DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed October 01, 2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 13 and 17 have been amended.
The amendment to claim 13 is sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection and 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections of claim 13 from the previous Office action. Those rejection are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Applicant argues, in the paragraph bridging pages 7 and 8 of the response, that the general programmability of the field-programmable gate array (FPGA) disclosed in Li-2018 does not establish that the system is configured to deliver focused ultrasound for at least 150 seconds. Applicant further contends that the rejection merely establishes that the system could be modified to operate differently, which is insufficient to establish express or inherent disclosure.
In response, Applicant's arguments are based on an incorrect interpretation of the claim limitation. As explained in the previous Office Action, the disputed "configured to" limitation is interpreted as functional language reciting a capability of the claimed system, rather than requiring actual performance of the associated operation. This interpretation is consistent with the Board Decision dated March 17, 2025, in parent application No. 16/586,357, at page 4, footnote 3, which expressly states:
“3We note that Appellant's arguments related to the claimed method steps do not necessarily apply to the system of claim 11. This is because the "configured to" language in the system claim does not require the associated method step be performed. Rather, the "configured to" language is a recitation of intended use. A recitation of intended use in a claim must result in a structural difference over the prior art in order to overcome an anticipation rejection, and if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”.
“The ‘configured to’ language in the system claim does not require the associated method step be performed. Rather, the ‘configured to’ language is a recitation of intended use. A recitation of intended use in a claim must result in a structural difference over the prior art in order to overcome an anticipation rejection, and if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997).” Applicant has not established that the disputed limitation requires any structural distinction over the system disclosed in Li-2018 or otherwise rebutted the Examiner's claim interpretation. Accordingly, the limitation is met by Li-2018.
As set forth in the previous Office Action, Li-2018 discloses a system comprising a pulse generator that includes a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) (see the cited paragraph on page 1584). The FPGA provides programmability of the pulse generator, thereby rendering the system capable of delivering focused ultrasound for at least 150 seconds. Applicant's contention that the system "might be modified to operate differently" does not overcome the rejection. The Examiner's position is that the claimed system limitation recites a capability, not a requirement that the associated operation actually be performed.
In view of the foregoing, and consistent with the Board's interpretation of the "configured to" language in the above-referenced decision, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained for the reasons set forth in the previous Office Action
New Rejections necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 17 now recites that the controller is configured to determine ISPTA of the delivered focused ultrasound energy. However, while the disclose a method/process that include determination of ISPTA, and further discloses a controller (see e.g., cited portions of support of amendment in the response), there is no written description that the controller is configured to determine ISPTA as claimed. In view of these, the amendment to claim 17 fails to convey to those of ordinary skill in the art that the Applicant was in possession of the invention now claimed.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applicant cited Li et al., "Image-Guided Dual-Target Neuromodulation of the Mouse Brain Using Array Ultrasound" (“Li-2018”) as evidenced by Applicant cited Li et al., “Improved Anatomical Specificity of Nain-Invasive Neuro-stimulation by High Frequency (5MHz) Ultrasound” hereinafter “Li-2016”.
Regarding claim 11, Li-2018 discloses system (page 1584, right column, first full paragraph and continuing to page 1585, Fig. 2 (a)) comprising: a dual-mode ultrasound transducer configured to deliver focused ultrasound energy; and a controller operably coupled to the dual-mode ultrasound transducer, the controller configured to drive the dual-mode ultrasound transducer to deliver focused ultrasound energy (page 1586. Fig. 5 text “Size of the acoustic focus of the dual-mode transducer”, see illustration Fig. 5(a), two focus locations are illustrated).
In regards to the recitation to cause heating of target nervous system tissue for at least about 150 seconds tissue to reversibly modulate neural activity, this recitation is directed to functional language or a capability of the claimed system (i.e. effects imparted by the claimed system). it is to be noted here that the claims under examinations are directed to an apparatus (system). A claim term is functional when it recites a feature “by what it does rather than by what it is”. Additionally, “A functional limitation is often used in association with an element, ingredient, or step of a process to define a particular capability or purpose that is served by the recited element, ingredient or step. In Innova/Pure Water Inc. v. Safari Water Filtration Sys. Inc., 381 F.3d 1111, 1117-20, 72 USPQ2d 1001, 1006-08 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (MPEP 2173.05(g)). While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In the instant case, the system of Li-2018 comprise a pulse generator that comprise a field-programmable gate array (FGPA) - see cited paragraph in page 1584, the system of Li-2018 is therefore programmable to deliver focused ultrasound for at least 150 seconds.
In regards to cause heating of target nervous system tissue, in page 1588, paragraph bridging left and right column, with reference to Fig. 6, 5 Mhz ultrasound stimulation was applied; further, in page 1584, left column, third full paragraph, “This study is the first to utilize array technology specifically for dual-target neuromodulation in small animals. Our previous study successfully applied 5-MHz ultrasound for neuromodulation with improved anatomical specificity in the mouse brain [31]”. It is examiner’s position that ultrasound neuromodulation in Li-2018 would cause heating the target nervous tissue as citation 31 in Li-2018 discloses the effects of 5 MHz stimulation. Citations 31 is Li-2016, in page 5 of Li-2016, section titled “Evaluation of temperature and safety”,5Mhz stimulation is causes heating, in view of peak temperature of 1.6oC, and the teaching that the temperature may vary, by varying duration of stimulus. As such, the system of Li-2018 is capable of causing heating of target nervous tissue, by varying duration of the 5 Mhz ultrasound stimulus via the programmable (FPGA) pulse generator.
Regarding claim 13, see 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections above, in view of Li-2018, page 1584, the dual-mode transducer is capable of or is configured to be positioned outside of a subject’s skull.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, see discussion in claim 11 above with reference to Li-2016, by adjusting the parameters of the programmable pulse generator, the delivered ultrasound energy will be configured to heat the target tissue to a temperature above 2oC and for a duration of at least 180 seconds as desired, i.e., the system of Li-2018 is configured i.e., programable, to adjust the parameters of the focused ultrasound energy to heat the nervous tissue more than 2 degrees or to deliver the focused ultrasound energy for at least 180 seconds, if desired.
Regarding claims 16 and 18, these recitations are directed to a property of the focused ultrasound energy, examiner notes that the programmable pulse generator is programmable, hence configured to generate the property and/or effect of the focused ultrasound energy recited in the claims at the target nervous tissue, i.e., the pulse generator is programmable such that the ISPTA, at target nervous tissue will be above 0.3 W/cm2, the pulse generator is programmable such that the focused ultrasound energy will have a duty cycle of 10%, as these limitations are attributes to a property of the focused ultrasound energy that are adjustable by the programmable pulse generator.
Regarding claim 17, in view of Li-2016, page 7, fifth paragraph regarding the 5 MHz neuromodulation being safe for brain tissue, infers that the ISPTA of the delivered focused ultrasound energy does not damage target nervous system tissue and the controller of Li-2018 is programmable to perform this function.
Regarding claim 19, the carrier frequency of 5 MHz in LI-2018 as discussed in claim 11 above, is at least 1 Mhz.
Regarding claim 20, see Fig. 5 in page 1586 of Li-2018, the depicted focal spots are less than 5 mm in at least two dimensions. Examiner further notes that the programmable pulse generator of Li-2018 is configured to adjust the focal spot to meet this claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li-2018 as evidenced by Li-2016.
Regarding claim 12, as discussed in claim 1 above, Li-2018 does not explicitly disclose at least one other dual-mode transducer to provide the focused ultrasound energy, however, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the dual-mode ultrasound transducer in order to perform the same function of the disclosed dual-mode transducer considering that it is well-known and common practice to use more than one ultrasound transducer to target a nerve tissue for stimulation, and/or since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797