DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on the application filed on May 8, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,115,722 and claims 1-24 of US Patent 12,328,480. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘722 and the ‘480 Patents anticipate the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-13 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mallinson (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0246495) in view of Gavade et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0066594).
Claims 1, 9 and 17: Mallinson discloses a method, a device and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising:
recording, by a user device, audio of a content item being output by a content device [0023]. [See at least capturing at least audio information.]
Mallinson alone does not explicitly disclose the rest of the limitations.
However, Mallinson and Gavade disclose:
receiving, by the user device, user-provided data and a user request to associate the user-provided data with a time point in the content item [Gavade: 0019]. [See at least associating user commentary with time stamps.]
sending, based on the user request, an upload request to associate the user-provided data with the time point in the content item [Gavade:0055]. [See at least uploading “the transcribed text of commentary.”],
wherein the upload request comprises:
a portion of the recording, wherein the portion was recorded by the user device prior to receiving the user request, and indicates the time point [Mallinson:0023]. [The audio was captured prior to a user request to associate user data with the content.]
the user-provided data [Gavade: 0019].
As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Mallinson with Gavade. One would have been motivated to do so in order to let a user create supplemental content for capture media.
Claims 2 and 12: Mallinson as modified discloses the method and the device of Claims 1 and 9 above, and Mallinson further discloses wherein the user device comprises a mobile phone, the method further comprising: recording, via the mobile phone within a proximity of the content device and based on the content item being output by the content device, the audio of the content item being output by the content device [0022]. [See at least using a cell phone to capture audio within a proximity to at least a television.]
Claims 3 and 11: Mallinson as modified discloses the method and device of Claims 1 and 9 above, and Mallinson further discloses receiving, by the user device, user input indicating a request to identify the content item being output by the content device, wherein recording the audio of the content item being output by the content device is based on receiving the user input [0024, 0029]. [See at least “a recognition module or other such component, for identifying content…”]
Claims 5 and 13: Mallinson as modified discloses the method and device of Claims 1 and 9 above, and Mallinson further discloses wherein recording the audio of the content item being output by the content device is further based on a user launching a metadata upload application on the user device [0050].
Claims 4, 15 and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mallinson (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0246495) in view of Gavade et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0066594) and further in view of Datha et al (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0113315).
Claims 4, 15 and 19: Mallinson as modified discloses the method, the device and the medium of Claims 1, 9 and 17 above, but Mallinson alone does not explicitly disclose causing, based on sending the upload request to associate the user-provided data with the time point in the content item, the content item to be paused for a period of time.
However, Gavade [0055] discloses uploading particular data, and Datha [0042] discloses pausing a content stream during content uploads.
As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Mallinson with Gavade and Datha. One would have been motivated to do so in order to pause a stream “in a graceful manner if there are likely going to be delays due to ongoing content uploads.”
Claims 6-8, 10, 14 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mallinson (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0246495) in view of Gavade et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0066594) and further in view of Ibasco et al (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0089309).
Claims 6 and 10: Mallinson as modified discloses the method and device of Claims 1 and 9 above, but Mallinson alone does not explicitly disclose determining, for the first content item, a first time period to record an audio output by the content device, wherein the first time period comprises a minimum duration sufficient to identify the content item; and determining, for a second content item, a second time period to record an audio output by the content device, wherein the second time period comprises a minimum duration sufficient to identify the content item different from the first time period.
However, Mallinson [0023] discloses recording audio and Ibasco [0043-0045] discloses using particular audio for any amount of audio samples to identify content. Each sample has to be a minimum amount of time to identify content.
As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Mallinson with Ibasco. One would have been motivated to do so in order to be able to identify content based on particular audio.
Claims 8, 14 and 18: Mallinson as modified discloses the method, the device and the medium of Claims 1, 9 and 17 above, but Mallinson alone does not explicitly disclose wherein recording the audio of the content item comprises a plurality of audio samples of the content item and wherein the user device stores the plurality of audio samples based on a first in first out storage implementation.
However, Ibasco [0047, 0049] discloses storing audio samples in “a First-In-First-Out queue system.”
As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Mallinson with Ibasco. One would have been motivated to do so in order to be able to identify content based on particular audio in the order it was received.
Claims 7, 16 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mallinson (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0246495) in view of Gavade et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0066594) and further in view of Slavin et al (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0111514).
Claims 7, 16 and 20: Mallinson as modified discloses the method, the device and the medium of Claims 1, 9 and 17 above, but Mallinson alone does not explicitly disclose selecting, based on the user-provided data, a point within the portion of the recording, wherein the point indicates a time point preceding the user-provided data.
However, Slavin [0198] discloses identifying time points of particular content that is at least prior to a match for the content.
As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Mallinson with Slavin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to have an ability to match particular content.
Conclusion
/ALEX GOFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163