Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “125” has been used to designate both cross members (shown in figure 2) and vertical members (as shown in figures 3-6). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Paragraph [0043] of the specification and claim 2, the recitation “an angled support member (505) coupled with the vertical member (115) and the horizontal support member (520) at a first attachment point (506)” is not commensurate with the device shown in the drawings (see figure 8A for example). As shown in figure 8A for example and reproduced below with markings, an angled support member (505, figure 8) coupled with the vertical member (115) is NOT at the first attachment point (506) but attachment point (A, as illustrated below) opposite first attachment point (506).
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ziaylek et al (US 9388029 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Ziaylek disclose a truck rack lifter assembly for comprising: an assembly frame (14 and 12, figure 1); one or more wheels (unlabelled wheels below 12) coupled with the assembly frame; and a plurality of lifter mechanisms (16, figure 1) coupled with the frame that are arranged to couple with a truck rack (42, figure 2) and lift the truck rack vertically.
With respect to claim 2 as best understood, Ziaylek discloses a lever assembly comprising: a vertical member (14); a slider body (side panel S, see examiner’s markup above); a horizontal support member (H); a lifter arm (L) having tapered end (E, the end of the bracket L is rounded or tapered), the lifter arm (L) coupled with the slider body (S); an angled support member (A) coupled with the vertical member (14) and the horizontal support member (H) at a first attachment point (P); a first lever arm (F1) rotatably coupled with the angled support member (34) and the horizontal support member (H) at the first attachment point (P), the first lever arm (F1) is coupled with the tapered end (E) of the lifter arm (L); and a second lever arm (F2) coupled with a first lever arm (F1) at a second attachment point (P2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brosman (US 5280801 A) in view of Florez (US 11639612 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Brosman discloses a truck rack lifter assembly for comprising: an assembly frame (17, 19, 22, figure 7); and a plurality of lifter mechanisms (18) coupled with the frame that are arranged to couple with a truck rack (12-15, figure 7) and lift the truck rack vertically.
However, Brosman does not disclose one or more wheels coupled with the assembly frame.
Florez discloses a truck rack lifter assembly for comprising: an assembly frame (10) wherein one or more wheels (wheels on 52) coupled with the assembly frame to “facilitate movement of rack system 10 when detached from vehicle 62” (Column 4, lines 60-62). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the truck rack lifter assembly of Brosman such that one or more wheels are provided to facilitate movement of the rack system when detached from vehicle as taught to be desirable by Florez.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record further demonstrate lift assembly of interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc