DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of Parent U.S. Patent 11683388 filed 11/17/2020.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process ... may obtain a patent therefor ..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957); and In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1, 13, 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11683388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
U.S. Patent: 11683388
Instant Application:
1, 13, 17. A computer-implemented method for generating a weather report, the method comprising using processing circuitry for: determining a first location and a second location; identifying a first plurality of weather information sources within a threshold distance of the first location, wherein one or more of the weather information sources is a mobile weather information source; identifying a second plurality of weather information sources within a threshold distance of the second location, wherein one or more of the weather information sources of the second plurality of weather information sources is a mobile weather information source; receiving weather information from the first plurality of weather information sources within the threshold distance of the first location and the second plurality of weather information sources within the threshold distance of the second location; generating a first weather report for the first location using the weather information received from the first plurality of weather information sources, wherein generating the first weather report for the first location comprises: receiving a plurality of data points wherein each data point corresponds to a weather information source of the first plurality of weather information sources; assigning a weight to each data point of the plurality of data points; and generating the first weather report, wherein the weight assigned to each data point is used to generate the weather report; generating a second weather report for the second location using the weather information received from the second plurality of weather information sources; and in response to the first weather report and the second weather report, recommending a route by a device, wherein the first location is a first stop on the route and the second location is a second stop on the route, determining that a sensor associated with the device arrives at the first location; in response to determining that the sensor arrives at the first location, receiving a measurement from the sensor, wherein the measurement corresponds to an estimated measurement included in the first weather report; determining that the received measurement is different from the estimated measurement, and in response to determining that the received measurement is different from the estimated measurement, updating a first weight assigned to a first data point of the plurality of datapoints.
1, 13, 20. A method comprising: receiving an event associated with a user profile, wherein the event corresponds to a first location and a first time period; receiving a plurality of data points, wherein each data point of the plurality of data points corresponds to at least one weather information source of a plurality of weather information sources; generating a weather report, wherein: the plurality of data points are used to generate the weather report; and the weather report comprises a weather condition; and generating for display a notification on a device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event and generating the weather report, wherein the notification indicates the weather condition.
Claim 1, 13, 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21, 30, 37 of U.S. Patent No. 11997174. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
U.S. Patent: 11997174
Instant Application:
21, 30, 37. A method comprising: receiving a first plurality of data points and a second plurality of data points wherein each data point of the first and second plurality of datapoints corresponds to at least one weather information source of a plurality of weather information sources; assigning a weight to each data point of the first plurality of data points; generating a first weather report for a first location, wherein the weight assigned to each data point of the first plurality of data points is used to generate the first weather report; generating a second weather report for a second location, using the second plurality of datapoints; recommending a route using the first weather report and the second weather report, wherein the first location is a first stop on the route and the second location is a second stop on the route; receiving a measurement from a sensor, wherein; the measurement corresponds to an estimated measurement included in the first weather report; , the sensor is located at a first position before the recommending of the route; the sensor is located at a second position after the recommending of the route; and the sensor detects the measurement at the second position; determining that the received measurement is different from the estimated measurement; and in response to determining that the received measurement is different from the estimated measurement, updating a first weight assigned to a first data point of the first plurality of datapoints.
1, 13, 20. A method comprising: receiving an event associated with a user profile, wherein the event corresponds to a first location and a first time period; receiving a plurality of data points, wherein each data point of the plurality of data points corresponds to at least one weather information source of a plurality of weather information sources; generating a weather report, wherein: the plurality of data points are used to generate the weather report; and the weather report comprises a weather condition; and generating for display a notification on a device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event and generating the weather report, wherein the notification indicates the weather condition.
Claim 1, 13, 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12328371. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
U.S. Patent: 12328371
Instant Application:
1, 10, 19. A method comprising: receiving a first event associated with a user profile, wherein the first event corresponds to a first location and a first time period; receiving a first plurality of data points corresponding to a second time period, wherein each data point of the first plurality of datapoints corresponds to at least one weather information source of a plurality of weather information sources; generating a first weather report associated with the second time period for the first location, wherein: the first plurality of data points are used to generate the first weather report; and the first weather report comprises a first weather condition; receiving a second plurality of data points corresponding to a third time period, wherein: each data point of the second plurality of datapoints corresponds to at least one weather information source of the plurality of weather information sources; and the third time period is after the second time period; generating a second weather report associated with the second time period for the first location, wherein: the second plurality of data points are used to generate the second weather report; and the second weather report comprises a second weather condition; determining a weather change at the first location based on a difference between the first weather condition of the first weather report and the second weather condition of the second weather report; and in response to determining the weather change at the first location, generating for display a notification on a device associated with the user profile, wherein the notification indicates the weather change.
1, 13, 20. A method comprising: receiving an event associated with a user profile, wherein the event corresponds to a first location and a first time period; receiving a plurality of data points, wherein each data point of the plurality of data points corresponds to at least one weather information source of a plurality of weather information sources; generating a weather report, wherein: the plurality of data points are used to generate the weather report; and the weather report comprises a weather condition; and generating for display a notification on a device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event and generating the weather report, wherein the notification indicates the weather condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stenneth et al., “hereinafter Stenneth” (U.S. Patent Application: 20170276834) in view of Yoshida et al., “hereinafter Yoshida” (U.S. Patent Application: 20020091692).
As per Claim 1, Stenneth discloses a method comprising:
receiving a plurality of data points, wherein each data point of the plurality of data points corresponds to at least one weather information source of a plurality of weather information sources (Stenneth, Para.06, one or more second weather stations are within a second distance threshold of the physical location indicated by the location information, the second distance threshold being greater than the first distance threshold, determining the weather estimation comprises: identifying one or more most recent weather reports, wherein each of the one or more most recent weather reports was provided by one of the one or more second weather stations, and assigning a value to one or more weather parameters of the weather estimation based on an average of corresponding weather parameters from the one or more most recent weather reports, Para.36, the estimate apparatus 10 may identify one or more weather stations. For example, the estimate apparatus 10 may comprise means, such as the processor 12, the communication interface 16 or the like, for identifying one or more weather stations. In an example embodiment, a plurality of weather reports have been received, for example, by the estimate apparatus 10.);
generating a weather report (Stenneth, Para.36, a plurality of weather reports have been received, for example, by the estimate apparatus 10. Each weather report may comprise weather information/data indicating a measurement for at least one weather parameter, a time stamp, a weather station identifier, station location information/data indicating the physical location of the weather station at the time the measurement of the at least one weather parameter was captured, and/or the like.), wherein: the plurality of data points are used to generate the weather report (Stenneth, Para.36, Each weather report may comprise weather information/data indicating a measurement for at least one weather parameter, a time stamp, a weather station identifier, station location information/data indicating the physical location of the weather station at the time the measurement of the at least one weather parameter was captured, and/or the like… a weather report may indicate that weather station KORD is located at 41.9786° N, 87.9047° W and at 1:04 pm CST on Mar. 7, 2016 captured weather parameter measurements indicating that the air temperature is 59.9° F., the dew point temperature is 49° F., current precipitation intensity is 0 inches per hour, current wind speed is 4 mph from the east-northeast, and/or the like.); and the weather report comprises a weather condition (Stenneth, Para.10, estimated future weather conditions at a particular location or web section are expected to be significant. Examples of significant weather are low visibility, high winds, black ice conditions, heavy precipitation that may lead to local flooding, precipitation type (e.g., freezing rain), and/or the like., Para.68, estimated future weather conditions at a particular location or web section are expected to be significant. Examples of significant weather are low visibility, high winds, black ice conditions, heavy precipitation that may lead to local flooding, precipitation type (e.g., freezing rain), and/or the like. In various embodiments, a significant weather alert may be based on a single weather parameter or multiple weather parameters.); and
generating for display a notification on a device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event and generating the weather report, wherein the notification indicates the weather condition (Stenneth, Para.68, a significant weather alert may be provided if it is estimated that current weather conditions at a particular location or web section are significant and/or that estimated future weather conditions at a particular location or web section are expected to be significant. Examples of significant weather are low visibility, high winds, black ice conditions, heavy precipitation that may lead to local flooding, precipitation type (e.g., freezing rain), and/or the like. In various embodiments, a significant weather alert may be based on a single weather parameter or multiple weather parameters, Para.70, the user apparatus 20 may receive the low visibility significant weather alert (e.g., via a communications interface thereof). In various embodiments, the user apparatus 20 may provide and/or display the significant weather alert through a user interface thereof, and/or the like. In example embodiments, the user apparatus 20 may make an audible signal, flash, or otherwise call the user's attention to the significant weather alert, Para.29, one mobile weather station 30 may be a smart phone, a device secured to a vehicle, a temporary weather station set up for a special event, and/or the like comprising one or more sensors 38 for detecting, measuring, sensing, and/or the like one or more weather parameters.).
however Stenneth does not disclose receiving an event associated with a user profile, wherein the event corresponds to a first location and a first time period.
Yoshida discloses receiving an event associated with a user profile, wherein the event corresponds to a first location and a first time period (Yoshida, Para.06, The system then provides the user a time and/or location at which weather conditions are within the parameter selections made by the user. The system also updates the pre-stored forecasted weather information and compares the user profile with the updated information. The system then notifies the user of additional or canceled times and/or locations at which the specific activity can be performed, or should not be performed, Para.30, System 10 notifies the user of appropriate dates and times when the forecasted weather conditions meet the user's personal profile. The notification occurs by system 10 accessing the user's electronic calendar and creating an entry for golf on the appropriate day at the appropriate time.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Stenneth with the teachings as in Yoshida. The motivation for doing so would have been for implementing a weather-based decision making method utilizes an input device and at least one server to receive a user preference profile for a specific activity, compare the user preference profile with pre-stored forecasted weather information, and provide the user a suggested time and/or location for the specific activity. (Yoshida, Para.5).
With respect to Claim 13 and 20 are substantially similar to Claim 1 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 2, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the weather condition comprises at least one of a temperature indicator, a humidity indicator, a cloud cover indicator, a precipitation indicator, a wind speed indicator, and a barometric pressure indicator (Stenneth, Para.68, significant weather are low visibility, high winds, black ice conditions, heavy precipitation that may lead to local flooding, precipitation type (e.g., freezing rain), and/or the like. In various embodiments, a significant weather alert may be based on a single weather parameter or multiple weather parameters.).
As per Claim 3, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining a characteristic associated with the event; and determining that the weather condition is not suitable for the event based, at least in part, on the characteristic associated with the first event, wherein the notification is generated for display on the device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event, generating the weather report, and determining that the weather condition is not suitable for the event (Yoshida, Para.06, The system also updates the pre-stored forecasted weather information and compares the user profile with the updated information. The system then notifies the user of additional or canceled times and/or locations at which the specific activity can be performed, or should not be performed., Para.28, The system determines 132 if the specified parameters are met or exceeded by any weather entries, and if so, notifies the user. The user is notified by sending information pertaining to the dates, times, and locations at which the user's weather parameters will be met or exceeded. The system transmits 134 the notification information through the Internet, via wireless communication devices, or via a telephone/fax and displays 136 the information to the user via a user interface. In one embodiment, the system has access to a user's electronic calendar and enters the time, location, and activity information directly in the calendar, Para.30, The notification occurs by system 10 accessing the user's electronic calendar and creating an entry for golf on the appropriate day at the appropriate time. If for some reason the user already has another activity scheduled for the selected time, system 10 searches for the next possible date and time when the forecasted weather is projected to meet the parameters of the user's profile.).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Stenneth, Yoshida as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 3.
With respect to Claim 14 are substantially similar to Claim 3 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 4, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving a trigger related to the event; and determining that the weather condition satisfies the trigger related to the event, wherein the notification is generated for display on the device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event, generating the weather report, and determining that the weather condition satisfies the trigger related to the event (Yoshida, Para.30, a user desires to play golf at a specific course (course x) when the temperature is between 65.degree. and 90.degree. F. and the humidity is below 70%. The individual is available for playing golf on Tuesdays all day, Thursday morning, or Friday afternoons. The user accesses system 10 and inputs the relevant information, i.e., the user's personal profile. The information is then transmitted to system 10. System 10 searches the pre-stored forecasted weather information and compares the pre-stored information with the information input by the user. System 10 notifies the user of appropriate dates and times when the forecasted weather conditions meet the user's personal profile. The notification occurs by system 10 accessing the user's electronic calendar and creating an entry for golf on the appropriate day at the appropriate time. If for some reason the user already has another activity scheduled for the selected time, system 10 searches for the next possible date and time when the forecasted weather is projected to meet the parameters of the user's profile.).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Stenneth, Yoshida as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 4.
With respect to Claim 15 are substantially similar to Claim 3 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 5, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the notification is generated for display at a predetermined time before the first time period (Stenneth, Para.30, The weather estimate may then be provided to the user (e.g., through the user apparatus 20) or other computing entity. In various embodiments, significant weather alerts may be provided to the user or other computing entity in addition and/or in place of the weather estimate, Para.41, the user apparatus 20 may provide and/or display the weather estimate through a user interface thereof, provide one or more alerts to a user (e.g., through a user interface) based on the weather estimate, and/or the like.) (Yoshida, Para.28, The system determines 132 if the specified parameters are met or exceeded by any weather entries, and if so, notifies the user. The user is notified by sending information pertaining to the dates, times, and locations at which the user's weather parameters will be met or exceeded).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Stenneth, Yoshida as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 5.
As per Claim 6, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising determining, at the predetermined time, that the weather report is the most recent weather report (Stenneth, Para.08, the weather estimation is for past weather conditions, current weather conditions, forecasted weather conditions, or some combination thereof. In example embodiments, the request location information is determined by a user computing device and indicates the past, current, or future physical location of a user, Para.10, identify one or more most recent weather reports, wherein each of the one or more most recent weather reports was provided by one of the one or more second weather stations, and assign a value to one or more weather parameters of the weather estimation based on an average of corresponding weather parameters from the one or more most recent weather reports.).
As per Claim 7, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising receiving the predetermined time from the device associated with the user profile (Yoshida, Para.27, After a user logs on to a weather-based decision making system (such as system 60 shown in FIG. 4), the system displays 124 a graphical user interface to the user to prompt the user to enter 126 a personal weather profile for a specific activity. The profile includes weather parameters such as precipitation, wind, air temperature, humidity, location (latitude and longitude), road conditions, cross winds, visibility and time, as well as other parameters pertinent to the specific activity chosen by the user. The parameters can be entered as either a discreet number (3:00 PM Saturday, May 25, 2001), a range (65-75 degrees Fahrenheit), or maximums and minimums (less than 60% humidity), for a given time and/or location.).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Stenneth, Yoshida as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 7.
With respect to Claim 16 are substantially similar to Claim 6, 7 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 10, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising determining that the weather condition of the weather report exceeds a threshold, wherein the notification is generated for display on the device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event, generating the weather report, and determining that the weather condition of the weather report exceeds the threshold (Stenneth, Para.07, determining if a particular weather parameter or a combined parameter determined based on two or more weather parameters is greater than or less than a corresponding threshold parameter, Para.72, it is determined if the BIC parameter is greater than a BIC threshold T.sub.B. For example, the estimate apparatus 10 may determine if the BIC parameter is greater than a BIC threshold T.sub.B. For example, the estimate apparatus 10 may comprise means, such as the processor 12 or the like, for determining if the BIC parameter is greater than a BIC threshold T.sub.B. For example, the BIC threshold T.sub.B may be a BIC parameter that indicates that the likelihood of black ice being present is 50%, 75%, 80%, and/or the like. If the BIC parameter is greater than the BIC threshold T.sub.B, then the process continues to block 612. At block 612, a black ice alert is provided… the user apparatus 20 may receive the black ice significant weather alert (e.g., via a communications interface thereof). In various embodiments, the user apparatus 20 may provide and/or display the significant weather alert through a user interface thereof, and/or the like. In example embodiments, the user apparatus 20 may make an audible signal, flash, or otherwise call the user's attention to the significant weather alert.).
With respect to Claim 19 are substantially similar to Claim 10 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 11, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising receiving the threshold from the device associated with the user profile (Yoshida, Para.14, the system provides the best time and the best location for the selected activity. The system continues to monitor 8 the weather database as the database is updated to determine when to notify the user that input weather parameters have been met or exceeded, Para.28, The system determines 132 if the specified parameters are met or exceeded by any weather entries, and if so, notifies the user. The user is notified by sending information pertaining to the dates, times, and locations at which the user's weather parameters will be met or exceeded. The system transmits 134 the notification information through the Internet, via wireless communication devices, or via a telephone/fax and displays 136 the information to the user via a user interface. In one embodiment, the system has access to a user's electronic calendar and enters the time, location, and activity information directly in the calendar.).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Stenneth, Yoshida as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 11.
As per Claim 12, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the notification suggests rescheduling the event (Yoshida, Para.06, The system then notifies the user of additional or canceled times and/or locations at which the specific activity can be performed, or should not be performed. , Para.30, System 10 notifies the user of appropriate dates and times when the forecasted weather conditions meet the user's personal profile. The notification occurs by system 10 accessing the user's electronic calendar and creating an entry for golf on the appropriate day at the appropriate time. If for some reason the user already has another activity scheduled for the selected time, system 10 searches for the next possible date and time when the forecasted weather is projected to meet the parameters of the user's profile.).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Stenneth, Yoshida as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 12.
Claims 8-9, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stenneth et al., “hereinafter Stenneth” (U.S. Patent Application: 20170276834) in view of Yoshida et al., “hereinafter Yoshida” (U.S. Patent Application: 20020091692) and further in view of Hankers et al., “hereinafter Hankers” (U.S. Patent Application: 20120147030).
As per Claim 8, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving a weather forecast related to the first location for the first time period; wherein the notification is generated for display on the device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event, generating the weather report (Stenneth, Para.32, a weather estimate may comprise estimated values for one or more of air temperature, dew point temperature, barometric pressure, visibility, humidity, precipitation intensity, precipitation type, and/or the like. In various embodiments, a weather estimate may comprise estimated values for one or more current weather parameters and/or one or more forecasted weather parameters, Yoshida, Para.05, the wind speed significant weather alert may indicate the estimated wind speed (sustained or gusts), a perceived temperature based on the effect of the wind (e.g., wind chill), and/or other information/data that a user may find helpful in dealing with the current and/or forecasted wind condition.).
However Stenneth in view of Yoshida do not disclose determining that the weather condition of the weather report is different than one or more weather conditions of the weather forecast, and determining that the weather condition of the weather report is different than one or more weather conditions of the weather forecast.
Hankers discloses determining that the weather condition of the weather report is different than one or more weather conditions of the weather forecast, and determining that the weather condition of the weather report is different than one or more weather conditions of the weather forecast (Hankers, Para.18, The text-based weather reports may include aviation routine weather reports or aerodrome routine meteorological reports, referred to as "METAR" reports, periodically broadcast by airports or permanent weather observation stations. METAR reports contain encoded information regarding current weather conditions at the airport or station, such as wind speed and direction, visibility, cloud ceiling, temperature, dew point, barometric pressure, and the like. A METAR report may also contain information on precipitation amounts, lightning, runway visual range, and other information that would be of particular interest to the flight crew of an aircraft. METAR reports are typically generated once an hour, but if conditions change significantly, they can be updated in special interim reports (referred to as "SPECI" reports), Para.23, Each of the follow-on lines indicates a new forecast period. For example, at 12:00 UTC ("FM091200"), the TAF forecasts winds changing to 070.degree. at 5 knots ("07005KT"), visibility of one statute-mile ("1SM"), light mist ("BR"), and an overcast cloud layer at 800 feet above ground ("OVC008"). Similarly, at 13:00 UTC ("FM091300"), the TAF forecasts winds changing to 060.degree. at 5 knots ("06005KT"), visibility of four statute-miles ("4SM"), and a broken cloud layer at 1500 feet ("BKN015").).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Stenneth, Yoshida with the teachings as in Hankers. The motivation for doing so would have been for integrating geo-spatially enabled and time-encoded textual weather information into a graphical map display. According to embodiments presented herein, time-encoded textual weather information regarding one or more geographic locations is received, parsed, and interpreted in light of a temporal context of the graphical map display. Weather symbology relating the weather conditions within the temporal context of the graphical map display is generated from the parsed textual weather information and displayed at positions on the map corresponding to the geographic locations. In one embodiment, the weather symbology comprises weather pictograms that relate past, current, and future weather conditions at the corresponding geographic locations according to the temporal context of the graphical map display (Hankers, Para.6).
With respect to Claim 17 are substantially similar to Claim 3 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 9, Stenneth in view of Yoshida discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
accessing a previous weather report, wherein the previous weather report comprises a previous weather condition; (Stenneth, Para.08, the weather estimation is for past weather conditions, current weather conditions, forecasted weather conditions, or some combination thereof. In example embodiments, the request location information is determined by a user computing device and indicates the past, current, or future physical location of a user. In example embodiments, at least one of the one or more weather stations has a fixed location, at least one of the one or more weather stations has a non-fixed location, or both, Para.68, a significant weather alert may include an alert of high winds and an alert of heavy precipitation. In another embodiment, separate alerts may be sent for each significant weather alert. For example, one significant weather alert may be provided for a low visibility alert and another significant weather alert may be provided for a precipitation type alert. In some embodiments, a significant weather alert may be based a combination of various weather parameters. For example, a determination that black ice conditions are likely or are forecasted to be present at a particular location or web section may be based on a combination of the air temperature and a cumulative amount of precipitation received over the past hour, past 6 hours, past day, and/or the like.).
however Stenneth in view of Yoshida does not disclose determining that the weather condition of the weather report is different than the previous weather condition of the previous weather report, wherein the notification is generated for display on the device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event, generating the weather report, and determining that the weather condition of the weather report is different than the previous weather condition of the previous weather report.
Hankers discloses determining that the weather condition of the weather report is different than the previous weather condition of the previous weather report, wherein the notification is generated for display on the device associated with the user profile based, at least in part, on receiving the event, generating the weather report, and determining that the weather condition of the weather report is different than the previous weather condition of the previous weather report (Hankers, Para.18, The text-based weather reports may include aviation routine weather reports or aerodrome routine meteorological reports, referred to as "METAR" reports, periodically broadcast by airports or permanent weather observation stations. METAR reports contain encoded information regarding current weather conditions at the airport or station, such as wind speed and direction, visibility, cloud ceiling, temperature, dew point, barometric pressure, and the like. A METAR report may also contain information on precipitation amounts, lightning, runway visual range, and other information that would be of particular interest to the flight crew of an aircraft. METAR reports are typically generated once an hour, but if conditions change significantly, they can be updated in special interim reports (referred to as "SPECI" reports), Para.23, Each of the follow-on lines indicates a new forecast period. For example, at 12:00 UTC ("FM091200"), the TAF forecasts winds changing to 070.degree. at 5 knots ("07005KT"), visibility of one statute-mile ("1SM"), light mist ("BR"), and an overcast cloud layer at 800 feet above ground ("OVC008"). Similarly, at 13:00 UTC ("FM091300"), the TAF forecasts winds changing to 060.degree. at 5 knots ("06005KT"), visibility of four statute-miles ("4SM"), and a broken cloud layer at 1500 feet ("BKN015").).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Stenneth, Yoshida with the teachings as in Hankers. The motivation for doing so would have been for integrating geo-spatially enabled and time-encoded textual weather information into a graphical map display. According to embodiments presented herein, time-encoded textual weather information regarding one or more geographic locations is received, parsed, and interpreted in light of a temporal context of the graphical map display. Weather symbology relating the weather conditions within the temporal context of the graphical map display is generated from the parsed textual weather information and displayed at positions on the map corresponding to the geographic locations. In one embodiment, the weather symbology comprises weather pictograms that relate past, current, and future weather conditions at the corresponding geographic locations according to the temporal context of the graphical map display (Hankers, Para.6).
With respect to Claim 18 are substantially similar to Claim 9 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
Conclusion
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449