DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the fourth end of the self-winding hose reel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, the recitation is meant to refer to the fourth end of the second water hose.
In claim 10, line 2, it is unclear how “the self-winding hose reel…includes a stop block [1210].” As understood, and recited later in the claim, the stop block 1210 isn’t a part of the reel, and is instead its own separate structure fixed to the fourth end of the second water hose.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the fourth end of the self-winding hose reel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, the recitation is meant to refer to the fourth end of the second water hose.
In claim 20, line 2, it is unclear how “the self-winding hose reel…includes a stop block [1210].” As understood, and recited later in the claim, the stop block 1210 isn’t a part of the reel, and is instead its own separate structure fixed to the fourth end of the second water hose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futrell (US 4,967,960) in view of Chayer (US 5,029,758).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Futrell discloses in Figs. 1-9 an assembly (and a method for manufacturing an assembly) for high-pressure cleaning, the assembly comprising:
a pressure washer including:
a platform (comprising any portion(s) of the cart);
an engine 212 mounted onto the platform; and
a water pump 156 coupled to the engine 212 (Fig. 8);
a handle (comprising any portion(s) of the frame of the cart, which one having ordinary skill in the art as being inherently capable of being handled to move the cart) for maneuvering the platform, the handle being mounted onto the platform;
a hose reel 230 coupled to the pressure washer;
a first water hose 232 having a first end and a second end, the first end of the first water hose being connected to the water pump 156 (col. 5, lines 48-51); and
a second water hose 228 wound around the hose reel 230 (col. 5, lines 45-47), the second water hose 228 having a third end and a fourth end, the third end of the second water hose 228 being connected to the second end of the first water hose 232 (col. 5, lines 48-51).
Futrell lacks the hose reel being self-winding.
Chayer teaches in Figs. 1-2 a self-winding hose reel (col. 5, lines 43-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hose reel disclosed by Futrell to be self-winding, as is “conventional” in the art, as Chayer teaches (col. 5, lines 43-45). As one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize, the self-winding function simplifies the use of the assembly for the user.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Futrell discloses in Figs. 1-9 a trigger gun 224, wherein the fourth end of the second water hose 228 is configured to be connected to the trigger gun 224.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Futrell discloses in Figs. 1-9 that the water pump 156 is coupled to the engine 212 along a horizontal axis of the engine 212 (as shown in Fig. 3).
Claims 1, 3, 11, and 13 (alternatively: 1 and 11) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coslowsky (US 3,484,961) in view of Futrell.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Coslowsky discloses in Figs. 1-9 an assembly (and a method for manufacturing an assembly) for high-pressure cleaning, the assembly comprising:
a pressure washer including:
a platform (comprising any portion(s) of the cart);
an engine 12 mounted onto the platform; and
a water pump 84 coupled to the engine 12 (col. 4, lines 52-59);
a handle (comprising any portion(s) of the frame of the cart, which one having ordinary skill in the art as being inherently capable of being handled to move the cart) for maneuvering the platform, the handle being mounted onto the platform;
a self-winding hose reel 63 (wherein the motor-operated winding of the reel 63 disclosed in col. 5, lines 52-56 is seen as being self-winding) coupled to the pressure washer;
a first water conduit 66 having a first end and a second end, the first end of the first water conduit 66 being connected to the water pump 84; and
a second water hose 62 wound around the self-winding hose reel 63, the second water hose 62 having a third end and a fourth end, the third end of the second water hose 62 being connected to the second end of the first water conduit 66.
Cowlosky lacks a first water hose having a first end and a second end, the first end of the first water hose being connected to the water pump, and the third end of the second water hose being connected to the second end of the first water hose.
Futrell teaches in Figs. 1-9 a first water hose 232 having a first end and a second end, the first end of the first water hose being connected to the water pump 156, and the third end of the second water hose 228 being connected to the second end of the first water hose 232 (col. 5, lines 48-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly disclosed by Cowlosky to use a first hose to connect the water pump to the second hose on the reel, as Futrell teaches, to provide a flexible conduit, which allows for more flexibility in assembly, with regard to orientation, the assembly process, etc.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Cowlosky discloses in Figs. 1-9: the engine 12 is arranged over a first surface of the platform; and the self-winding hose reel 63 is arranged on a second surface of the platform and below the engine 12.
Claims 1, 3, 11, and 13 (alternatively: all) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coslowsky in view of Futrell and Chayer.
Alternatively to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 11, and 13 in view of the modification of Coslowsky in view of Futrell, as discussed above, Chayer teaches in Figs. 1-2 a self-winding hose reel (col. 5, lines 43-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hose reel in the combination of Coslowsky and Futrell to be self-winding, as is “conventional” in the art, as Chayer teaches (col. 5, lines 43-45). As one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize, the self-winding function simplifies the use of the assembly for the user.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futrell in view of Chayer, as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Parris et al. (US 2008/0245899).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Futrell discloses an engine that powers a water pump, as previously discussed, but Futrell and Chayer lack: the engine includes a shaft disposed horizontally, the horizontal axis of the engine being an axis of the shaft; and the water pump is coupled to the shaft.
Parris teaches in Figs. 1-2: the engine 14/E includes a shaft 36 disposed horizontally, the horizontal axis of the engine 14/E being an axis of the shaft 36; and the water pump 16 is coupled to the shaft 36 (paragraph 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooperation of the engine and the water pump such that the engine includes a shaft disposed horizontally along the horizontal axis of the engine to couple to the water pump to drive the water pump, as Parris teaches, because Futrell is silent with regard to such detail of how the transfer of movement from the engine to the water pump.
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futrell in view of Chayer, as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Prange (US 4,878,517).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Futrell discloses a platform including an opening (comprising any of the openings between the supporting columns and rows making up the frame), but Futrell and Chayer lack: the self-winding hose reel includes a water intake mechanism, the water intake mechanism extending through the opening; and the water intake mechanism connects the second end of the first water hose to the third end of the second water hose.
Prange teaches in Figs. 1-2: the platform (comprising the vertical support bar and the bearing on top through which the hose 114 connects to the hose 108 on the reel 102) includes an opening; the self-winding hose reel 102 includes a water intake mechanism (comprising the elbow connecting the first water hose 114 to the hose reel 102 and any conduit(s) contiguous with said elbow), the water intake mechanism extending through the opening; and the water intake mechanism connects the second end of the first water hose 114 to the third end of the second water hose 108.
[AltContent: textbox (Water intake mechanism)][AltContent: textbox (Opening in platform)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Frame of platform)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly in the combination of Futrell and Chayer to include frame structure to support the reel in the cart disclosed by Futrell and to include a water intake mechanism to connect the first water hose to the second water hose, as Prange teaches, because Futrell is silent with regard to such detail (although Futrell suggests a similar structure with unlabeled structures in Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Prange teaches in Figs. 1-2 that the first water hose 114 extends substantially vertically from the water intake mechanism of the self-winding hose reel 102. In modifying Futrell in view of Prange, it would have been obvious for the first water hose 232 to extend substantially vertically from the water intake mechanism of the self-winding hose reel 230 because the reel 230 is located above the pump 156.
Claims 1, 8-9, 11, 18-19 (alternatively: 1 and 11; as understood: 9 and 19) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilpatrick (US 2011/0014066) in view of Futrell (US 4,967,960).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Gilpatrick discloses in Figs. 1-5 an assembly (and a method of manufacturing an assembly) for high-pressure cleaning, the assembly comprising:
a pressure washer including:
a platform (comprising any portion(s) of the housing);
an engine 524 (because the motor 524 may be an engine, as disclosed in paragraph 33) mounted onto the platform; and
a water pump 512 coupled to the engine 524 (Fig. 5 and paragraph 37);
a handle 116 for maneuvering the platform, the handle 116 being mounted onto the platform;
a self-winding hose reel 514 (such as through the use of the torsion spring disclosed in paragraph 20) coupled to the pressure washer;
a first water 548 having a first end and a second end, the first end of the first water 548 being connected to the water pump 512; and
a second water hose 532 wound around the self-winding hose reel 514, the second water hose 532 having a third end and a fourth end, the third end of the second water hose 532 being connected to the second end of the first water 548.
Gilpatrick lacks the first water conduit being a hose.
Futrell teaches in Figs. 1-9 a first water hose 232 having a first end and a second end, the first end of the first water hose being connected to the water pump 156 (col. 5, lines 48-51), and the second end of the first water hose 232 is connected to the second water hose 228 on the hose reel 230.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly disclosed by Gilpatrick to have the first water conduit be a hose, as Futrell teaches, to provide a flexible conduit, which allows for more flexibility in assembly, with regard to orientation, the assembly process, etc.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Gilpatrick discloses in Figs. 1-5 a front plate (comprising the front side of the housing) connected to the pressure washer at a predetermined angle (90o) with respect to the platform (comprising the floor of the housing); and an opening 124/142 made in the front plate; wherein the fourth end of the second water hose 126 is configured to pass through the opening 124/142.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Gilpatrick discloses in Figs. 1-5 a fastener mounted to the front plate (because the cavity 146 in the front plate, in which the trigger 128 and the fourth end of the second water hose 126 may be disposed, as shown in Fig. 1A, may comprise a fastener for securing the trigger 128, as disclosed in paragraph 22), the fastener being configured to secure the fourth end of the second water hose 126 to the front plate (because the fastener secures the trigger 128 at the end of the fourth end of the second water hose 126).
Claims 10 and 20 (as understood: both) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilpatrick in view of Futrell, as applied to claims 8 and 18 above, and further in view of Attar (2004/0061000).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Gilpatrick and Futrell teach a second water hose, as previously discussed, but lacks: a stop block; the stop block is connected to the second water hose around the fourth end; and the stop block is configured to prevent the fourth end from passing through the opening in the front plate and being retracted into the self-winding hose reel.
Attar teaches in Figs. 1-5: a stop block 55; the stop block 55 is connected to the second water hose 50 around the fourth end 52; and the stop block 55 is configured to prevent the fourth end 52 from passing through the opening 56 in the front plate (comprising the front side of the housing) and being retracted into the self-winding hose reel 40.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly in the combination of Gilpatrick and Futrell to include a stop block to prevent full retraction of the fourth end of the second water hose and the trigger onto the reel due to the self-winding operation of the reel, as Attar teaches (paragraph 29), so the trigger is always easily accessible for the user.
Conclusion
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753