DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12325453 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21-44 are being anticipated by claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12325453 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangal et al. (US 2019/0351916 A1) in view of Stubing et al. (US 2019/0299996 A1).
As to claims 21/32/43, Mangal discloses a vehicle handover system/vehicle/computer readable medium comprising: a processor (Fig. 1, controller circuit 40) configured to: monitor an environment of a vehicle (Fig. 1, perception sensor 28, para. 0014); detect a key event (para. 0025, 0030-0031) relevant to a transition request (para. 0013, system 10 requests) to change control of the vehicle from an automated driving mode to a user of the vehicle, wherein the key event is based on the monitored environment; provide information associated with the key event to the user (para. 0034-0035). Mangal does not explicitly disclose monitor attributes of the user; and determine whether to change the control of the vehicle from the automated driving mode to the user based on the monitored attributes. However, Stubing teaches monitor attributes of the user; and determine whether to change the control of the vehicle from the automated driving mode to the user based on the monitored attributes (para. 0055). Therefore, given the teaching of Stubing, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mangal by incorporating the features of whether to change the control mode based on the monitored attributes of the user, to ensure the user can handle manual driving.
As to claims 22/33/44, Mangal further discloses wherein the key event comprises at least one of a movement event that has caused a change in a trajectory of the vehicle, an unexpected behavior event of an observed vehicle in the monitored environment of the vehicle, and/or an outside operational domain event (para. 0022, 0031).
As to claims 23/34, Mangal further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to monitor the environment using sensor data from at least one of a camera, a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor, vehicle position sensor, vehicle speed sensor, accelerometer, or a gyroscope (para. 0014-0015).
As to claims 24/35, Stubing further teaches wherein monitoring attributes of the user is performed using a camera (para. 0010, 0036).
As to claims 25/36, Stubing further teaches wherein the determination of whether to change the control of the vehicle is based on a comparison of an expected action of the user to an observed action of the user (para. 0055).
As to claims 26/37, Stubing further teaches wherein the observed action comprises a non-driving activity of the user (para. 0047-0055).
As to claims 27/38, Stubing further teaches wherein the determination of whether to change the control of the vehicle is based on whether a response time of the user is slower than a set response time (para. 0047-0055).
As to claims 31/42, Mangal further discloses wherein the processor is configured to display the information before the control of the vehicle is changed from the automatic driving mode to the user (para. 0035).
Claims 28 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangal and Stubing, as applied to claims 21 and 32 above, further in view of Mao (US 2020/0317218 A1).
As to claims 28 and 39, Mangal and Stubing do not explicitly teach wherein if the response time is slower than the set response time, the processor is further configured to bring the vehicle to a stop. However, Mao teaches wherein if the response time is slower than the set response time, the processor is further configured to bring the vehicle to a stop (para. 0138). Therefore, given the teaching of Mao, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mangal by incorporating the features of stop the vehicle when the user response time is slower, to ensure the safety of the driving.
Claims 29-30 and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangal and Stubing, as applied to claims 21 and 32 above, further in view of Lenke et al. (US 2020/0216086 A1).
As to claims 29-30 and 40-41, Mangal and Stubing do not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to warn the user with a visual warning, an audible warning, or a haptic warning, if the user is distracted. However, Lenke teaches when the user is distracted, the processor is further configured to warn the user with a visual warning, an audible warning, or a haptic warning (para. 0061). Therefore, given the teaching of Lenke, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mangal by incorporating the features of warn the user when the user is distracted, to ensure the user paying attention to driving safely.
Conclusion
CE LI . LI
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661