DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, filed on 03/18/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Si et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0299892 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the final rejection dated 12/18/2025 has overcome. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Ye et al., (Pub. No.: US 2024/0155582 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0299892 A1), in view of Ye et al., (Pub. No.: US 2024/0155582 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently Amended) Si discloses a terminal configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: (Si, paragraph [0005] wireless communication system, Fig. 1, paragraph [0030], [0032], wireless network 100, UE 111 which is a terminal, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0048]-[0049] UE 116)
a processor configured to: (Si, Fig. 3, paragraph [0049] processor 340)
receive a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) on a plurality of resource block (RB) sets; (Si, paragraph [0005] discloses transceiver configured to receive a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), further, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] disclose plurality of RB sets (i.e. first set of RBs, and second set of RBs), Fig. 10, paragraph [0202], a UE receives a PSSCH (block 1001), Fig. 9A, paragraph [0093] multiple RB-sets, Abstract, Fig. 7, and Fig. 10 disclose PSSCH) and
transmit a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) comprising hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback information corresponding to the PSSCH, (Si, Abstract, transmitting the PSFCH carrying the HARQ feedback, paragraph [0005] configured to transmit, PSFCH carrying the HARQ feedback, Fig. 6, paragraph [0081] PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 9A, paragraph [0093], paragraph [0107], [0112], [0116], PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 9B, paragraphs [0121]-[0132] PSFCH transmission, Fig. 9C, paragraph [0158] PSFCH transmission, Fig. 9D PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 10, paragraph [0202] UE transmits the PSFCH carrying the HARQ feedback, Abstract, Fig. 7, and Fig. 10 disclose PSSCH)
wherein the PSFCH is transmitted on a resource associated with an RB set corresponding to a lowest index among the plurality of RB sets, (Si, Abstract, Fig. 6, paragraph [0081] PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 9A, paragraph [0093], paragraph [0107], [0112], [0116], PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 9B, paragraphs [0121]-[0132] PSFCH transmission, Fig. 9C, paragraph [0158] PSFCH transmission, Fig. 9D PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 10, paragraph [0202] UE transmits the PSFCH carrying the HARQ feedback, Abstract, Fig. 7, and Fig. 10 disclose PSSCH, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] disclose plurality of RB sets (i.e. first set of RBs, and second set of RBs), Fig. 9A, paragraph [0093] multiple RB-sets)
wherein the resource for transmission of the PSFCH comprises a first interlace including a first plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) and a second interlace including a second plurality of PRBs within the RB set,
wherein the first interlace is commonly configured for terminals,
wherein the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped to at least one PRB among the second plurality of PRBs. (Si, Abstract, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] disclose HARQ feedback which is HARQ-ACK feedback, Fig. 10, paragraph [0202] discloses HARQ feedback, Fig. 7, paragraph [0083] discloses a single PRB, and PRBs)
Si does not explicitly disclose wherein the resource for transmission of the PSFCH comprises a first interlace including a first plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) and a second interlace including a second plurality of PRBs within the RB set,
wherein the first interlace is commonly configured for terminals.
However, Si in view of Ye disclose wherein the resource for transmission of the PSFCH comprises a first interlace including a first plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) and a second interlace including a second plurality of PRBs within the RB set, wherein the first interlace is commonly configured for terminals. (Ye, Abstract discloses multiple RB sets to include physical resource blocks PRBs, Figs 1-2, paragraphs [0028]-[0035], and paragraphs [0036]-[0038] respectively explicitly discloses multiple PRBs, RB sets, and various interlaces including first interlace, paragraph [0026], Fig. 3, paragraph [0048], Fig. 10, paragraphs [0061], [0066], also paragraph [0111], and claim 10 explicitly disclose PSFCH transmission occupying a common interlace)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Ye so that wherein the resource for transmission of the PSFCH comprises a first interlace including a first plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) and a second interlace including a second plurality of PRBs within the RB set, wherein the first interlace is commonly configured for terminals be included in a terminal configured to operate in a wireless communication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Ye would increase efficiency of resource usage. (Ye, Abstract, paragraphs [0026], [0048])
Claims 2-3. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 4, (Currently Amended) The combination of Si, and Ye disclose the terminal of claim 1, (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0030], [0032], wireless network 100, UE 111 which is a terminal, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0048]-[0049] UE 116)
wherein the processor is configured to: (Si, Fig. 3, paragraph [0049] processor 340)
receive information for determining the at least one PRB, (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0083] discloses a single PRB, and PRBs, the PRB determined from a set. The UE determines configuration or a mapping) and
wherein the at least one PRB is determined by the information. (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0083] discloses a single PRB, and PRBs, the PRB determined from a set. The UE determines configuration or a mapping)
Regarding Claim 5, (Original) The combination of Si, and Ye disclose the terminal of claim 4 (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0030], [0032], wireless network 100, UE 111 which is a terminal, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0048]-[0049] UE 116), wherein the information is a number of the at least one PRB (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0083] discloses a single PRB, and PRBs, the PRB determined from a set. The UE determines configuration or a mapping) .
Regarding Claim 6, (Previously Presented) The combination of Si, and Ye disclose the terminal of claim 1 (Si, Fig. 1, paragraph [0030], [0032], wireless network 100, UE 111 which is a terminal, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0048]-[0049] UE 116), wherein a resource to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped is determined based on an identity of the terminal (Si, Abstract, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] disclose HARQ feedback which is HARQ-ACK feedback, Fig. 10, paragraph [0202] discloses HARQ feedback, Fig. 7, paragraph [0083] discloses a single PRB, and PRBs, Abstract, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] Si discloses utilizing a cyclic shift as part of the PSFCH transmission, paragraph [0123] and the cyclic shift be based on the source ID (i.e. the identity of the terminal) as in paragraph [0127]).
Regarding Claim 7, (Currently Amended) Si discloses a method performed by a terminal configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: (Si, paragraph [0005] wireless communication system, Fig. 1, paragraph [0030], [0032], wireless network 100, UE 111 which is a terminal, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0048]-[0049] UE 116)
a processor configured to: (Si, Fig. 3, paragraph [0049] processor 340)
receiving a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) on a plurality of resource block (RB) sets; (Si, paragraph [0005] discloses transceiver configured to receive a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), further, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] disclose plurality of RB sets (i.e. first set of RBs, and second set of RBs), Fig. 10, paragraph [0202], a UE receives a PSSCH (block 1001), Fig. 9A, paragraph [0093] multiple RB-sets, Abstract, Fig. 7, and Fig. 10 disclose PSSCH) and
transmitting a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) comprising hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback information corresponding to the PSSCH, (Si, Abstract, transmitting the PSFCH carrying the HARQ feedback, paragraph [0005] configured to transmit, PSFCH carrying the HARQ feedback, Fig. 6, paragraph [0081] PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 9A, paragraph [0093], paragraph [0107] [0112], [0116], PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 9B, paragraphs [0121]-[0132] PSFCH transmission, Fig. 9C, paragraph [0158] PSFCH transmission, Fig. 9D PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 10, paragraph [0202] UE transmits the PSFCH carrying the HARQ feedback, Abstract, Fig. 7, and Fig. 10 disclose PSSCH)
wherein the PSFCH is transmitted on a resource associated with an RB set corresponding to a lowest index among the plurality of RB sets, (Si, Abstract, Fig. 6, paragraph [0081] PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 9A, paragraph [0093], paragraph [0107], [0112], [0116], PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 9B, paragraphs [0121]-[0132] PSFCH transmission, Fig. 9C, paragraph [0158] PSFCH transmission, Fig. 9D PSFCH is transmitted, Fig. 10, paragraph [0202] UE transmits the PSFCH carrying the HARQ feedback, Abstract, Fig. 7, and Fig. 10 disclose PSSCH, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] disclose plurality of RB sets (i.e. first set of RBs, and second set of RBs), Fig. 9A, paragraph [0093] multiple RB-sets)
wherein the resource for transmission of the PSFCH comprises a first interlace including a first plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) and a second interlace including a second plurality of PRBs within the RB set,
wherein the first interlace is commonly configured for terminals,
wherein the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped to at least one PRB among the second plurality of PRBs. (Si, Abstract, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] disclose HARQ feedback which is HARQ-ACK feedback, Fig. 10, paragraph [0202] discloses HARQ feedback, Fig. 7, paragraph [0083] discloses a single PRB, and PRBs)
Si does not explicitly disclose wherein the resource for transmission of the PSFCH comprises a first interlace including a first plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) and a second interlace including a second plurality of PRBs within the RB set,
wherein the first interlace is commonly configured for terminals.
However, Si in view of Ye disclose wherein the resource for transmission of the PSFCH comprises a first interlace including a first plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) and a second interlace including a second plurality of PRBs within the RB set, wherein the first interlace is commonly configured for terminals. (Ye, Abstract discloses multiple RB sets to include physical resource blocks PRBs, Figs 1-2, paragraphs [0028]-[0035], and paragraphs [0036]-[0038] respectively explicitly discloses multiple PRBs, RB sets, and various interlaces including first interlace, paragraph [0026], Fig. 3, paragraph [0048], Fig. 10, paragraphs [0061], [0066], also paragraph [0111], and claim 10 explicitly disclose PSFCH transmission occupying a common interlace)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Si before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Ye so that wherein the resource for transmission of the PSFCH comprises a first interlace including a first plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs) and a second interlace including a second plurality of PRBs within the RB set, wherein the first interlace is commonly configured for terminals be included in a method performed by a terminal configured to operate in a wireless communication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Ye would increase efficiency of resource usage. (Ye, Abstract, paragraphs [0026], [0048])
Claims 8-9. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 10, (Previously Presented) The combination of Si, and Ye disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving information for determining the at least one PRB, (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0083] discloses a single PRB, and PRBs, the PRB determined from a set. The UE determines configuration or a mapping) and
wherein the at least one PRB is determined by the information. Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0083] discloses a single PRB, and PRBs, the PRB determined from a set. The UE determines configuration or a mapping)
Regarding Claim 11, (Original) The combination of Si, and Ye disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the information is a number of the at least one PRB. (Si, Fig. 7, paragraph [0083] discloses a single PRB, and PRBs, the PRB determined from a set. The UE determines configuration or a mapping)
Regarding Claim 12, (Previously Presented) The combination of Si, and Ye disclose the method of claim 7, wherein the resource to which the HARQ-ACK feedback information is mapped is determined based on an identity of the terminal. (Si, Abstract, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] disclose HARQ feedback which is HARQ-ACK feedback, Fig. 10, paragraph [0202] discloses HARQ feedback, Abstract, paragraphs [0005]-[0006] Si discloses utilizing a cyclic shift as part of the PSFCH transmission, paragraph [0123] and the cyclic shift be based on the source ID (i.e. the identity of the terminal) as in paragraph [0127])
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) Liu et al., (Pub. No.: US 2025/0039909 A1) The reference discloses pertinent information related to application disclosure. Fig. 4, paragraphs [0088]-[0089] disclose common interlace, PSFCH transmission, and PRBs.
(b) Fouad et al., (Pub. No.: US 2024/0114535 A1) discloses pertinent information related to application disclosure. Abstract discloses PSSCH transmission, ACK/NACK feedback, PSFCH/PSFCH occasion. Fig. 12B explicitly illustrate PRBs, PSFCH, common interlace or common interlace of the PSFCH.
(c) Hwang et al., (Pub. No.: US 2024/0260056 A1), Fig. 7 discloses PRBs, Fig. 8 disclose PSSCH, PSCCH, and PSFCH, Fig. 9 discloses RB interlace, Fig. 10 PSFCH, Figs. 11 and 12 disclose RB set, interlace index, PRB subset index, PRB subsets, paragraphs [0226]-[0227] disclose PSFCH transmission, common interlace, PRBs, interlaces, etc.
(d) Liu et al., WO 2023/147204 A1, The reference discloses RB sets, Fig. 4, paragraph [0073] disclose multiple RBs, and one or more interlaces, paragraph [0074] disclose RB sets, RB set index, interlace index, Fig. 5, paragraph [0078]-[0079] disclose interlaced waveforms, one or more interlaces, common reference point, paragraph [0080] discloses interlace indication, interlaces, etc.
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472