DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “wherein the second tray part includes an opening to allow cold air or the liquid to be supplied to the cell and a guide to guide the cold air or the liquid to the cell” in claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “The refrigerator” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “The refrigerator of claim 1” will be interpreted as -- The ice maker of claim 1 --
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “wherein the heater is controlled to be turned on in at least partial section while a cooler supplies cold” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entire clear if the term “partial section” is referring to a period of the cooling or a section of the cell. More clarity is requested.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “cell” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “bubbles dissolved in the liquid within cell moves” will be interpreted as -- bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves --
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the ice separation process” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the ice separation process” will be interpreted as -- an ice separation process --
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites “a portion of the first tray part” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 from which claim 17 depends previously disclosed “the first tray part includes a portion”. Therefore, it is unclear if the disclosed “portion” of the first tray part of claim 17 is referring to the previously disclosed “portion” of the first tray part of claim 1 or something entirely different. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “wherein first tray part is spaced apart from the first portion of the cell” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 from which claim 18 depends previously disclosed “a first tray assembly configured to define a first portion of a cell … wherein the first tray assembly comprises: a first tray part”. Therefore, it is not entirely clear how the first tray part can be included in defining the first portion of the cell and still be spaced apart from the first portion of the cell. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites “wherein the second tray part includes … a guide to guide the cold air or the liquid to the cell” which renders the claim indefinite. Referring to the drawings and specification, it is not entirely clear which structure the disclosed “guide” is referring to. More clarity is requested.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “an ice maker” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “an ice maker of claim 1” will be interpreted as -- the ice maker of claim 1 --
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Son et al. (US 20130014536 A1, herein after referred to as Son).
Regarding claim 1, Son teaches an ice maker (ice maker 100 Fig. 3) comprising: a first tray assembly (lower tray 120 Fig. 3) configured to define a first portion (corresponds to the lower portion of shell 150 Fig. 6) of a cell (shell 150 Fig. 6) that is a space (Fig. 6) in which liquid (corresponds to the disclosed “water” in paragraph [0064]) is phase-changed into ice (corresponds to the disclosed “ice piece” in paragraph [0055]); and a second tray assembly (upper tray 110 Fig. 3) configured to define a second portion of the cell (corresponds to the upper portion of shell 150 Fig. 6), wherein the first tray assembly comprises: a first tray part (tray case 121 Fig. 3) configured to define an appearance (Figs. 4-5) of at least a portion of the first tray assembly (corresponds to most of lower tray 120 see Fig. 5), a second tray part (tray body 123 Fig. 3) formed of a material (corresponds to the disclosed “elastic material” in paragraph [0077]) different from that of the first tray part (disclosed “metal material” in paragraph [0049]) and defining the first portion of the cell (Fig. 6), wherein the first tray part includes a portion (referring to paragraphs [0049] and [0077], a person skilled in the art would recognize that tray case 121 is made of metal) having a greater degree of deformation resistance than that of the second tray part (paragraphs [0049] and [0054]), and a third tray part (tray cover 126 Fig. 3) in contact with the first tray part (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Son teaches wherein a degree of heat transfer (corresponds to the degree of heat transfer of tray case 121 Fig. 3) or degree of cold transfer of the first tray part (corresponds to the degree of cold transfer of tray case 121 Fig. 3) is greater than that of the second tray part (paragraphs [0049] and [0077] where it is understood that tray case 121 is made of metal and tray body 123 is made of an elastic material).
Regarding claim 4, Son teaches wherein a degree of attachment between ice and the second tray part (corresponds to the degree of attachment between the ice and tray body 123 Fig. 3) is less (paragraphs [0049] and [0077] where it is understood that tray case 121 is made of metal and tray body 123 is made of an elastic material) than a degree of attachment between ice and the first tray part (corresponds to the degree of attachment between the ice and tray case 121 Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Son teaches wherein the third tray part is disposed to face the second tray assembly in order to contact the second tray assembly (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Son teaches wherein the third tray part has a portion (corresponds to the portion of tray cover 126 that is in contact with tray case 121 Fig. 8) to surround at least a portion of the first tray part (corresponds to the upper portion of tray case 121 that is in contact with tray cover 126 Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Son teaches wherein the second tray part is formed of a soft material (paragraph [0054] where tray body is described as a “elastically deformable flexible material”).
Regarding claim 13, Son teaches further comprising a heater (ice separating heater 161 Fig. 3) disposed adjacent to the second tray assembly (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Son teaches wherein the second tray assembly is in contact the first tray assembly in an ice making process (corresponds to the process described and illustrated in paragraph [0083] and Fig. 10, respectively) and is spaced apart from the first tray assembly in an ice separation process (corresponds to the process described and illustrated in paragraphs [0085] to [0089] and Figs. 11-12, respectively).
Regarding claim 18, Son teaches wherein first tray part is spaced apart from the first portion of the cell such that the first tray part is not in contact with the liquid or the ice in the cell (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, and due to indefiniteness, Son teaches wherein the second tray part includes an opening (lower path 151b Fig. 7 and paragraph [0073]) to allow the liquid to be supplied to the cell (paragraph [0073]) and a guide (corresponds to the walls forming lower path 151b Fig. 7) to guide the liquid to the cell (paragraph [0073] and Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, Son teaches a refrigerator (refrigerator 1 Fig. 2) comprising: a cabinet (cabinet 2 Fig. 2) including a storage chamber (freezing compartment 4 Fig. 2); a door (freezing compartment door 6 Fig. 2) that opens and closes the storage chamber (Figs. 1-2); and the ice maker (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6-8, 10-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in view of Boarman et al. (US 20140165598 A1, herein after referred to as Boarman).
Regarding claim 2, Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the third tray part has a portion formed of a material different from that of the first tray part”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a third tray part (left insulating portion 1116 Fig. 74 corresponds to the third tray part of Son) has a portion (corresponds to the entirety of left insulating portion 1116 Fig. 74) formed of a material (corresponds to the disclosed “thermoplastic or other like polymeric material” in paragraph [0155]) different from that of a first tray part (Fig. 74 and paragraph [0155] where metallic portion 1114 corresponds to the first tray part of Son) to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process (paragraph 0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “wherein the third tray part has a portion formed of a material different from that of the first tray part” in view of the teachings of Boarman to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process.
Regarding claim 6, Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein a degree of deformation resistance of the first tray part is greater than that of the third tray part”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a degree of deformation resistance (corresponds to the degree of deformation resistance of metallic portion 1114 Fig. 74 and paragraph [0155]) of a first tray part (metallic portion 1114 Fig. 74 corresponds to the first tray part of Son) is greater than that of a third tray part (paragraph [0155] and Fig. 74 where left insulation portion 1116 corresponds to the third tray part of Son) to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process (paragraph 0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “wherein a degree of deformation resistance of the first tray part is greater than that of the third tray part” in view of the teachings of Boarman to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process.
Regarding claim 7, Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein a degree of heat transfer or degree of cold transfer of the first tray part is greater than that of the third tray part”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a degree of heat transfer (corresponds to the degree of heat transfer of metallic portion 1114 Fig. 74 and paragraph [0155]) or degree of cold transfer (corresponds to the degree of cold transfer of metallic portion 1114 Fig. 74 and paragraph [0155]) of a first tray part (metallic portion 1114 Fig. 74 corresponds to the first tray part of Son) is greater than that of a third tray part (paragraph [0155] and Fig. 74 where left insulation portion 1116 corresponds to the third tray part of Son) to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process (paragraph 0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “wherein a degree of heat transfer or degree of cold transfer of the first tray part is greater than that of the third tray part” in view of the teachings of Boarman to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process.
Regarding claim 8, Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein a degree of attachment between ice and the third tray part is less than a degree of attachment between ice and the first tray part”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a degree of attachment between ice and a third tray part (corresponds to the degree of attachment between ice and left insulating portion 1116 Fig. 74 and paragraphs [0155] to [0156] where left insulation portion 1116 corresponds to the third tray part of Son) is less than a degree of attachment between ice and a first tray part (corresponds to the degree of attachment between ice and metallic portion 1114 Fig. 74 and paragraphs [0155] to [0156] where metallic portion 1114 corresponds to the first tray part of Son) to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process (paragraph 0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “wherein a degree of attachment between ice and the third tray part is less than a degree of attachment between ice and the first tray part” in view of the teachings of Boarman to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process.
Regarding claim 10, Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the first tray part is formed of a metal material, and wherein the second tray part and the third tray part are formed of a non-metal material”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a first tray part (metallic portion 1114 Fig. 74 corresponds to the first tray part of Son) is formed of a metal material (paragraph [0155]), and wherein a second tray part (right insulation portion 1116 corresponds to the second tray part of Son) and a third tray part (left insulation portion 1116 corresponds to the third tray part of Son) are formed of a non-metal material (paragraph [0155]) to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process (paragraph 0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “wherein the first tray part is formed of a metal material, and wherein the second tray part and the third tray part are formed of a non-metal material” in view of the teachings of Boarman to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process.
Regarding claim 12, Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein a degree of cold transfer of the first tray assembly is greater than that of the second tray assembly”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a degree of cold transfer (corresponds to the disclosed “thermal conductivity” of first mold portion 32 Fig. 1 in paragraph [0091]) of a first tray assembly (first mold portion 32 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first tray assembly of Son) is greater than that of a second tray assembly (paragraph [0091] and Fig. 1 where second mold portion 34 Fig. 1 corresponds to the second tray assembly of Son) to create a temperature gradient across the first and second tray assemblies (paragraph [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “wherein a degree of cold transfer of the first tray assembly is greater than that of the second tray assembly” in view of the teachings of Boarman to create a temperature gradient across the first and second tray assemblies.
Regarding claim 17, Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein at least a portion of the first tray part is disposed between the second tray part and the third tray part”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein at least a portion (corresponds to the portions of metallic portion 1114 in contact with left and right insulation portions 1116 Fig. 74) of a first tray part (metallic portion 1114 Fig. 74 corresponds to the first tray part of Son) is disposed between a second tray part (right insulation portion 1116 Fig. 74 corresponds to the second tray part of Son) and a third tray part (left insulation portion 1116 Fig. 74 corresponds to the third tray part of Son) to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process (paragraph 0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “wherein at least a portion of the first tray part is disposed between the second tray part and the third tray part” in view of the teachings of Boarman to lessen or eliminate fracturing during the ice formation process.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in view of Kakimoto et al. (JPH0674624A, herein after referred to as Kakimoto).
Regarding claim 14, Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is controlled to be turned on in at least partial section while a cooler supplies cold so that bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves from a portion, at which the ice is made, toward the liquid that is in a fluid state to make transparent ice”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 1 corresponds to the heater of Son) is controlled to be turned on in at least partial section (paragraph [0018]) while a cooler (paragraph [0011]) supplies cold (corresponds to the disclosed “cool air” in paragraph [0018]) so that bubbles (paragraph [0018]) dissolved in a liquid (paragraph [0018] where the disclosed “water” corresponds to the liquid of Son) within a cell (block 9 Fig. 3 corresponds to the cell of Son) moves from a portion (corresponds to the bottom portion of block 9 as described in paragraph [0018]), at which ice is made (paragraph [0018]), toward the liquid that is in a fluid state (corresponds to the water located at the top portion of block 9 as described in paragraph [0018]) to make transparent ice (paragraph [0018]) providing therefore ice having a good appearance (paragraph [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “wherein the heater is controlled to be turned on in at least partial section while a cooler supplies cold so that bubbles dissolved in the liquid within the cell moves from a portion, at which the ice is made, toward the liquid that is in a fluid state to make transparent ice” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto providing therefore ice having a good appearance.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in view of Somura (US 20040099004 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Son teaches wherein the second tray part includes a cell wall (recessed part 125 Fig. 6) defining the first portion of the cell (Fig. 6).
Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the second tray part includes an extension wall extended from the cell wall and configured to introduce cold air or the liquid into the cell, and the first tray part has a portion in contact with the extension wall or the first tray part has a portion to surround the extension wall”.
However, Somura teaches a second tray part (top round hole 29 Fig. 9 corresponds to the second tray part of Son) includes an extension wall (vertical cylinder 23a Fig. 9) extended from a cell wall (dome lid 21a Fig. 9 corresponds to the cell wall of Son) and configured to introduce a liquid (the disclosed “water” in paragraph [0056] corresponds to the liquid of Son) into a cell (spherical container 21 Fig. 10 corresponds to the cell of Son) and a first tray part (upper mold 24a Fig. 9 corresponds to the first tray part of Son) has a portion (corresponds to the portions of upper mold 24a Fig. 9 contacting vertical cylinder 23a) in contact with the extension wall (Fig. 9) or the first tray part has a portion (corresponds to the portions of upper mold 24a Fig. 9 contacting vertical cylinder 23a) to surround the extension wall (Fig. 9) to guide the water (paragraph [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “the second tray part includes an extension wall extended from the cell wall and configured to introduce cold air or the liquid into the cell, and the first tray part has a portion in contact with the extension wall or the first tray part has a portion to surround the extension wall” in view of the teachings of Somura to guide the water.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19 and 21-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12326288. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, the reference patent (Patent No. 12326288) teaches an ice maker (claim 19) comprising: a first tray assembly (disclosed “first tray” in claim 19) configured to define a first portion (claim 19) of a cell (claim 19) that is a space (claim 19) in which liquid (claim 19) is phase-changed into ice (claim 19); and a second tray assembly (disclosed “second tray” in claim 19) configured to define a second portion of the cell (claim 19), wherein the first tray assembly comprises: a first tray part (claim 19) configured to define an appearance (claim 19) of at least a portion of the first tray assembly (claim 19), a second tray part (claim 19) formed of a material (claim 19) different from that of the first tray part (claim 19) and defining the first portion of the cell (claim 19), wherein the first tray part includes a portion (claim 22) having a greater degree of deformation resistance than that of the second tray part (claim 22), and a third tray part (claim 19) in contact with the first tray part (claim 19).
Regarding claim 2, the reference patent (Patent No. 12326288) teaches wherein the third tray part has a portion (claim 19) formed of a material (claim 19) different from that of the first tray part (claim 19).
Regarding claim 3, the reference patent (Patent No. 12326288) teaches wherein a degree of heat transfer (claim 21) or degree of cold transfer of the first tray part (claim 21) is greater than that of the second tray part (claim 21).
Regarding claim 4, the reference patent (Patent No. 12326288) teaches wherein a degree of attachment between ice and the second tray part (claim 23) is less than a degree of attachment between ice and the first tray part (claim 23).
Regarding claim 6, the reference patent (Patent No. 12326288) teaches wherein a degree of deformation resistance of the first tray part (claim 22) is greater than that of the third tray part (claim 22).
Regarding claim 7, the reference patent (Patent No. 12326288) teaches wherein a degree of heat transfer (claim 21) or degree of cold transfer of the first tray part (claim 21) is greater than that of the third tray part (claim 21).
Regarding claim 8, the reference patent (Patent No. 12326288) teaches wherein a degree of attachment between ice and the third tray part (claim 23) is less than a degree of attachment between ice and the first tray part (claim 23).
Regarding claim 9, the reference patent (Patent No. 12326288) teaches wherein the third tray part has a portion (claim 19) to surround at least a portion of the first tray part (claim 19).
Regarding claim 17, the reference patent (Patent No. 12326288) teaches wherein at least a portion of the first tray part (claim 19) is disposed between the second tray part and the third tray part (claim 19).
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763