DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/8/2025 and 7/15/2025 was filed before the mailing of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 14, the claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites “an environment” which may be interpreted as a system comprising components which may be interpreted simply as software, which does not fall under one of the four statutory categories. In the instant case, the applicant fails to disclose any environmental components, rendering uncertain as to what statutory class the claim falls under as the body of the claim recites method steps without any structure executing said steps. It is recommended to the applicant to amend the claim such that the claim is directed towards a system with hardware embodiments set up to execute the method steps.
Dependent claim(s) 15 is/are rejected for the same reasons as they do not cure the deficiency of the independent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2020/0336507).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al discloses a method for determining correctness and/or for generating an assessment of a risk of cyber attacks on a particular system, the method comprising the following steps:
receiving a request to carry out one or more cyber attacks on the particular system (the target of a penetration test is transmitted a request to the environment) [0025, 0026, 0031];
invoking a machine learning agent, wherein the machine learning agent is configured to: access a generative machine learning model that is trained to generate data sets, and generate and carry out one or more cyber attacks on a system based on a request using the generative machine learning model (a generated model is pretrained for use on the environment) [0045, 0052-0053];
carrying out one or more cyber attacks on the particular system using the machine learning agent in response to the request (a penetration test is performed using the model) [0052-0053];
evaluating results of the one or more cyber attacks carried out and (i) determining, based on a finding of the step of evaluating the results, whether a predetermined assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the particular system is correct or (ii) generating, based on a finding of the step of evaluating the results, an assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the particular system (it is determined if the response is abnormal or not and the results deem whether the test was successful or not) [0053].
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein: the machine learning agent is further configured to access one or more tools or data sets that are configured to ascertain information with respect to cyber attacks on the system and/or characteristics of the system and/or that contribute to carrying out the cyber attacks, and the one or more cyber attacks on the particular system are additionally generated and carried out using the one or more tools or data sets (different models (tools) are used) [0053-0054, 0061].
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein: the machine learning agent is configured to use information obtained using the one or more tools or data sets to request the generative machine learning model, and/or the generative machine learning model is adjusted to incorporate into the generated data sets information obtained using the one or more tools or data sets (results may be used to update the model) [0025, 0026, 0061].
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein one of the one or more tools or data sets include a collection of descriptions of known attack patterns on the system (patterns may be used in penetration tests) [0005].
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein generating the one or more cyber attacks includes selecting known attack patterns from the collection and generating a cyber attack according to the known attack patterns (patterns may be used in penetration tests) [0005].
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein the data sets generated by the generative machine learning model include text data and/or image data (attack vectors for a web environment include, but are not limited to, application-programming interfaces (APIs), Uniform Resource Locators (URLs), parameters, services, endpoints, hosts, platforms, or other components of the web environment) [0021].
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein: the data sets generated by the generative machine learning model include calls to commands in a programming language and/or database queries, carrying out one or more cyber attacks on the particular system includes calling commands in a programming language and/or database queries (command and code injection can be used) [0028].
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses receiving the predetermined assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the particular system; and adjusting the predetermined assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the particular system when the determination indicates that the predetermined assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the particular system is incorrect (results may be used to update the model) [0025, 0026, 0061].
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein: the machine learning agent is further configured to:(i) carry out the evaluation of a result, and/or (ii) determine and/or generate the assessment, and evaluating: (i) a result, and/or (ii) determining and/or generating the assessment, are carried out using the machine learning agent (it is determined if the response is abnormal or not and the results deem whether the test was successful or not) [0052-0053].
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein the determination includes requesting the generative machine learning model as to whether a particular assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the system accurately reflects the results of carrying out one or more cyber attacks on the particular system (response attributes) [0033].
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 1. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein the cyber attacks are carried out on a prototype of the particular system or a model of the particular system (pretraining the system) [0043-0045].
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al discloses a method for training and/or configuring a machine learning agent to determine correctness and/or to generate an assessment of a risk of cyber attacks on a particular system, the method comprising the following steps:
receiving a generative machine learning model that is trained to generate data sets (the target of a penetration test is transmitted a request to the environment) [0025, 0026, 0031];
configuring a machine learning agent to: access the generative machine learning model that is trained to generate data sets, and generate and carry out one or more cyber attacks on a system based on a request using the generative machine learning model (a generated model is pretrained for use on the environment) [0045, 0052-0053];
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 12. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein configuring the machine learning agent includes the following: configuring the machine learning agent to access one or more tools or data sets that are configured to ascertain information with respect to cyber attacks on the system and/or characteristics of the system and/or that contribute to generating or carrying out the cyber attacks,wherein the one or more cyber attacks on the system are additionally generated and carried out using the one or more tools or data sets (different models (tools) are used) [0053-0054, 0061].
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al discloses an environment configured to determine correctness and/or to generate an assessment of a risk of cyber attacks on a particular system, including:
receiving a request to carry out one or more cyber attacks on the particular system (the target of a penetration test is transmitted a request to the environment) [0025, 0026, 0031];
invoking a machine learning agent, wherein the machine learning agent is configured to: access a generative machine learning model that is trained to generate data sets, and generate and carry out one or more cyber attacks on a system based on a request using the generative machine learning model (a generated model is pretrained for use on the environment) [0045, 0052-0053];
carrying out one or more cyber attacks on the particular system using the machine learning agent in response to the request (a penetration test is performed using the model) [0052-0053];
evaluating results of the one or more cyber attacks carried out and (i) determining, based on a finding of the step of evaluating the results, whether a predetermined assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the particular system is correct or (ii) generating, based on a finding of the step of evaluating the results, an assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the particular system (it is determined if the response is abnormal or not and the results deem whether the test was successful or not) [0053].
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the method of claim 14. Lee et al additionally discloses wherein the environment is a test and/or development environment for the particular system (penetration test) [0007].
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al non-transitory computer-readable medium on which is stored a computer program that contains instructions for determining correctness and/or for generating an assessment of a risk of cyber attacks on a particular system, the instructions, when executed by a computer, causing the computer to perform the following steps [0082]:
receiving a request to carry out one or more cyber attacks on the particular system (the target of a penetration test is transmitted a request to the environment) [0025, 0026, 0031];
invoking a machine learning agent, wherein the machine learning agent is configured to: access a generative machine learning model that is trained to generate data sets, and generate and carry out one or more cyber attacks on a system based on a request using the generative machine learning model (a generated model is pretrained for use on the environment) [0045, 0052-0053];
carrying out one or more cyber attacks on the particular system using the machine learning agent in response to the request (a penetration test is performed using the model) [0052-0053];
evaluating results of the one or more cyber attacks carried out and (i) determining, based on a finding of the step of evaluating the results, whether a predetermined assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the particular system is correct or (ii) generating, based on a finding of the step of evaluating the results, an assessment of the risk of cyber attacks on the particular system (it is determined if the response is abnormal or not and the results deem whether the test was successful or not) [0053].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stevens et al (US 2026/0322830): discloses an artificial intelligence based cyber security system configured to protect networks against malicious, unauthorized, or anomalous generative artificial intelligence interactions. The system utilizes a cyber security appliance deploying specialized machine learning models to establish a normal pattern of life for user and agentic interactions with large language models. The appliance intercepts and extracts prompt and response payloads, evaluating them using named entity recognition and semantic classifiers to identify personal identifiable information leakage, prompt injections, and data exfiltration. Upon detecting an interaction that deviates from historical baselines or violates ingested security policies, an autonomous response engine dynamically executes targeted mitigation actions. These actions include masking sensitive data with generic placeholders or completely severing the unauthorized network connection. Furthermore, the architecture integrates a cyber attack simulation engine to continuously test and refine the defensive models against emerging generative artificial intelligence threats.
/KENDALL DOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436