Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a storage container” of claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that many claims have and/or clauses and a reference that has only one permutation will be read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of that claim. Any claims that depend from one of these and/or claims must also further define over all permutations or be specific they are limiting to only one permutation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abe (US 5634713).
Regarding claim-1. Abe discloses a conveying device (Abstract; Fig.1-4) for bulk material (19), the conveying device comprising:
at least one pick-up unit (5, Fig.2) to pick up bulk material to be dispensed;
at least one discharge area (6, Fig.2) arranged downstream of the pick-up unit (5) in a main conveying direction and/or into which bulk material (19) is adapted to be relocated from the pick-up unit (5) via a bulk material outlet opening of the pick-up unit (Fig.2);
a discharge element (6C, 6E, 6D, Fig.5) provided within the discharge area (6) to discharge the bulk material (19) from the discharge area in a direction of a discharge opening (7A, Fig.5) of the conveying device; and
at least one nozzle (5F and 6D, Fig.2, 5) for blowing fluid (air) into an area around the discharge element.
Regarding claim-2. Abe discloses wherein the nozzle (9 with 6D, Fig.3) is provided for blowing fluid (air) into a coupling area (6G), in which coupling area, the discharge element (6C, 6E, 6D) is connected to a drive element or a drive shaft (6F), or is provided for blowing fluid into a dead space below the discharge element, or is provided for blowing fluid into a radially existing area between a shaft of the discharge element and an inner surface of a housing forming the discharge area.
Regarding claim-3. Abe discloses wherein the nozzle (6D) is arranged on or in a bearing element for bearing the discharge element or in the coupling area (Fig.2-5).
Regarding claim-4. Abe discloses wherein the nozzle (6D) is arranged on or in a shaft or a hollow shaft of the discharge element (Fig.2-5).
Regarding claim-5. Abe discloses wherein the fluid (air) is ejected by the nozzle (6D) along a direction substantially perpendicular to a direction of gravity or substantially parallel to the main extension direction of the discharge element (Fig.2-5).
Regarding claim-6. Abe discloses wherein the fluid (air) is adapted to be ejected with the nozzle (6D) along a direction substantially perpendicular to the main extension direction of the discharge element and/or deflected in a direction substantially parallel to the main extension direction (Fig.2-5).
Regarding claim-7. Abe discloses wherein the fluid (air) is adapted to be ejected with the nozzle (6D) along a direction radial to the main extension direction of the discharge element (Fig.5).
Regarding claim-8. Abe discloses further comprising at least one additional nozzle (5C, 5D, 5F) for at least temporarily ejecting a fluid jet (air) into the pick-up unit (5), wherein the additional nozzle is aligned such that an inner surface of the pick-up unit flows against the fluid jet, at least in some areas, to form a fluid flow in a manner of a cyclone as a cleaning fluid flow (Fig.2-3).
Regarding claim-9. Abe discloses wherein the pick-up unit (5) has a lid or a removable lid (4A, Fig.2), and wherein a bulk material feed opening is provided in the lid and/or wherein the pick-up unit is designed in a rotationally symmetrical manner at least in some areas (Fig.2-4).
Regarding claim-10. Abe discloses wherein the pick-up unit (5) has, at least in sections, a diameter tapering along a direction of gravity or an inner diameter (Tapered section, Fig.2-4).
Regarding claim-11. Abe discloses wherein the additional nozzle (5C, 5D, 5F) is aligned relative to the pick-up unit (5) or to the inner surface of the pick-up unit such that the fluid jet that is adapted to be ejected from the additional nozzle is deflected via an impact area of the inner surface of the pick-up unit (Fig.2-3).
Regarding claim-12. Abe discloses wherein the additional nozzle (5C, 5D) is arranged on the lid of the pick-up unit such that, when the lid is closed (4A), the additional nozzle protrudes at least partially into the pick-up unit (Fig.2-4).
Regarding claim-15. Abe discloses wherein the discharge opening terminates into a discharge element, wherein bulk material is adapted to be discharged from the conveying device via the discharge element in a direction substantially parallel or inclined to a direction of gravity and/or wherein the discharge element has a suction opening for extracting a fine fraction and/or wherein the suction opening and/or the discharge opening is adapted to be brought into active connection with a suction device for extracting dust (Fig.2-5).
Regarding claim-17. Abe discloses a method for cleaning a conveying device according to claim 1, the method comprising: removing at least parts of bulk material residue settled on and/or adhering to an inner surface of the pick-up unit or the discharge area (4) (A small amount of water is jetted from the injecting nozzle (7C) into the pressure chamber to remove material adhered to the pressure chamber (5) and the transporting conduit (8) to thereby smoothen the pneumatic transportation of the material and prevent dust from scattering from an outlet of the conduit, Col.3 line47-52; and Col.7 line66-67 to Col.8 line1-4); and conveying in a direction of the discharge opening (7A) the removed parts of the bulk material by forming a fluid flow as a cleaning fluid flow within the discharge area, the pick- up unit, and/or a coupling area of the discharge element, at least in some areas (Col.3 line47-52; and Col.7 line66-67 to Col.8 line1-4, Fig.2-5).
Regarding claim-18. Abe discloses wherein bulk material residues from dead spaces are removed by the fluid flow in the discharge area (Col.3 line47-52; and Col.7 line66-67 to Col.8 line1-4, Fig.2-5).
Claim(s) 1-7, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (JP S59182115).
Regarding claim-1. JP discloses a conveying device (Fig.1) for bulk material (unhauled rice), the conveying device comprising:
at least one pick-up unit (2, Fig.1)) to pick up bulk material to be dispensed;
at least one discharge area (1, Fig.1) arranged downstream of the pick-up unit in a main conveying direction and/or into which bulk material is adapted to be relocated from the pick-up unit via a bulk material outlet opening of the pick-up unit (Fig.1-2);
a discharge element (4, Fig.1) provided within the discharge area to discharge the bulk material from the discharge area in a direction of a discharge opening (3) of the conveying device (Fig.1); and
at least one nozzle (7) for blowing fluid into an area around the discharge element (Fig.1).
Regarding claim-2. JP discloses wherein the nozzle (7) is provided for blowing fluid into a coupling area, in which coupling area, the discharge element is connected to a drive element or a drive shaft, or is provided for blowing fluid into a dead space below the discharge element (Fig.1), or is provided for blowing fluid into a radially existing area between a shaft of the discharge element and an inner surface of a housing forming the discharge area.
Regarding claim-3. JP discloses wherein the nozzle (7) is arranged on or in a bearing element for bearing the discharge element or in the coupling area (Fig.1, 3-5).
Regarding claim-4. JP discloses wherein the nozzle (7) is arranged on or in a shaft or a hollow shaft of the discharge element (Fig.1, 3-5).
Regarding claim-5. JP discloses wherein the fluid (air) is ejected by the nozzle (7) along a direction substantially perpendicular to a direction of gravity or substantially parallel to the main extension direction of the discharge element (Fig.1, 3-5).
Regarding claim-6. JP discloses wherein the fluid (air) is adapted to be ejected with the nozzle (7) along a direction substantially perpendicular to the main extension direction of the discharge element and/or deflected in a direction substantially parallel to the main extension direction (Fig.1, 3-5).
Regarding claim-7. JP discloses wherein the fluid (air) is adapted to be ejected with the nozzle (7) along a direction radial to the main extension direction of the discharge element (Fig.1, 3-5).
Regarding claim-10. JP discloses wherein the pick-up unit (1) has, at least in sections, a diameter tapering along a direction of gravity or an inner diameter (Tapered Section of 1).
Regarding claim-17. JP discloses a method for cleaning a conveying device according to claim 1, the method comprising: removing at least parts of bulk material residue settled on and/or adhering to an inner surface of the pick-up unit or the discharge area (4) (removing sticked unhauled rice from discharge area 4 by ejecting air through nozzle 7); and conveying in a direction of the discharge opening (3) the removed parts of the bulk material by forming a fluid flow as a cleaning fluid flow within the discharge area, the pick- up unit, and/or a coupling area of the discharge element, at least in some areas (Fig.1, 3 and 5).
Regarding claim-18. JP discloses wherein bulk material residues from dead spaces are removed by the fluid flow in the discharge area (removing sticked unhauled rice from discharge area 4 by ejecting air through nozzle 7, Fig.1, 3 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Abe (US 5634713) and (JP S59182115).
Regarding claim-13-15. The additional features are mere design and constructional detail which providing cleaning agent comes with a scope of routine knowledge for cleaning of conveying system.
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (US 5634713) in view of Martin (US 20200047374).
Regarding claim-16. Abe discloses a system comprising: the conveying device according to claim 1 (See claim-1 Rejection); and But Abe doses not teaches at least one extruder arranged in a main conveying direction downstream of the conveying device, wherein the pick-up unit, the discharge opening, and/or the discharge element, and/or bulk material from the conveying device, are adapted to be fed in doses to the extruder via the discharge element. However, an extruder is an obvious use for a conveying device.
Martin discloses a conveying device and teaches an extruder (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to additionally provide Abe system with extruder for purpose of processing material residues or material mixture.
Regarding claim-20. Abe as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein control of the bulk material feed opening, the discharge element of the conveying device, the nozzles, the additional nozzle, the cleaning agent feed device, the extruder and/or the suction device is provided in a defined chronological sequence. However, it is mere of design and constructional detail which comes with a scope of routine that the various method steps of claim 17 must be coordinated sequentially with one another in terms of time.
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP S59182115) in view of Martin (US 20200047374).
Regarding claim-16. JP discloses a system comprising: the conveying device according to claim 1 (See claim-1 Rejection); and But JP doses not teaches at least one extruder arranged in a main conveying direction downstream of the conveying device, wherein the pick-up unit, the discharge opening, and/or the discharge element, and/or bulk material from the conveying device, are adapted to be fed in doses to the extruder via the discharge element. However, an extruder is an obvious use for a conveying device.
Martin discloses a conveying device and teaches an extruder (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to additionally provide JP system with extruder for purpose of processing material residues or material mixture.
Regarding claim-20. JP as modified doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein control of the bulk material feed opening, the discharge element of the conveying device, the nozzles, the additional nozzle, the cleaning agent feed device, the extruder and/or the suction device is provided in a defined chronological sequence. However, it is mere of design and constructional detail which comes with a scope of routine that the various method steps of claim 17 must be coordinated sequentially with one another in terms of time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Note: Examiner strongly suggests applicant to thoroughly review Notice of References Cited PTO-892 as there are other prior arts or in combination can be used to reject claims.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651