DETAILED ACTION
Continuation
This application is a continuation application of US 18/155,408 (filed on Jan. 17, 2023 – now US Patent No. 12,314,365). The prosecution history and references cited in the above application have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 10, 15-19, and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For step 1, a claim is determined whether it falls within one of the four statutory categories. Claims 1-7 and 10 are directed to a method and claims 15-19 and 21-29 are directed to a system. Therefore, the claims fall within at least one of the statutory categories of invention and passes step 1.
For step 2A (Prong One), a claim is determined whether it recites an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. Independent claims 1 and 15 recite limitations for “extracting…features”, “determining…whether to add features…to a finetuning data set”, and “applying…weights to the finetuning data set”. However, nothing in these limitations preclude the possibility of mental activities to achieve their desired results. Under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the acts of performing an analysis and determining are directed to mental processes: “claims do recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions… a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016).” See MPEP 2106.04(a)(1)(III). Furthermore, the recitation of using machine learning models do not incorporate the limitations as non-mental processes since they are recited with a high level of generality (e.g., merely “inputting/using…a first/second machine learning model” without any further context and scope). Furthermore, such limitations can additionally fall under mathematical concepts and relationships as machine learning is applied under such principles. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I). Thus, the independent claims present at least one limitation that falls within the “Mental Processes” and/or “Mathematic Concepts” groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the independent claims recite an abstract idea.
For step 2A (Prong Two), a claim is determined whether it recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. These additional elements are:
Generic computer components for performing the limitations, such as “processor-implemented” and “one or more processors”.
Step for “receiving…biometric data input”.
However, these elements fail to add something more meaningful to the judicial exception as generic computer components are used to apply the exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f). MPEP 2106.05(f) provides the following considerations for determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer: (1) whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished; (2) whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process; and (3) the particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception.
Furthermore, the additional elements for receiving data were found by the courts to be insignificant extra-solution activities. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Furthermore, the type of data being received and/or transmitted does not provide significantly more to the limitations as they are applied at a high level of generality. For example, receiving biometric data input for the recited extracting and determining limitations does not impose meaningful features into the additional elements and the claim as a whole. The steps of extraction and determination with the biometric data input are not explicitly recited in a manner that is strictly outside of any mental activities.
Furthermore, the limitations, as a whole, fail to exhibit improvement to the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field. In MPEP 2106.04(d), the considerations of integration of the judicial exception into a practical application include, but is not limited to, “[a]n improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field” and “[a]pplying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.” The claims are directed to receiving data, analyzing said data to perform a determination, and applying weights based on the determination. However, these steps fail to actively improve the functionality of a computer, nor is it an improvement to other technology or technical field. The limitations merely produce a desired result rather than the idea of the result. See MPEP 2106.05(a). Furthermore, the act of “applying…weights” is merely a post-solution activity of producing an outcome rather than actively applying in a manner that improves functionality of a computer and/or network. In contrast to independent claim 30, which is not currently rejected under 101, a practical application is clearly presented by utilizing the finetuned model with the applied weights to allow and prevent access for users in a biometric authentication system.
Thus, the independent claims, as a whole, fail to present enough elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the independent claims are directed to an abstract idea.
For step 2B, a claim is determined whether any elements, or combination of elements, are enough to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements to perform the steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Since these elements are recited at a high level of generality, they can be represented as ordinary computer systems. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Having a hardware and software/logic agents to perform such elements does not instantly preclude it from mental activities if the act itself is presented in a generic/abstract manner – it would be mere instructions to apply an exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Furthermore, the claim recites additional elements that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d): “TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 614, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (Specification described additional elements as "either performing basic computer functions such as sending and receiving data or performing functions ‘known’ in the art.").” Hence, the independent claim is not patent eligible. Furthermore, generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment does not integrate the exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent Claims 2-7, 10, 16-19, and 21-29: The dependent claims recite additional limitations for mental activities and/or additional elements without significantly more. For example, the dependent claims recite additional “determining” steps that fall under acts of comparison, evaluation, and/or observation that can be accomplished mentally or via pen/paper. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). In another example, the additional elements for “adding…features” amounts to necessary data gathering and outputting without significantly more. Furthermore, the dependent claims recite nominal limitations that do not add significantly more to the invention as a whole. Thus, none of the elements in the dependent claims would preclude them from being performed mentally, nor do they present additional meaningful elements that are more than an abstract idea when taken alone, or in combination with the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites “extract, using the first machine learning model, features for the received biometric data input” twice. It is unclear which biometric data input is being extracted in the second extracting step. Furthermore, subsequent recitations of “the received biometric data input” in the dependent claims 31-35 and 39 are unclear to which inputs are referenced: the “first biometric data input” or the “second biometric data input”. The remaining dependent claims are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency to claim 30.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10, 15-19, 21-25, and 30-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,314,365 in view of US 2019/0278895 to Streit. The claims of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-24 of the conflicting patent with the exception of “inputting the features into…a second machine learning model” to determine whether features are added to a finetuning data set in independent claims 1, 15, and 30. Although the scope and context of how the second machine learning model is utilized is not explicitly elaborated in the claims, this limitation is substantially similar to the concept of feature selection commonly known in the field of machine learning. According to [Streit, ¶0142-0145], based on the results of an input of biometric feature vectors into a fully connected neural network (FCNN) model, the biometric feature vectors are determined if they are added into a retraining (i.e. “finetuning”) process of the model. Thus, the FCNN is used to determine if new feature vectors are used in a finetuning dataset (“…the deep learning neural network (e.g., classifier & prediction network) is retrained to include the new feature vectors being analyzed.” [Streit, ¶0145]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Streit into the independent claims of the conflicting patent to improve the accuracy of the model by continuously learn and adapt new biometric features that were known to change over time, such as weight, aging, etc. – as suggested in [Streit, ¶0145].
Furthermore, Streit actively applies the model to allowing or preventing users access based on biometric authentication utilizing the retrained model (claim 30 of the instant application). See [Streit, ¶0086, 0142]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the models in the independent claims of the conflicting patent into a real-world application. Biometric authentication was a well-known form of authentication for controlling access to computing resources, and it would have been advantageous to have an authentication system that can continuously learn the biometric features of a person as they physically change over time while maintaining accurate authentication
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 15-16, 21-24, and 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0278895 to Streit (hereinafter, “Streit”) in view of US 2014/00931401 to Juveneton et al. (hereinafter, “Juveneton”).
As per claim 1: Streit discloses: A processor-implemented method (implementations of privacy-enabled biometric system and/or methods [Streit, ¶0167]), the method comprising: receiving, from a sensor, a biometric data input for a user (acquiring unencrypted biometric data captured on a user device or received from an acquisition device [Streit, ¶0122; Fig. 1(102)]); extracting, using a first machine learning model, features for the received biometric data input (feature vectors are generated from the biometric information utilizing a pre-trained neural network that outputs Euclidean measurable feature vectors [Streit, ¶0122, 0127, 0137]); determining, by inputting the features for the received biometric data input into a second machine learning model, whether to add the features for the received biometric data input to a finetuning data set (a fully connected neural network (FCNN) processes the acquired feature vectors, where input feature vectors identified as unknowns and/or new based on a threshold can be added via incremental training of the model; for example newer feature vectors can be added for retraining for biometrics that change over time, such as weight, age, haircuts, etc. [Streit, ¶0137, 0140-0145; Fig. 2]); .
Streit does not explicitly disclose, but Juveneton discloses: applying, based on the determination, weights to the finetuning data set (statistical analysis can be used to determine how much a particular characteristic should be weighted [Juveneton, ¶0025]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement weights to the feature vectors (i.e., characteristics, attributes) in Streit. One would have been motivated to implement feature weights to improve the accuracy of the models in Streit, such that significant features in distinguishing biometric recognition would have a higher impact than less significant features.
As per claim 2: Streit in view of Juveneton disclose all limitations of claim 1. Streit does not explicitly disclose, but Juveneton disclose: wherein determining whether to add the features for the received biometric data input to the finetuning data set comprises one of: adding the features and a label associated with the features for both authentic and inauthentic received biometric data inputs (according to [Juveneton, ¶0095], the statistical data model is re-generated on characteristics in the live images data set and in the fabricated images data set – hence, both labeled “authentic” and “inauthentic” received biometric data would have been added to the data sets for re-generation); adding the features and the label associated with the features only when the received biometric data input for the user is authentic; or adding the features and the label associated with the features only when the received biometric data input for the user is inauthentic (furthermore, [Juveneton, ¶0097] also discloses storing data describing images in live or fabricated image data sets).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include both legitimate and illegitimate biometric images into the training data set of Streit to improve the accuracy of the neural network. The neural network would have been capable of distinguishing not only real biometric input, but spoofed biometric input as well, which would have enhanced liveness detection.
As per claim 3: Streit in view of Juveneton disclose all limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Streit discloses: wherein determining whether to add the features for the received biometric data input to the finetuning data set comprises generating a predictive score corresponding to a likelihood that the received biometric data input for the user is from a real biometric data source (in response to matching newly acquired biometric information, based on a threshold set to an output array, the model is retrained on new feature vectors from the biometric information [Streit, ¶0141-0145]).
As per claim 4: Streit in view of Juveneton disclose all limitations of claim 3. The motivation for incorporating Juveneton in claim 2 is also applicable to claim 4. Therefore, Juveneton discloses: wherein determining whether to add the features for the received biometric data input to the finetuning data set comprises: determining that the predictive score exceeds a first threshold value or is less than a second threshold value; and based on the determining that the predictive score exceeds the first threshold value or is less than the second threshold value, adding the features for the received biometric data input to the finetuning data set (the FCNN outputs an array of values that are matched on a threshold set, wherein unknowns are those that fail the threshold and are added to the data set for re-training neural network [Streit, ¶0141-0145]).
As per claim 5: Streit in view of Juveneton disclose all limitations of claim 4. Furthermore, Streit discloses: wherein the first threshold value comprises a threshold value for biometric data inputs that are likely to correspond to data from real biometric sources and wherein the second threshold value comprises a threshold value for biometric data inputs that are likely to correspond to data from inauthentic biometric sources (exceeding the threshold probability indicates that there is a match, otherwise (i.e., under the threshold), the biometric information is considered unknown or as a person denied access (“inauthentic”) [Streit, ¶0142, 0144]).
As per claim 6: Streit in view of Juveneton disclose all limitations of claim 3. The motivation for incorporating Juveneton in claim 1 is also applicable to claim 6. Therefore, Juveneton discloses: wherein determining whether to add the features for the received biometric data input to the finetuning data set comprises: adding the features, labeled with an indication that the features correspond to data from a real biometric source, based on determining that the predictive score exceeds a threshold value (an image is a live image when the liveness score is greater than or equal to a threshold liveness score; storing data describing the characteristics of a labeled live image in a live images data set [Juveneton, ¶0088-0089]; similar to re-training the neural network in Streit - a statistical data model is regenerated using selected training data sets of live and fabricated images [Juveneton, ¶0097-0098]); and adding the features, labeled with an indication that the features correspond to data from an inauthentic biometric source, based on determining that the predictive score is less than the threshold value (an image is a fabricated image when the liveness score is less than a threshold liveness score; storing data describing the characteristics of an labeled fabricated image in a fabricated images data set [Juveneton, ¶0090, 0092]).
As per claim 15: Claim 15 is different in overall scope from claim 1. Claim 15 is directed to a system performing the method of claim 1. Streit discloses an embodiment of a system performing the method [Khoury, ¶0167]. Thus, the response provided herein and above for claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 15.
As per claim 16: Claim 16 incorporates all limitations of claim 15 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 2. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 2 and 15 are equally applicable to claim 16 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 21: Claim 21 incorporates all limitations of claim 15 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 3. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 3 and 15 are equally applicable to claim 21 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 22: Claim 22 incorporates all limitations of claim 21 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 4. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 4 and 21 are equally applicable to claim 22 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 23: Claim 23 incorporates all limitations of claim 22 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 5. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 5 and 22 are equally applicable to claim 23 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 24: Claim 24 incorporates all limitations of claim 23 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 6. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 6 and 23 are equally applicable to claim 24 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 30: Streit discloses: A system comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions in order to cause the system to (implementations of a computer system 800 that includes one or more processors 810 and memory 820 for performing the embodiments of Streit [Streit, ¶0225; Fig. 8]): receive a biometric data input for a user (acquiring unencrypted biometric data captured on a user device or received from an acquisition device [Streit, ¶0122; Fig. 1(102)]); extract, using a first machine learning model, features for the received biometric data input (feature vectors are generated from the biometric information utilizing a pre-trained neural network that outputs Euclidean measurable feature vectors [Streit, ¶0122, 0127, 0137]); determining, by inputting the features for the received biometric data input into a second machine learning model, whether to add the features for the received biometric data input to a finetuning data set (a fully connected neural network (FCNN) processes the acquired feature vectors, where input feature vectors identified as unknowns and/or new based on a threshold can be added via incremental training of the model; for example newer feature vectors can be added for retraining for biometrics that change over time, such as weight, age, haircuts, etc. [Streit, ¶0137, 0140-0145; Fig. 2]); ; receive a second biometric data input for the user; extract, using the first machine learning model, features for the received biometric data input; determine, by inputting the features for the received second biometric data input into the second machine learning model after being finetuned using the finetuning data set, whether to authenticate the user (the feature vectors are stored as they are processed and used for incremental retraining of the model [Streit, ¶0089]; once retraining is accomplished, the updated model is made live [Streit, ¶0092]); allow the user to access a computing system in response to a determination to authenticate the user; and prevent the user from accessing the computing system in response to a determination to not authenticate the user (allowing access or execution of a requested function based on authentication, or denying access [Streit, ¶0086, 0142]).
Streit does not explicitly disclose, but Juveneton discloses: apply, based on the determination, weights to the finetuning data set (statistical analysis can be used to determine how much a particular characteristic should be weighted [Juveneton, ¶0025]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement weights to the feature vectors (i.e., characteristics, attributes) in Streit. One would have been motivated to implement feature weights to improve the accuracy of the models in Streit, such that significant features in distinguishing biometric recognition would have a higher impact than less significant features.
As per claim 31: Claim 31 incorporates all limitations of claim 30 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 2. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 2 and 30 are equally applicable to claim 31 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 32: Claim 32 incorporates all limitations of claim 30 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 3. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 3 and 30 are equally applicable to claim 32 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 33: Claim 33 incorporates all limitations of claim 32 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 4. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 4 and 32 are equally applicable to claim 33 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 34: Claim 34 incorporates all limitations of claim 33 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 5. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 5 and 33 are equally applicable to claim 34 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 35: Claim 35 incorporates all limitations of claim 32 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 6. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 6 and 32 are equally applicable to claim 35 and rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 10, 18, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streit in view of Juveneton and in further view of R. F. Nogueira2 et al, "Fingerprint Liveness Detection Using Convolutional Neural Networks," (hereinafter, “Nogueira”) in IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security, vol. 11, no. 6, pp. 1206-1213, June 2016.
As per claim 10: Streit in view of Juveneton disclose all limitations of claim 1. Streit and Juveneton do not explicitly disclose, but Nogueira discloses: wherein the finetuning data set comprises a pretraining data set and an online training data set, and wherein determining whether to add the features for the received biometric data input to the finetuning data set comprises determining whether to add the features for the biometric data input to the online training data set (pre-trained model on natural images (“pretraining data set”) with multiple classes is fine-tined on fingerprint images (“online data set”) to enable liveness detection [Nogueira, pg. 1207, 1st column]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement pre-trained models and improve upon them through transfer learning. Transfer learning was a well-known topic in machine learning for applying models in one task and using them in a related task. One in the art would have been motivated to utilize pre-trained models to finetune them for specific applications while using less labeled data to achieve an acceptable accuracy [Nogueira, pg. 1207, 1st column].
As per claim 18: Claim 18 incorporates all limitations of claim 15 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 10. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 10 and 15 are equally applicable to claim 18 and rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 39: Claim 39 incorporates all limitations of claim 30 and is directed to a system performing the method of claim 10. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claims 10 and 30 are equally applicable to claim 39 and rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
No prior art rejections are applied to claims 7, 17, 19, 25-29, 36-38, and 40-43.
The prior arts of record fail to disclose, teach, or reasonably suggest the features recited in the aforementioned claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0318349: The models of a biometric liveness detection system are backpropagated to update the models’ weights. See ¶0056, 0064.
US 2022/0076164: A secondary dataset is to be combined with a primary dataset to generate a training dataset. The timestamps of features preceding or matching a time-of-prediction value of records of the primary dataset are selected to be combined. See ¶0012.
D. Roy, K. S. R. Murty and C. K. Mohan, "Feature selection using Deep Neural Networks," 2015 International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (IJCNN), Killarney, Ireland, 2015, pp. 1-6, doi: 10.1109/IJCNN.2015.7280626. (Deep Neural Networks (DBB) are used for task-aware selection of features that provide better classification performance. See Abstract.)
/ROBERT B LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494
1 Cited in the IDS filed May 8, 2025.
2 Cited in the IDS filed May 8, 2023.