DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“optical measurement unit” in claims 1-3, 11, 13-14;
“control unit” in claims 1, 6, 11-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzuang et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20230014034).
As to claim 1, Tzuang teaches a system for measuring frequency of a light signal from a chirped laser source (paragraph 0032 “The LiDAR chirp linearization system 1000 functions to form a laser linearization loop that measures an instantaneous frequency of the chirped laser signal of the laser 1100”), said system comprising:
an optical measurement unit (Figure 1) configured
to receive at least a portion of the light signal (paragraph 0030 “an optical tap between the laser 1100 and the first splitter 1110 serves to reserve a relatively small but sufficient amount of optical power for linearization which is delivered to the splitter 1110”), and
to output, via an optical hybrid coupler (Figure 1, paragraph 0031 “optical 90° hybrid unit 2000”), at least two angle diversity signals (Figure 1, “Four signals are output from the optical 90° hybrid unit 2000, namely, a pair of I-channel signals I+, I−, and a pair of Q-channel signals Q+, Q−, over respective waveguides”) based on a difference between a first and second signal formed by splitting the at least portion of the light signal (paragraph 0031 “The optical outputs from the delay element 1120 and the polarization controller 1130 are optically combined in an optical 90° hybrid unit 2000”),
wherein the second signal is delayed relative to the first signal (Figure 1, paragraph 0031 “delay element 1120”), and
wherein a pair of signals of the at least two angle diversity signals have a fixed phase shift relative to each other (Figure 2, paragraph 0038 “The purpose the phase shifters 2300 and 2400 is to provide a 90° IF signal phase shift between the I+/I− channels and the Q+/Q− channels.”); and
a control unit (Figure 1, paragraph 0031 “micro-processor/FPGA 1200”) configured to:
receive the at least two angle diversity signals (Figure 1, paragraph 0031 “Electrical and typically digital outputs of the I-channel and Q-channel receivers are coupled to a micro-processor/FPGA 1200.”), and
determine an instantaneous phase of the complex signal for determining an instantaneous frequency of the light signal (paragraph 0041 “The I+/I− and Q+/Q− signal pairs output from the optical 90° hybrid unit 2000 are measured by the I-channel and Q-channel receivers (1140 and 1150), which convert the optical I and Q signals into digital electrical signals which are then forwarded on to the mircro-processor/FPGA 1200. In some embodiments, the I-channel and Q-channel receivers 1140 1150 include photodetectors for converting optical power into currents, transimpedance amplifiers (TIAs) for converting currents into voltage, and analog to digital converters (ADCs) for generating the digital data from the voltages. The I/Q detection, in particular, analysis of the instantaneous phase of the IF signal, provides very accurate measurement corresponding directly to the instantaneous frequency”, see also the flowchart of Figure 3).
Tzuang does not explicitly teach generating a complex signal, based on the at least two angle diversity signals. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to generate such a complex signal, since while Tzuang does not explicitly teach a complex signal, Tzuang teaches the creation of IQ signals (Tzuang paragraph 0041 “convert the optical I and Q signals into digital electrical signals which are then forwarded on to the mircro-processor/FPGA 1200”) corresponding to the applicant’s “angle diversity signals” (see applicant’s Figure 3, elements 124 & 128, and Tzuang Figure 1, elements 2000, 1140, 1150), which are used to generate the desired results (Tzuang paragraph 0041 “The I/Q detection, in particular, analysis of the instantaneous phase of the IF signal, provides very accurate measurement corresponding directly to the instantaneous frequency”) corresponding to the applicant’s results (instant specification page 28, lines 20-25 “In a sense, the IQ signal is another type of the I.sub.1 signal but in a complex domain (i.e., having a same phase). By creating the IQ signal, the phase of I.sub.1 can be easily extracted (e.g., since complex signals are easier, more real-time, and more accurate to extract phases from). Then, the phase of the signal I.sub.1 corresponds to the instantaneous frequency of the laser source.”).
It is common in the art of signal analysis to manipulate the detector signals, and doing so in the claimed manner would have taken only ordinary engineering experience. See MPEP 2145(X)B. In this case it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to generate a complex signal during signal analysis, in order to provide very accurate measurements of the instantaneous frequency.
As to claim 2, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition the optical measurement unit (Figure 1) comprises an interferometer structure configured to split the at least portion of the light signal into the first signal (FIgure 1, line from element 1110 to 1130) and the second signal (Figure 1, line from element 1110 to 1120), and to delay the second signal relative to the first signal (Figure 1, element 1120 “Delay”).
As to claim 5, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition the optical hybrid coupler comprises at least one multiple mode interferometer, MMI (paragraph 0031 “using directional couplers, tapered couplers, or MMIs as splitters and combiners”).
As to claim 6, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition an Analog-to-Digital Converter, ADC, wherein the ADC is configured to convert an analog input signal to the control unit, based on the at least two angle diversity signals, into a digital signal (paragraph 0041 “ the I-channel and Q-channel receivers 1140 1150 include … analog to digital converters (ADCs) for generating the digital data from the voltages”).
As to claim 7, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition the complex signal is represented in a digital domain (paragraph 0041 “ the I-channel and Q-channel receivers 1140 1150 include … analog to digital converters (ADCs) for generating the digital data from the voltages”) based on a sum of the at least two angle diversity signals (Figure 2, the I+/I- signals produced by elements 2500 & 2600 are based on the combined output from elements 2100 and 2200) when each angle diversity signal is assigned a matched phase term (Figure 2, paragraph 0038 “The purpose the phase shifters 2300 and 2400 is to provide a 90° IF signal phase shift between the I+/I− channels and the Q+/Q− channels.”).
As to claim 8, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition the instantaneous phase of the complex signal is determined based on sample-by-sample calculations (paragraph 0047 “In some embodiments, the linearization process can be performed in real-time, in which the I/Q data is collected in real time while the LiDAR system is actively operating to perform detection and ranging. In such an embodiment, the digital chirp waveform is updated as soon as the linearization on all chirp segments is complete (or acceptable), and thereafter, may be repeated indefinitely while the LiDAR system is in operation to maintain and/or continuously improve linearization.” corresponding to applicant’s page 12, lines 25-32).
As to claim 11, Tzuang teaches a laser system comprising:
a chirped laser source (Figure 1, paragraph 0032 “chirped laser signal of the laser 1100”, see also paragraph 0025), and
a system for measuring frequency of a light signal from a chirped laser source (paragraph 0032 “The LiDAR chirp linearization system 1000 functions to form a laser linearization loop that measures an instantaneous frequency of the chirped laser signal of the laser 1100”), said system comprising:
an optical measurement unit (Figure 1) configured
to receive at least a portion of the light signal (paragraph 0030 “an optical tap between the laser 1100 and the first splitter 1110 serves to reserve a relatively small but sufficient amount of optical power for linearization which is delivered to the splitter 1110”), and
to output, via an optical hybrid coupler (Figure 1, paragraph 0031 “optical 90° hybrid unit 2000”), at least two angle diversity signals (Figure 1, “Four signals are output from the optical 90° hybrid unit 2000, namely, a pair of I-channel signals I+, I−, and a pair of Q-channel signals Q+, Q−, over respective waveguides”) based on a difference between a first and second signal formed by splitting the at least portion of the light signal (paragraph 0031 “The optical outputs from the delay element 1120 and the polarization controller 1130 are optically combined in an optical 90° hybrid unit 2000”),
wherein the second signal is delayed relative to the first signal (Figure 1, paragraph 0031 “delay element 1120”), and
wherein a pair of signals of the at least two angle diversity signals have a fixed phase shift relative to each other (Figure 2, paragraph 0038 “The purpose the phase shifters 2300 and 2400 is to provide a 90° IF signal phase shift between the I+/I− channels and the Q+/Q− channels.”); and
a control unit (Figure 1, paragraph 0031 “micro-processor/FPGA 1200”) configured to:
receive the at least two angle diversity signals (Figure 1, paragraph 0031 “Electrical and typically digital outputs of the I-channel and Q-channel receivers are coupled to a micro-processor/FPGA 1200.”), and
determine an instantaneous phase of the complex signal for determining an instantaneous frequency of the light signal (paragraph 0041 “The I+/I− and Q+/Q− signal pairs output from the optical 90° hybrid unit 2000 are measured by the I-channel and Q-channel receivers (1140 and 1150), which convert the optical I and Q signals into digital electrical signals which are then forwarded on to the mircro-processor/FPGA 1200. In some embodiments, the I-channel and Q-channel receivers 1140 1150 include photodetectors for converting optical power into currents, transimpedance amplifiers (TIAs) for converting currents into voltage, and analog to digital converters (ADCs) for generating the digital data from the voltages. The I/Q detection, in particular, analysis of the instantaneous phase of the IF signal, provides very accurate measurement corresponding directly to the instantaneous frequency”, see also the flowchart of Figure 3).
wherein the control unit is configured to determine, based on a plurality of determined instantaneous frequencies during a chirp of the chirped laser source, a compensation signal to improve a linearity of the light signal (paragraph 0005 “Some embodiments further provide for a processing and driving circuit for receiving the I-channel and Q-channel digital data, determining an instantaneous phase of the IF optical signal from the I-channel and Q-channel digital data, pre-distorting digital chirp waveform data with use of the instantaneous phase of the IF optical signal generating new pre-distorted digital chirp waveform data for driving the laser to produce the chirped laser signal with improved linearity, and driving the laser with the new pre-distorted digital chirp waveform.”, see also paragraph 0041 “The I/Q detection, in particular, analysis of the instantaneous phase of the IF signal, provides very accurate measurement corresponding directly to the instantaneous frequency”).
Tzuang does not explicitly teach generating a complex signal, based on the at least two angle diversity signals. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to generate such a complex signal, since while Tzuang does not explicitly teach a complex signal, Tzuang teaches the creation of IQ signals (Tzuang paragraph 0041 “convert the optical I and Q signals into digital electrical signals which are then forwarded on to the mircro-processor/FPGA 1200”) corresponding to the applicant’s “angle diversity signals” (see applicant’s Figure 3, elements 124 & 128, and Tzuang Figure 1, elements 2000, 1140, 1150), which are used to generate results (Tzuang paragraph 0041 “The I/Q detection, in particular, analysis of the instantaneous phase of the IF signal, provides very accurate measurement corresponding directly to the instantaneous frequency”) corresponding to the applicant’s results (instant specification page 28, lines 20-25 “In a sense, the IQ signal is another type of the I.sub.1 signal but in a complex domain (i.e., having a same phase). By creating the IQ signal, the phase of I.sub.1 can be easily extracted (e.g., since complex signals are easier, more real-time, and more accurate to extract phases from). Then, the phase of the signal I.sub.1 corresponds to the instantaneous frequency of the laser source.”).
It is common in the art of signal analysis to manipulate the detector signals, and doing so in the claimed manner would have taken only ordinary engineering experience. See MPEP 2145(X)B. In this case it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to generate a complex signal during signal analysis, in order to provide very accurate measurements of the instantaneous frequency.
As to claim 12, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 11, in addition the control unit is configured to, by processing the complex signal, estimate a non-linearity of the light signal, perform pre-distortion calculations, and output the compensation signal (paragraph 0032 “The LiDAR chirp linearization system 1000 functions to form a laser linearization loop that measures an instantaneous frequency of the chirped laser signal of the laser 1100, determines what non-linearities are exhibited by that chirped laser signal, and corrects its chirp linearity by updating the chirp profile of the digital chirp waveform used to drive the laser 1100.”),
wherein a Digital-to-Analog Converter, DAC, is configured to convert the processed complex signal into the compensation signal (paragraph 0041 “The function generator 1300 stores a buffered waveform which is to be provided to the laser driver 1400 which produces an instantaneously changing analog drive current (or voltage) to modulate the frequency of the laser 1100.”).
As to claim 13, the method would flow from claim 1.
As to claim 14, the method would flow from claims 2 and 3.
Claims 3, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzuang, and further in view of Uesaka et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20150085292).
As to claim 3, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition the optical measurement unit comprises at least two [photodetectors] for detecting the at least two angle diversity signals (paragraph 0031 “The I-channel receiver 1140 and Q-channel receiver 1150, may, for example, include photodetectors, TIAs, and high speed ADCs (analog to digital converters).”).
Tzuang does not explicitly teach the use of photodiodes. However, it is known in the art as taught by Uesaka. Uesaka teaches a wavelength monitor (Figure 6, Abstract “Provided are an optical element and a wavelength monitor capable of detecting a wavelength with high accuracy and at high speed”) using photodiodes (Figure 6, elements PD1, PD2, paragraph 0011 “a first photodiode and a second photodiode”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use photodiodes, in order to take advantage of their fast response time, high light sensitivity and linearity.
As to claim 10, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition the at least portion of the light signal, represented by E(t) (paragraph 0030 “an optical tap between the laser 1100 and the first splitter 1110 serves to reserve a relatively small but sufficient amount of optical power for linearization which is delivered to the splitter 1110”), is split into the first signal, represented by E1(t) (Figure 1, the LO line between elements 1110 and 1130), and the second signal, represented by E2(t) (Figure 1, the SIGNAL line between elements 1110 and 1120), wherein the second signal is configured to travel through a delay line for delaying the second signal, E2(t-τ), with a time delay τ, relative to the first signal,
wherein the first and second signals with different time delays, E1(t),E2(t-τ), are configured to be split and merged into the at least two angle diversity signals via the optical hybrid coupler (Figure 2 shows the details of element 2000, where the input signals are split & recombined to output the I+/I- & Q+/Q- signals),
wherein each angle diversity signal is configured to be detected by a respective [photodetector] (paragraph 0031 “The I-channel receiver 1140 and Q-channel receiver 1150, may, for example, include photodetectors, TIAs, and high speed ADCs (analog to digital converters).”),
wherein a phase of a first detected angle diversity signal, corresponds to a phase finite difference, with delay τ, of the light signal (paragraph 0038 “The purpose the phase shifters 2300 and 2400 is to provide a 90° IF signal phase shift between the I+/I− channels and the Q+/Q− channels. In order for the IF signal of the Q+/Q− pair to have a relative IF signal phase shift of 90° with respect to the I+/I− pair, the optical phase shifts provided by the first phase shifter 2300 and the second phase shifter 2400 are arranged such that a difference between the optical phase shifts they each impart is the equivalent of a 90° optical phase shift.” and element 1120 delays the signal to element 2200), and
wherein the phase finite difference is used to estimate the instantaneous frequency of the light signal (paragraph 0039 “Since the 90° relative phase of the combined optical signals caused by the phase shifters causes a 90° relative shift in the resultant IF signal in the output of the combiner, a usable I/Q signal pair of IF signals is produced independent of the actual difference in frequency, which as a consequence of any non-linearity in the actual chirp segment, varies. At times when the resulting chirp segment in the output signal deviates markedly from the desired chirp signal, especially near the chirp segment edges, this is particularly useful since it allows measurement of the actual instantaneous IF phase which corresponds to the actual instantaneous optical frequency.”).
Tzuang does not explicitly teach the use of photodiodes. However, it is known in the art as taught by Uesaka. Uesaka teaches using photodiodes (Figure 6, elements PD1, PD2, paragraph 0011 “a first photodiode and a second photodiode”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use photodiodes, in order to take advantage of their fast response time, high light sensitivity and linearity.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzuang, and further in view of Tavallaee et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20220094140).
As to claim 4, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of the system is integrated onto a single semiconductor chip, or wherein the system is fiber-based. However, it is known in the art as taught by Tavallaee. Tavallaee teaches a laser light source with chirp monitoring & correcting (paragraph 0089 “the system may monitor and/or analyze the chirp linearity associated with the LiDAR output signal” and “The system may then proceed to 807 and apply a linearity correction to the ECL. The linearity correction may adjust the bias voltage in order to improve the chirp linearity associated with the output signal of the ECL or the LiDAR output signal.”) where the system is integrated onto a single semiconductor chip (Figure 1, paragraph 0024 “The PIC 101 may include a tunable laser, either on-chip or off-chip, along with a plurality of photonic components such as waveguides, splitters, directional couplers, interferometers (e.g., Mach-Zehnder interferometers), and photodetectors for generating, transmitting, and/or receiving light signals.” and paragraph 0026 “all or a portion of the disclosed electronics may be included on the chip including electronics that may be integrated with the chip”), or wherein the system is fiber-based. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the system is integrated onto a single semiconductor chip, or wherein the system is fiber-based, in order to reduce the feedback response time.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzuang, and further in view of Parker et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20190199061).
As to claim 9, Tzuang teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of the determined instantaneous phase of the complex signal is adjusted based on phase unwrapping calculations to account for instantaneous phase values exceeding 2π. However, it is known in the art as taught by Parker. Parker teaches laser wavelength control (Figure 1, Abstract “Described are various configurations of integrated wavelength lockers”) in which the determined instantaneous phase of the complex signal is adjusted based on phase unwrapping calculations to account for instantaneous phase values exceeding 2π (paragraph 0043 “ From the I and Q responses 316, 317, the filter phase φ.sub.filter can be straightforwardly extracted, e.g., using the two-argument arctangent function (which resolves the ambiguity of the arctangent function by considering the signs of the sine and cosine separately). FIG. 3D shows the (phase-wrapped) filter phase φ.sub.filter 318 calculated based on the I and Q responses. As can be seen, the phase 318 of the filter is linear from −180 to 180 degrees over the entire filter period (or FSR) of the filter. Compared with the response 209 of a single detector as shown in FIG. 2B or the balanced detector response 214 shown in FIG. 2D, where a phase determination near the peak or null of the response is ambiguous as phases to either side of the phase or null result in the same photocurrent, the filter phase 318 in FIG. 3D can be determined uniquely within the filter period (or FSR).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the determined instantaneous phase of the complex signal be adjusted based on phase unwrapping calculations to account for instantaneous phase values exceeding 2π, in order to better control the laser source.
Conclusion
/J.C.U/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877