern object (Fig. 10), each light intensity pattern portion comprising at least one relatively light part [0300] and at least one relatively dark part (Figs. 10 & 27B showing patterned light) [0300] to define at least one edge in each light intensity pattern portion (Fig. 10); focusing the array of spatially distinct sub-images (L1) onto a light intensity measuring surface (8) of an imaging device (33) as an array of focused [0300: Fig. 2 is a schematic illustration of a pattern 8 created by structured light 5 produced by the apparatus of Fig. 1. The pattern 8 is recorded in the far- field], spatially distinct sub-images forming a composite sensed image of the light intensity pattern object (8) [0300] and to thereby provide a measurement of displacement (D1 fixed plus ΔD2) of the light intensity pattern object (S1) relative to the imaging device (33)[0415-0419].
Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
registering the composite sensed image to a reference image of the light intensity pattern object based on the light intensity pattern portions in the focused, spatially distinct sub-images to thereby provide a measurement of displacement of the light intensity pattern object relative to the imaging device.
Qiao teaches [0007: an apparatus including at least one light source that forms a two-dimensional interrogating beam and a lenslet array and processor that determines, relative to a reference array of focus spots, at least one of the following variations: 1) the displacement in an X-Y plane of a focus spot in the sample array, (2) a size of a focus spot in the sample array, and (3) an intensity of a focus spot in the sample array, wherein the variations are representative of a level of non-uniformity in the sample region]. Qiao further teaches registering the composite sensed image (Fig. 6 with comparison offsets) to a reference image of the light intensity pattern object (Fig.5) on the light intensity pattern portions in the focused, spatially distinct sub-images (Fig. 6) to thereby provide a measurement of displacement of the light intensity pattern object relative to the imaging device [0008: processor that measures, relative to a reference array of focus spots, at least one of the displacement in an X-Y plane, the size, and the intensity of the focus spots in the sample array, to determine the level of non-uniformity in the sample region] & [0054-0055: FIG. 5 shows an image of a reference array of focus spots 154, and FIG. 6 shows the shifted sample array of focus spots 150 created when a non-uniform sample of material is placed between the expanded laser beam and the lenslet array 120. The numerical values listed in FIG. 6 are the X and Y displacements of the image of the sample array of focus spots 150 with respect to the image of reference array of focus spots 154].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Qiao’s image processing with Rossi’s, as modified, image detector and processing because comparing each measured point to a known reference improves processing efficiency with a detailed point by point mapping of object displacements [Qiao 0005].
Claim 2. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
registering is performed by mapping pattern portions in the sub-images of the sensed image to corresponding pattern portions in corresponding sub-images of the reference image.
Qiao teaches [0007: an apparatus including at least one light source that forms a two-dimensional interrogating beam and a lenslet array and processor that determines, relative to a reference array of focus spots, at least one of the following variations: 1) the displacement in an X-Y plane of a focus spot in the sample array, (2) a size of a focus spot in the sample array, and (3) an intensity of a focus spot in the sample array, wherein the variations are representative of a level of non-uniformity in the sample region]. Qiao further teaches registering comprises comparing a plurality of portions of the light intensity pattern (Fig. 6) in the sensed image to a plurality of corresponding portions of the light intensity pattern in a reference image (Fig. 5) of the object [0008: processor that measures, relative to a reference array of focus spots, at least one of the displacement in an X-Y plane, the size, and the intensity of the focus spots in the sample array, to determine the level of non-uniformity in the sample region] & [0054-0055: FIG. 5 shows an image of a reference array of focus spots 154, and FIG. 6 shows the shifted sample array of focus spots 150 created when a non-uniform sample of material is placed between the expanded laser beam and the lenslet array 120. The numerical values listed in FIG. 6 are the X and Y displacements of the image of the sample array of focus spots 150 with respect to the image of reference array of focus spots 154].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Qiao’s image processing with Rossi’s, as modified, image detector and processing because comparing each measured point to a known reference improves processing efficiency with a detailed point by point mapping of object displacements [Qiao 0005].
Claim 7. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi further discloses the light intensity pattern object (S1)[0290: the apparatus also includes an array S1 of light sources (LSA S1) by means of which MLA L1 is illuminated. LSA S1 includes a multitude of light sources 1 which are regularly arranged at a pitch Q1. Typically, the light sources 1 are congeneric light sources] includes at least a light emitting diode (LED) array [0002] & [0251: In some embodiments, the light source is an LED].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi in view of Qiao and in further view of Takagi (US 5539519; “Takagi”).
Claim 3. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
producing the light intensity pattern using a light source that produces diffuse light and a mask that includes transparent regions and opaque regions.
Takagi teaches producing the light intensity pattern (4) using a light source (120)[Col. 3 last ¶] that produces diffuse light [Col. 3: second the light source 4 composed of, for example, LED illuminates the slit pattern 1 to form the primary fringe image 3 shifting along the first plane] and a mask (21) that includes transparent regions (22) and opaque regions (23) [Col. 2 last¶: Preferably, the displacement member 2 is comprised of a transparent substrate 21 having the slit pattern 1 composed of a periodic and alternate arrangement of a transparent section 22 and an opaque section 23. The light source 4 is disposed to illuminate the transparent substrate 21 from back side to form the primary fringe image 3].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Takagi’s patterning masks with Rossi’s, as modified, pattern imaging because a distinct reflected pattern increases measurement accuracy by providing distinct edges that are accurately compared to reference images [Takagi Col. 3 first ¶].
Claims 4-6, 9-10, 12 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi in view of Qiao and in further view of Smith (US 9848122; “Smith”).
Claim 4. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the light intensity pattern object includes a UV light source and fluorescing material, wherein the UV light source excites the fluorescing material.
Smith teaches [Col. 3 lines 30-35: a sensor is disclosed that can provide for redundancy and/or measurement in multiple degrees of freedom without significantly increasing size, complexity, or cost. In one aspect, the sensor can be adapted to measure any given quantity that can be determined using a displacement measurement]. Smith further teaches the light intensity pattern object (Fig. 19a: 1448 on 1440 support) includes a UV light source (1421) and fluorescing material, wherein the UV light source (1421) excites the fluorescing material [Col. 25 lines 60-67: In this example, the fiduciary 1448 can be excitable. In one example, the fiduciary 1448 can comprise a fluorescent, wherein the light source 1462 operative within the sensor 1400 directs a beam of light (e.g., UV light) toward and onto the fiduciary 1448 causing the fiduciary 1448 to fluoresce and emit light detectable by the imaging device 1410. The fiduciary 1448 can be formed of a fluorescing material, or it can comprise a fluorescing coating. The light source 1462 can be located about a side of the sensor 1400 common with the imaging device 1410, such that the light source 1462 and the imaging device 1410 can be powered from the same common side. In one aspect, the structure in support of the light source 1462 can comprise the same structure supporting the imaging device 1410. In another aspect, these can comprise different structures].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Smith’s light intensity pattern with a light source of UV light and fluorescent patterned substrate/support with Rossi’s, as modified, UV light source because the florescent patterned illumination reaction to ultra-violet lighting improves the accuracy of the patterned light source by precision illumination of each measuring point for determining displacement [Smith Col. 25 last ¶ and Col. 26 first ¶].
Claim 5. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the light intensity pattern object includes phosphorescence material.
Smith teaches [Col. 3 lines 30-35: a sensor is disclosed that can provide for redundancy and/or measurement in multiple degrees of freedom without significantly increasing size, complexity, or cost. In one aspect, the sensor can be adapted to measure any given quantity that can be determined using a displacement measurement]. Smith further teaches the light intensity pattern object (1448) includes phosphorescence material [Col. 25 last ¶ and Col. 26 first ¶: In this example, the fiduciary 1448 can be excitable. In one example, the fiduciary 1448 can comprise a fluorescent, wherein the light source 1462 operative within the sensor 1400 directs a beam of light (e.g., UV light) toward and onto the fiduciary 1448 causing the fiduciary 1448 to fluoresce and emit light detectable by the imaging device 1410. The fiduciary 1448 can be formed of a fluorescing material, or it can comprise a fluorescing coating. The light source 1462 can be located about a side of the sensor 1400 common with the imaging device 1410, such that the light source 1462 and the imaging device 1410 can be powered from the same common side. In one aspect, the structure in support of the light source 1462 can comprise the same structure supporting the imaging device 1410. In another aspect, these can comprise different structures].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Smith’s light source arrangement and light intensity pattern of phosphorescence material as Rossi’s, as modified, illumination source because the phosphorescence patterned illumination improves the accuracy of the patterned light source by precision illumination of each measuring point for determining displacement [Smith Col. 25 last ¶ and Col. 26 first ¶].
Claim 6. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the light intensity pattern object includes chemiluminescence material.
Smith teaches [Col. 3 lines 30-35: a sensor is disclosed that can provide for redundancy and/or measurement in multiple degrees of freedom without significantly increasing size, complexity, or cost. In one aspect, the sensor can be adapted to measure any given quantity that can be determined using a displacement measurement]. Smith further teaches the light intensity pattern object (1448) includes chemiluminescence material [Col. 26 second ¶: Other types of luminescence methods and systems are contemplated for use on or with the fiduciary, such as phosphorescence, and chemiluminescence] and [Col. 25 last¶: In this example, the fiduciary 1448 can be excitable. In one example, the fiduciary 1448 can comprise a fluorescent (e.g. chemiluminescence) wherein the light source 1462 operative within the sensor 1400 directs a beam of light (e.g., UV light) toward and onto the fiduciary 1448 causing the fiduciary 1448 to fluoresce and emit light detectable by the imaging device 1410. The fiduciary 1448 can be formed of a fluorescing material, or it can comprise a fluorescing coating. The light source 1462 can be located about a side of the sensor 1400 common with the imaging device 1410, such that the light source 1462 and the imaging device 1410 can be powered from the same common side. In one aspect, the structure in support of the light source 1462 can comprise the same structure supporting the imaging device 1410. In another aspect, these can comprise different structures].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Smith’s light source arrangement and light intensity pattern of chemiluminescence material as Rossi’s, as modified, illumination source because the chemiluminescence patterned illumination improves the accuracy of the patterned light source by precision illumination of each measuring point for determining displacement [Smith Col. 25 last ¶ and Col. 26 first ¶].
Claim 9. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
measuring a strain based on the registering.
Smith teaches a sensor is disclosed that can provide for redundancy and/or measurement in multiple degrees of freedom without significantly increasing size, complexity, or cost. In one aspect, the sensor can be adapted to measure any given quantity that can be determined using a displacement measurement [Col. 3 second ¶]. Smith further teaches the light intensity pattern object and the imaging device are configured to measure a strain [Col. 6 second ¶: a sensor as described herein can function as a position sensor, a strain gage, an accelerometer, a load sensor, or any other type of sensor that can utilize a relative motion to mechanically and/or computationally provide a measurement of a desired type. In one aspect, therefore, the sensor 100 can also include a clock 150 to measure elapsed time associated with a relative movement, as may be useful for determining velocity, acceleration, or other dynamic measurement quantities] based on the registering [Col. 6 second ¶: Based on the distance and direction traveled by the fiduciary, or the change in position, various measurements can be determined to facilitate operation of the sensor as intended. In short, a starting image with its image fiduciaries can be compared to a subsequent image with its image fiduciaries and these compared to obtain the desired measurements].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Smith’s use of a timer and dynamic strain force processing with Rossi’s, as modified, displacement sensor because the added measuring and processing of time provides an expanded commercial use as a dynamic strain sensor [Smith Col. 3 second ¶].
Claim 10. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the measuring a force based on the registering.
Smith teaches [Col. 3 lines 30-35: a sensor is disclosed that can provide for redundancy and/or measurement in multiple degrees of freedom without significantly increasing size, complexity, or cost. In one aspect, the sensor can be adapted to measure any given quantity that can be determined using a displacement measurement]. Smith further teaches the light intensity pattern object and the imaging device are configured to measure to measuring a force [Col. 6 second ¶: a sensor as described herein can function as a position sensor, a strain gage, an accelerometer, a load sensor, or any other type of sensor that can utilize a relative motion to mechanically and/or computationally provide a measurement of a desired type. In one aspect, therefore, the sensor 100 can also include a clock 150 to measure elapsed time associated with a relative movement, as may be useful for determining velocity, acceleration, or other dynamic measurement quantities] based on the registering [Col. 6 second ¶: Based on the distance and direction traveled by the fiduciary, or the change in position, various measurements can be determined to facilitate operation of the sensor as intended. In short, a starting image with its image fiduciaries can be compared to a subsequent image with its image fiduciaries and these compared to obtain the desired measurements].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Smith’s use of a timer and dynamic force processing with Rossi’s, as modified, displacement sensor because the added measuring and processing of time provides an expanded commercial use as a dynamic force sensor [Smith Col. 3 second ¶].
Claim 12. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the measuring acceleration in one or more directions based on the registering.
Smith teaches a sensor is disclosed that can provide for redundancy and/or measurement in multiple degrees of freedom without significantly increasing size, complexity, or cost. In one aspect, the sensor can be adapted to measure any given quantity that can be determined using a displacement measurement [Col. 3 lines 30-35]. Smith further teaches the light intensity pattern object and the imaging device are configured to measure to measuring acceleration [Col. 6 second ¶: a sensor as described herein can function as a position sensor, a strain gage, an accelerometer, a load sensor, or any other type of sensor that can utilize a relative motion to mechanically and/or computationally provide a measurement of a desired type. In one aspect, therefore, the sensor 100 can also include a clock 150 to measure elapsed time associated with a relative movement, as may be useful for determining velocity, acceleration, or other dynamic measurement quantities] based on the registering [Col. 6 second ¶: Based on the distance and direction traveled by the fiduciary, or the change in position, various measurements can be determined to facilitate operation of the sensor as intended. In short, a starting image with its image fiduciaries can be compared to a subsequent image with its image fiduciaries and these compared to obtain the desired measurements].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Smith’s use of a timer and acceleration processing with Rossi’s, as modified, displacement sensor because the added timing and acceleration processing provides an expanded commercial use as an acceleration sensor [Smith Col. 3 second ¶].
Claim 15. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the measuring at least one of multi-axis forces or moments based on the registering.
Smith teaches a sensor is disclosed that can provide for redundancy and/or measurement in multiple degrees of freedom without significantly increasing size, complexity, or cost. In one aspect, the sensor can be adapted to measure any given quantity that can be determined using a displacement measurement [Col. 3 lines 30-35]. Smith further teaches the measuring at least one of multi-axis forces [Col. 8 last ¶ and Col. 9 first ¶: the imaging device 110 and the light component can be configured to be rotatable relative to one another about any combination of the X, Y and Z axes, and depending upon the configuration of the sensor, rotational degree of freedom can be determinable in addition to the translational degrees of freedom discussed above. For example, relative rotation of the imaging device 110 and the light component 120 about the X axis can provide measurement in a first rotational degree of freedom. Relative rotation along the X axis causes the beam of light 123 to disperse across additional or different areas of the imaging device 110 as the imaging device 110 rotates from a first position parallel to the light component 120 to a second position non-parallel to the light component 120. Similarly, relative rotation of the imaging device 110 and the light component 120 about the Y axis can provide measurement in a second rotational degree of freedom. Rotation along the Y axis also causes the beam of light 123 to disperse across additional areas of the imaging device 110] based on the registering [Col. 6 second ¶: Based on the distance and direction traveled by the fiduciary, or the change in position, various measurements can be determined to facilitate operation of the sensor as intended. In short, a starting image with its image fiduciaries can be compared to a subsequent image with its image fiduciaries and these compared to obtain the desired measurements].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Smith’s use of orientation and displacement processing with Rossi’s, as modified, displacement sensor because the added orientation processing provides an expanded commercial use as a multi-axis displacement sensor [Smith Col. 3 second ¶].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi in view of Qiao and in further view of Ahn (KR 20130020408: “Ahn” translation provided for citations).
Claim 8. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the light intensity pattern object includes an array of light valves.
Ahn teaches a step of mounting a plurality of measuring systems (120) and a standard mark array with a movable table (100); a step of measuring the plurality of standard mark position engraved on the mark array by using the measuring systems; a step of obtaining the central location coordination of the measuring system by using the displacement of the reference mark and the location information between standards marks of the standard mark array [Abstract]. Ahn further teaches a light intensity pattern object includes an array of light valves [Page 4 para. 3: A first projection lens 132 for enlarging the light and a plurality of lenses formed in an array form and condensing light having a virtual mask (VM) pattern magnified by the first projection lens 132 into a plurality of lights A multi lens array (MLA) 133 and a second projection lens 134 for adjusting and transmitting the resolution of the light condensed by the multi lens array 133. The light modulator 131 includes a spatial light modulator (SLM). The light modulator 131 is, for example, a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) of MEMS (Micro Electro Mechanical Systems) type, a two-dimensional grating light valve (GLV), and a transparent ceramic zirconate (PLZT). an electro-optic device using a titantate, a ferroelectric liquid crystal (FLC), or the like may be used, and DMD may be preferably used. For convenience of description, the present invention will be described using the optical modulation device 131 made of DMD].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Ahn’s light valve source as Rossi’s, as modified, light source because a gradient light valve improves the accuracy of measurement in a micro device by providing precision light delivery to a measurement pattern by eliminating light edge dispersion.
Claims 11 & 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi in view of Qiao and in further view of Taghavi (US 20160146600: “Taghavi”).
Claim 11. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
measuring a torque based on the registering.
Taghavi teaches a simple and reliable novel method providing the ability to measure the spatial relative displacement and rotation of objects as well as the measurement of the different degrees of freedom of each object (i.e. rotations and translations) relative to an inertial frame [Abstract]. Taghavi teaches measuring a torque based on the registering [0022: Hence the same device could be a multipurpose device. Our technique can be used in diverse applications like remote sensing, as it applies to earth/planetary and geo sciences, oil/gas exploration, and mining, civil, structural, medical engineering, and homeland security & defense, among others. The same measurement could be used to calculate the displacement, speed, acceleration and rotations. This device could be used for an abundance of different application. For example such as: accelerometer, gravity meter, strain gauge, torque measurement].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Taghavi’s use of a timer and dynamic force processing with Rossi’s, as modified, displacement sensor because the added measuring and processing of time provides an expanded commercial use as a dynamic measurement torque sensor [Taghavi 0021].
Claim 13. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
measuring a rate of rotation based on the registering.
Taghavi teaches a simple and reliable novel method providing the ability to measure the spatial relative displacement and rotation of objects as well as the measurement of the different degrees of freedom of each object (i.e. rotations and translations) relative to an inertial frame [Abstract]. Taghavi teaches measuring a rate of rotation based on the registering [0022: Hence the same device could be a multipurpose device. Our technique can be used in diverse applications like remote sensing, as it applies to earth/planetary and geo sciences, oil/gas exploration, and mining, civil, structural, medical engineering, and homeland security & defense, among others. The same measurement could be used to calculate the displacement, speed, acceleration and rotations. This device could be used for an abundance of different application. For example such as: accelerometer, gravity meter, strain gauge, torque measurement] and [0078: Once we have the displacement and rotation of each object, we can deduce the speed and acceleration of each objects as well as their rotation speeds and accelerations].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Taghavi’s use of a timer and dynamic force processing with Rossi’s, as modified, displacement sensor because the added measuring and processing of time provides an expanded commercial use as a dynamic measurement rate of rotation sensor [Taghavi 0021].
Claim 14. Dependent on the method of claim 1. Rossi, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
measuring a rotation angle based on the registering.
Taghavi teaches a simple and reliable novel method providing the ability to measure the spatial relative displacement and rotation of objects as well as the measurement of the different degrees of freedom of each object (i.e. rotations and translations) relative to an inertial frame [Abstract]. Taghavi teaches measuring a rotation angle based on the registering [0022: Hence the same device could be a multipurpose device. Our technique can be used in diverse applications like remote sensing, as it applies to earth/planetary and geo sciences, oil/gas exploration, and mining, civil, structural, medical engineering, and homeland security & defense, among others. The same measurement could be used to calculate the displacement, speed, acceleration and rotations. This device could be used for an abundance of different application. For example such as: accelerometer, gravity meter, strain gauge, torque measurement] & [0012: Another technique is the triangulation consisting of determining the location of a point by measuring angles to it from known points at either end of a fixed baseline, rather than measuring distances to the point directly (trilateration). It does involve the measurement of angles].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Taghavi’s use of dynamic force processing with Rossi’s, as modified, displacement sensor because the added measuring and processing of rotation and provides an expanded commercial use as a dynamic measurement of rotation sensor [Taghavi 0021].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855