CTNF 19/201,857 CTNF 101987 9DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. [1] Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (“Jung”) [US 10900793 B2] in view of Tseng et al. (“Tseng”) [US 6351694 B1]. Regarding claims 1 and 2, Jung meets the claim limitations as follows: 1. A display system configured to display (i.e. vehicle guiding apparatus) , on an in-vehicle display (i.e. display 110) , a lane marking of a lane in which a vehicle travels (i.e. lane markings for lanes L1 and L2 displayed on display 110) , the display system comprising [Fig. 3; Fig. 1A] : a recognition (i.e. uses detection sensors to acquire lane information) and generation section (i.e. vehicle guiding apparatus generates lane model and vehicle path information of 2D map) configured to recognize the lane marking (i.e. lane determined by lane marking) , based on an image captured by an in-vehicle camera (i.e. multi-view image acquired from a stereo camera) of the vehicle, and to generate an image for display including a road shape image disposed along the lane marking (i.e. display 110 has a forward image from the driver point of view with an arrow as the graphical element, transposed along the vehicle lane) [Col. 2, lines 16-22; Fig. 3, processes 331 and 311; Col. 9, lines 32-33; Col. 12, lines 48-49; Col. 6, lines 24-47] : and a display control section (i.e. vehicle guiding apparatus configured to perform processes in Fig. 3) configured to cause a display unit of the vehicle to display the image for display (i.e. display 110 displays the image with vehicle guide information) [Fig. 3; Fig. 1A] , wherein the display control section (i.e. vehicle guiding apparatus configured to perform processes in Fig. 3) is configured to estimate a cant angle of the lane, based on a result of detection by an internal sensor that detects a traveling state of the vehicle, and to correct , by using the cant angle, (i.e. Fig. 5C demonstrates correcting the path on the image corresponding to the driving point of view) a position of the road shape image in the image for display [Fig. 3; Col. 16, lines 40-47] . 2. The display system according to claim 1, wherein the display control section (i.e. vehicle guiding apparatus configured to perform processes in Fig. 3) is configured [Fig. 3] Jung does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations: 1. estimate a cant angle of the lane, based on a result of detection by an internal sensor that detects a traveling state of the vehicle, and 2. to use a vehicle speed of the vehicle, a lateral acceleration of the vehicle, and a yaw rate of the vehicle for the traveling state of the vehicle, and to estimate the cant angle of the lane at a position of the vehicle, based on an equation of motion that represents a balance between lateral force involved in a turn of the vehicle, lateral force acting on the vehicle due to a cant of the lane, and lateral force corresponding to the lateral acceleration of the vehicle. However, in the same field of endeavor Tseng discloses the following claim limitations: 1. estimate a cant angle of the lane (i.e. vehicle bank estimate based on measured lateral acceleration and yaw rate data) , based on a result of detection by an internal sensor that detects a traveling state of the vehicle (i.e. steering wheel angle sensor 16, yaw sensor 18, wheel speed sensors 20, and lateral acceleration sensor 22 measure quantities that would be used to determine a vehicle’s traveling state) , and [Col. 5, lines 33-35; Fig. 2] 2. to use a vehicle speed of the vehicle (i.e. u represents the longitudinal speed of the vehicle) , a lateral acceleration of the vehicle (i.e. lateral acceleration a y ) , and a yaw rate of the vehicle (i.e. yaw rate ω) for the traveling state of the vehicle (i.e. sensors 16, 18, 20, 22 measure quantities that would be used to determine a vehicle’s traveling state) [Col. 4, line 8; Col. 4, line 6; Col. 4, line 10; Fig. 2] , and to estimate the cant angle of the lane at a position of the vehicle (i.e. vehicle bank estimate based on measured lateral acceleration and yaw rate data) [Col. 5, lines 33-35] , based on an equation of motion (i.e. equation for the third bank angle estimate) that represents a balance between lateral force involved in a turn of the vehicle (i.e. uω corresponds to turning lateral force) , lateral force acting on the vehicle due to a cant of the lane (i.e. gsin(γ v ) in Equation 1 corresponds to lateral force caused by the cant, and is used to derive the equation to estimate the bank angle) , and lateral force corresponding to the lateral acceleration of the vehicle (i.e. a y corresponds to the lateral force due to the lateral acceleration) [Col. 5, line 23-26; Col. 5, line 30; Col. 4, lines 4-5; Col. 5, line 30] . It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Jung with Tseng so that the path on the image is corrected by the estimated bank angle, the motivation being to account for error that can be introduced if a vehicle is operating at a bank angle [Tseng: Col. 1, lines 21-25] . [2] Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Tseng and in further view of Denaro [US 9909881 B2] and Akamine et al. (“Akamine”) [JP 6408935 B2]. Regarding claim 3, Jung in view of Tseng meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 2. Jung discloses the following claim limitations: 3. The display system according to claim 2, wherein the display control section (i.e. vehicle guiding apparatus configured to perform processes in Fig. 3) is configured to [Fig. 3] Jung and Tseng do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations: 3. when the cant angle estimated at the position of the vehicle is less than a predetermined cant angle threshold value and when a rate of increase in curvature of the lane marking in a predetermined section ahead of the vehicle is a predetermined increase rate threshold value or more, estimate the cant angle in such a manner that the cant angle gradually increases as the lane goes farther ahead from the position of the vehicle; and when the cant angle estimated at the position of the vehicle is the cant angle threshold value or more and when a rate of decrease in curvature of the lane marking in the predetermined section is a predetermined decrease rate threshold value or more, estimate the cant angle in such a manner that the cant angle gradually decreases as the lane goes farther ahead from the position of the vehicle. However, in the same field of endeavor Denaro discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows: 3. when the cant angle estimated (i.e. Step 142: get superelevation) at the position of the vehicle is less than a predetermined cant angle threshold value (i.e. superelevation < threshold? Y) [Fig. 2: Step 142; Step 144] and when a rate of increase in curvature of the lane marking in a predetermined section ahead of the vehicle is a predetermined increase rate threshold value or more , estimate the cant angle in such a manner that the cant angle gradually increases as the lane goes farther ahead from the position of the vehicle (i.e. superelevation values are associated with shape points along a curved road, so the superelevation value will gradually change as it moves towards the curve) [Col. 3, lines 59-65] ; and when the cant angle estimated (i.e. Step 142: get superelevation) at the position of the vehicle is the cant angle threshold value or more (i.e. superelevation > threshold? N) [Fig. 2: Step 142; Step 144] and when a rate of decrease in curvature of the lane marking in the predetermined section is a predetermined decrease rate threshold value or more , estimate the cant angle in such a manner that the cant angle gradually decreases as the lane goes farther ahead from the position of the vehicle (i.e. superelevation values are associated with shape points along a curved road, so the superelevation value will gradually change as it moves away from the curve) [Col. 3, lines 59-65] . It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Jung and Tseng with Denaro so that digital map data can be used to account for changes in superelevation at curved transitions in roads, the motivation being to provide a predictive capability beyond the driver’s vision to determine the road ahead of the vehicle, around corners, over hills, or beyond obstructions [Denaro: Col. 1, lines 51-56] . Jung, Tseng, and Denaro do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations: 3. and when a rate of increase in curvature of the lane marking in a predetermined section ahead of the vehicle is a predetermined increase rate threshold value or more , and when a rate of decrease in curvature of the lane marking in the predetermined section is a predetermined decrease rate threshold value or more However, in the same field of endeavor Akamine discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows: 3. and when a rate of increase in curvature (i.e. curvature increase rate) of the lane marking in a predetermined section ahead of the vehicle (i.e. curvature calculating unit 22 calculates the curvature of the lane ahead of the vehicle 20) is a predetermined increase rate threshold value or more (i.e. where the curvature increase rate becomes larger than the change amount threshold) [paras. 0027; 0025; 0027], and when a rate of decrease in curvature (i.e. curvature reduction rate) of the lane marking in the predetermined section (i.e. curvature calculating unit 22 calculates the curvature of the lane ahead of the vehicle 20) is a predetermined decrease rate threshold value or more (i.e. where the curvature reduction rate becomes larger than the change amount threshold value) [paras. 0027; 0025; 0027] It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Jung, Tseng, and Denaro with Akamine so that the path on the image is corrected by the estimated bank angle, the motivation being to suppress the erroneous recognition of a lane marking line at a connecting portion between a straight-line portion of a lane and a curved portion [Akamine: para. 0005] . Conclusion [3] Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Mr. Jose Bartolo Rodriguez whose telephone number is (571) 270-0829 . The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., Friday 7:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mr. Sath V. Perungavoor can be reached at (571) 272-7455 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2488 May 27, 2026 /SATH V PERUNGAVOOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/201,857 Page 2 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/201,857 Page 3 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/201,857 Page 4 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/201,857 Page 5 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/201,857 Page 6 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/201,857 Page 7 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/201,857 Page 8 Art Unit: 2488