DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0246375 A1 (Zhang) in view of US 2012/0327136 A1 (Uehara) and US 2013/0147778 A1 (Ninan) and design choice.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an electronic device, comprising: a display panel (Fig. 2A at 101), wherein a frame displayed on the display panel is formed by a plurality of sub-frames (Abstract); and a backlight source, disposed below the display panel and comprising a plurality of light-emitting units ([79]-[80], [103]); wherein the backlight source comprises a local dimming function ([58], [60], [64], [69], [105]; Figs. 2C, 2D), when a gray- level value of a position of each of the plurality of sub-frames corresponding to a first frame area is greater than a zero gray-level value and less than or equal to a fraction of the maximum gray-level value in the first frame area of the frame displayed on the display panel and a gray- level value of a position of at least one of the sub-frames corresponding to a second frame area is greater than the fraction of the maximum gray-level value in the second frame area outside the first frame area, the local dimming function uses a first mode to control the light-emitting units corresponding to a first backlight area of the first frame area, and uses a second mode to control the light-emitting units corresponding to a second backlight area of the second frame area ([58], [60], [64], [69], [105]; Figs. 2C, 2D);
Zhang does not expressly teach that the fraction of the maximum gray-level value is 1/5. Zhang teaches that different threshold values may be used ([58]-[60]). Therefore, selecting a threshold value of 1/5 of the maximum gray-level value would have been obvious as a matter of design choice.
Zhang does not expressly teach that the plurality of sub-frames corresponds to different colors. Uehara teaches that a backlight comprises different colors, which are associated with a plurality of sub-frames (Figs. 1-2). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Zhang by this teaching of Uehara is present as both teach displays with backlights. The motivation is to implement color. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Zhang and Uehara teach displays with back lights. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Zhang and Uehara would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the plurality of sub-frames corresponding to different colors.
Zhang does not expressly teach when the frame displayed on the display panel has a maximum brightness, the plurality of sub-frames have a maximum gray-level value at the same time. Ninan teaches when the frame displayed on the display panel has a maximum brightness, the plurality of sub-frames have a maximum gray-level value at the same time ([55]: maximum luminance level to be rendered on the entire display panel). The suggestion to modify the combination of Zhang and Uehara by the teaching of Ninan is present as all teach displays with backlights and local dimming. The motivation is aesthetic design choice to implement a global image of maximum brightness. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because Zhang, Uehara, and Ninan teach displays with backlights and local dimming. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Zhang, Uehara, and Ninan would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, when the frame displayed on the display panel has a maximum brightness, the plurality of sub-frames have a maximum gray-level value at the same time.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang further teaches wherein in the first mode, the light-emitting units corresponding to the first backlight area of the first frame area emit light at a predetermined brightness value [60], [64], [69], [105]; Figs. 2C, 2D);
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further teaches wherein in the first mode, the light-emitting units in the first backlight area emit light according to a first-backlight brightness-gray-level value-ratio relationship [60], [64], [69], [105]; Figs. 2C, 2D), in the second mode, the light-emitting units in the second backlight area emit light according to a second-backlight brightness-gray-level value-ratio relationship [60], [64], [69], [105]; Figs. 2C, 2D), and the first-backlight brightness-gray-level value- ratio relationship is different from the second-backlight brightness-gray-level value- ratio relationship [60], [64], [69], [105]; Figs. 2C, 2D);
Regarding claim 6, Zhang further teaches wherein a maximum brightness emitted by the light-emitting units in the first backlight area according to the first- backlight brightness-gray-level value-ratio relationship is less than a minimum brightness emitted by the light-emitting units in the second backlight area according to the second-backlight brightness-gray-level value-ratio relationship (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang further teaches wherein in second mode, a light- brightness value of the light-emitting units is increased with the increase of a gray-level value (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches wherein when a gray-level value of a position of a sub-frame is equal to a zero gray-level value (Fig. 2C at zero brightness value and zero gain coefficient). Zhang does not expressly teach wherein when a gray-level value of a position of each of the plurality of sub-frames in a third frame area outside the first frame area and the second frame area is equal to a zero gray-level value, the local dimming function uses a third mode to control the light-emitting units corresponding to a third backlight area of the third frame area. However, Zhang teaches that different thresholds may be set for different brightness intervals for different modes ([60]). Setting a third frame area outside the first frame area and the second frame area equal to a zero gray-level value is a matter of aesthetic design choice. Thus, the combination of the teachings of Zhang and aesthetic design choice renders obvious wherein when a gray-level value of a position of each of the plurality of sub-frames in a third frame area outside the first frame area and the second frame area is equal to a zero gray-level value, the local dimming function uses a third mode to control the light-emitting units corresponding to a third backlight area of the third frame area.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang further teaches the light-emitting units do not emit light (Fig. 2C at zero brightness value and zero gain coefficient). For the reasons explained regarding claim 8, Zhang renders obvious wherein in the third mode, the light-emitting units in the third backlight area do not emit light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are subject to objection as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4-5, subject to objection as being dependent upon a rejected claim, would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because the prior art cited to reject the aforementioned base and intervening claims does not subsequently teach or render obvious the dependent claims indicated as otherwise allowable in the full context of the claims. Nor does any observed additional prior art in combination with the cited prior art render obvious the dependent claims indicated as being allowable in the full context of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gene W Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624