DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on 07/07/2026 for the application No. 19/201,715. Claims 1-26 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-26 have been rejected as follow,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-26 are not compliant with 101, according with the last “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (2019 PEG), published in the MPEP 2103 through 2106.07(c). The Examiner’s analysis is presented below for all the claims.
Claim 25: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a method.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim? Yes. The claim recites the limitations of
“while the rewards are available and not applied, detecting, … an input corresponding to a selection to apply the rewards;”The “detecting” limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as certain methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. A method to present a plurality of items with corresponding indicators. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. The claim recites additional limitations, such as,
“displaying, …. with a user interface element including a first indication, wherein the first indication indicates that rewards corresponding to an account provisioned …. are available and not applied; … displaying, …. including a second indication different from the first indication, wherein the second indication indicates that the rewards are applied.” These are limitations toward accessing, displaying or receiving data (gathering data).
The Examiner analyses other supplementary elements in the claim in view of the instant disclosure: “at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices: “via the one or more display generation components, a user interface “; “onto the computer system “; “via the one or more input devices”; “via the one or more display generation components, the user interface” and the amended elements “selecting, from a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, a first account provisioned …., wherein the first account is selected based on a maximum amount of potential earned rewards for a transaction, and wherein the first account is selected using a learning algorithm;” These elements are generic computer elements and software.
The use of “a learning algorithm“, it is software , a mathematical construct to identify and analyze patterns It is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea because it merely reflects the use of conventional technology and amounts to only generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding to the elements “at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices” they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea because they appear to essentially using computer components to present items on a display screen just using a user interface. The claim does not reflect any technical improvement on the functioning of the computer or technical field .The consideration of whether the claim as a whole includes an improvement to a computer or to a technological field requires an evaluation of the specification and the claim to ensure that a technical explanation of the asserted improvement is present in the specification, and that the claim reflects the asserted improvement. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1).
The combination of these additional elements can also be considered no more than mere instructions “to apply” the exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Also the additional elements:
“displaying, …. with a user interface element including a first indication, wherein the first indication indicates that rewards corresponding to an account provisioned …. are available and not applied; … displaying, …. including a second indication different from the first indication, wherein the second indication indicates that the rewards are applied.” These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data. It is merely gathering data can be considered pre-solution and post-solution activity. The Examiner gives the broadest reasonable interpretation to the above elements. They are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim as a whole does not integrate the method of organizing human activity into a practical application. The claim merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Thus, the claim is ineligible because is directed to the recited judicial exception (abstract idea).
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the supplementary or additional elements in the claim,
“at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices: “via the one or more display generation components, a user interface “; “onto the computer system “; “via the one or more input devices”; “via the one or more display generation components, the user interface” and the amended elements “selecting, from a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, a first account provisioned …., wherein the first account is selected based on a maximum amount of potential earned rewards for a transaction, and wherein the first account is selected using a learning algorithm;” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic hardware and software cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that a supplementary or additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B.
Again, in this step, the additional elements in the claims under consideration are:
“at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices: “via the one or more display generation components, a user interface “; “onto the computer system “; “via the one or more input devices”; “via the one or more display generation components, the user interface”
They were considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
Other limitations in the claim, such as:
“displaying, …. with a user interface element including a first indication, wherein the first indication indicates that rewards corresponding to an account provisioned …. are available and not applied; … displaying, …. including a second indication different from the first indication, wherein the second indication indicates that the rewards are applied.” These are limitations toward displaying or receiving data (gathering data). Displaying data is very well understood, routine and conventional computer task activity; It represents insignificant extra solution activity. Mere data-gathering step[s] cannot make an otherwise nonstaturory claim statutory In re Grams,888 F.2d 835, 840 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (quoting In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 794 (CCPA 1982)).
Further, the instant specification does not provide any indication that the additional elements
“at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices: “via the one or more display generation components, a user interface “; “onto the computer system “; “via the one or more input devices”; “via the one or more display generation components, the user interface” and the amended elements “selecting, from a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, a first account provisioned …., wherein the first account is selected based on a maximum amount of potential earned rewards for a transaction, and wherein the first account is selected using a learning algorithm;” were are anything other than generic software and hardware, and the OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); and v. Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely computer receives and sends information over a network and presenting or displaying information, is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the
“at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices: “via the one or more display generation components, a user interface “; “onto the computer system “; “via the one or more input devices”; “via the one or more display generation components, the user interface” and the amended elements “selecting, from a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, a first account provisioned …., wherein the first account is selected based on a maximum amount of potential earned rewards for a transaction, and wherein the first account is selected using a learning algorithm;” limitations (pointed above) are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 1: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a system.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
The claim recites additional limitations, such as,
“ one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions “. All these elements are recited in a very generic way. They have the same treatment pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 26: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a computer-readable storage medium.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-24, the claims recite elements such as “wherein an appearance of the user interface element is modified based on a movement of the computer system”, etc. These elements do not integrate the system of organizing human activity into a practical application. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20150242902 (Viswanath) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20250390885 (Jayaraman).
As to claims 25, 26 and 1, Viswanath discloses a method, comprising: at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices:(“…The method also includes receiving, from the computing device, an indication of a compound consumer input associated with a consumer and performed using the consumer interface. The method also includes determining that the compound consumer input corresponds to a command for performing an action associated with the promotion . The method further includes, based on a determination that the compound consumer input corresponds to the command, transmitting computer-executable instructions to initiate execution of the command associated with the promotion”, abstract and Fig. 1 and associated disclosure) ;
a) displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a user interface with a user interface element including a first indication, wherein the first indication indicates that rewards corresponding to the first account provisioned onto the computer system are available and not applied to the transaction;
(“[0008] In some embodiments, the compound consumer input may include one or more of: a checkmark selection, a multi-point touchscreen press action, a mouse click action, a touchscreen tap action, a touchscreen press and hold action, a touchscreen drag and drop action, a touchscreen pinch action, a touchscreen unpinch action, a touchscreen swipe action, a touchscreen press action, a device shake action, a device twist action, a movement of the computing device, a change in orientation of the computing device, a touchscreen writing action, a touchscreen drawing or writing motion, a touchscreen selection of one or more alphanumeric characters, a keyboard action, a mouse action, a static or moving gesture captured by a camera, or a speaking of a sound [Examiner equates to display generation components and one or more input devices]”, paragraph 8.
“[0013] Some embodiments of the method include transmitting computer-executable instructions to alter the consumer interface in response to receiving an indication of the second command. …. … The second command may include a relevance indicator command, and wherein the method further comprises, in response to receiving an indication of the second command, transmitting computer-executable instructions to cause: determining one or more parameters of the promotion; associating or dissociating the one or more parameters with a consumer account as being relevant to the consumer account;”, paragraph 13.
“[0019] The consumer interface may display a geographical map of a plurality of locations at which the promotion may be purchased, and a location of the consumer input on the map may correspond to a geographical location for which the promotion is purchased by the command. The command may include one or more commands to purchase the promotion, request additional information on the promotion, hold the promotion for later purchase, add the promotion to a favorite list, share the promotion with another consumer over social networking websites, email the promotion to another consumer, rate the promotion, or indicate [first indicator]” a relevance of the promotion to the consumer”, paragraphs 19 and 36
See also facilitation of transactions, “[0061] FIG. 5 shows an example method of facilitating a transaction for a promotion in accordance with some embodiments.
[0062] FIG. 6 shows an example method of facilitating a transaction for a promotion in accordance with some embodiments.
[0063] FIG. 7A shows an example method of facilitating a purchase transaction for an item in accordance with some embodiments”, paragraphs 61-63 and Figs. 5-7A);
b) while the rewards are available and not applied, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a selection to apply the rewards to the transaction;
(“An exemplary promotion application program may, for example, provide a user interface configured to render impressions of one or more promotions, receive user input selecting one or more impressions, and enable purchase of the promotions in response to user input”, paragraph 97);
c) and in response to detecting the input corresponding to the selection to apply the rewards to the transaction, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the user interface with the user interface element including a second indication different from the first indication, wherein the second indication indicates that the rewards are applied to the transaction.
(“…The computer program product may be configured to transmit computer-executable instructions to cause an impression of a promotion to be displayed on a consumer interface rendered on a visual display of a computing device. The computer program product may also be configured to receive, from the computing device, an indication of a compound consumer input associated with a consumer and performed using the consumer interface. The computer program product may also include determining that the compound consumer input corresponds to a command for performing an action associated with the promotion. The computer program product may further include, based on a determination that the compound consumer input corresponds to the command, transmitting computer-executable instructions to initiate execution of the command associated with the promotion”, paragraph 38,
“[0040] Embodiments of the computer program product may be configured to cause the consumer interface to display a second consumer input definition interface including an indication of a second command [a second indication different from the first indication]; while the second consumer input definition interface is displayed, receive second input definition data defining a second consumer interaction by the consumer; generate a second compound consumer input based on the second input definition data; associating the second compound consumer input with the second command; and storing the association among the second compound consumer input, the second command and the consumer on a non-transitory storage device”, paragraph 40 and “…the second command may include a quantity command defining a number of instances of the promotion selected for purchase, and the computer program product may be further configured to, in response to receiving an indication of the second command, transmit computer-executable instructions to cause facilitating purchase of one or more instances of the promotion based on the quantity command”, paragraph 47.
“…In some examples, redemption includes the verification of validity of the voucher. In other example embodiments, redemption may include an indication that a particular voucher has been redeemed and thus no longer retains an actual, promotional and/or residual value (e.g., full redemption”, paragraphs 94 and 117).
Viswanath does not disclose but Jayaraman discloses
selecting, from a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, a first
account provisioned onto the computer system, wherein the first account is selected based on a maximum amount of potential earned rewards for a transaction, and wherein the first account is selected using a learning algorithm;
(“[0134] In certain embodiments of the invention, when a cardholder initiates a transaction on an online platform, such as a retail, travel, or any other type of website, and selects a digital wallet for payment, the digital wallet is configured to recognize the platform from which the transaction is initiated. This recognition can occur through mechanisms that detect the URL or through API calls that convey the platform's identity. Once the platform is identified, the digital wallet consults a database to retrieve specific benefits applicable to each card stored within the wallet for transactions conducted on this platform. The wallet then automatically selects a card with maximum reward for the transaction”, paragraph 134.
“[0055] FIG. 2 is a diagram of a feedforward network (301), in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The feedforward neural network (301) serves as a foundational structure for understanding and modeling complex patterns and relations within a given dataset. Unlike recurrent neural networks, the flow of information in a feedforward neural network (301) is unidirectional, ensuring that data moves from the input towards the output without any loopback”, paragraph 55 and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jayaraman’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to use a learning algorithm when process data in order to “optimize data management, data resource utilization, and transfer”, (see Jayaraman, abstract and paragraph 1).
As to claim 26, it comprises the same limitations than claim 25 above therefore is rejected in similar way. Further, the claim comprises
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions
(“…In step 352, a non-transitory computer-readable medium may be used to store associations between one or more application program commands and one or more corresponding compound consumer inputs that, when entered on the consumer interface, initiate the commands….”, Viswanath paragraphs 160 and 170, and Fig. 4).
As to claim 1, it comprises the same limitations than claim 25 above therefore is rejected in similar way. Further, the claim comprises
A computer system configured to communicate with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices, comprising: one or more processors; (Viswanath Figs. 1-2 and associated disclosure); and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions
(Viswanath “…The association between the consumer input generated and the relevance command may be stored on a non-transitory storage device for the particular consumer”. paragraph 260).
As to claim 2, Viswanath discloses
wherein an appearance of the user interface element is modified based on a movement of the computer system.
(“[0259] In certain exemplary embodiments, the consumer interface may be automatically adjusted based on …. In another example, the representations of items may be randomly reordered or reorganized. In one example, such a random reorganization may be initiated by a compound consumer input that includes a shaking action of the computing device, as detected by an accelerometer in the device”, paragraph 259).
As to claim 3, Viswanath discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for:in response to detecting the input corresponding to the selection to apply the rewards, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a rewards amount corresponding to the rewards applied.
(…“number of promotions associated with the item that was already purchased,…”, paragraph 194.
“16. The computer-executable method of claim 12, wherein the second command comprises a quantity command defining a number of instances of the promotion selected for purchase, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to receiving an indication of the second command, transmitting computer-executable instructions to cause facilitating purchase of one or more instances of the promotion based on the quantity command”, claim 23).
As to claim 4, Viswanath discloses
wherein the rewards amount corresponds to a maximum available rewards amount based on a selected account provisioned onto the computer system.
(“0203] FIGS. 13A-13D show an exemplary consumer interface 1300 in which a right-to-left touchscreen slide action is used to purchase an item or a promotion for an item. The consumer interface 1300 displays a representation of an item 1302 for purchase. The representation 1302 may be associated with information on the item, for example, a price, a discounted price, a discount level, number of promotions associated with the item [Examiner equates a maximum available rewards amount ] that was already purchased, whether the item has limited availability, highlights or detailed information on the item, and the like”, paragraph 203, Figs 13A-13D and paragraph 212 and Figs. 14A-14D).
As to claim 5, Viswanath discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for:
a) detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to a rewards amount;
(“0203] FIGS. 13A-13D show an exemplary consumer interface 1300 in which a right-to-left touchscreen slide action is used to purchase an item or a promotion for an item. …”, paragraph 203);
b) and in response to detecting the input directed to the rewards amount, displaying, via the one or more display generation components (Figs. 8-11 and associated disclosure), an option to modify the rewards amount.
(“…Exemplary embodiments detect a consumer interaction with the consumer interface, automatically determine if the consumer interaction corresponds exactly or approximately to a predefined consumer input and, if so, initiate the command associated with the consumer input….”, paragraph 74.
“…. In other example embodiments, redemption may include an indication that a particular voucher has been redeemed and thus no longer retains an actual, promotional and/or residual value (e.g., full redemption). In other example embodiments, redemption may include the redemption of at least a portion of a voucher's actual, promotional and/or residual value (e.g., partial redemption)…”, paragraph 94).
As to claim 6, Viswanath discloses
a) the one or more programs including instructions for: detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the user interface element;
(“…detect a consumer interaction with the consumer interface, automatically determine if the consumer interaction corresponds exactly or approximately to a predefined compound consumer input and, if so, initiate the command associated with the consumer input”, paragraph 170. See also paragraph 74);
b) and in response to detecting the input directed to the user interface element, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an option to forgo applying the rewards.
(“[0181] At 514, the server and/or consumer device may be configured to provide a consumer interface to a display of a consumer device. The consumer interface may include or display an impression indicating one or more promotions. In some embodiments, each of the one or more promotions may be associated with an interaction region of the consumer interface. Additionally or alternatively, the consumer device may be configured to generate the consumer interface and receive promotion data (e.g., indicating one or more promotion parameters, promotion details, etc.) and/or impression data (e.g., indicating characteristics of the impression), which may be provided to the consumer interface. In some embodiments, the consumer interface may include or display an impression indicating one or more items.” Paragraph 181, Fig. 5.
“[0183] At 516, the server and/or consumer device may be configured to receive data on a compound consumer input provided at an interaction region of a promotion of the one or more promotions. The compound consumer input may be provided by a consumer via an input device of the consumer device. In some embodiments, an interaction region of a promotion may include a graphical display and/or text display that indicates the promotion and/or its promotion parameters. In some embodiments, the interaction region may include a "buy button," among other things. In some embodiments, the server and/or consumer device may be configured to receive data on a compound consumer input provided by a consumer at an interaction region of an item of one or more items represented within a consumer interface”, paragraph 183. See also “ ….Exemplary embodiments detect a consumer interaction with the consumer interface, automatically determine if the consumer interaction corresponds exactly or approximately to a predefined compound consumer input and, if so, initiate the command associated with the consumer input”, paragraph 170);
As to claim 7, Viswanath discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for:
a) detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the user interface element; (see detect a consumer interaction, paragraph 170);
b) and in response to detecting the input directed to the user interface element, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a difference between a total amount and a rewards amount, wherein the rewards amount corresponds to the rewards applied.
(“…redemption may include an indication that a particular voucher has been redeemed and thus no longer retains an actual, promotional and/or residual value (e.g., full redemption [Examiner interprets as the rewards amount corresponds to the rewards applied]). In other example embodiments, redemption may include the redemption of at least a portion of a voucher's actual, promotional and/or residual value (e.g., partial redemption [Examiner interprets as a difference between a total amount and a rewards amount]). An example of redemption, using the aforementioned running company as the example provider, is exchanging a $50 voucher and $50 for a $100 pair of running shoes”, paragraph 94).
As to claim 9, Viswanath discloses
wherein the user interface element is displayed in response to detection of an event associated with the account provisioned onto the computer system.
(“[0250] The promotion and marketing service may monitor the consumer's "retweet" [detection of an event ] of the original message and, based on one or metrics, the promotion and marketing service may automatically initiate a purchase command of the item or promotion for the consumer. If the consumer's followers also "retweet" the message regarding the item or promotion, the promotion and marketing service may perform one or more of the following actions: automatically initiate a purchase command for the followers, automatically create an account on the promotion and marketing service for the followers, automatically provide a discount or promotion to the followers, and the like”, paragraph 250).
As to claim 10, Viswanath discloses
wherein the rewards amount is based on a value earned with one or more transactions using the account provisioned onto the computer system.
(…”determining one or more parameters of the promotion; associating or dissociating the one or more parameters with a consumer account as being relevant to the consumer account; and determining a second promotion different from the purchased promotion based on the one or more parameters”, paragraphs 13 and 30.
“[0179] At 510, the server may be configured to store the payment data. For example, the payment data may be stored in association with a consumer account of a consumer associated with the consumer device. In some embodiments, the payment data may be stored in a database (e.g., database 116) for subsequent use, such as in response to receiving consumer input data corresponding with a purchase command. In some embodiments, the payment data may be stored as one or more tokens, keys, codes, etc., for enhanced security. In some embodiments, the payment data may be stored in response to receiving the consumer approval data indicating the approval to facilitate transactions …”, paragraph 179.
“…initiate execution of a purchase command associated with an item offered for sale by a commercial entity (e.g., merchant) or associated with a promotion offered for sale by a promotion and marketing service. In one embodiment, a consumer may have an account with a website or a mobile application offered by the promotion and marketing service…”, paragraphs 248-250);
As to claim 12, Viswanath discloses
wherein the user interface element includes a first appearance, the one or more programs including instructions for:
a) while a set of one or more criteria are satisfied, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the user interface element;
(“…consumer device may be configured to generate the consumer interface and receive promotion data (e.g., indicating one or more promotion parameters [Examiner equates as criteria], promotion details, etc.) and/or impression data (e.g., indicating characteristics of the impression), which may be provided to the consumer interface. In some embodiments, the consumer interface may include or display an impression indicating one or more items”, paragraph 181 );
b) and in response to detecting the input directed to the user interface element, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the user interface element including a second appearance different from the first appearance.
(“wherein the second command comprises a relevance indicator command, and wherein the method further comprises: in response to receiving an indication of the second command, transmitting computer-executable instructions to cause: determining one or more parameters of the promotion; associating or dissociating the one or more parameters with a consumer account as being relevant to the consumer account; and determining a second promotion different from the purchased promotion based on the one or more parameters”, claim 17. See also “wherein the command initiates purchase of the promotion”, claim 6).
Claims 8, 11, 14-16 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20150242902 (Viswanath) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20250390885 (Jayaraman) in view of PG. Pub. No. 20160260116 (Xie).
As to claim 8, Viswanath discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for:
a) detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to an option to forgo applying the rewards;
(see detect a consumer interaction, paragraph 170);
b) and in response to detecting the input directed to the option to forgo applying the rewards:(…for example, provide a user interface configured to render impressions of one or more promotions, receive user input selecting one or more impressions, and enable purchase of the promotions in response to user input”, paragraph 97);
Viswanath does not disclose
[ceasing to display], via the one or more display generation components, the difference between the total amount and the rewards amount;
c) and displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the total amount.
But, Xie discloses
(Xie discloses “[0045] In an embodiment, the universal rewards management system dynamically generates and renders reward management reports to the consumer device and the merchant device via the network. …”, paragraph 45.
Xie teaches a balance and the rewards amount,
“Universal reward points=Total purchase transaction amount*reward point percentage (RPP)
Total redeemable reward voucher amount owed by a merchant=Total purchase transaction amount*voucher issuance percentage (VIP)
Number of issued reward vouchers=Modulus (Total purchase transaction amount/Voucher issuance amount threshold (VIAT))
Reward voucher amount=VIAT*VIPend="tail"?>
Consumer reward points balance=SUM (total purchase transaction amount*reward point percentage (RRP))−SUM (number of redeemed reward vouchers)”, paragraph 72).
c) and displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the total amount.
(“Total redeemable reward voucher amount owed by a merchant’, paragraph 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Xie’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to calculate total amount of rewards in order to offer “maintenance of a consumer account balance and a merchant account balance in the network 409”, see Xie paragraph 72).
Xie does not expressly disclose
ceasing to display
But Xie teaches
“…The consumer rewards management application 407 on the consumer device 401 retrieves the latest universal reward points in total from the business server 405 and updates [Examiner interprets as ceasing to display previous data] the universal reward points display….” , Xie paragraph 78.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Xie’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for updating or ceasing to display previous data in order to display accurate information and data.
As to claim 11, Viswanath does not disclose but Xie discloses
wherein the user interface includes a conversion between the value earned and the rewards amount.
(“[0026] The universal rewards management system generates 104 universal reward points for the purchase made by the consumer, using the received purchase transaction information and one or more of multiple predetermined computation parameters, based on the reward generation approval acquired from the merchant device. As used herein, “predetermined computation parameters” refer to parameters, for example, a reward point percentage (RPP), a voucher issuance amount threshold (VIAT), a voucher issuance percentage (VIP), etc., used for performing computations, for example, for computing the universal reward points, for determining a reward voucher amount owed by a merchant, for determining the number of reward vouchers issued by the merchant, etc….”, paragraph 26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Xie’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for supporting a conversion between the value earned and the rewards amount in order to offer a merchant predetermined computation parameter (Xie paragraph 26).
As to claim 14, Viswanath discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for:
a) in accordance with a determination that a location of the computer system satisfies one or more criteria, displaying, via the one or more display generation components,
(see location , paragraphs 19, 32 and 36)
[a third] indication, wherein the [third ]indication indicates that rewards corresponding to [a second] account provisioned onto the computer system [are available and not applied.
(Viswanath teaches indication rewards, “…The command may include one or more commands to purchase the promotion, request additional information on the promotion, hold the promotion for later purchase, add the promotion to a favorite list, share the promotion with another consumer over social networking websites, email the promotion to another consumer, rate the promotion, or indicate [indicator]” a relevance of the promotion to the consumer”, paragraphs 19 and 36.
Viswanath teaches rewards corresponding to each account and a consumer with multiple accounts, “[0114] Consumer device 106 may be associated with a consumer and/or consumer account, such as a consumer with a consumer account provided by system 102. Although a single consumer device 106 is shown, system 100 may include any number of consumer devices that may be associated with various other consumers and/or consumer accounts…”, paragraph 114).
Viswanath does not disclose
A third [indication ],
A second [account]
But, from Viswanath’s teaching , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Viswanath teaching of indication rewards, paragraphs 19 and 36, and Viswanath teaching of rewards corresponding to each account and a consumer with multiple accounts, paragraph 114, to arrive to the claimed recitation “a third indication, wherein the third indication indicates that rewards corresponding to a second account provisioned onto the computer system”, since the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Next, Viswanath does not disclose but Xie discloses
rewards corresponding to [a second] account provisioned onto the computer system are available and not applied.
(“…determining balance [rewards available and not applied] … reward points contained in a consumer account of said consumer using said purchase transaction information, a number of redeemed reward vouchers, and another one or more of said predetermined computation parameters”, Xie claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Xie’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for compute and display a balance in order to support rewards redemption.
As to claim 15, Viswanath discloses
wherein [the second] account provisioned onto the computer system is identified, among a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, based on a maximum reward earning potential
when proceeding with a transfer using the second account, wherein the maximum reward earning potential is based on the location of the computer system.
(Viswanath discloses consumer account, “..payment data may include credit card data (e.g., card number, expiration date, card verification value), debit card data, financial account data, electronic payment account data, and/or any other data capable of being used by the server to facilitate the transaction….”, paragraph 178.
“0179] At 510, the server may be configured to store the payment data. For example, the payment data may be stored in association with a consumer account of a consumer associated with the consumer device…”, paragraph 179.
Viswanath teaches rewards corresponding to each account and a consumer with multiple accounts, “[0114] Consumer device 106 may be associated with a consumer and/or consumer account, such as a consumer with a consumer account provided by system 102. Although a single consumer device 106 is shown, system 100 may include any number of consumer devices that may be associated with various other consumers and/or consumer accounts…”, paragraph 114.
Viswanath teaches based on a maximum rewards amount potential, “…The representation 1302 may be associated with information on the item, for example, a price, a discounted price, a discount level, number of promotions associated with the item [Examiner equates a maximum available rewards amount ] that was already purchased, whether the item has limited availability, highlights or detailed information on the item, and the like”, paragraph 203, Figs 13A-13D and paragraph 212 and Figs. 14A-14D.
Viswanath teaches transfer rewards proceeding from an account to another account
“ share the promotion with another consumer over social networking websites…”, paragraph 19 and claim 25
Viswanath teaches location of the account associated to a consumer , “[0019] The consumer interface may display a geographical map of a plurality of locations at which the promotion may be purchased, and a location of the consumer input on the map may correspond to a geographical location for which the promotion is purchased by the command…”, paragraph 19.
Viswanath does not disclose recitation “wherein the second account provisioned onto the computer system is identified, among a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, based on a maximum reward earning potential when proceeding with a transfer using the second account, wherein the maximum reward earning potential is based on the location of the computer system”
But, from Viswanath’s teaching , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Viswanath teaching of consumer account, paragraphs 178-179; rewards corresponding to each account and a consumer with multiple accounts, paragraph 114; based on a maximum rewards amount potential, paragraph 203, Figs 13A-13D and paragraph 212 and Figs. 14A-14D; transfer rewards proceeding from an account to another account, paragraph 19 and claim 25; location of the account associated to a consumer , paragraph 19, to arrive to the claimed recitation ““wherein the second account provisioned onto the computer system is identified, among a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, based on a maximum reward earning potential when proceeding with a transfer using the second account, wherein the maximum reward earning potential is based on the location of the computer system” , since the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 16, Viswanath discloses
wherein displaying the user interface includes displaying, via the one or more display generation components, [a potential earned rewards amount to be earned] when proceeding with a transfer using a selected account provisioned onto the computer system.
(Viswanath teaches transfer rewards proceeding from an account to another account
“ share the promotion with another consumer over social networking websites…”, paragraph 19 and claim 25)
Viswanath does not disclose
a potential earned rewards amount to be earned
but from Viswanath’s teaching of sharing a promotion with another account, paragraph 53, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate in the user interface of Viswanath “consumer input corresponds to a command for performing an action associated with the promotion “, abstract, the action of transferring or sharing a promotion in order to increase potential promotion earnings and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results
As to claim 20, Viswanath does not disclose but Xie discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a notification indicating an offer corresponding to a second account provisioned onto the computer system.
(Xie discloses rewards requested for a transaction from an account, “[0048] On receiving the transaction approval request from the merchant device, the universal rewards management system approves the transaction approval request and generates and credits 203 universal reward points to the consumer account. The consumer can use the universal reward points to obtain, for example, cash rewards on approval of the transaction by the merchant. The universal rewards management system further renders a redeemable reward voucher amount to a merchant account and issues 204 a reward voucher to an inventory of the merchant…”, paragraph 48.
Next, Xie teaches a notification indicating an offer corresponding to a [second ]account,
“…The universal rewards management system further transmits notifications to the consumer device and the merchant device via the network on successful completion of the universal reward points generation request…”, paragraph 48).
But, from Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Xie’s teaching of rewards requested for a transaction from an account, paragraph 48 , and incorporate Xie’s teaching of a notification indicating an offer corresponding to an account, paragraph 48, to arrive to the claimed invention “displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a notification indicating an offer corresponding to a second account provisioned …”, and the results would have been predictable.
As to claim 21, Viswanath discloses
[wherein the notification of the offer is displayed in response] a location of the computer system satisfying one or more criteria.
(“[0019] The consumer interface may display a geographical map of a plurality of locations at which the promotion may be purchased, and a location of the consumer input on the map may correspond to a geographical location for which the promotion is purchased by the command. The command may include one or more commands to purchase the promotion, request additional information on the promotion, hold the promotion for later purchase, add the promotion to a favorite list, share the promotion with another consumer over social networking websites, email the promotion to another consumer, rate the promotion, or indicate [first indicator]” a relevance of the promotion to the consumer”, paragraphs 19 and 36);
Viswanath does not disclose but Xie discloses
wherein the notification of the offer is displayed in response to [a location of the computer system satisfying one or more criteria].
(“…The universal rewards management system further transmits notifications to the consumer device and the merchant device via the network on successful completion of the universal reward points generation request…”, paragraph 48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Xie’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for notify an offer that meets a criteria based in location, in order to support merchant promotions.
As to claim 22, Viswanath discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for: while displaying the notification, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the notification;
(“[0003] Providers offer products, services, and/or experiences (referred to herein as "items") to consumers. Promotional systems provide promotions for such items to consumers [Examiner interprets as notifications]. Consumers can use consumer devices (e.g., a mobile device such as a smartphone, tablet, etc.) to interact with the promotional system for a variety of purposes including accessing information about promotions and purchasing promotions.[Examiner interprets as an input directed to the notification]…”, paragraphs 3, 5.).
and in response to detecting the input directed to the notification, initiating a process to perform an operation using the [second] account provisioned onto the computer system
(“…The nature of such interactions [Examiner interprets as response to detecting the input ] affects the shopping experience and even the likelihood or rate of promotion purchase [initiating a process to perform an operation ]…”, paragraph 3.
“…[0014] In some embodiments, the method may further include associating a third consumer input with a … command; receiving … consumer input data indicating a … consumer interaction with the representation of the promotion; and, in response to receiving the …consumer input, determining whether the … command has been initiated based on the …consumer input, and processing the … command when the …command has been initiated….”, paragraph 140).
As to claim 23, Viswanath discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for:
a) in accordance with a determination that a user preference corresponding to offer notifications is enabled (paragraphs 8 and 13), displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a notification indicating an offer corresponding to an account provisioned onto the computer system;
(“0019] The consumer interface may display a geographical map of a plurality of locations at which the promotion may be purchased, and a location of the consumer input on the map may correspond to a geographical location for which the promotion is purchased by the command. The command may include one or more commands to purchase the promotion, request additional information on the promotion, hold the promotion for later purchase, add the promotion to a favorite list [Examiner interprets as a user preference corresponding to offer notifications is enabled], share the promotion with another consumer over social networking websites, email the promotion to another consumer, rate the promotion, or indicate a relevance of the promotion to the consumer [Examiner interprets as offer notifications is enabled]”, paragraph 19);
Viswanath does not disclose
b) and in accordance with a determination that the user preference corresponding to offer notifications is disabled, forgoing displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the notification indicating an offer corresponding to the account provisioned onto the computer system.
But from Viswanath teaching of “indicate a relevance of the promotion to the consumer” and “add the promotion to a favorite list”, paragraph 19,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate paragraph 19 and paragraph 13 teaching to arrive to the claiming invention “a determination that the user preference corresponding to offer notifications is disabled…”, since Viswanath teaching of “transmitting computer-executable instructions to cause: determining one or more parameters of the promotion; associating or dissociating the one or more parameters with a consumer account as being relevant to the consumer account;”, paragraph 13, for forgoing displaying, and the results would have been predictable.
Claims 13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20150242902 (Viswanath) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20250390885 (Jayaraman) in view of PG. Pub. No. 20160260116 (Xie) and in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20210407012 (Silva).
As to claim 13, Viswanath does not disclose but Silva discloses
wherein an electronic wallet provisioned onto the computer system includes a plurality of accounts, the plurality of accounts including the account provisioned onto the computer system.
(“0162] Consumers can enter some or all of their debit, credit and asset account information with an intermediary or a distributor and create an anonymous consumer exchange wallet record….”, paragraph 162. And “…The consumer exchange wallet includes logic specified by the consumer that selects which account to apply the charge…”, paragraph 164).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Silva’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for selecting an account from a list of accounts in a wallet in order to support rewards transactions.
As to claim 17, Viswanath discloses
wherein the account provisioned onto the computer system corresponds to a [ selected ] account
(“a consumer account as being relevant to the consumer account;” paragraph 13);
and displaying the user interface includes displaying, via the one or more display generation components, [an option to change the selected account].
(Viswanath teaches rewards corresponding to each account and a consumer with multiple accounts, “[0114] Consumer device 106 may be associated with a consumer and/or consumer account, such as a consumer with a consumer account provided by system 102. Although a single consumer device 106 is shown, system 100 may include any number of consumer devices that may be associated with various other consumers and/or consumer accounts…”, paragraph 114).
Viswanath does not disclose but Silva discloses
a selected account
(“…logic specified by the consumer that selects which account to apply the charge…”, paragraphs 164-165).
an option to change the selected account.
(“…The consumer may update information contained in data sets 402, 404, and 406 according to changing personal or financial information”, paragraph 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Silva’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for selecting an account from a list of accounts and change or update the selection in order to support rewards transactions.
As to claim 18, Viswanath discloses
a plurality of accounts including a plurality of indications specifying whether an account of the plurality of accounts includes available rewards
(“…The command may include one or more commands to purchase the promotion, request additional information on the promotion, hold the promotion for later purchase, add the promotion to a favorite list, share the promotion with another consumer over social networking websites, email the promotion to another consumer, rate the promotion, or indicate [indicator]” a relevance of the promotion to the consumer”, paragraphs 19 and 36.
“An exemplary promotion application program may, for example, provide a user interface configured to render impressions of one or more promotions, receive user input selecting one or more impressions, and enable purchase of the promotions in response to user input”, paragraph 97);
Viswanath does not disclose but Silva discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for:
a) detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a selection of the option to change the selected account;
(paragraph 46);
b) and in response to detecting the input corresponding to a selection of the option to change the selected account, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, [a plurality of accounts including a plurality of indications specifying whether an account of the plurality of accounts includes available rewards]
(“…logic specified by the consumer that selects which account to apply the charge…”, paragraphs 164-165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Silva’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for
selecting an account from a list of accounts and change or update the selection in order to support rewards transactions
As to claim 19, Viswanath discloses
wherein displaying the plurality of accounts includes displaying a recommended account, from the plurality of accounts, wherein the recommended account is identified, among a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, based on a maximum reward earning potential when proceeding with a transfer using the recommended account.
(“[0250] The promotion and marketing service may monitor the consumer's "retweet" of the original message and, based on one or metrics, the promotion and marketing service may automatically initiate a purchase command of the item or promotion for the consumer. If the consumer's followers also "retweet" the message regarding the item or promotion, the promotion and marketing service may perform one or more of the following actions: automatically initiate a purchase command for the followers, automatically create an account on the promotion and marketing service for the followers[Examiner interprets as displaying a recommended account], automatically provide a discount or promotion to the followers, and the like”, paragraph 250).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20150242902 (Viswanath) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20250390885 (Jayaraman) in view of PG. Pub. No. 20160260116 (Xie) and in view of US Patent No. 11170364 (Techel).
As to claim 24, Viswanath discloses
the one or more programs including instructions for:
a) displaying a rewards option, wherein the computer system displays, via the one or more display generation components, the user interface with the user interface element including an indication that rewards corresponding to the account provisioned onto the computer system[ are available and not applied] when the rewards[ option is enabled,] and the computer system forgoes displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the user interface with the user interface element including the indication that rewards corresponding to the account provisioned onto the computer system are [available and not applied] when the rewards [option is disabled;]
(see promotion and indicator, paragraphs 19 and 36.
“a user interface configured to render impressions of one or more promotions”, paragraph 97).
Next, Viswanath does not disclose but Xie discloses
rewards are available and not applied.
(“…determining balance [rewards available and not applied] … reward points contained in a consumer account of said consumer using said purchase transaction information, a number of redeemed reward vouchers, and another one or more of said predetermined computation parameters”, Xie claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Xie’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for compute and display a balance in order to support rewards redemption.
Viswanath does not disclose but Techel discloses
option is enabled
option is disabled;
(“…The management requests enable and disable tokens, such that transactions against a payment card account using an enabled token are completed, and transactions against the payment card account using a disabled token are denied…”, abstract.
“in some embodiments, merchant or financial institution loyalty programs may be implemented with loyalty account numbers that are specific to each customer, and the loyalty account numbers (or tokens representing the loyalty account numbers…”, 10:1-5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Techel’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for enable or disable data elements in order to support a graphical user interface( Techel claim 12).
b) while displaying the rewards option, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the rewards option;
(“…The nature of such interactions [Examiner interprets as response to detecting the input ] affects the shopping experience and even the likelihood or rate of promotion purchase [initiating a process to perform an operation ]…”, paragraph 3.
“…[0014] In some embodiments, the method may further include associating a third consumer input with a … command; receiving … consumer input data indicating a … consumer interaction with the representation of the promotion; and, in response to receiving the …consumer input, determining whether the … command has been initiated based on the …consumer input, and processing the … command when the …command has been initiated….”, Viswanath paragraph 140).
Viswanath does not disclose but Techel discloses
c) and in response to detecting the input directed to the rewards option: in accordance with the input corresponding to a request to enable the rewards option, enabling the rewards option; and d) and in accordance with the input corresponding to a request to disable the rewards option, disabling the rewards option.
(“…The management requests enable and disable tokens, such that transactions against a payment card account using an enabled token are completed, and transactions against the payment card account using a disabled token are denied…”, abstract and 10:1-5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Techel’s teaching with the teaching of Viswanath. One would have been motivated to provide functionality for enable or disable data elements in order to support a graphical user interface (see Techel claim 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments files on 07/07/2026 have been fully considered. The arguments regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C 102 are moot in light of the above new grounds of rejection. All the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 above.
Applicant argues (remarks 10-12)
Claim Reiection - 35 U.S.C. § 101
Claims 1-26 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is allegedly
directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Applicant requests that the 35 U.S.C. § 101
rejection of claims 1-26 be withdrawn for the following reasons.
1. Under Prong 1 of Step 2A, amended claim 1 does not recite a judicial exception.
The Office Action alleges that claim 1 recites an abstract idea, asserting that the claims are
directed to methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing, or sales behaviors. (Office
Action at page 3.) However, as discussed below, amended claim 1 is not directed to methods of
organizing human activity, advertising, marketing, or sales behaviors.
In particular, claim 1 (and similarly claims 25 and 26) has been amended to recite, inter alia,
"selecting, from a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, a first account
provisioned onto the computer system, wherein the first account is selected based on a maximum…
In response the Examiner agrees that the instant application is in compliance with the utility requirement. The claimed invention has a readily apparent well-established utility (see MPEP 2107). But, per MPEP 2106 an invention also must comply with the Subject Matter Eligibility test under Alice framework, see “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (2019 PEG), published in the MPEP 2103 through 2106.07(c). The instant claims are directed to an abstract idea. None of the limitations considered as an ordered combination, provides eligibility, because taken as a whole, the claim simply instruct the practitioner to implement an abstract idea with routine, conventional technology. Accordingly, the claims are ineligible (see complete and facially sufficient analysis of the rejection above).
2. Under Prong 2 of Step 2A, claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea, as it integrates
any alleged abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 1 integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application. A claim reciting a
judicial exception is not directed to the judicial exception if it also recites additional elements
demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. One
way to demonstrate such integration is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a
computer or improves another technology or technical field. (M.P.E.P. § 2106.04(d)(l).) Claim 1, as
amended, is directed to a practical application of improving the efficiency of transfers and other
transactions by reducing the cognitive burden placed on a user and the number of inputs required to
perform an operation. (See Specification as-filed at ,-i,i [0223], [0244], and [0263].) For instance,
amended claim 1 enhances the ability of the system to select and apply an account with associated
rewards ( e.g., by utilizing a learning algorithm to determine which of a plurality of accounts will
provide the maximum amount of potential earned rewards for a transaction) which, additionally,
creates a more efficient interface and more efficiently conserves power. (See Id.) Specifically, by
leveraging the capabilities of the system and a learning algorithm an account that will provide the
maximum amount of potential earned rewards can be selected and displayed to the user without
requiring further input or other specification from the user.
In response the Examiner agrees that the instant application is in compliance with the utility requirement, but reciting computer elements at a very high level as in this case, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The Examiner analyses other supplementary elements in the claim besides of the abstract idea, in view of the instant disclosure: “at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices: “via the one or more display generation components, a user interface “; “onto the computer system “; “via the one or more input devices”; “via the one or more display generation components, the user interface” and the amended elements “selecting, from a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, a first account provisioned …., wherein the first account is selected based on a maximum amount of potential earned rewards for a transaction, and wherein the first account is selected using a learning algorithm;” These elements are generic computer elements and software. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
3. Under Step 2B, claim 1 recites additional elements that amount to significantly more
than an abstract idea.
Even if the claims are directed to an abstract idea, which Applicant does not concede, the
claims amount to significantly more than any alleged abstract idea. Claim 1, as amended, recites a
intelligent calculation to maximize benefits to a particular user. In particular, the claims recite
"selecting, from a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, a first account
provisioned onto the computer system, wherein the first account is selected based on a maximum
amount of potential earned rewards for a transaction, and wherein the first account is selected using
a learning algorithm" and "displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a user…
In response the Examiner the Examiner asserts that the analyzed other supplementary elements in the claim besides of the abstract idea, “at a computer system that is in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices: “via the one or more display generation components, a user interface “; “onto the computer system “; “via the one or more input devices”; “via the one or more display generation components, the user interface” and the amended elements “selecting, from a plurality of accounts provisioned onto the computer system, a first account provisioned …., wherein the first account is selected based on a maximum amount of potential earned rewards for a transaction, and wherein the first account is selected using a learning algorithm;” These elements are generic computer elements and software. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements are very well understood, routine and conventional. They do not improving the technical field or the computer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Designing an application to motivate teenagers' physical activity”. IEEE. 2012.
“In this paper we discuss design guidelines for game-based applications that motivate teenagers to do physical activity. We describe an application developed based on these guidelines and results from a user study we ran using this application. Finally, we discuss additional design guidelines that emerged from the user study. These guidelines include providing voiceover for text in the application, providing bonuses or rewards for accomplishing physical activity goals, and providing the functionality that let teenagers tailor the application to their physical activity needs. Future work will consist of improving the application based on the user study results and running a long-term study with the improved application.”
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA V VANDERHORST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621 9/18/2026