DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In accordance with the amendment filed 2/4/2026, claims 1, 14, 16-18, 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the previously presented rejections under 35 USC 112(b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly argued for claims 8 and 20), Applicant argues that the rejection is improper because the Examiner relied upon an “obvious to try” rationale in the obviousness rejection under 35 USC 103 and did not provide a specific reference which taught the exact order of steps required by the claim. In response, Examiner notes that MPEP 2144.05 directly supports obviousness rejections that rely on “obvious to try” rationale and states, “in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). In the instant case, Examiner clearly articulated the fact that there are only a finite number of ways (i.e., three possible ways) in which the steps of placing a backing member and a magnet on a support strip can be ordered, and this finite number of solutions would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to try placing the backing members and magnets in the order claimed, as described in the rejection.
Regarding claim 6, Applicant argues that the Examiner improperly relies solely on In re Dailey as the basis for the rejection regarding the change in shape of the backing members. Examiner respectfully disagrees. While In re Dailey was cited, additional further rationale was provided in the rejection as well: “Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the backing member and the magnetic coupling component about the same size and shape in order to increase the aesthetic appeal of the garment.” Examiner maintains that the subject matter of claim 6 is obvious in view of the prior art, as described in the rejection.
Regarding claim 7, Applicant argues that “waterproof materials are not inherently fire resistant”. In response, Examiner notes that neither the claim nor the specification provide any specific degree of fire resistance that must be met. For instance, even if a polymer “can melt and drip when exposed to heat” (Remarks, page 11), it still can be considered to provide some degree of fire resistance, such as during the time before it begins to melt. Applicant’s examples of particular materials are also not pertinent to the rejection as none of the specific materials recited by Applicant were specifically described or cited in the prior art.
Regarding claim 3 (and similarly argued for claim 20), Applicant argues that “if a person of ordinary skill in the art were to combine the Fonzo and Duyn references, that person would use the magnetic fasteners of Fonzo in place of the zipper of Duyn”, therefore “one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine the references in the manner proposed in the Office action” (Remarks, page 13). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, Applicant’s arguments only discuss the presence of a zipper in Duyn and have not acknowledged that Duyn also has snap fasteners that connect the covering flap to the jacket. The modification as presented in the rejection replaced those snap fasteners with the magnetic fasteners of Fonzo, while the zipper was not changed. Moreover, Fonzo teaches that its magnetic fastener system is “aimed to keep two parts of clothing, underclothing, leather goods, shoes, any accessories together” (Fonzo, paragraph 11), thus it is clear from the Fonzo reference that its magnetic fastener system is not limited to use only to connect left and right panels of a garment (as argued by Applicant), but rather it can be used to connect any two parts of a garment, including, for example, the portions of Duyn originally connected by the snap fasteners. Examiner therefore maintains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to replace the snap fasteners of Duyn with the magnetic fasteners of Fonzo as described in the rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the preamble is not descriptive so it is not clear whether, for example, the method being claimed is a method of manufacturing or a method of using a product. For clarity, Examiner suggests “A method of manufacturing a magnetic system comprising…”.
Regarding claim 16, the preamble is not descriptive so it is not clear whether, for example, the method being claimed is a method of manufacturing or a method of using a product. For clarity, Examiner suggests “A method of manufacturing a magnetic system comprising…”.
Regarding claim 17, the preamble is not descriptive so it is not clear whether, for example, the method being claimed is a method of manufacturing or a method of using a product. For clarity, Examiner suggests “A method of manufacturing a magnetic system comprising…”.
Further regarding claim 17, line 9 of the claim includes “5”, which appears to be a typo and should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonzo (US 2015/0047105) in view of Ghasletwala (US 2019/0110527).
Regarding claim 1, Fonzo discloses: A method comprising: accessing a support strip (10); placing a magnet on the support strip (“the ferromagnetic objects, preferably permanent magnetic material 13, are positioned, fixed […] preferably by stitching, sewing, seaming inside of the [strip 10]” paragraph 45); and placing the support strip on or in a garment (see figure 1a showing the pocket 1 being attached to a garment “pocket(s) is a bag- or envelope-like receptacle either fastened to […] an article of clothing [...] to hold in a flexible, removable magnetic strip” paragraph 18; see figure 3c showing the strip 10 being placed in the pocket 1 “magnetic strip(s) opportunely inserted into the pockets” paragraph 19).
Fonzo does not explicitly disclose: placing a plurality of magnetizable backing members along the support strip; after the step of placing the magnetizable backing members along the support strip, placing a magnet on or adjacent to each backing member such that each magnet is magnetically coupled to an associated backing member.
However, Ghasletwala teaches a method comprising placing a magnet on or adjacent to plurality of magnetizable backing members such that each magnet is magnetically coupled to an associated backing member (“a back plate is attached to non-connecting side of the magnet” and “if the back plate is ferromagnetic, will magnetically couple to the magnet” paragraph 23).
Ghasletwala teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of magnetic coupling systems for garments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the step of attaching a magnet to a backing member, as taught by Ghasletwala, in order to “reduce the amount of magnetic flux emanating behind the back plate. This flux reduction helps to reduce the adaptive apparel from being magnetically attracted to other metals, especially the inside of a washer or dryer during laundering” (Ghasletwala, paragraph 23). This will make it easier and more convenient to wash the garment since it would be less likely to be stuck to the inside of a laundry machine.
Ghasletwala describes attaching the magnet to the backing member to form a magnetic fastener (“each magnetic fastener typically comprises a magnet […] and a back plate” paragraph 23) and putting those magnetic fasteners into strips (“multiple positive or negative magnetic fasteners can be encapsulated in a […] waterproofed-cloth strip to form a magnetic strip” paragraph 26), therefore Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: placing the magnet on the backing member after placing the backing member on the strip.
However, there are only a finite number of possible orders for the steps, all of which yield only the predictable result of having both the backing members and the magnets positioned on the strip. One can either place the backing member down, then the magnet; place the magnet down, then the backing member; or place the magnet and backing member down together at the same time. Applicant has not provided evidence of new or unexpected results that are obtained by the particular order claimed, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each of the aforementioned orders of steps is equivalent and therefore interchangeable because the final result (each backing member is coupled to a magnet and the combined backing member/magnets are positioned on the strip) is the same regardless of the order in which the backing members and magnets are placed on the strip, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to try placing the backing members down on the support strip, followed by placing the magnets down on top of the backing members as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Fonzo as modified discloses: The method of claim 1 further comprising: accessing a supplemental support strip; placing a plurality of magnets or magnetizable members along the supplemental support strip; and placing the supplemental support strip on or in the garment such that the supplemental support strip is configured to form a magnetic closure system with the support strip (Fonzo, “Each pair of magnetic strips is composed of magnets of the same form and of approx.. the same magnetic field strength […] which are positioned at the same distance between them to provide perfect alignment of the two edging sides of the article to be closed” paragraph 45; Examiner notes that the two strips are intended to be identical except for the opposite polarities, see figure 2, therefore the supplemental support strip would also formed in the same way as the strip described in the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 1 above; together, the two strips form the “Magnetic Removable Closure System (two magnetic strips and/or two pockets applied to the piece of garment )” paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 6, Ghasletwala is silent as to the specific size and shape of the backing members, so Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: The method of claim 1 wherein each of the magnets have about the same size and shape in front view as the backing member.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the backing member in about the same size and shape as the associated magnet because it has been held that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the backing member in whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 148 USPQ 47. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the backing member and the magnetic coupling component about the same size and shape in order to increase the aesthetic appeal of the garment.
Regarding claim 7, Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: The method of claim 1 wherein the support strip is made of a water tight, fire resistant textile or fabric.
However, Ghasletwala further teaches enclosing magnetic fasteners within a waterproof cloth strip (“multiple positive or negative magnetic fasteners can be encapsulated in a […] waterproofed-cloth strip to form a magnetic strip, which in turn is sewn in, glued to or otherwise attached to a placket, flap or pocket along the length of each panel” paragraph 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the support strip of Fonzo out of a waterproof cloth material, as taught by Ghasletwala, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP 2144.07. Further, using a waterproof material for the strip would help to prevent the magnets/backing members from rusting and causing undesirable discoloration on the strips. Examiner notes that a waterproof material is at least somewhat fire resistant insofar as has been defined by the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Fonzo as modified does teach securing both the backing members and magnets to the strip (see Fonzo, paragraph 45) does not explicitly disclose: The method of claim 1 further comprising, prior to the step of placing a magnet on or adjacent to each backing member, securing each backing member to the support strip.
However, there are only a finite number of possible orders for the steps, all of which yield only the predictable result of having both the backing members and the magnets secured on the strip. One can either secure the backing member and the magnet to the strip individually, or secure the backing member and the magnet to the strip together at the same time. Applicant has not provided evidence of new or unexpected results that are obtained by the particular order claimed, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each of the aforementioned orders of steps is equivalent and therefore interchangeable because the final result (the combined backing member/magnets are secured on the strip) is the same regardless of the order in which the backing members and magnets are secured to the strip, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to try securing the backing members down on the support strip, followed by placing the magnets down on top of the backing members as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Fonzo as modified discloses: The method of claim 1 further comprising, after the step of placing a magnet on or adjacent to each backing member, folding the support strip about itself to form two plies with the magnets and backing members positioned between the two plies of the support strip (Fonzo, “the fabrics of any strip could be made of any material and can consist of a single strip of fabrics sewed on one side along the length” paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 10, Fonzo as modified discloses: The method of claim 9 further comprising, after the folding step, coupling each backing member to the support strip by passing stitching through the support strip (Fonzo, “the ferromagnetic objects, preferably permanent magnetic material 13, are positioned, fixed […] preferably by stitching, sewing, seaming inside of the joined layers” paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 13, Fonzo as modified discloses: The method of claim 9 wherein the support strip is a continuous piece of material (Fonzo, “the fabrics of any strip could be made of any material and can consist of a single strip of fabrics sewed on one side along the length” paragraph 45), and wherein after the folding step the support strip generally surrounds and seals the backing members and magnets (the strip is a continuous piece of material, therefore it generally surrounds and seals the backing members and magnets insofar as has been claimed by Applicant).
Claim(s) 3-4, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonzo/Ghasletwala (as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, regarding claims 3 and 4), and further in view of Duyn (US 6370692).
Regarding claim 3, Fonzo as modified discloses: The method of claim 2 wherein the garment includes a first garment portion and a second garment portion (see Fonzo figure 4b, for example; “each pair of magnetic strips is composed of magnets […] which are positioned at the same distance between them to provide perfect alignment of two edging sides of the article to be closed” paragraph 45; the two sides of the article can be considered a first garment portion and a second garment portion).
Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: a releasable fastener configured to releasably couple the first garment portion to the second garment portion, and a covering flap movable between a covering position wherein the covering flap covers the releasable fastener and a retracted position wherein the covering flap does not cover the releasable fastener, and wherein the magnetic closure system is configured to selectively maintain the covering flap in the covering position.
However, Duyn teaches a garment (20) including a releasable fastener configured to releasably couple a first garment portion to a second garment portion (zipper, see figure 1; the zipper couples the two sides of the front opening together), and a covering flap movable between a covering position wherein the covering flap covers the releasable fastener and a retracted position wherein the covering flap does not cover the releasable fastener (“an additional piece of material which covers the jacket’s zipper and is secured by snaps 100”; see figure 1).
Duyn teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of protective outerwear. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the magnetic fasteners of Fonzo as modified into the garment of Duyn as a replacement for the snap buttons in order to make the coat easier to wear for people with disabilities, blind people, the elderly, pregnant women, and children (see paragraphs 3-4 of Fonzo). Further, the use of magnets will more quickly and readily attach the covering flap over the zipper which will be more convenient for the user as they will not need to individually fasten multiple buttons when they wish to secure the flap. Examiner notes that, as modified, the magnetic closure system of Fonzo as modified would be configured to selectively maintain the covering flap in the covering position.
Regarding claim 4, Fonzo as modified discloses: The method of claim 3 wherein the garment is a coat (Duyn, jacket 20 is a coat), wherein the releasable fastener is a zipper (Duyn, see annotated figure 1 provided with the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 3 above; the releasable fastener is a zipper), and wherein the covering flap is a storm flap (Duyn, see annotated figure 1 provided with the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 3 above; the additional material forms a flap which may be considered a storm flap).
Regarding claim 20, Fonzo discloses: A method of manufacturing a garment comprising: accessing a support strip (10); placing a magnet on the support strip (“the ferromagnetic objects, preferably permanent magnetic material 13, are positioned, fixed […] preferably by stitching, sewing, seaming inside of the [strip 10]” paragraph 45); and placing the support strip on or in a garment (see figure 1a showing the pocket 1 being attached to a garment “pocket(s) is a bag- or envelope-like receptacle either fastened to […] an article of clothing [...] to hold in a flexible, removable magnetic strip” paragraph 18; see figure 3c showing the strip 10 being placed in the pocket 1 “magnetic strip(s) opportunely inserted into the pockets” paragraph 19).
Fonzo does not explicitly disclose: placing a plurality of magnetizable backing members along the support strip; after the step of placing the magnetizable backing members along the support strip, placing a magnet on or adjacent to each backing member such that each magnet is magnetically coupled to an associated backing member.
However, Ghasletwala teaches a method comprising placing a magnet on or adjacent to plurality of magnetizable backing members such that each magnet is magnetically coupled to an associated backing member (“a back plate is attached to non-connecting side of the magnet” and “if the back plate is ferromagnetic, will magnetically couple to the magnet” paragraph 23).
Ghasletwala teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of magnetic coupling systems for garments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the step of attaching a magnet to a backing member, as taught by Ghasletwala, in order to “reduce the amount of magnetic flux emanating behind the back plate. This flux reduction helps to reduce the adaptive apparel from being magnetically attracted to other metals, especially the inside of a washer or dryer during laundering” (Ghasletwala, paragraph 23). This will make it easier and more convenient to wash the garment since it would be less likely to be stuck to the inside of a laundry machine.
Ghasletwala describes attaching the magnet to the backing member to form a magnetic fastener (“each magnetic fastener typically comprises a magnet […] and a back plate” paragraph 23) and putting those magnetic fasteners into strips (“multiple positive or negative magnetic fasteners can be encapsulated in a […] waterproofed-cloth strip to form a magnetic strip” paragraph 26), therefore Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: placing the magnet on the backing member after placing the backing member on the strip.
However, there are only a finite number of possible orders for the steps, all of which yield only the predictable result of having both the backing members and the magnets positioned on the strip. One can either place the backing member down, then the magnet; place the magnet down, then the backing member; or place the magnet and backing member down together at the same time. Applicant has not provided evidence of new or unexpected results that are obtained by the particular order claimed, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each of the aforementioned orders of steps is equivalent and therefore interchangeable because the final result (each backing member is coupled to a magnet and the combined backing member/magnets are positioned on the strip) is the same regardless of the order in which the backing members and magnets are placed on the strip, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to try placing the backing members down on the support strip, followed by placing the magnets down on top of the backing members as claimed.
Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: accessing a garment including a first garment portion and a second garment portion, a releasable fastener configured to releasably couple the first garment portion to the second garment portion, and a covering flap movable between a covering position wherein the covering flap covers the releasable fastener and a retracted position wherein the covering flap does not cover the releasable fastener; and placing the support strip on or in a garment to form part of a magnetic closure system is configured to selectively maintain the covering flap in the covering position.
However, Duyn teaches a garment (20) including a releasable fastener configured to releasably couple a first garment portion to a second garment portion (zipper, see figure 1 provided with the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 3 above; the zipper couples the two sides of the front opening together), and a covering flap movable between a covering position wherein the covering flap covers the releasable fastener and a retracted position wherein the covering flap does not cover the releasable fastener (“an additional piece of material which covers the jacket’s zipper and is secured by snaps 100”; see figure 1 provided with the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 3 above).
Duyn teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of protective outerwear. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the magnetic fasteners of Fonzo as modified into the garment of Duyn as a replacement for the snap buttons in order to make the coat easier to wear for people with disabilities, blind people, the elderly, pregnant women, and children (see paragraphs 3-4 of Fonzo). Further, the use of magnets will more quickly and readily attach the covering flap over the zipper which will be more convenient for the user as they will not need to individually fasten multiple buttons when they wish to secure the flap. Examiner notes that, as modified, the magnetic closure system of Fonzo as modified would be configured to selectively maintain the covering flap in the covering position.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonzo/Ghasletwala, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Straiton (US 2006/0206986).
Regarding claim 3, Fonzo as modified discloses: The method of claim 2 wherein the garment includes a first garment portion and a second garment portion (see Fonzo figure 4b, for example; “each pair of magnetic strips is composed of magnets […] which are positioned at the same distance between them to provide perfect alignment of two edging sides of the article to be closed” paragraph 45; the two sides of the article can be considered a first garment portion and a second garment portion).
Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: a releasable fastener configured to releasably couple the first garment portion to the second garment portion, and a covering flap movable between a covering position wherein the covering flap covers the releasable fastener and a retracted position wherein the covering flap does not cover the releasable fastener, and wherein the magnetic closure system is configured to selectively maintain the covering flap in the covering position.
However, Straiton teaches: a garment comprising a releasable fastener (fly zipper 17) configured to releasably couple a first garment portion to a second garment portion, and a covering flap (zipper flap 18) movable between a covering position wherein the covering flap covers the releasable fastener and a retracted position wherein the covering flap does not cover the releasable fastener (“the fly zipper is preferably covered by a zipper flap 18” paragraph 43), and wherein a releasable closure system is configured to selectively maintain the covering flap in the covering position (“the fly zipper is preferably covered by a zipper flap 18, which is preferably held down by a hook and loop fastener tape” paragraph 43).
Straiton teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of protective outerwear. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the magnetic fasteners of Fonzo as modified into the garment of Straiton as a replacement for the hook and loop fasteners because it would have been the simple substitution of one known releasable fastening system for another that would yield only the predictable result of holding down the zipper flap. Further, the use of magnets will more quickly and readily attach the covering flap over the zipper which will be more convenient for the user as they will be able to simply bring the two sides of the fly close together and the magnets will automatically attach to each other rather than needing to press down on the hook and loop material when they wish to secure the flap. Examiner notes that, as modified, the magnetic closure system of Fonzo as modified would be configured to selectively maintain the covering flap in the covering position.
Regarding claim 5, Fonzo as modified discloses: The method of claim 3 wherein the garment is a pair of trousers (Straiton, tactical outer protective shorts 1; see figure 1), wherein the releasable fastener is a zipper (Straiton, fly zipper 17), and wherein the covering flap is a fly (Straiton, zipper flap 18).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonzo/Ghasletwala, as applied to claims 1, 9, and 10 above, and further in view of Horton (US 2014/0130231).
Regarding claim 11, Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: The method of claim 10 wherein the stitching extends around at least three sides of each backing member.
However, Horton teaches a magnetic strip wherein stitching is positioned around each individual magnetic coupling component to couple each of the magnetic coupling components to the first support strip and limit a motion thereof relative to the support strip (“the line of stitching 62 around the magnetic element 44 indirectly couples the magnetic element 44 to the placket 22. In this way, it is not necessary to sew through the magnetic element 44 itself and, thus, the magnetic element 44 may be solid piece without holes therethrough” paragraph 41).
Horton teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of magnetic closure systems for garments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the stitching of Fonzo specifically in a line around the perimeter of each magnetic element, as taught by Horton, in order to better ensure the magnets are “secured in the proper position” (Horton, paragraph 43) and “in this way, it is not necessary to sew through the magnetic element 44 itself and, thus, the magnetic element 44 may be solid piece without holes therethrough” (Horton, paragraph 41) which simplifies the manufacturing process. Examiner notes that the stitching that secures the magnet after folding would also secure the backing member as modified.
Regarding claim 12, Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: The method of claim 10 wherein the stitching forms a closed perimeter around each backing member.
However, Horton teaches a magnetic strip wherein stitching is positioned around each individual magnetic coupling component to couple each of the magnetic coupling components to the first support strip and limit a motion thereof relative to the support strip (“the line of stitching 62 around the magnetic element 44 indirectly couples the magnetic element 44 to the placket 22. In this way, it is not necessary to sew through the magnetic element 44 itself and, thus, the magnetic element 44 may be solid piece without holes therethrough” paragraph 41).
Horton teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of magnetic closure systems for garments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the stitching of Fonzo specifically in a line around the perimeter of each magnetic element, as taught by Horton, in order to better ensure the magnets are “secured in the proper position” (Horton, paragraph 43) and “in this way, it is not necessary to sew through the magnetic element 44 itself and, thus, the magnetic element 44 may be solid piece without holes therethrough” (Horton, paragraph 41) which simplifies the manufacturing process. Examiner notes that the stitching that secures the magnet after folding would also secure the backing member as modified.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonzo/Ghasletwala, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wong (US 6378174) and Linchitz (US 2021/0204627).
Regarding claim 18, Fonzo as modified discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein each backing member is not a permanent magnet (Ghasletwala, “a back plate may be made of copper or zinc, or other non-magnetic or weakly-magnetic metals or materials, by themselves or combinations with other metals (including ferromagnetic materials such as iron)” paragraph 23), wherein each magnet is generally flat and has a thickness less than one quarter of a longest dimension of the magnet (Fonzo, the magnets are generally flat, see figure 2c; “the length (parallelepiped) or diameters (cylindrical) can vary from 5 mm till 10 mm per a magnet, the thickness which can vary from 0.5 mm till 4 mm per a magnet” paragraph 45; 0.5-4mm is less than ¼ of 5-10mm).
Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: wherein each backing member has a thickness that is less than one half of the thickness of the associated magnet (Ghasletwala is silent as to the specific size and shape of the backing member).
However, Wong teaches a magnet (7) with a backing member (steel plate 8) with a thickness that is less than the thickness of the associated magnet (“the thickness of the magnet 7 adopted by the present invention is 1.0-1.5 mm” column 3, lines 54-55; and “[the steel plate’s] thickness is 0.6-0.8 mm” column 3, lines 65-67).
Wong teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of magnetic fasteners. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the thickness of the backing member 0.6 mm and the thickness of the magnet 1.5 mm, as taught by Wong, because it has been held that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the backing member in whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Further, reducing the thickness of the backing member would be beneficial as it would reduce the weight and bulk of the magnetic coupling system as a whole which would make the garment more comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. Examiner notes that 1.5 mm is still less than ¼ of 10 mm, so this particular thickness still meets the previous limitation regarding the thickness and length of the magnet.
Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: wherein each magnet has a pull force of between 10 lbs., and 20 lbs. at a distance of 0 inches.
However, Linchitz teaches magnets with a pull force between 10 lbs. and 20 lbs. at 0 inches (i.e., while the magnets are secured together) (“the pair of magnets 18 together may provide a securing force, which may also be referred to as power or pull strength or theoretical strength, […] of from 13 lbs. of pull force” paragraph 55).
Linchitz teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of magnetic coupling systems for garments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the pull force of the magnets specifically 13 lbs. at 0 inches, as taught by Linchitz, so that the strength of the magnets is strong enough to secure the two portions of the garment, but not so strong that the user is unable to move the magnets while the magnets are secured together (see paragraph 55 of Linchitz).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonzo/Ghasletwala, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Curtis (US 2014/0109303).
Regarding claim 19, Fonzo as modified does not explicitly disclose: The method of claim 1 wherein the garment is a firefighter garment including an outer shell, a thermal liner having a TPP of at least about thirty and configured to be positioned between the outer shell and a wearer of the garment, and a moisture barrier configured to permit moisture vapor to pass therethrough but block liquids from passing therethrough, wherein the moisture barrier is configured to be positioned between the outer shell and a wearer of the garment.
However, Curtis teaches: a firefighter garment including an outer shell (26), a thermal liner (30) having a TPP of at least about thirty (“the thermal barrier 30 may have a thermal protection performance (“TPP”) […] of at least about thirty-five” paragraph 23) and configured to be positioned between the outer shell and a wearer of the garment (see figure 1 showing the cutaway section of the coat, which shows that the thermal barrier 30 is located underneath the outer shell 26, so it is positioned between the outer shell and the wearer of the garment), and a moisture barrier (28) configured to permit moisture vapor to pass therethrough but block liquids from passing therethrough (“the membrane layer 28a may be generally moisture vapor permeable but generally impermeable to liquid moisture” paragraph 19), wherein the moisture barrier is configured to be positioned between the outer shell and a wearer of the garment (see figure 1 showing the cutaway section of the coat, which shows that the moisture barrier 28 is located underneath the outer shell 26, so it is positioned between the outer shell and the wearer of the garment).
Curtis teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of garments for firefighters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the magnetic fasteners of Fonzo as modified into the garment of Curtis as a replacement for the hook and eye fasteners in order to make the garment easier to wear for people with disabilities, blind people, the elderly, pregnant women, and children (see paragraphs 3-4 of Fonzo). Further, the use of magnets will more quickly and readily close the coat opening which will be more convenient for the user as they will not need to individually fasten multiple hook and eyes when they wish to close the coat.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to for informalities, as described above, but would be allowable if the informalities are corrected.
Claim 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not specifically disclose “before placing the support strip on or in the garment, positioning the entire support strip in a tube prior to placing the tube on or in the garment, and wherein the step of placing the support strip on or in the garment includes placing the tube on or in the garment”. While Fonzo does teach placing the support strip (10) in a tube (pocket 1) (see figure 3c and paragraph 18), Fonzo does not teach doing so before the pocket is placed on or in the garment such that the support strip and the tube are both placed on/in the garment simultaneously, as required by the claim. Claim 15 would be allowable based on its dependency from claim 14.
Reasons for allowance for claims 16 and 17 were presented in the Office action mailed 11/6/2025.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIANNA T. DUCKWORTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/JAMESON D COLLIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732