DETAILED ACTION
Receipt of Applicant’s Amendment, filed July 7, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 12, 17-20 were amended.
No claims were cancelled.
No claims were newly added.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
With regard to claim 2, the claim recites “the highest ranking candidate documents”. No such claim element has previously been recited. For examination purposes this claim limitation has been understood to mean – a highest ranking candidate document—
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 12, the claim recites “wherein the terms and textual are obtained…” This claim limitation lacks antecedent basis. No ‘textual’ claim element has previously been recited. The claim has previously recited ‘generating a context query’. The recited context query is recited as including the terms. It is unclear what the recitation of ‘textual’ is attempting to refer to. For examination purposes this claim limitation has been construed as referring to –wherein the context query including the terms are obtained--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 10-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caid [6173275]. Please note that Caid [6173275] (herein referred to as Caid275) incorporates Caid [5619709] (herein referred to as Caid709) by reference. Caid275 makes frequent reference to Caid709 when describing the disclosed device. Within this office action, mapping citations for the disclosed device will be provided directly to Caid275 and Caid709.
With regard to claim 1 Caid (Caid275 incorporating Caid709) teaches A method comprising:
generating a context query (Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”) for a query image (Caid275, Column 12, line 51 “Image Queries”) based on a source document as a magazine (Caid275, Column 14, lines 41-42 “Similarly, text and images can be linked, for example magazines and pictures in magazines”) associated with the query image as the image being searched (Caid275, Column 12, line 51 “Image Queries”), the context query (Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”) including a combination of textual terms (Caid275, Column 4, lines 61-64 “Context vectors may be associated with words, terms, documents, document portions, queries, quantitative data, or any other type of information item or element”) describing aspects of the query image as terms associated with features of the image (Caid275, Column 4, line 66 – Column 5, line 5 “For image processing, context vectors are associated with certain image feature vectors. Elements in the feature vector, called features, are derived using affine wavelet transformations on sample points in images in the image database. Features are combined to form a feature vector. Such feature vectors provide an "image vocabulary" analogous to words in text.”);
determining candidate documents including image index documents as results 1307 (Caid275, Column 13, lines 15-18 “Image relevance is assessed by computing the dot product 1305 of each image summary vector 913 with the query context vector 1303, and accumulating the results 1307. The images are sorted by dot product 1309.”) with images as retrieved images (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 “Images are retrieved using any of a number of query methods (e.g., images, image portions, vocabulary atoms, index terms).”) semantically similar as dot product similarity (Id; Column 4, lines 49 “wherein a high dot product indicates a similar meaning.”) to the query image as the query context vector represents the query image (Caid275, column 13, lines 10-17 “Regardless of the approach used, user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303. For example, images and image portions are represented by the atomic vocabulary vectors 205 and a weighted query vector is formed from the atomic vocabulary vectors (see FIG. 5). Image relevance is assessed by computing the dot product 1305 of each image summary vector 913 with the query context vector 1303, and accumulating the results 1307”) from an image index (Caid275, lines 8 “Images can also be indexed to terms”) and document index documents as the list of documents (Caid709; Column 18-19 “The net result is a list of the most relevant documents, independent of language”) responsive to the context query as searching for the context query vector using the common universal meaning space (Caid709 Column 24, lines 10-19 describes the search mechanism; Caid275 Column 14, lines 12-15; lines 29-30 “Similarly, a common universal meaning space can be constructed for images (or video) and sound, for example”) from a document index (Caid709 Column 12, lines 39-41 “Another application of the information retrieval system described above is the automated coding of text documents according to a defined index of terms”);
ranking the candidate documents based on similarity to the context query as ordering the list based on similarity weight (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42 “The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”) to generate highest ranking candidate documents as the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208 (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208”; Please note that what the ranking of the candidate documents is intended be used for (e.g. “to generate highest ranking candidate documents”) has been an intended use of the ranking operation); and
providing information (Caid275, Column 13, lines 53-56 “Also, as described in Caid et al. ( and incorporated herein), summary vectors of images can be visually displayed for navigation through the corpus of images to find images that are of interest.”) about the highest ranking candidate documents as the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208 (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208”).
With regard to claims 4 and 20 Caid further teaches wherein the candidate documents have respective first relevance scores as similarity 1029 weight (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42 “The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”) and the method further comprises:
determining, for the candidate documents as the result documents 1307 (Caid275, Column 13 lines 11-17 “For example, images and image portions are represented by the atomic vocabulary vectors 205 and a weighted query vector is formed from the atomic vocabulary vectors (see FIG. 5). Image relevance is assessed by computing the dot product 15 1305 of each image summary vector 913 with the query context vector 1303, and accumulating the results 1307”), respective visual as visual features of identification (Caid275, Column 13, lines 47-51 “The block 1401 with the highest dot product has the highest degree of correlation with the query 1303, and is indicated by some visual distinction such as color, inverse video, or some other form of identification 1407.”) similarity scores as the dot product calculation (Id) based on the query image as the highest degree of correlation with the query (Id) which is determined by a threshold evaluation as a threshold relevance (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-15); and
boosting as giving a higher weight (Caid275, Column 8, lines 48-51 “The intra-image influence between atoms 511 is distance-weighted according to a Gaussian distribution in that atoms that appear close together in an image are given higher weight.”) the respective first relevance scores as similarity 1029 weight (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42 “The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”) based on the respective visual similarity scores as the distance, e.g. the similarity score calculation (Id) to generate a respective boost first relevance scores as the image given the higher weight (Caid275, Column 8, lines 48-51),
wherein the highest ranking candidate documents as the top ten similar images includes the first and second best matched images (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208”) are further ranked as being ordered by vector proximity (Caid275, Column 3, lines 12-14 “Retrieved images are displayed in order of vector proximity, which corresponds to relative relevance to the query”) based on respective second relevance scores as the similarity score (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42 “The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”) for a second document in the top ten results (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39) determined based on similarity with the context query and the respective boosted (Caid275, Column 8, lines 48-51) first relevance scores as similarity score (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42) for a first document in the top ten results (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39).
With regard to claim 5 Caid further teaches wherein the context query (Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”) is generated from terms most relevant to the query image (Caid275, Column 12, lines 7-9 “Images can also be indexed to terms. Index terms can be textual words or codes, for example. More than one index term can be associated with an image”).
With regard to claim 6 Caid further teaches wherein the candidate documents are filtered as the unretained images, e.g. dissimilar images (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208”; Column 2, lines 17-20 “Thus, two items having similar meaning or content have similarly-oriented context vectors, while items having dissimilar meaning or content have roughly orthogonal context vectors” using a document quality threshold as the threshold of best matches (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-42 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208. The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”) prior as the ordered list is produced from the identified most relevant matched images and terms (Id) to ranking as ordering the list based on similarity weight (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42 “The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”).
With regard to claim 7 Caid teaches A method comprising:
receiving a request for context about a query image as receiving a query image (Caid275, Column 17, line 32 “receiving a query image”; Caid275, Column 12, line 51 “Image Queries”);
providing the query image (Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”) to an image context service (Figure 1, 114 “Context Vector Generation”; Column 4, lines 4-16 detail some of the underlying hardware components);
receiving a search result as results 1307 (Caid275, Column 13, lines 15-18 “Image relevance is assessed by computing the dot product 1305 of each image summary vector 913 with the query context vector 1303, and accumulating the results 1307. The images are sorted by dot product 1309.”) from the image context service ((Figure 1, 114 “Context Vector Generation”; Column 4, lines 4-16) in response to providing the query image (Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”), the search result being based on a ranking as ordering the list based on similarity weight (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42 “The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”) of documents as a magazine (Caid275, Column 14, lines 41-42 “Similarly, text and images can be linked, for example magazines and pictures in magazines”) that have document images as retrieved images (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 “Images are retrieved using any of a number of query methods (e.g., images, image portions, vocabulary atoms, index terms).”) semantically (Caid709 “Column 16, lines 60-61 “a strong similarity of usage or "meaning" between these elements.”) or visually as visual features of identification (Caid275, Column 13, lines 47-51 “The block 1401 with the highest dot product has the highest degree of correlation with the query 1303, and is indicated by some visual distinction such as color, inverse video, or some other form of identification 1407.”) similar as the dot product calculation (Id) to the query image as the highest degree of correlation with the query (Id) which is determined by a threshold evaluation as a threshold relevance (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-15) and a relevance as the relative relevance to the query(Caid275 Column 3, lines 12-16 “Retrieved images are displayed in order of vector proximity, which corresponds to relative relevance to the query. In one embodiment, retrieved images are broken into sub-portions and the most relevant portions matching the query vector are highlighted in the image”) to a context query related (Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”) to the query image (Caid275, Column 12, line 51 “Image Queries”), wherein the ranking as ordering the list based on similarity weight (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42 “The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”) is generated based on a visual similarity score (Caid275, Column 13, lines 47-51) based on the query image as the highest degree of correlation with the query (Caid275, Column 13, lines 47-51; Column 12, lines 37-15) and a relevance score as the relative relevance to the query(Caid275 Column 3, lines 12-16) based on similarity as the dot product calculation (Caid275, Column 13, lines 47-51) with the context query(Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”), the context query including a combination of textual terms (Caid275, Column 4, lines 61-64 “Context vectors may be associated with words, terms, documents, document portions, queries, quantitative data, or any other type of information item or element”) describing aspects of the query image as terms associated with features of the image (Caid275, Column 4, line 66 – Column 5, line 5 “For image processing, context vectors are associated with certain image feature vectors. Elements in the feature vector, called features, are derived using affine wavelet transformations on sample points in images in the image database. Features are combined to form a feature vector. Such feature vectors provide an "image vocabulary" analogous to words in text.”); and
displaying the image (Caid275, Column 3, lines 12 “Retrieved images are displayed”) and the search result as results 1307 (Caid275, Column 13, lines 15-18 “Image relevance is assessed by computing the dot product 1305 of each image summary vector 913 with the query context vector 1303, and accumulating the results 1307. The images are sorted by dot product 1309.”).
With regard to claim 8 Caid further teaches wherein a source document as a magazine (Caid275, Column 14, lines 41-42 “Similarly, text and images can be linked, for example magazines and pictures in magazines”) associated with the query image as the image being searched (Caid275, Column 12, line 51 “Image Queries”) is provided as receiving a new image (Caid275, Column 15, line 29 “receiving a new image in computer-readable form”) to the image context service (Caid275, Column 12, lines 29-33 “new image 1204 is characterized 1205 using the existing atomic vocabulary 205 and stop list 207 as described above (i.e., wavelet transformation and mapping to closest atoms in atomic vocabulary), and a summary vector 1206 for the image is generated”) and the source document as a magazine (Caid275, Column 14, lines 41-42 “Similarly, text and images can be linked, for example magazines and pictures in magazines”) includes salient terms as text that is deemed important (Caid275, Column 14, lines 41-49 “Similarly, text and images can be linked, for example magazines and pictures in magazines. Here, the text surrounding the image (e.g., in a caption) can be automatically "tied" or associated with the image. The strength of the tie association can also be varied according to spatial proximity of the text to the image, boldness, font, or other factors. See Caid et al. for an application of context vectors to text. Information elements in the textual application may be, for example, words or word stems (root words).”) that are used to generate the context query as being tied to the image (Column 14, lines 29-34 “Similarly, a common universal meaning space can be constructed for images (or video) and sound, for example. Certain "ties" can be fixed between images (e.g., a St. Bernard dog) and audio clips ("bark") ( context vectors in the audio domain may be, for example, frequency and/or amplitude measurements).”).
With regard to claim 10 Caid further teaches wherein receiving the request as the search being a new search that is submitted after the user reviews and specifies previous result images that were useful (Caid275, Column 13, lines 35-40 “The system may also employ relevance feedback, whereby the user specifies which of the retrieved images are most helpful. Anew search may then be performed using the summary vector for the specified images. This technique reduces the time required for searches and improves system effectiveness”) occurs responsive to selection as a double click (Caid709 Column 15, lines 50-53 “Responsive to some command, such as a double-click, associated with one of the icons or sub-icons, the associated document (or portion of a document) may be displayed for perusal by the user.”) of an interactive control as an icon (Id) provided on an image search result page that includes the query image as the document being displayed to the user for perusal (Id).
With regard to claim 11 Caid further teaches wherein receiving the request as the search being a new search that is submitted after the user reviews and specifies previous result images that were useful (Caid275, Column 13, lines 35-40 “The system may also employ relevance feedback, whereby the user specifies which of the retrieved images are most helpful. Anew search may then be performed using the summary vector for the specified images. This technique reduces the time required for searches and improves system effectiveness”) occurs responsive to selection as a double click (Caid709 Column 15, lines 50-53 “Responsive to some command, such as a double-click, associated with one of the icons or sub-icons, the associated document (or portion of a document) may be displayed for perusal by the user.”) of an interactive control as an icon (Id) provided on an image search application as the search results page (Id).
With regard to claim 12 Caid teaches A method comprising:
generating a context query (Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”) for a query image (Caid275, Column 12, line 51 “Image Queries”) that includes terms (Caid275, Column 4, lines 61-64 “Context vectors may be associated with words, terms, documents, document portions, queries, quantitative data, or any other type of information item or element”) describing as the terms representing the image (Caid275, Column 7, lines 30-33 “Any image may be represented in terms of the unique set of information elements in the atomic vocabulary 205, 311.”; Caid275, Column 4, line 66 – Column 5, line 5 “For image processing, context vectors are associated with certain image feature vectors. Elements in the feature vector, called features, are derived using affine wavelet transformations on sample points in images in the image database. Features are combined to form a feature vector. Such feature vectors provide an "image vocabulary" analogous to words in text.”) the query image, wherein the terms (Caid275, Column 4, lines 61-64 “Context vectors may be associated with words, terms, documents, document portions, queries, quantitative data, or any other type of information item or element”) and textual are (Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”; Please see the 112b above, this claim limitation has been construed to mean –wherein the context query is--) obtained from a generative model (Caid275, Column 6, lines 48 “Statistical prototype feature vectors are selected using neural network self-organization techniques 309”; Figure 1, 114 “Context Vector Generation”; Column 4, lines 4-16) provided with the query image as input (Caid275, Column 13, line 10-11 “user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303.”);
identifying candidate documents as results 1307 (Caid275, Column 13, lines 15-18 “Image relevance is assessed by computing the dot product 1305 of each image summary vector 913 with the query context vector 1303, and accumulating the results 1307. The images are sorted by dot product 1309.”) responsive to the context query as the query context vector represents the query image (Caid275, column 13, lines 10-17 “Regardless of the approach used, user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303. For example, images and image portions are represented by the atomic vocabulary vectors 205 and a weighted query vector is formed from the atomic vocabulary vectors (see FIG. 5). Image relevance is assessed by computing the dot product 1305 of each image summary vector 913 with the query context vector 1303, and accumulating the results 1307”) from a document index (Caid709 Column 12, lines 39-41 “Another application of the information retrieval system described above is the automated coding of text documents according to a defined index of terms”);
ranking the candidate documents based on similarity to the context query as ordering the list based on similarity weight (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42 “The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”) to identify highest ranking candidate documents as the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208 (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208”; Please note that what the ranking of the candidate documents is intended be used for (e.g. “to identify highest ranking candidate documents”) has been an intended use of the ranking operation); and
providing information (Caid275, Column 13, lines 53-56 “Also, as described in Caid et al. ( and incorporated herein), summary vectors of images can be visually displayed for navigation through the corpus of images to find images that are of interest.”) about the query image based on the highest ranking candidate documents as the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208 (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208”).
With regard to claim 13 Caid further teaches wherein the terms are first terms (Caid275, Column 14, lines 41-44 “Similarly, text and images can be linked, for example magazines and pictures in magazines. Here, the text surrounding the image (e.g., in a caption) can be automatically "tied" or associated with the image.”), and generating the context query further comprises:
identifying a second image as a second summary vector (Caid275, Column 10 lines 51-53 “Referring to FIG. 10, an initial parent node 1001 at the top of a tree indexed as level 0, node 1, contains all of the summary vectors 913 for all images 201”) that is similar as being in the same cluster as determined by the dot product calculation (Caid275, Column 11, lines 10-14 “Referring to FIG. 10, an initial parent node 1001 at the top of a tree indexed as level 0, node 1, contains all of the summary vectors 913 for all images 201 and recompute the centroid for the cluster which gains a vector 1105;”) to the query image as the query context vector (Caid275, Column 13, lines 21-34 which describes how clusters are used during the search operation), the second image being associated with second terms as the terms tied to the image for the second vector (Caid275, Column 14, lines 41-44 “Similarly, text and images can be linked, for example magazines and pictures in magazines. Here, the text surrounding the image (e.g., in a caption) can be automatically "tied" or associated with the image.”); and
using the second terms in further generating the context query (Column 12, lines 8-12 “Images can also be indexed to terms. Index terms can be textual words or codes, for example. More than one index term can be associated with an image. For example, an image of a dog may be indexed to the textual words "dog", "bark", and "pet".”).
With regard to claim 14 Caid further teaches wherein the second image is visually as visual features of identification (Caid275, Column 13, lines 47-51 “The block 1401 with the highest dot product has the highest degree of correlation with the query 1303, and is indicated by some visual distinction such as color, inverse video, or some other form of identification 1407.”) similar as being in the same cluster as determined by the dot product calculation (Caid275, Column 11, lines 10-14 “Referring to FIG. 10, an initial parent node 1001 at the top of a tree indexed as level 0, node 1, contains all of the summary vectors 913 for all images 201 and recompute the centroid for the cluster which gains a vector 1105”) to the query image as the query context vector (Caid275, Column 13, lines 21-34 which describes how clusters are used during the search operation).
With regard to claim 15 Caid further teaches wherein generating the context query further comprises:
Clustering (Caid275, Column 11, lines 2-4 “In a preferred embodiment, the convergent k-means clustering algorithm, a well-known clustering algorithm, is used.”) the first terms and the second terms as the terms (Column 12, lines 8-12 “Images can also be indexed to terms. Index terms can be textual words or codes, for example. More than one index term can be associated with an image. For example, an image of a dog may be indexed to the textual words "dog", "bark", and "pet".”) of the vectors (Caid275, Column 7 lines 31-32 “Any image may be represented in terms of the unique set of information elements in the atomic vocabulary 205”) to generate a semantic cluster as a centroid cluster (Coid275, Column 10, lines 59-61 “This process can be repeated until a sufficient level of clustering detail is achieved 1007, the result being centroid consistent clusters 1009.”); and
including a description term as the terms of the summary vectors assigned to the parent node of the cluster (Column 11, lines 45-47 “Only the summary vectors assigned to a parent node are used in the clustering algorithm to form a the child nodes which branch from that parent.”) representing the semantic cluster as a centroid cluster (Coid275, Column 10, lines 59-61 “This process can be repeated until a sufficient level of clustering detail is achieved 1007, the result being centroid consistent clusters 1009.”) in the context query as the query context vector (Caid275, Column 13, lines 21-34 which describes how clusters are used during the search operation).
With regard to claim 16 Caid275 further teaches wherein generating the context query further comprises:
determining that a first semantic cluster relates to a first number of as the computed distance between the summary vector and the centroid for a first k-cluster (Caid275, Column 11, lines 14-20 “Take each summary vector in sequence and compute its distance from the centroid of each of the k-clusters 1107 (computed by dot product). If the vector is not currently in the cluster with the closest centroid, move the vector to that cluster and update the centroids of the clusters that gain or lose a summary vector 1109.”) the first terms and the second terms (Column 12, lines 8-12 “Images can also be indexed to terms. Index terms can be textual words or codes, for example. More than one index term can be associated with an image. For example, an image of a dog may be indexed to the textual words "dog", "bark", and "pet".”) and a second semantic cluster relates to a second number as the computed distance between the summary vector and the centroid for a second k-cluster (Caid275, Column 11, lines 14-20 “Take each summary vector in sequence and compute its distance from the centroid of each of the k-clusters 1107 (computed by dot product). If the vector is not currently in the cluster with the closest centroid, move the vector to that cluster and update the centroids of the clusters that gain or lose a summary vector 1109.”) of the first terms and the second terms (Column 12, lines 8-12 “Images can also be indexed to terms. Index terms can be textual words or codes, for example. More than one index term can be associated with an image. For example, an image of a dog may be indexed to the textual words "dog", "bark", and "pet".”), the second number being lower than the first number as if the vector is not currently in the cluster with the closest centroid (Caid275, Column 11, lines 14-20 “Take each summary vector in sequence and compute its distance from the centroid of each of the k-clusters 1107 (computed by dot product). If the vector is not currently in the cluster with the closest centroid, move the vector to that cluster and update the centroids of the clusters that gain or lose a summary vector 1109.”); and
weighting the first semantic cluster higher than the second semantic cluster for inclusion in the context query as moving the vector to the cluster with the shorter distance (Caid275, Column 11, lines 14-20 “Take each summary vector in sequence and compute its distance from the centroid of each of the k-clusters 1107 (computed by dot product). If the vector is not currently in the cluster with the closest centroid, move the vector to that cluster and update the centroids of the clusters that gain or lose a summary vector 1109.”).
With regard to claim 17 Caid275 further teaches wherein identifing the candidate documents as results 1307 (Caid275, Column 13, lines 15-18 “Image relevance is assessed by computing the dot product 1305 of each image summary vector 913 with the query context vector 1303, and accumulating the results 1307. The images are sorted by dot product 1309.”) further includes identifying image index documents as retrieved images (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 “Images are retrieved using any of a number of query methods (e.g., images, image portions, vocabulary atoms, index terms).”; Please note the 112b above, this claim limitation has been construed to mean --similar documents--) with images (id) semantically similar as dot product similarity (Id; Column 4, lines 49 “wherein a high dot product indicates a similar meaning.”) to the query image as the query context vector represents the query image (Caid275, column 13, lines 10-17 “Regardless of the approach used, user queries 1301 are converted into a query context vector 1303. For example, images and image portions are represented by the atomic vocabulary vectors 205 and a weighted query vector is formed from the atomic vocabulary vectors (see FIG. 5). Image relevance is assessed by computing the dot product 1305 of each image summary vector 913 with the query context vector 1303, and accumulating the results 1307”) from an image index (Caid275, lines 8 “Images can also be indexed to terms”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caid in view of Mousavian [2020/0363815].
With regard to claims 2 and 18 Caid further teaches wherein the candidate documents are first candidate documents as a first retrieved image (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 “Images are retrieved using any of a number of query methods (e.g., images, image portions, vocabulary atoms, index terms).”) and the method further comprises:
determining, for the image index documents as results 1307, e.g. a first retrieved image (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 “Images are retrieved using any of a number of query methods (e.g., images, image portions, vocabulary atoms, index terms).”; Caid275, Column 13, lines 15-18)
second candidate documents, the second candidate documents as a second retrieved image (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 “Images are retrieved using any of a number of query methods (e.g., images, image portions, vocabulary atoms, index terms).”) meeting a relevance threshold as a threshold relevance (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-15 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208. The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213. The new image is then associated with the listed order of index terms 1215. A threshold 1217 can also be used to choose the top 45 N index terms from the weighted list.”) for a [[as the search for magazine pictures, which one of ordinary skill in the art may reasonably recognize as being a ‘stock’ image (Caid275, Column 12, line 51 “Image Queries”; Column 14, lines 41-42 “Similarly, text and images can be linked, for example magazines and pictures in magazines”; Please note this claim limitation has been construed in light of Paragraph [0058] of the original specification as a query that searches for stock photos.); and
filtering out dissimilar documents as the unretained images, e.g. dissimilar images (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208”; Column 2, lines 17-20 “Thus, two items having similar meaning or content have similarly-oriented context vectors, while items having dissimilar meaning or content have roughly orthogonal context vectors”) from the second candidate documents as a second retrieved image (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 “Images are retrieved using any of a number of query methods (e.g., images, image portions, vocabulary atoms, index terms).”) in response to determining the dissimilar documents as the dissimilar images (Caid275 Column 2, lines 17-20) lack as the unretained images (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208”) an image that meets a visual as visual features of identification (Caid275, Column 13, lines 47-51 “The block 1401 with the highest dot product has the highest degree of correlation with the query 1303, and is indicated by some visual distinction such as color, inverse video, or some other form of identification 1407.”) similarity as the dot product calculation (Id) threshold with the query image as the highest degree of correlation with the query (Id) which is determined by a threshold evaluation as a threshold relevance (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-15) ; and
wherein ranking the candidate documents includes collectively ranking the first candidate documents as results 1307, e.g. a first retrieved image (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9; Column 13, lines 10-11) and the second candidate documents as a second retrieved image (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 to generate the highest ranking candidate documents as the top ten similar images includes the first and second best matched images (Caid275, Column 12, lines 37-39 “Optionally, a threshold can be set to retain the best matches, e.g., the top ten similar images and associated index terms 1208”.
Caid does not explicitly teach a stock-image query.
When read in light of the instant specification (See Paragraph [0058]), this claim limitation appears to be directed to when the query is intended to search a database of stock images. Furthermore, the identification that the images in the searched database are ‘stock’ images appears to be a recitation of non-functional descriptive material, reciting a human meaning associated with the images that does not impact the functionality of the claimed device. There is no physical distinction between a ‘stock’ image and any other image. The identification of the image being ‘stock’ is merely a human meaning that is associated with the image. Nevertheless, for the sake of compact prosecution, prior art has been applied which explicitly addresses the claim limitation.
Mousavian teaches a stock-image query (Mousavian, ¶47 “In an embodiment, the set of codes 406 allows the autoencoder to both identify an object in the image and identify a corresponding stock image. In an embodiment, the image input to the autoencoder may have different lighting, background, and occlusion features that obscure the object of interest. In an embodiment, the autoencoder identifies a synthetic image from a set of reconstructed images that illustrate various orientations of the object. In an embodiment, the encoder generates a feature embedding (or code) of the input image.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to which said subject matter pertains at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the image search system taught by Caid to incorporate the Machine learning techniques to detect key points identifying the image as a stock image or synthetic image as it yields the predictable results of boosting accuracy and robustness of matching (Mousavian, ¶1 “In an embodiment, machine learning techniques may be employed to detect key points or to learn better image features for matching, resulting in a significant boost to estimation accuracy and robustness”). Within the proposed combination, the detected key points (Mousavian, ¶1), including the features identifying the image as stock, or synthetic (Mousavian, ¶47), may be included as features used to generate the Context Vector (Caid275, Column 7, line 30-Column 8, line 12) which may be viewed as ‘coded information’ about the document in the context vector space (Caid709 Column 14, lines 6-13). The proposed combination would enable the system to present the coded information e.g. the identification of the image as ‘stock’ or ‘synthetic’ (Mousavian, ¶47) when the document is displayed as a search result (Caid709, Column 14, lines 11-13).
With regard to claim 9 Caid further teaches wherein the ranking as ordering the list based on similarity weight (Caid275, Column 12, lines 39-42 “The associated index terms retrieved are weighted by both similarity 1209 and frequency of occurrence 1211 and an ordered list is produced of the most relevant index terms 1213.”) is further based on relevance (Caid709; Column 18-19 “The net result is a list of the most relevant documents, independent of language”) to a [[as the search for magazine pictures, which one of ordinary skill in the art may reasonably recognize as being a ‘stock’ image (Caid275, Column 12, line 51 “Image Queries”; Column 14, lines 41-42 “Similarly, text and images can be linked, for example magazines and pictures in magazines”; Please note this claim limitation has been construed in light of Paragraph [0058] of the original specification as a query that searches for stock photos.).
Caid does not explicitly teach a stock-image query.
When read in light of the instant specification (See Paragraph [0058]), this claim limitation appears to be directed to when the query is intended to search a database of stock images. Furthermore, the identification that the images in the searched database are ‘stock’ images appears to be a recitation of non-functional descriptive material, reciting a human meaning associated with the images that does not impact the functionality of the claimed device. There is no physical distinction between a ‘stock’ image and any other image. The identification of the image being ‘stock’ is merely a human meaning that is associated with the image. Nevertheless, for the sake of compact prosecution, prior art has been applied which explicitly addresses the claim limitation.
Mousavian teaches a stock-image query (Mousavian, ¶47 “In an embodiment, the set of codes 406 allows the autoencoder to both identify an object in the image and identify a corresponding stock image. In an embodiment, the image input to the autoencoder may have different lighting, background, and occlusion features that obscure the object of interest. In an embodiment, the autoencoder identifies a synthetic image from a set of reconstructed images that illustrate various orientations of the object. In an embodiment, the encoder generates a feature embedding (or code) of the input image.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to which said subject matter pertains at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the image search system taught by Caid to incorporate the Machine learning techniques to detect key points identifying the image as a stock image or synthetic image as it yields the predictable results of boosting accuracy and robustness of matching (Mousavian, ¶1 “In an embodiment, machine learning techniques may be employed to detect key points or to learn better image features for matching, resulting in a significant boost to estimation accuracy and robustness”). Within the proposed combination, the detected key points (Mousavian, ¶1), including the features identifying the image as stock, or synthetic (Mousavian, ¶47), may be included as features used to generate the Context Vector (Caid275, Column 7, line 30-Column 8, line 12) which may be viewed as ‘coded information’ about the document in the context vector space (Caid709 Column 14, lines 6-13). The proposed combination would enable the system to present the coded information e.g. the identification of the image as ‘stock’ or ‘synthetic’ (Mousavian, ¶47) when the document is displayed as a search result (Caid709, Column 14, lines 11-13).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caid in view of Goldenstein [2019/0179861].
With regard to claims 3 and 19 Caid further teaches wherein the candidate documents further include [[ as retrieved images (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 “Images are retrieved using any of a number of query methods (e.g., images, image portions, vocabulary atoms, index terms).”) from a [[ as image database (Caid275, Column 3, line 66 – Column 4, line 1 “Image database 106 contains images in electronic or computer-readable form.”) that include a stored image as the contained images (Id) similar (Caid275, Column 3, lines 7-9 “Images are retrieved using any of a number of query methods (e.g., images, image portions, vocabulary atoms, index terms).”) to the query image (Caid275, Column 12, line 51 “Image Queries”).
Caid does not explicitly teach a fact-check documents from a fact-check repository.
When read in light of the instant specification (See Paragraph [0057]), this claim limitation appears to be directed to when the query is intended to search a database containing specific data (e.g. fact-check information). Furthermore, the identification that the images in the searched database are ‘fact-checked’ images appears to be a recitation of non-functional descriptive material, reciting a human meaning associated with the data being retrieved that does not impact the functionality of the claimed device. There is no physical distinction between a ‘fact-checked image and any other image. The identification of the image being ‘fact-checked is merely a human meaning that is associated with the image. Nevertheless, for the sake of compact prosecution, prior art has been applied which explicitly addresses the claim limitation.
Goldenstein teaches fact-checked document from a fact-checked repository as the detected fake in fact-checked database (Goldenstein, ¶304 “It is noted that the MetaCert Protocol already detects fake news by checking domains, websites, and news sources against the world's largest network of fact-checking databases. The classification of each news source is verified by fact-checking organizations and stored in the MetaCert Protocol registry to provide unbiased, democratically assessed information on the integrity of each website and news source”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to which said subject matter pertains at the time the invention was filed to have implemented the search system taught by Caid to check the fact-checking databases taught by Goldenstein as it yields the predictable results of enabling the system to identify possible fake news sources (Goldenstein, ¶304). This would enable the proposed combination to identify if the image is associated with ‘fake news’ (Goldenstein, ¶4), which can aid in improving filtering techniques and slow the spread of mis-information (Goldenstein, ¶12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. All the arguments regarding the newly added limitations are addressed in the above rejections.
Applicant argues that Caid does not teach ‘document index documents’.
In response it should be noted that neither the claims nor the instant specification provide any definition or insight regarding the scope of “document index documents’. One of ordinary skill in the art is left with the plain meaning of the claim language itself. Should applicant intend the term to have a specific scope, it is suggested that the claim be amended to clarify the scope of the term used. The label (e.g. name) of the element does not limit the element beyond the plain meaning of the terms. Applicant is reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant asserts that Caid does not teach determining candidate documents, which in the claims are recited as being semantically similar images. Applicant argues that Caid in contrast translates all data into a single common universal meaning space and searches by computing a dot-product distance between numerical vectors.
In response, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize semantic similarity as the dot-product distance between two vectors in a common vector space. The vectors identified as not having a high distance, are identified ‘semantically similar’ and represent the ‘candidate documents’. This is the same semantic similarity discussed within the instant specification (See Paragraphs 58), where the images are converted into a common vector space referred to as ‘embedding space’ in the instant specification (Paragraph [0061], [0062]).
With regard to claim 7, applicant argues that Caid operates entirely within a single common universal meaning space’, and that Caid relies on a single geometric distance calculation between vectors and therefore fails to teach determining two distinct scoring metrics “visual similarity score based on the query image and a separate relevance score based on similarity with eh context query”
In response, the claim language does not recite two separate scores being used as applicant argues. The recited ‘relevance score’ within the claims is recited as being based on ‘similarity with the context query’. Which has antecedent basis to the “document images semantically or visually similar to the image query”. To be clear, the claim explicitly details that the ‘relevance’ is based on the ‘similarity’ calculation. One of ordinary skill in the art may reasonably read the claims as reciting a ranking that is generated based on a relevance score that is calculated based on a similarity (e.g. such as a dot product calculation of the vectors).
It is suggested that the claim language be amended to better clarify the claim elements and how they relate to each other. The claim mapping has been updated to address the claim amendment.
With regard to claim 12, applicant argues that Caid explains a more detailed operation than what is claimed, and does not address the claim language.
In response, the claim language merely recites providing data to a generative model to obtain the output. Within the claims, the generative model is not defined and operates as a black box. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the neural network self-organizing techniques that are used to generate the feature vectors as being a ‘generative model’ that is used to generate the vectors from the provided input. It is suggested that the claim be amended to better define the claimed invention.
Applicant argues that Caids vocabulary atoms and context vectors are purely mathematical constructs and not textual terms.
In response, Caid describes the context vector as a fixed-length vector having a plurality of component values or weights that are determined based on relationship and meanings of items or elements (Caid275, Column 4, line 30-34. This makes no statement of what the component values or weights are, and does require them to be ‘purely mathematical’. Instead, Caid explicitly recites that these vectors are associated with ‘words, terms” (Caid275, column 13, line 10-11) and are referred to as ‘image vocabulary’ (Caid275, line 4-5). Examples of indexed terms that can be used within the vector search system are “dog”, “bark” and “pet” (Caid275, column 12, lines 10-12). Within the search system, it is the ‘index terms’ that is compared to the vectors using the dot product to determine similarity (Caid275, Column 12, lines 29-45). Applicant’s assertions do not appear to represent the device disclosed by Caid275.
With regard to claims 4 and 20, applicant argues that the offline training step to generate the distance-weights is not relevant to a search-time boosting.
In response, the claim language does not recite a search-time boosting. The claim language does not define when, or how the claimed ‘boosting’ is performed. The claim merely recites boosting a score to generate a boosted score. As long as the ‘boosted score’ is generated ‘based on the respective visual similarity score’ the prior art addresses the claim language. It is suggested that the claim be amended to better define the invention.
Applicant argues that Caids ordering is not based on “further ranked based on respective second relevance scores…” Applicant appears to be arguing that Caid does not teach a “respective second relevance score” and “respective boosted first relevance score” as Caid uses a single common universal meaning space.
In response, the universal vector space taught by Caid is what allows each of the vectors to be compared and the similarity determined. The second respective relevance score was mapped to the score for a second result, that is ranked and ordered accordantly based on its similarity compared to the ‘boosted’ score for a first result. Resulting in an ordered list of results, with one document ‘higher’ than the second document based on the scores. The claim does not require two distinct scores generated for the same object. The interpretation that the system is returning and ranking two distinct objects is supported in the original specification (See paragraph [0008], [0045], [0046]). One of ordinary skill int eh art would recognize the ‘high-dimensional space’ disclosed in the instant specification (See Paragraph [0044]) as being a common embedding space, similar to that disclosed by Caid.
With regard to claims 2 and 18, applicant argues that Caid does not teach stock images, and Mousavian does not teach the vector search system.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Mousvian addresses that the stored documents being searched and retrieved by Caid may include stock images that are identified as stock images.
Applicant argues that the proposed combination only allows the system to display a ‘stock’ identification label when the document is presented.
In response, applicant is ignoring the teachings of the similarity search presented by Caid, that enables the system to search based on features (such as for example the ‘stock’ label). Within the proposed combination the retrieved document that are identified as meeting a relevance threshold for the query, may be stock images, and the query may require the image to be ‘stock’. When performing the vector comparison, the proposed combination enables the system to check the vector markers that indicate that the image is similar enough to the query to qualify as a result, wherein the image and query both include data indicating that it is ‘stock’. The instant claim language appears to use a similarity search, such as that presented by Caid to search for data that is ‘stock’. The proposed combination enables this.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA L WILLIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156