DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low voltage” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What defines “low voltage?” Is 1 volt “low voltage?” Is 1 millivolt “low voltage?” Is 10 volts “low voltage?” Is 1 picovolt “low voltage?” Clarification is required. Claim 2 also uses the same term “low voltage” and is also rejected for the same reason. All subsequent dependent claims are also rejected under 112 (b) because they all depend from independent claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the signal correction circuit” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no mention of a “signal correction circuit” in claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the voltage sensing element” in lines 1 & 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 depends from claim 1, wherein there is no “voltage sensing element” disclosed. Examiner notes that maybe the resistive divider should be disclosed as being a “voltage sensing element.”
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the current sensing element” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 depends from claim 1, wherein there is no “current sensing element” disclosed. Examiner notes that maybe the Rogowski coil should be disclosed as being a “current sensing element.”
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the voltage sensing element” in lines 1 & 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 depends from claim 1, wherein there is no “voltage sensing element” disclosed. Examiner notes that maybe the resistive divider should be disclosed as being a “voltage sensing element.”
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the current sensing element” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 depends from claim 1, wherein there is no “current sensing element” disclosed. Examiner notes that maybe the Rogowski coil should be disclosed as being a “current sensing element.”
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the signal correction circuit” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no mention of a “signal correction circuit” in claim 1.
Claims 7-10 depend from claim 5 and are therefore also subject to these 112 (b) rejections.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the voltage and current measurement signal” in lines 1 & 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 discloses a “current and voltage measuring bushing” but does not address any signals or devices that can create, transmit, or receive signals of any kind. Clarification is required.
Claim 4 requires “the signal correction circuit of the coil is external to the bushing.” Which coil is being referenced here? Is it the Rogowski coil or the current sensing element implied in claim 1? Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Adolfsson et al (U.S. PGPub # 2006/0170432).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Adolfsson teaches:
A current and voltage measuring bushing (Fig. 2B Element 5, the measuring equipment. See paragraphs 0054-0055 & 0066.) comprising a resistive divider (Fig. 2B Elements 41 & 42a) that is slanted to provide insulation strength (High voltage installation of L1. Anything can be considered slanted depending on the frame of reference) at a low voltage terminal (Fig. 2B-3 Element 43. See paragraphs 0045, 0051-0052, 0058, & 064-0069.).
Regarding claim 2, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson teaches a dielectric strength of a bushing material (Fig. 3 Element “Elastic conductive material) is graded to provide insulation strength at a low voltage terminal (Fig. 2B-3 Element Internal terminal 43. See paragraphs 0058 & 0066-0069.).
Regarding claim 3, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson teaches a voltage sensing element that is a resistive voltage divider (Fig. 2B Element 41 sub element R41. See paragraphs 0064-0066 & 0071.), and a current sensing element (Fig. 2B Elements 42A & 42B.) that is an iron core CT (Paragraphs 0032 & 0057 wherein the core of Element T2 is disclosed as being a magnetic iron core.).
Regarding claim 4, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson teaches the voltage sensing element is a resistive voltage divider (Fig. 2B Element 41 sub element R41. See paragraphs 0064-0066 & 0071.) and the current sensing element is a Rogowski coil (Fig. 2B Elements 42B & W.) wherein the signal correction circuit of the coil is external to the bushing (Fig. 2B Element 2 wherein, in the broadest reasonable interpretation, the correction circuit is equivalent to the references control equipment.).
Regarding claim 5, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson teaches the voltage sensing element is a resistive voltage divider (Fig. 2B Element 41 sub element R41. See paragraphs 0064-0066 & 0071.), and the current sensing element is a Rogowski coil (Fig. 2B Elements 42B & W.) wherein the coil's signal correction circuit is internal to the bushing (Fig. 2B Elements 2 & 43 wherein, in the broadest reasonable interpretation, the correction circuit is equivalent to the references control equipment.).
Regarding claim 6, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson teaches the voltage and current measurement signal (Fig. 2B Elements Vu, Vw, & Va.) are brought to a connector (Vu is connected to B41 in Fig. 2b.) accessible on a surface of the bushing (Paragraphs 0045-0046, 0058, * 0065-0066.).
Regarding claim 7, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson teaches the voltage sensing element is a resistive voltage divider (Fig. 2B Element 41 sub element R41. See paragraphs 0064-0066 & 0071.), and the current sensing element (Fig. 2B Elements 42A & 42B.) is an iron core CT (Paragraphs 0032 & 0057 wherein the core of Element T2 is disclosed as being a magnetic iron core.).
Regarding claim 8, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson teaches the voltage sensing element is a resistive voltage divider (Fig. 2B Element 41 sub element R41. See paragraphs 0064-0066 & 0071.), and the current sensing element (Fig. 2B Elements 42A & 42B.) is a Rogowski coil (Fig. 2B Elements 42B & W.) wherein the coil's signal correction circuit is external to the bushing (Fig. 2B Elements 2 & 43 wherein, in the broadest reasonable interpretation, the correction circuit is equivalent to the references control equipment.).
Regarding claim 9, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson teaches the voltage sensing element is a resistive voltage divider (Fig. 2B Element 41 sub element R41. See paragraphs 0064-0066 & 0071.), and the current sensing element (Fig. 2B Elements 42A & 42B.) is a Rogowski coil (Fig. 2B Elements 42B & W.) where the coil's signal correction circuit is internal to the bushing (Fig. 2B Elements 2 & 43 wherein, in the broadest reasonable interpretation, the correction circuit is equivalent to the references control equipment.).
Regarding claim 10, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson teaches the voltage and current measurement signal (Fig. 2B Elements Vu, Vw, & Va.) are brought to a connector (Vu is connected to B41 in Fig. 2b.) accessible on the surface of the bushing (Paragraphs 0045-0046, 0058, * 0065-0066.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adolfsson et al (U.S. PGPub # 2006/0170432) in view of Dais et al (U.S. PGPub # 2023/0178270).
Regarding claim 11, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach a temperature sensor.
Dais teaches a temperature sensor (Fig. 2 Elements 110, the sensor unit, & 212. See paragraphs 0023, 0031, & 0048-0049.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dais to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a temperature sensor because that would allow one to have an additional source of information regarding possible excessive current through the system measured as excessive heat, to determine a thermal state of an electric transformer, and to measure “a moisture content of the transformer fluid.” See paragraphs 0023, 0031, & 0048-0049 of Dais.
Regarding claim 12, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach a pressure sensor.
Dais teaches a pressure sensor (Fig. 2 Elements 110, the sensor unit, & 212. See paragraphs 0031, 0052, & claim 7.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dais to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a pressure sensor because that would allow one to measure “a non-thermal state of the electric transformer.” See paragraph 0052 of Dais.
Regarding claim 13, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach a moisture sensor.
Dais teaches a moisture sensor (Fig. 2 Elements 110, the sensor unit, & 212. See paragraphs 0004, 0031, 0041, 0052, & claim 7.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dais to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a moisture sensor because that would allow one to measure “a non-thermal state of the electric transformer.” See paragraph 0052 of Dais.
Regarding claim 14, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach a thermal radiation sensor.
Dais teaches a thermal radiation sensor (Fig. 2 Elements 110, the sensor unit, & 212. See paragraphs 0031, 0041, 0050, 0052, & 0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dais to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a thermal radiation sensor because that would allow one to gather information that could prevent catastrophic failures due to shorts and other electrical faults in the circuits.
Regarding claim 18, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach a temperature sensor.
Dais teaches a temperature sensor (Fig. 2 Elements 110, the sensor unit, & 212. See paragraphs 0023, 0031, & 0048-0049.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dais to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a temperature sensor because that would allow one to have an additional source of information regarding possible excessive current through the system measured as excessive heat, to determine a thermal state of an electric transformer, and to measure “a moisture content of the transformer fluid.” See paragraphs 0023, 0031, & 0048-0049 of Dais.
Regarding claim 19, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach a pressure sensor.
Dais teaches a pressure sensor (Fig. 2 Elements 110, the sensor unit, & 212. See paragraphs 0031, 0052, & claim 7.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dais to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a pressure sensor because that would allow one to measure “a non-thermal state of the electric transformer.” See paragraph 0052 of Dais.
Regarding claim 20, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach a moisture sensor.
Dais teaches a moisture sensor (Fig. 2 Elements 110, the sensor unit, & 212. See paragraphs 0004, 0031, 0041, 0052, & claim 7.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Dais to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a moisture sensor because that would allow one to measure “a non-thermal state of the electric transformer.” See paragraph 0052 of Dais.
Claims 15 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adolfsson et al (U.S. PGPub # 2006/0170432) in view of Bosco et al (U.S. Pat. # 5,917,316).
Regarding claim 15, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach an arcing sensor.
Bosco teaches an arcing sensor (Fig. 1 Elements 10, 11, and further sensors listed in column 3 lines 10-20.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Bosco to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a arcing sensor because that would allow one to gather information that could prevent catastrophic failures due to shorts and other electrical faults in the circuits.
Regarding claim 17, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach a gas sensor.
Bosco teaches a gas sensor (Fig. 1 Elements 10, 11, and further sensors listed in column 3 lines 10-20 wherein “temperature, pressure and density sensors, partial-discharge sensors and arc monitors” are disclosed. Pressure and density would measure gas properties or show that gas is present.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Bosco to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a gas sensor because that would allow one to gather information that could prevent catastrophic failures due to leaks of flammable or explosive substances.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adolfsson et al (U.S. PGPub # 2006/0170432) in view of Asplund et al (U.S. Pat. # 5,371,651).
Regarding claim 16, Adolfsson teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Adolfsson does not explicitly teach a smoke sensor.
Asplund teaches a smoke sensor (Fig. 2 & 3. See column 3 lines 42-54 wherein a smoke detector is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Asplund to the teachings of Adolfsson such that a current and voltage measuring bushing would have and use a smoke sensor because that would allow one to gather information that would indicate possible internal damage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858