DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 05/08/2025.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “specifying unit”, “extraction unit”, “concealment unit”, “verification unit”, “issuance device”, “holding device”, “verification device”, “processing device”, “acceptance unit” as recited in claims 1-13 respectively.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations: e.g., figs. 1-6, 10-13, 15-18, and [0020]-[0048], [0056]-[0057], [0061]-[0088], [0092]-[0104], [0108]-[0121], [0133]-[0155] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the qualification”, however it is unclear whether it refers to “a qualification of the user” recited in claim 1, “a qualification of the user” recited in claim 4, or some other qualification. For the purpose of examination, “the qualification” has been interpreted as referring to any qualification.
Claim 6 recites “the predetermined portion”, however it is unclear whether it refers to “a predetermined portion” recited in claim 1, “a predetermined portion” recited in claim 5, or some other predetermined portion. For the purpose of examination, “the predetermined portion” has been interpreted as referring to any predetermined portion. It is also unclear whether “the result of specification performed by the specifying unit” as recited in claim 6 refers to “a result of specification performed by the specifying unit” recited in claim 1 or “a result of specification performed by the specifying unit” recited in claim 5. This limitation has been interpreted as referring to any result of specification performed by the specifying unit.
Claim 10 recites “the certification information” and it is unclear whether it refers to “certificate information” recited in claim 1, “certificate information” recited in claim 10, or some other certificate information. For the purpose of examination, “the certificate information” has been interpreted as referring to any certificate information. Claims 11 and 12 also have similar issues.
It’s unclear whether “the verification result” as recited in the last two steps of claim 12 refers to “a verification result of the verification device” recited in claim 12, “a verification result of the verification unit” recited in claim 12, or some other verification result. Thus, “the verification result” has been interpreted as referring to any verification result.
Dependent claims are also rejected for inheriting the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conrado et al. (US 2007/0005989).
Claim 1, Conrado teaches:
A verification system that verifies certificate information including attribute information indicating an attribute of a user and information for verification related to verification of a qualification of the user, the verification system comprising: (e.g., [0054], “The general idea behind the invention is thus to provide an authorization certificate comprising a concealed user identifier and authorization data. This authorization certificate can then be used when the user makes use of the authorization he is entitled to”)
a specifying unit that specifies a format of the certificate information; (e.g., [0073], “a content identifier cr_id, the concealed public key H(PK//RAN) as well as the secret security identifier and the random value RAN…The usage right certificate UR then has the following content: UR={cr_id, H(PK//RAN), RAN}.sub.signCP” [0090], “A modified usage right certificate would then have the following structure: UR={cr_id, H(PK//RAN), SK.sub.D2[RAN]}.sub.signCP, where the random value RAN is encrypted using a second secret domain key SK.sub.D2”)
an extraction unit that extracts the information for verification from the certificate information based on a result of specification performed by the specifying unit; (e.g., [0093], “the encrypted random value SK.sub.D2[RAN]…decrypts the value and returns the now unencrypted value RAN…now has the decrypted value RAN, it can continue with the steps of checking public key against concealed public key in the usage right certificate”)
a concealment unit that conceals a predetermined portion including the attribute information of the certificate information to generate concealed attribute information; and (e.g., [0072], “The act of concealing is in a preferred embodiment done by using a hash. The hash H is made on a concatenation of the user identifying information, i.e. the public key PK, and the random value RAN, which is expressed as: H(PK//RAN)” [0076], “The usage right certificate described above included the concealing data” [0109], “There are a number of further variations that can be made to the present invention. A usage right certificate can have an alternative form, when a different type of concealing function is used for concealing the user identity, i.e. the public key. This form is the following: UR={cr_id, RAN[PK], SK.sub.D2[RAN]}.sub.signCP, where RAN[PK] denotes the encryption of the value PK using the value RAN” [0110], “Another possible variation is to encrypt the public key PK using the secret domain key SK.sub.D2 instead of using the random number RAN” [0112], “Another possible variation is to provide the usage right certificate with an extra field, a so-called rights attributes data field. A usage right certificate including such a field…would then have one of the following structures: UR={cr_id, r_d, H(PK//RAN), RAN}.sub.signCP, UR={cr_id, r_d, H(PK//RAN), SK.sub.D2[RAN]}.sub.signCP or UR={cr_id, r_d, H(PK//RAN), SK.sub.D2[RAN], SK.sub.p[RAN],}.sub.signCP, where r_d indicates this rights attributes data field. The field is included in the usage right certificate…and it indicates the rights a user has concerning the usage of the content. It may for instance indicate that the user is only allowed to watch the content up until a certain date or time…It should also be realized that this field can also be used in combination with all the previously described embodiments and variations of the present invention” [0113], “The identity of the user in relation to the usage right certificate has in the description above been made with reference to a public key. It should be realized that the invention is in no way limited to public keys. Any type of user identifying information can be used such as a name, biometrics data or some other type of identity. In the same manner the data to which the user is associated has been described in relation to an identifier for purchased content. The data is not limited to this, but can be any type of data...any type of authorization. The description was also made in relation to the access to content, but the information related to the data can also be such things as a list of preferences associated with the user”)
a verification unit that performs verification based on the information for verification extracted by the extraction unit and the concealed attribute information generated by the concealment unit. (e.g., [0093], “the encrypted random value SK.sub.D2[RAN]…decrypts the value and returns the now unencrypted value RAN…now has the decrypted value RAN, it can continue with the steps of checking public key against concealed public key in the usage right certificate” [0078], “checks the received public key PK of the first user against the concealed public key H(PK//RAN) in the usage right certificate UR…verify that it is the first user by running the hash function on the received public key using the random number RAN in the usage right certificate and checking the value of this just run hash function with the corresponding value in the usage right certificate UR. In dependence of this check, i.e. if the values are the same…fetches the content from control unit 14…and thereafter gives the first user access to the content in contents store 18”)
Claim 2, Conrado teaches:
wherein the specifying unit specifies a verified portion including the information for verification in the certificate information, and specifies a concealed portion including the attribute information of the certificate information as the predetermined portion, the extraction unit extracts the information for verification from the certificate information based on the verified portion specified by the specifying unit, and the concealment unit conceals the concealed portion specified by the specifying unit to generate the concealed attribute information. (e.g., [0072]-[0073], [0078], [0090], [0093])
Claim 3, Conrado teaches:
comprising a storage unit that stores information in which format specifying information with which the format of the certificate information can be specified, verified portion information indicating the verified portion including information for verification in the certificate information, and concealed portion information indicating the concealed portion including the attribute information of the certificate information are associated with each other, wherein the specifying unit specifies the format of the certificate information based on the format specifying information stored in the storage unit, and specifies the verified portion information and the concealed portion information associated with the format specifying information of the format that has been specified. (e.g., [0072]-[0074], [0090], [0093])
Claim 4, Conrado teaches:
wherein the certificate information includes the attribute information indicating the attribute of the user and information for verification related to verification of a qualification of the user, the information for verification includes: verification information including public key specifying information with which a public key corresponding to a secret key of an issuer who has issued the qualification can be specified, revocation specifying information with which whether the qualification is revoked can be specified, and validity specifying information with which validity of the qualification can be specified; and a signature in which the attribute information and the verification information are concealed are signed with the secret key of the issuer, and the extraction unit extracts the public key specifying information, the revocation specifying information, the validity specifying information, and the signature from the certificate information based on a result of specification performed by the specifying unit. (e.g., [0072]-[0073], [0078], [0090], [0093], [0112])
Claim 5, Conrado teaches:
wherein the concealment unit conceals a predetermined portion including the attribute information of the certificate information to generate the concealed attribute information based on a result of specification performed by the specifying unit. (e.g., [0072]-[0073], [0078], [0090], [0093])
Claim 6, Conrado teaches:
wherein the concealment unit hashes the predetermined portion including the attribute information of the certificate information based on the result of specification performed by the specifying unit to generate a hash value as the concealed attribute information. (e.g., [0072]-[0073], [0078], [0090], [0093])
Claim 7, Conrado teaches:
wherein the certificate information includes the attribute information indicating the attribute of the user and the information for verification related to verification of the qualification of the user, the information for verification includes concealed attribute processing information obtained by performing predetermined processing on concealed attribute information in which a portion including the attribute information is concealed, and the verification unit performs signature verification based on the concealed attribute information generated by the concealment unit and the concealed attribute processing information included in the certificate information. (e.g., [0072]-[0073], [0090], [0078], [0093])
Claim 8, Conrado teaches:
wherein the certificate information includes the attribute information indicating the attribute of the user and the information for verification related to verification of the qualification of the user, the information for verification includes revocation specifying information with which whether the qualification is revoked can be specified, the extraction unit extracts the revocation specifying information included in the information for verification of the certificate information, and the verification unit performs revocation verification based on the revocation specifying information extracted by the extraction unit. (e.g., [0072]-[0073], [0078], [0090], [0093], [0112])
Claim 9, Conrado teaches:
wherein the certificate information includes the attribute information indicating the attribute of the user and the information for verification related to verification of the qualification of the user, the information for verification includes validity specifying information with which validity of the qualification can be specified, the extraction unit extracts validity specifying information included in the information for verification of the certificate information, and the verification unit performs validity verification based on the validity specifying information extracted by the extraction unit. (e.g., [0072]-[0073], [0078], [0090], [0093], [0112])
Claim 10, Conrado teaches:
wherein an issuance device that issues certificate information including the attribute information indicating the attribute of the user and the information for verification related to verification of the qualification of the user, a holding device that holds the certificate information, a verification device that verifies the certificate information, and a processing device that performs processing related to the user based on the certificate information and a verification result of the verification device are communicably connected to each other, the processing device includes the specifying unit, the extraction unit, the concealment unit, and a first transmission unit that transmits the information for verification extracted by the extraction unit and the concealed attribute information generated by the concealment unit to the verification device, the verification device includes a first reception unit that receives the information for verification and the concealed attribute information transmitted by the first transmission unit, the verification unit, and a second transmission unit that transmits a verification result of the verification unit to the processing device, and the processing device includes a second reception unit that receives the verification result transmitted by the second transmission unit. (e.g., [0072]-[0074], [0078], [0090], [0093], [0112])
Claim 11, Conrado teaches:
wherein an issuance device that issues certificate information including the attribute information indicating the attribute of the user and the information for verification related to verification of the qualification of the user, a holding device that holds the certificate information, a verification device that verifies the certificate information, and a processing device that performs processing related to the user based on the certificate information and a verification result of the verification device are communicably connected to each other, the holding device includes the specifying unit, the extraction unit, the concealment unit, an acceptance unit that accepts, from the user, an instruction as to whether to transmit, to the verification device, the information for verification extracted by the extraction unit and the concealed attribute information generated by the concealment unit, and a first transmission unit that transmits, to the verification device, the information for verification and the concealed attribute information in response to acceptance of the instruction by the acceptance unit, the verification device includes a first reception unit that receives the information for verification and the concealed attribute information transmitted by the first transmission unit, the verification unit, and a second transmission unit that transmits a verification result of the verification unit to the processing device, and the processing device includes a second reception unit that receives the verification result transmitted by the second transmission unit. (e.g., [0072]-[0074], [0078], [0090], [0093], [0112])
Claim 12, Conrado teaches:
wherein an issuance device that issues certificate information including the attribute information indicating the attribute of the user and the information for verification related to verification of the qualification of the user, a holding device that holds the certificate information, a verification device that verifies the certificate information, and a processing device that performs processing related to the user based on the certificate information and a verification result of the verification device are communicably connected to each other, the holding device includes the specifying unit, the extraction unit, the concealment unit, an acceptance unit that accepts, from the user, an instruction as to whether to transmit, to the verification device, the information for verification extracted by the extraction unit and the concealed attribute information generated by the concealment unit, and a first transmission unit that transmits, to the verification device, the information for verification and the concealed attribute information in response to acceptance of the instruction by the acceptance unit, the verification device includes a first reception unit that receives the information for verification and the concealed attribute information transmitted by the first transmission unit, the verification unit, and a second transmission unit that transmits a verification result of the verification unit to the holding device, the holding device includes a second reception unit that receives the verification result transmitted by the second transmission unit and a third transmission unit that transmits the certificate information and the verification result in association with each other to the processing device, and the processing device includes a third reception unit that receives the certificate information and the verification result transmitted by the third transmission unit. (e.g., [0072]-[0074], [0078], [0090], [0093], [0112])
Claim 13, this claim is directed to a method containing similar limitations as recited in claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2008/0052772 discloses techniques for persevering user privacy while using digital certificates.
/AMIE C. LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436