DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AlA or AIA Status
inventor to file provisions of the AlA.
Status of Claims
Due to communications filed 12/12/25, the following is a final office action. Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-19 are amended. Claims 1-19 are pending in this application and are rejected as follows. The previous rejection has been modified to reflect claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C, 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (l.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly
more.
With regard to the present claims 1-19, these claim recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a
process, and ultimately, is statutory.
In addition, the claim recites a judicial exception. The claims as a whole recite “Mental
Processes” and “Mathematical Concepts”. The claimed invention is a method that allows for access,
analysis, update and communication of electronic rental room records, which is concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), and mathematical relationships.
The mere nominal recitation of a generic computer/computer network does not take the claim out of
the “Mental Processes” /” Mathematical Relationships” grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, the claims are not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole
merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of accessing, analyzing, updating and
communicating rental room information in a computer environment. The claimed computer components are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform an existing rental room records update process. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea.
Finally, the claims do not recite an inventive concept. As noted previously, the claim as a whole
merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of accessing, analyzing, updating and
communicating information related to shipment records in a computer environment. Thus, even when
viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the
abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AlA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same
under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention
and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the
claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention
was made.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-13, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINDY
(US 20210056509 A1), and further in view of Gupta (US 7908182 B1), and further in view of PACKES (WO 0124085 A2).
As per claim 1, LINDY (US 20210056509 A1) discloses:
(2) acquiring, by the server over a network using a network crawler, rental room rates corresponding to each of the competing online rental room providers, the rental room rates acquired...successively at predetermined time intervals, ([0019] The system is programmed to receive inputs by means of condition report fields and is programmed to determine a value of an rental room score after receiving inputs into the condition report fields; ALSO SEE Claim 1 of Lindy: “a plurality of templates retrievable from the library to generate the records for the multi-unit dwellings, the templates corresponding to property management functions; the templates including notice templates corresponding to respective resident notices to be generated and notice components to be included in the notices; and wherein the notice components and the templates include notice identifiers to associate at least one of the notice components with one or more of the notice templates; wherein the templates include pre-determined user-selectable notice fields corresponding to at least some of the notice components);
(3) calculating, by the server, rental room rate change of each successive acquired rental room rate of each corresponding competing online rental room rate provider at each predefined time interval; [0038] The back-end may receive multiple rental room inspection records identifying a corresponding date, time, and inspector, such records associated with the updating of the property data record with added amenities or associated with the adjusted unit rental price;
generating, by the server, the rental room rate change record, the rental room rate change record
including the acquired rental room rates, the calculated rental room rate changes, a statistical comparison of the acquired rental room rates, a current rental room rate of the first rental room, and a proposed rental room rate, ([0038] The user-selectable reports of amenities generated by the back-end may likewise tabulate in a spreadsheet or other suitable smartboard or dashboard a listing of amenities added or subtracted, and may likewise display reports showing adjusted unit rental price and associated amenities, including digital images thereof and associated rental room values; [0019], Thereafter, the system compares the determined rental room score to a previously determined rental room score and, depending on meeting or exceeding threshold conditions, may positively or negatively adjust the unit rental price for the unit based on the change in the rental room score).
transmitting, by the server via the network, the rental room rate change record to a client device
configured to execute the GUI, wherein the client device automatically launches a first screen within the
GUI in response to receiving the rental room rate change record via a notification, ([0121] The generation of the repair/replacement record may also trigger transmission of an electronic notification to a portable electronic device (step 951) remote from the user interface of the property management personnel, or such may be triggered by user command. Such transmission of an electronic notification (step 951) can be rendered accessible to property maintenance staff and contractors);
the first screen within the GUI comprising:
a user selection mechanism enabling a user of the client device to choose a competing online
rental room provider from the list of competing online rental room providers; wherein the client device
launches a second screen within the GUI in response to the user using the user selection mechanism to
choose the competing online rental room provider, ([0022] Thus, for example, programming of the front-
end module may be capable of performing the display of either existing amenities indicia or missing
amenities indicia or both, such indicia corresponding to associated rental room identifiers and rental room
values stored in the amenities database. The front-end may likewise, in response to user selection of a
field for adding amenities, display a user-selectable list of amenities which are available to add to the
property data record of the dwelling unit under consideration. Upon display of a user-selectable list of
available amenities, the front-end may receive user input corresponding to one or more selections from
such list. The one or more selections result in generating an added amenities listing, as a result of
suitable programing of the front-end; [0177] In one possible implementation, user input is received by
resident assistance subsystem 35 through resident assistance fields in a template displayed on a
graphical user interface, such input relating to limitations, disabilities, veteran's status, and other special
needs of the residents which require coordination, scheduling, or involvement by management
personnel for the MUDs 51. Suitable programming in the form of a resident assistance engine may then
selectively access the records of residents requiring assistance as previously generated in step 257, such
resident assistance engine 259 having functions to permit scheduling of disability accommodations,
transportation, and even accessing care providers 49 to arrange appointments, home visits, and other
services associated with infirmities, limitations, retirement, disabilities, or veteran's status. As just one
example, the resident assistance engine 259 may be suitably configured to transmit an electronic
notification to a portable electronic device remote from the graphical interface of the property
management subsystem 10 and accessible to the aforementioned care providers, and also accessible to
transportation personnel for the disabled, or veteran's benefits coordinators.
the second screen within the GUI comprising:
(A) a graphical representation of each calculated rental room rate change of the competing rental room
provider chosen by the user, the calculated rental room rate change displayed according to each
predetermined time interval, ([0074] Certificates subsystem 27, licenses subsystem 31, and contracts
subsystem 29, operate through respective computer programming, subroutines, and other similar
executable instructions (249) so as to display on a suitable graphical user interface data input fields,
generally for completion by property management personnel 55 or regional managers 57. Input fields
generated by programming at step 241 receive suitable input used to update or create records of
certificates, licenses, and contracts, respectively for storage);
(B) a graphical representation of the acquired rental room rates and the proposed rental room
rate, the acquired rental room rates and the proposed in- house rental room rate displayed according to each
predetermined time interval, (See Fig. 11 of Lindy);
(C) the statistical comparison of the acquired rental room rates and the current rental room
rate, (See Fig. 11 of Lindy); [0079] system 22 determines an amenities score value at step 937, and
compares such rental room score value to previously stored rental room scores for the corresponding unit to
determine the amount of any change. If a change in rental room score exceeds a certain threshold, the
system may automatically, or in response to user prompting, adjust the unit rental price for the
associated unit (step 939). The adjusted rental price may then be communicated to update the rental
units record, which update in turn may be communicated to any appropriate database listing or tracking
the units of the multi-unit dwellings 51 under management of system 10, such as network storage
resources 81 or associated remote databases 79 accessed by other computer systems or other parties
associated with MUDs 51 under management.
(D) the current rental room rate, (See Fig. 11 of Lindy);
(E) the proposed rental room rate, (See Fig. 11 of Lindy);
(F) the user selection mechanism enabling the user of the client device to choose a different
competing rental room provider from the list of competing rental room providers, (See Fig. 26 of Lindy);
(G) an execute button to transact the rental room rate change record; wherein the client device
launches a third screen within the GUI 1n response to the user using the user selection mechanism to
choose the different competing rental room provider, the third screen within the GUI comprising (A) — (C) with regard to the different competing rental room provider and (D) — (G), ([0022] ...such processing steps capable of being performed in response to suitable user input or other computer executed commands.
Thus, for example, programming of the front-end module may be capable of performing the display of
either existing amenities indicia or missing amenities indicia or both, such indicia corresponding to
associated rental room identifiers and rental room values stored in the amenities database. The front-end may likewise, in response to user selection of a field for adding amenities, display a user-selectable list of amenities which are available to add to the property data record of the dwelling unit under
consideration. Upon display of a user-selectable list of available amenities, the front-end may receive
user input corresponding to one or more selections from such list. The one or more selections result in
generating an added amenities listing, as a result of suitable programing of the front-end);
transmitting, by the client device to the server via the network, in response to the user of the
client device pressing the execute button on the GUI, a system command to transact the rental room rate change record within the server, ([0022] ...such processing steps capable of being performed in
response to suitable user input or other computer executed commands. Thus, for example,
programming of the front-end module may be capable of performing the display of either existing
amenities indicia or missing amenities indicia or both, such indicia corresponding to associated rental room identifiers and rental room values stored in the amenities database. The front-end may likewise, in response to user selection of a field for adding amenities, display a user-selectable list of amenities which are available to add to the property data record of the dwelling unit under consideration. Upon display of a user-selectable list of available amenities, the front-end may receive user input corresponding to one or more selections from such list. The one or more selections result in generating an added amenities listing, as a result of suitable programing of the front-end);
wherein the client device launches a fourth screen within the GUI in response to the user
pressing the execute rate change button, the fourth screen within the GUI comprising: a confirmation
that the system command to transact the rental room rate change record has been transmitted to the
server; receiving from the client device, by the server via the network, the system command to transact
the rental room rate change record within the server, (Claim 1 of Lindy: prices for the dwelling units
corresponding to the data inputs; and an amenities database having a plurality of rental room identifiers
and rental room values associated with the rental room identifiers; wherein the front-end module includes programming capable of performing the following steps for a selected one of the units: a. displaying at least one of existing amenities indicia and missing amenities indicia corresponding to the rental room identifiers and the rental room values; b. in response to user selection of an add-amenities field, displaying a user-selectable list of available amenities; c. receiving user input corresponding to one or more selections from the list of available amenities; d. generating an added amenities listing corresponding to the user input; e. associating digital images with the added amenities listing; and wherein the back-end module includes programming capable of performing the following steps for the selected one of the units);
transacting, by the server, the rental room rate change record, wherein the transacting the rental room
rate change record changes the current rental room rate to match the proposed rental room
rate, (Claim 1 of lindy: a. determining an added rental room value corresponding to the added amenities
listing; b. generating an adjusted unit rental price for the selected unit as a function of the added
rental room value; c. updating the property data record to include the adjusted unit rental price);
providing, within the GUI, a generate new record button that when pressed causes the server to generate a new rental room rate change record within the server based on most recently newly acquired rental room rates since the generation of the rental room rate change record and including corresponding calculated newly acquired rental room rate changes, a statistical comparison of the newly acquired rental room rates, a new current rental room rate, and a new proposed rental room rate, (Lindy: ([0170] Returning to the production schedule dashboard 2001 of FIG. 20, suitable programming displays one or more user selectable buttons 2031 for generating activity logs. Generation of such logs involves programming to determine activities performed by one or more users of the system during corresponding to time periods relevant to management of staff and other users of the system, such as activities logged for the current date, activities logged in the last seven days, or all activities during a fiscal year. Programming determines numbers of activities associated with the time periods of respective buttons 2031 and, upon user selection of a respective button 2031, the activities associated with the totals as determined by the programming are displayed in more detail. Such display may comprise activity logs or charts showing the user, the activity associated with such user, the date of user data entry, and other suitable details drawn from user updates and entries into databases associated with property management system 10 herein. One suitable determination of activity records and associated display thereof is shown as a pop up window in FIG. 25 herein; ALSO SEE [0118] Upon generation of the record, further operations involve access to and storage in database 931. For example, once system 22 indicates that the user has completed condition report template 231, system 22 determines an amenities score value at step 937, and compares such amenity score value to previously stored amenity scores for the corresponding unit to determine the amount of any change. If a change in amenity score exceeds a certain threshold, the system may automatically, or in response to user prompting, adjust the unit rental price for the associated unit (step 939). The adjusted rental price may then be communicated to update the rental units record, which update in turn may be communicated to any appropriate database listing or tracking the units of the multi-unit dwellings 51 under management of system 10, such as network storage resources 81 or associated remote databases 79 accessed by other computer systems or other parties associated with MUDs 51 under management.).
Lindy does not specifically disclose “rental room” or “rental room providers”, however, Lindy discloses access to providers. In this case, the providers serve amenities as shown in [0177] “resident assistance engine 259 having functions to permit scheduling of disability accommodations, transportation, and even accessing care providers” (since the care providers are able to be scheduled). Since a “rental room” is an accommodation, it would be obvious to use Lindy’s access of providers to teach the present invention’s access to rental rooms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the
above limitations as taught by Lindy, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the
same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the
results of the combination were predictable.
Lindy does not disclose the following, however, Gupta discloses:
(1) acquiring a list of competing online providers..., (Gupta (US 7908182 B1) (104) At block 630, a request is delivered to the subscriber for additional information that will help the myadvisor service select among competing providers. For example, the myadvisor service may indicate the desired information by providing a list of options to select from on the "Profile fine tune" section of the user's home page. In one embodiment, the myadvisor service may prompt the user with "best practice" criteria. So, for example, in the context of a mortgage, the myadvisor service may indicate to the user that a 0 point loan is the recommended approach when it is asking him to specify his preference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the
above limitations as taught by Gupta in the systems of Lindy, since the claimed invention is merely a
combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the
same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the
results of the combination were predictable.
Lindy does not specifically disclose automatically acquiring; acquired continuously and successively; automatically calculating; wherein steps (2)-(3) are performed in succession automatically and continuously;
However, Gupta discloses “(79) FIG. 4 is a flow diagram illustrating a process of identifying opportunities for subscribers in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. According to this example, the myadvisor service continually compares subscriber profiles with various offers that might be available from providers to look for opportunities to make a connection or enable a transaction.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the
above limitations as taught by GUPTA in the systems of Lindy, since the claimed invention is merely a
combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the
same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the
results of the combination were predictable.
For further clarification, examiner cites PACKES to show both automatically acquiring; acquired continuously and successively; automatically calculating; and providers separate from the first provider.
PACKES (WO 0124085 A2) discloses: “According to another embodiment of the present invention, the seller, customer or authorized third party may use a networked comparative pricing service such as mySimon™ to search the Internet for prices associated with other product providers. Other possibilities include sending the seller a physical or electronic coupon, advertisement or receipt which identifies the product, the lower price, and the competing product provider. Similarly, the seller may receive an encrypted code representing the product price and/or competing product provider...The system may be configured to automatically execute the verification process once a value is received, or the system may periodically check for customer notifications (such as notifications sent via e-mail) before the confirmation process is completed”; “The post-acquisition process 140 begins at 141 when the seller receives an override transaction term value and customer information. The received override transaction term value may consist of a lower price, a lower interest rate, a longer warranty period or greater scope of warranty protection, or a combination of these or other transaction term values that the customer finds more competitive. Such an override transaction term will typically be associated with a competing product provider. The override transaction term may also be associated with the seller that originally provided the product to the customer (e.g., the seller may subsequently lower the product's retail price).
In one embodiment, the override value may originate from a customer who actively locates a more competitive term. In another embodiment, the seller, upon processing the transaction in accordance with the present invention, initiates a search for competing terms from one or more databases, which may store all or some competing product provider's terms. According to another embodiment of the present invention, the seller may also compare its own retail prices with the default terms. For example, if the seller lowers the price of a television, a customer that took possession of the television one week ago may have the seller's lower price used as an override value. In a further embodiment, the override value may originate from a third party which has been requested to locate a more competitive term on behalf of the customer. Such a service is offered, for example, via a Web site provided by SalesCircular Inc.”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the
above limitations as taught by PACKES in the systems of Lindy, since the claimed invention is merely a
combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the
same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the
results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, Lindy discloses:
further comprising: transmitting to the client device, by the server via the network, a
confirmation of the rental room rate change record transaction within the server, wherein the client device launches a fifth screen within the GUI in response to receiving the confirmation of the rental room rate change record transaction, the fifth screen within the GUI comprising: a confirmation of the rental room rate change record transaction, and a generate new record button that when pressed causes the client device to transmit to the server via the network a system command to generate a new rental room rate change record within the server based on newly acquired rental room rates and including corresponding calculated newly acquired rental room rate changes, a statistical comparison of the newly acquired rental room rates, a new current rental room rate, and a new proposed rental room rate. (Claim 1 of Lindy: prices for the dwelling units corresponding to the data inputs; and an amenities database having a plurality of rental room identifiers and rental room values associated with the rental room identifiers; wherein the front-end module includes programming capable of performing the following steps for a selected one of the units: a. displaying at least one of existing amenities indicia and missing amenities indicia corresponding to the rental room identifiers and the rental room values; b. in response to user selection of an add-amenities field, displaying a user-selectable list of available amenities; c. receiving user input corresponding to one or more selections from the list of available amenities; d. generating an added amenities listing corresponding to the user input; e. associating digital images with the added amenities listing; and wherein the back-end module includes programming capable of performing the following steps for the selected one of the units);
As per claim 3, Lindy discloses:
the second screen within the GUI further comprising:
a graphical representation of a comparison of a first predicted revenue based on the current in-
house rental room rate and a second predicted revenue based on a proposed transaction of the rental room rate change record, (See Fig. 11 of Lindy);
and/or a graphical representation of a comparison of a first predicted occupancy rate based on
the current rental room rate and a second predicted occupancy rate based on the proposed
transaction of the rental room rate change record, (See Fig. 11 of Lindy);
As per claim 7, Lindy discloses:
prior to acquiring the rental room rates corresponding to each of the competing online rental room
providers, editing, by the user, the list of competing online rental room providers, ([0101]... Other
inclusions, such as a customized salutation or greeting, or a lighthearted closing reference to the state of
the weather, can also be selected by the manager, such salutation, greeting, or closing either being
selectable from multiple options or able to be inputted by suitable typed or spoken entry, and either
editable or non-editable. Given the importance of striking the right tone with residents to assure smooth
and efficient property management, the programming for those notice components 137 which are
related to the notice salutation includes subroutines for accessing, when appropriate for the selected
tone, resident/occupant first names for completing appropriate notice components. In the case of
multiple addressees, the subsystem 22 is suitably programmed to be capable of listing multiple first
names in adjacent, comma-separated fields.
As per claim 8, Lindy discloses:
wherein the editing the list of competing online rental room providers includes adding an additional
rental room provider to the list and/or removing an rental room provider from the list, ([0022] In one possible
implementation, the front-end module of the move-in/move-out subsystem includes programming
capable of performing any of the following steps, in any suitable order, for a selected one of the units,
such processing steps capable of being performed in response to suitable user input or other computer
executed commands. Thus, for example, programming of the front-end module may be capable of
performing the display of either existing amenities indicia or missing amenities indicia or both, such
indicia corresponding to associated rental room identifiers and rental room values stored in the amenities
database. The front-end may likewise, in response to user selection of a field for adding amenities,
display a user-selectable list of amenities which are available to add to the property data record of the
dwelling unit under consideration. Upon display of a user-selectable list of available amenities, the front-
end may receive user input corresponding to one or more selections from such list. The one or more
selections result in generating an added amenities listing, as a result of suitable programing of the front -
end).
As per claim 9, Lindy discloses:
wherein the list of competing online rental room providers includes competing online rental room
providers, each with a physical location within a chosen geographic area, (See Fig. 11).
As per claim 10, this claim recites features similar to those disclosed in independent claim 1 and
is therefore rejection for similar reasons.
As per claim 11, Lindy discloses:
the first screen further comprising: (F) a user selection mechanism enabling the user of the
client device to choose a different competing online rental room provider from the list of competing online
rental room providers, (See Fig. 26 of Lindy);
wherein the client device launches a second screen within the GUI in response to the user using
the user selection mechanism to choose a different competing online rental room provider, the second
screen within the GUI comprising (A) with regard to the different competing rental room provider and (B) —
(F), ([0022] Thus, for example, programming of the front-end module may be capable of performing the
display of either existing amenities indicia or missing amenities indicia or both, such indicia
corresponding to associated rental room identifiers and rental room values stored in the amenities database.
The front-end may likewise, in response to user selection of a field for adding amenities, display a user-
selectable list of amenities which are available to add to the property data record of the dwelling unit
under consideration. Upon display of a user-selectable list of available amenities, the front-end may
receive user input corresponding to one or more selections from such list. The one or more selections
result in generating an added amenities listing, as a result of suitable programing of the front-end;
[0177] In one possible implementation, user input is received by resident assistance subsystem 35
through resident assistance fields in a template displayed on a graphical user interface, such input
relating to limitations, disabilities, veteran's status, and other special needs of the residents which
require coordination, scheduling, or involvement by management personnel for the MUDs 51. Suitable
programming in the form of a resident assistance engine may then selectively access the records of
residents requiring assistance as previously generated in step 257, such resident assistance engine 259
having functions to permit scheduling of disability accommodations, transportation, and even accessing
care providers 49 to arrange appointments, home visits, and other services associated with infirmities,
limitations, retirement, disabilities, or veteran's status. As just one example, the resident assistance
engine 259 may be suitably configured to transmit an electronic notification to a portable electronic
device remote from the graphical interface of the property management subsystem 10 and accessible to
the aforementioned care providers, and also accessible to transportation personnel for the disabled, or
veteran's benefits coordinators.
As per claim 12, Lindy discloses:
transmitting to the client device, by the server via the network, a confirmation of the rental room
rate change record transaction within the server, wherein the client device launches a third screen
within the GUI in response to receiving the confirmation of the rental room rate change record transaction,
(Claim 1 of Lindy: prices for the dwelling units corresponding to the data inputs; and an amenities
database having a plurality of rental room identifiers and rental room values associated with the rental room
identifiers; wherein the front-end module includes programming capable of performing the following
steps for a selected one of the units: a. displaying at least one of existing amenities indicia and missing
amenities indicia corresponding to the rental room identifiers and the rental room values; b. in response to user
selection of an add-amenities field, displaying a user-selectable list of available amenities; c. receiving
user input corresponding to one or more selections from the list of available amenities; d. generating an
added amenities listing corresponding to the user input; e. associating digital images with the added
amenities listing; and wherein the back-end module includes programming capable of performing the
following steps for the selected one of the units);
the third screen within the GUI comprising:
a confirmation of the rental room rate change record transaction, and a generate new record
button that when pressed causes the client device to transmit to the server via the network a system
command to generate a new rental room rate change record within the server based on newly acquired
rental room rates and including corresponding calculated newly acquired rental room rate changes, a statistical
comparison of the newly acquired rental room rates, a new current rental room rate, and a new
proposed rental room rate, (Claim 1 of Lindy: prices for the dwelling units corresponding to the
data inputs; and an amenities database having a plurality of rental room identifiers and rental room values
associated with the rental room identifiers; wherein the front-end module includes programming capable of
performing the following steps for a selected one of the units: a. displaying at least one of existing
amenities indicia and missing amenities indicia corresponding to the rental room identifiers and the rental room
values; b. in response to user selection of an add-amenities field, displaying a user-selectable list of
available amenities; c. receiving user input corresponding to one or more selections from the list of
available amenities; d. generating an added amenities listing corresponding to the user input; e.
associating digital images with the added amenities listing; and wherein the back-end module includes
programming capable of performing the following steps for the selected one of the units);
As per claim 13, Lindy discloses:
a graphical representation of a comparison of a first predicted revenue based on the current in-
house rental room rate and a second predicted revenue based on a proposed transaction of the rental room
rate change record, and/or a graphical representation of a comparison of a first predicted occupancy
rate based on the current rental room rate and a second predicted occupancy rate based on the
proposed transaction of the rental room rate change record, (See Fig. 11 of Lindy).
As per claim 17, Lindy discloses:
prior to acquiring the rental room rates corresponding to each of the competing online rental room providers,
editing, by the user, the list of competing online rental room providers, {([0101]... Other inclusions, such as a
customized salutation or greeting, or a lighthearted closing reference to the state of the weather, can
also be selected by the manager, such salutation, greeting, or closing either being selectable from
multiple options or able to be inputted by suitable typed or spoken entry, and either editable or non-
editable. Given the importance of striking the right tone with residents to assure smooth and efficient
property management, the programming for those notice components 137 which are related to the
notice salutation includes subroutines for accessing, when appropriate for the selected tone,
resident/occupant first names for completing appropriate notice components. In the case of multiple
addressees, the subsystem 22 is suitably programmed to be capable of listing multiple first names in
adjacent, comma-separated fields).
As per claim 18, Lindy discloses:
wherein the editing the list of competing online rental room providers includes adding an additional
rental room provider to the list and/or removing an rental room provider from the list, ([0022] In one possible
implementation, the front-end module of the move-in/move-out subsystem includes programming
capable of performing any of the following steps, in any suitable order, for a selected one of the units,
such processing steps capable of being performed in response to suitable user input or other computer
executed commands. Thus, for example, programming of the front-end module may be capable of
performing the display of either existing amenities indicia or missing amenities indicia or both, such
indicia corresponding to associated rental room identifiers and rental room values stored in the amenities
database. The front-end may likewise, in response to user selection of a field for adding amenities,
display a user-selectable list of amenities which are available to add to the property data record of the
dwelling unit under consideration. Upon display of a user-selectable list of available amenities, the front-
end may receive user input corresponding to one or more selections from such list. The one or more
selections result in generating an added amenities listing, as a result of suitable programing of the front -
end).
As per claim 19, Lindy discloses:
wherein the list of competing online rental room providers includes competing online rental room
providers, each with a physical location within a chosen geographic area.
(See Fig. 11).
Claim(s) 4-6, 14-16 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINDY
(US 20210056509 A1), and further in view of Gupta (US 7908182 B1), and further in view of PACKES (WO 0124085 A2), and further in view of VOLZ (CA 2831065 Al).
As per claim 4, LINDY does not disclose:
wherein the rental room rate is an overnight stay rate.
However, VOLZ discloses: (Typically, pricing within a parking facility is fairly static. A parking
facility may charge a...night and/or weekend rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to
include the above limitations as taught by VOLZ in the systems of LINDY, since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 5, LINDY does not disclose:
wherein the predefined time interval 1s one hour.
However, VOLZ discloses: A fee may be required to be paid for use of the parking facility
according to some time period (such as per hour).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to
include the above limitations as taught by VOLZ in the systems of LINDY, since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 6, LINDY does not disclose:
wherein the statistical comparison includes calculating an average, a median, a mode, and/or a
standard deviation.
However, VOLZ discloses: (Such parking facilities may contract with other parking facilities and
could charge a redirection fee for their customers to the receiving facility. This allows the oversell factor
to be based on the oversell factor averages of the parking facility and not on one or two days of above
average volume).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to
include the above limitations as taught by VOLZ in the systems of LINDY, since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 14, LINDY does not disclose:
wherein the rental room rate 1s an overnight stay rate.
However, VOLZ discloses: (Typically, pricing within a parking facility is fairly static. A parking
facility may charge a...night and/or weekend rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to
include the above limitations as taught by VOLZ in the systems of LINDY, since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 15, LINDY does not disclose:
wherein the predefined time interval is one hour.
However, VOLZ discloses: (A fee may be required to be paid for use of the parking facility
according to some time period (such as per hour)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to
include the above limitations as taught by VOLZ in the systems of LINDY, since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 16, LINDY does not disclose:
wherein the statistical comparison includes calculating an average, a median, a mode, and/or a standard
deviation.
However, VOLZ discloses: (Such parking facilities may contract with other parking facilities and
could charge a redirection fee for their customers to the receiving facility. This allows the oversell factor
to be based on the oversell factor averages of the parking facility and not on one or two days of above
average volume).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to
include the above limitations as taught by VOLZ in the systems of LINDY, since the claimed
invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would
have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments/remarks filed 12/12/25, with respect to the 101 rejection, Applicant argues that the elements of claim 1, taken as a whole and not in isolation, provide significantly more than mere access, analysis, update and communication of electronic amenity records. However, Examiner disagrees. The additional computer features of this claim merely implement the abstract idea on generic computer components performing routine functions, and therefore do not constitute an inventive concept. As written, the claims remans an abstract price-monitoring and decision-support business method implemented using generic computing technology.
Applicant further argues that the claim provides an ordered combination of steps performed within a GUI that enables the user to quickly identify potential opportunities to improve revenue , and with the rental rate continuously being updated in the background, the method provides a GUI that enables the user to quickly choose a particular competitor’s rental rates to view the statistical benefits of a proposed in-house rental rate increase, and to approve or reject the proposed rental rate adjustment. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees that this leads to the claim reciting “significantly more”. In fact, under Alice Step 2,and unlike the claims in the present invention, an ordered combination can qualify as “significantly more” only if the combination improves computer functionality, improves or solves a technical problem in a technical way.
Applicant has amended claims to disclose that the acquiring of the competitor’s rental room rates used in a web crawler over a network occurs automatically and continuously. However, merely performing tasks automatically or repeatedly does not transform an abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. In addition, a web crawler is a well-known, conventional internet tool, and performing over a network is no more than using a generic environment. Examiner therefore interprets acquiring of the competitor’s rental room rates used in a web crawler as generic computer implementation of data gathering. In addition, automation does not equate to an inventive concept, (See Alice) which proves that the automation of business practices is still abstract, and (Electric Power Group), which shows that collecting data continuously from multiple sources is abstract.
Applicant has also amended claims to disclose that the GUI provides a “a generate new record button that when pressed causes the server to generate a new rental room rate change record...”, and argues that this allows the system to continuously and automatically acquire and update the information in the background and ultimately very quickly make business decisions, and accordingly the elements of amended claim 1 integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application. However Examiner respectfully disagrees. The continuous, automatic updating disclosed in the claims of the present invention merely automates the business workflow, which is abstract.
With regard to the 103 rejection, Applicant argues that Lindy does not disclose the management of separate providers. However, new reference PACKES (WO 0124085 A2), and as show above in the Office Action, discloses: “According to another embodiment of the present invention, the seller, customer or authorized third party may use a networked comparative pricing service such as mySimon™ to search the Internet for prices associated with other product providers”.
Applicant further argues that Gupta’s system identifies competing providers of services desired by the user for the purposes of providing the user with the best option available, and not to statistically analyze changes in the pricing provided by the competing providers and to then adjust pricing of the user’s own services based on the statistical analysis as described in the claimed invention. However, now in combination with Lindy and newly cited reference, PACKES, this feature is shown by PACKES disclosure of the analysis of multiple competing providers.
Applicant argues that at no time does Volz teach or otherwise describe acquiring a list of competing online rental room providers separate from the first provider and subsequently acquiring rental room rates of the competing online rental room providers. However, now in combination with Lindy and newly cited reference, PACKES, this feature is shown by PACKES disclosure of the analysis of multiple competing providers.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Resha Desai can be reached on 571-270-7792. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 305-3900.
January 12, 2026
/AKIBA K ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628