Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/15/20206, with respect to Section 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered, under Rejection under Section 103, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends:
Examiner thanks Applicant for the well explained arguments. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Pfeuffer teaches PalmGazer is designed to support quick and spontaneous digital commands–such as to play a music track , check notifications or browse visual media–through our devised three-way interaction model: hand opening to summon the menu UI, eye-hand input for selection of items, and dragging gesture for navigation.(abstract).
Lacey teaches examples of wearable systems and methods can use multiple inputs (e.g., gesture, head pose, eye gaze, voice, totem, and/or environmental factors (e.g., location)) to determine a command that should be executed and objects in the three-dimensional (3D) environment that should be operated on. The wearable system can detect when different inputs converge together, such as when a user seeks to select a virtual object using multiple inputs such as eye gaze, head pose, hand gesture, and totem input. Upon detecting an input convergence, the wearable system can perform a transmodal filtering scheme that leverages the converged inputs to assist in properly interpreting what command the user is providing or what object the user is targeting.(abstract).
Examiner asserts it is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Pfeuffer to further include gaze into the hand gesture state of Pfeuffer in order to utilities multi-modal input to properly interpret a user’s command (abstract).
The fact that Pfeuffer uses gaze for selection does not detract from the obviousness to incorporate the features of Lacey for their intended purposes of multi-modal input to clarify user’s intention.
Applicant further contends:
Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Lacey, states, “can use multiple inputs (e.g., gesture, head pose…(abstract)” Lacey goes on to state
[0234] In addition to or in alternative to interacting with virtual objects, the wearable system can also offer a broad range of interactions within a real world environment. FIGS. 19A and 19B illustrate examples of interacting with a physical environment using multimodal inputs. In FIG. 19A, 3 modes of inputs are illustrated: hand gestures 1960, head pose 1920, and inputs from the user input device 1940. The head pose 1920 can be determined using pose sensors. The pose sensors may be an IMU, gyroscopes, magnetometers, accelerometers, or other types of sensors described with reference to FIGS. 2A and 2B. The hand gesture 1960 may be measured using an outward-facing imaging system 464 while the user input device 1940 may be an embodiment of the user input device 466 shown in FIG. 4.
[0235] In some embodiments, the wearable system can also measure the user's eye gaze. The eye gaze may include a vector extending from each of the user's eyes to a position where the two eyes' lines of sight converge. The vector can be used to determine the direction a user is looking and can be used to select or identify virtual content at the convergence point or along the vector. Such eye gaze may be determined by eye-tracking techniques such as, e.g., glint detection, iris or pupil shape mapping, infrared illumination, or binocular eye imaging with regression of an intersection point originating from a respective pupil orientation. Eye gaze or head pose may then be considered a source point for a cone cast or ray cast for virtual object selection.
[0236] As described herein, an interaction event to move selected virtual content within a user's environment (for example, “put that there”) may require determination of a command operation (e.g., “put”), a subject (e.g., “that” as may be determined from the above multimodal selection techniques), and a parameter (e.g., “there”). The command operation (or command for short) and the subject (which is also referred to as the target object or the target virtual object) may be determined using a combination of input modes. For example, a command to move the subject 1912 may be based on a head pose 1920 change (e.g., head turning or nodding) or a hand gesture 1960 (e.g. a swipe gesture), alone or in combination. As another example, the subject 1912, may be determined based on a combination of head pose and eye gaze. Accordingly, the command based on multimodal user inputs can also sometimes be referred to as a multimodal input command.
Also, take for example fig. 23 of Lacey, which has an initiation condition for a multi-modal input and [0262] which “For example, the wearable system can detect the presence of an initiation condition when a user's hand is detected within the FOV of the world camera (or the FOV of the user).” Which can include gesture and head pose within the FOV.
The purpose of Lacey is to “use multiple inputs (e.g., gesture, head pose, eye gaze, voice, from user input devices, or environmental factors (e.g., location)) to determine a command that should be executed” [0005]. Or incorporating the multi-modal input of Lacey helps to avoid unintended inputs, for example, a palm of the user in inadvertently turned up while the user is looking the other direction, which Examiner notes Pfeuffe has to use the gaze for selection anyway (abstract).
Examiner also notes Applicant Specification states:
[0041] The flowchart 400 begins at block 405, where geometric characteristics of the hand and head are determined. The geometric characteristics may include, for example, position and/or orientation information for the hand and the head. This may include, as shown at block 410, a palm normal determination. According to one or more embodiments, the palm normal may be defined by a vector from a central representative point of the palm and facing away from the palm. Turning to FIG. 1A, palm normal 140 is shown in an upward direction. By contrast, turning to FIG. 2A, palm normal 240 is shown in a downward direction.
“Geometric characteristics” is open ended and may include information about position and/or orientation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palm Gazer:Unimanual Eye-hand Menus in Augmented Reality, Ken Pfeuffer et al, October 13, 2023, UI '23: Proceedings of the 2023 ACM Symposium on Spatial User Interaction (October 2023) https://doi.org/10.1145/3607822.3614523 ISBN: 9798400702815, hereinafter, Pfeuffer in view of Lacey et al (2019/0362557) hereinafter, Lacey.
In regards to claim 1, Pfeuffer teaches a method comprising (abstract):
How can we design the user interfaces for augmented reality (AR) so that we can interact as simple, flexible and expressive as we can with smartphones in one hand? To explore this question, we propose PalmGazer as an interaction concept integrating eye-hand interaction to establish a singlehandedly operable menu system. In particular, PalmGazer is designed to support quick and spontaneous digital commands– such as to play a music track, check notifications or browse visual media – through our devised three-way interaction model: hand opening to summon the menu UI, eye-hand input for selection of items, and dragging gesture for navigation. A key aspect is that it remains always-accessible and movable to the user, as the menu supports meaningful hand and head based reference frames. We demonstrate the concept in practice through a prototypical mobile UI with application probes, and describe technique designs specifically-tailored to the application UI. A qualitative evaluation highlights the system’s interaction benefits and drawbacks, e.g., that common 2D scroll and selection tasks are simple to operate, but higher degrees of freedom may be reserved for two hands. Our work contributes interaction techniques and design insights to expand AR’s uni-manual capabilities.(abstract)
determining geometric characteristics of a hand; (fig. 2 Activation closed palm)
Pfeuffer fails to expressly teach determining geometric characteristics of a hand relative to a head of a user performing a gesture.
However, Lacey teaches determining geometric characteristics of a hand relative to a head of a user performing a gesture.(abstract, [0364](fig. 17a-17b head pose, eye gaze and gestures confidence) [262-265])
Examples of wearable systems and methods can use multiple inputs (e.g., gesture, head pose, eye gaze, voice, totem, and/or environmental factors (e.g., location)) to determine a command that should be executed and objects in the three-dimensional (3D) environment that should be operated on. The wearable system can detect when different inputs converge together, such as when a user seeks to select a virtual object using multiple inputs such as eye gaze, head pose, hand gesture, and totem input. Upon detecting an input convergence, the wearable system can perform a transmodal filtering scheme that leverages the converged inputs to assist in properly interpreting what command the user is providing or what object the user is targeting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Pfeuffer to further include determining geometric characteristics of a hand relative to a head of a user performing a gesture as taught by Lacey in order to “reduce the degree of specificity required in an input command and to reduce error rate associated with an imprecise command, the wearable system described herein can be programmed to dynamically apply multiple inputs for identification of an object to be selected or acted upon” [0080]
Therefore, Pfeuffer in view of Lacey teaches
determining a gaze vector for the user; (fig. 2 pictures of gaze laser) Pfeuffer [0081,0086,374] Lacey
determining a hand gesture state from a plurality of candidate hand gesture states based on the gaze vector and the geometric characteristics of the hand relative to the head of the user; and (fig. 2 open hand palm up) Pfeuffer ([0086, 158] hand, finger gesture) Lacey
in response to a determination that the hand gesture state corresponds to an input gesture, invoking an action corresponding to the input gesture.(fig. 2 activation of UI ) Pfeuffer. Examiner notes Gaze and Commit is a well known model for input and when view with Pfeuffer’s open palm interaction for opening a UI reads on the claims furthermore, Pfeuffer fig. 3 shows a well written state of art of UI activation see below). And [0158] Lacey.
In regards to claim 9, Pfeuffer teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors to (abstract): determine geometric characteristics of a hand (fig. 2 Activation closed palm)
Pfeuffer fails to expressly teach determining geometric characteristics of a hand relative to a head of a user performing a gesture.
However, Lacey teaches determining geometric characteristics of a hand relative to a head of a user performing a gesture. (abstract, [158, 0364])(fig. 17a-17b head pose, gaze and gesture Lacey)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Pfeuffer to further include determining geometric characteristics of a hand relative to a head of a user performing a gesture as taught by Lacey in order to “reduce the degree of specificity required in an input command and to reduce error rate associated with an imprecise command, the wearable system described herein can be programmed to dynamically apply multiple inputs for identification of an object to be selected or acted upon” [0080]
Therefore, Pfeuffer in view of Lacey teaches determine a gaze vector for the user(fig. 2 selection eye gaze); determine a hand gesture state from a plurality of candidate hand gesture states based on the gaze vector and the geometric characteristics of the hand relative to the head of the user (fig. 2 open hand palm up) Pfeuffer and in response to a determination that the hand gesture state corresponds to an input gesture, invoke an action corresponding to the input gesture. (fig. 2 activation of UI ) Pfeuffer and (abstract, [158, 0364]) Lacey
In regards to claim 18, Pfeuffer teaches system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more computer readable media comprising computer readable code executable by the one or more processors to (abstract) determine geometric characteristics of a hand (fig. 2 Activation closed palm)(heading 8 smartphone applications)
Pfeuffer fails to expressly teach determining geometric characteristics of a hand relative to a head of a user performing a gesture.
However, Lacey teaches determining geometric characteristics of a hand relative to a head of a user performing a gesture. (abstract, [158, 0364]) Lacey
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Pfeuffer to further include determining geometric characteristics of a hand relative to a head of a user performing a gesture as taught by Lacey in order to “reduce the degree of specificity required in an input command and to reduce error rate associated with an imprecise command, the wearable system described herein can be programmed to dynamically apply multiple inputs for identification of an object to be selected or acted upon” [0080].
Therefore, Pfeuffer in view of Lacey teaches determine a gaze vector for the user; (fig. 2 pictures of gaze laser) Pfeuffer [0081,0086,374] Lacey
determining a hand gesture state from a plurality of candidate hand gesture states based on the gaze vector and the geometric characteristics of the hand relative to the head of the user; and (fig. 2 open hand palm up) Pfeuffer ([0086, 158] hand, finger gesture) Lacey
in response to a determination that the hand gesture state corresponds to an input gestures, invoking an action corresponding to the input gesture.(fig. 2 activation of UI ) Pfeuffer. Examiner notes Gaze and Commit is a well known model for input and when view with Pfeuffer’s open palm interaction for opening a UI reads on the claims furthermore, Pfeuffer fig. 3 shows a well written state of art of UI activation see below). And [0158] Lacey.
In regards to claim 2, Pfeuffer in view of Lacey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining geometric characteristic of a hand relative to a head of a user comprises: obtaining hand tracking data of the hand ([127] Lacey) performing the gesture (fig. 2 gestures) Pfeuffer; and obtaining a head vector for the user (abstract, [158, 0364]) Lacey)
In regards to claim 10, Pfeuffer in view of Lacey teaches non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the computer readable code to determine geometric characteristic of a hand relative to a head of a user comprises computer readable code to([127] Lacey) and (fig. 2 gestures) Pfeuffer: obtain hand tracking data of the hand performing the gesture; and obtain a head vector for the user. (abstract, [158, 0364]) Lacey)
In regards to claim 11, Pfeuffer in view of Lacey teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the computer readable code to determine geometric characteristic of a hand relative to a head of a user comprises computer readable code to: obtain controller tracking data of a controller held by the hand;(fig. 19 a 1940)Lacey and obtain a head vector for the user [0364] Lacey.
Claim(s) 3-8, 12-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palm Gazer:Unimanual Eye-hand Menus in Augmented Reality, Ken Pfeuffer et al, October 13, 2023, UI '23: Proceedings of the 2023 ACM Symposium on Spatial User Interaction (October 2023) https://doi.org/10.1145/3607822.3614523 ISBN: 9798400702815, hereinafter, Pfeuffer in view of Lacey et al (2019/0362557) hereinafter, Lacey further in view of Salvi et al (2017/0344122) hereinafter, Salvi.
In regards to claim 3, Pfeuffer and Lacey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the candidate hand gesture state comprise a palm-up state (fig. 2 open hand palm up) Pfeuffer
Pfeuffer and Lacey fail to teach a palm-flip state, and an invalid state.
However, Salvi teaches a palm-flip state (fig. 2a and 2b flipped states) Salvi, and an invalid state [148] [0044-0048].
[0048] Such an arrangement illuminates a notable advantage of certain embodiments disclosed herein. Namely, for a system of navigation that uses a single pose (or even a related group of poses) in several postures to deliver several different inputs, the user may utilize such an arrangement intuitively. If basic navigation is carried out with several postures, those postures exhibiting a single pose but in different orientations, such an arrangement may prove simple and/or intuitive to users. As a more concrete example, if all (or even several) core navigation functions within a user interface all use (for instance) some variation on the “thumbs up” pose, the user may find such an arrangement relatively intuitive and easy to remember and use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Pfeuffer and Lacey to further include teach a palm-flip state, and an invalid state as taught by Salvi in order to support a very large number of individual inputs [003-007].
In regards to claim 4, see rational of claim 3, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the hand gesture state comprises: determining a hand orientation state from a plurality of candidate hand orientation states based on the geometric characteristics of the hand relative to the head(abstract, [158, 0364]) Lacey); and determining the hand gesture state based on the hand orientation state and the gaze vector. (fig. 4a and 4b flipped state [0015, 0023, 0044-0048, 148,] Salvi).
In regards to claim 6, see rational of claim 3, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi method of claim 4, wherein the hand gesture state is determined using a gesture detection state machine and based on one or more of a group consisting of: 1) the hand gesture state; and 2) a determination of whether a gaze criterion is satisfied (fig. 2 hand gestures and gaze) Pfeuffer
In regards to claim 7, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi method of claim 6, wherein determining whether the gaze criterion is satisfied comprises: determining whether a target of the gaze vector is within a threshold distance of at least one of the hand, a controller, and a user input component (fig. 17a eye gaze [0084, 212, 217] Lacey.
In regards to claim 8, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi method of claim 4, further comprising: obtaining controller tracking data; and determining a controller orientation based on the controller tracking data, wherein determining the hand gesture state comprises: determining a hand orientation state from a plurality of candidate hand orientation (fig. 4a and 4b flipped state) Salvi, states based on the geometric characteristics of the controller orientation relative to the head; and determining the hand gesture state based on the controller orientation state and the gaze vector. (fig. 4a and 4b flipped state [0015, 0023, 0044-0048, 148,] Salvi) and (abstract, [158, 0364]) Lacey);
In regards to claim 12, see rational of claim 3, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi teaches non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the candidate hand gesture states comprise a palm-up state(fig. 2 open hand palm up) Pfeuffer, a palm-flip state(fig. 4a and 4b flipped state) Salvi, and an invalid state [148] [0044] Salvi
In regards to claim 13, see rational of claim 3, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the computer readable code to determine the hand gesture state comprises computer readable code to: determine a hand orientation state from a plurality of candidate hand orientation states based on the geometric characteristics of the hand relative to the head (abstract, [158, 0364]) Lacey); and determine the hand gesture state based on the hand orientation state and the gaze vector. (fig. 4a and 4b flipped state [0015, 0023, 0044-0048, 148,] Salvi)
In regards to claim 15, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13, wherein the hand gesture state is determined using a gesture detection state machine and based on one or more of a group consisting of: 1) the hand gesture state; and 2) a determination of whether a gaze criterion is satisfied. (fig. 2 hand gestures and gaze) Pfeuffer
In regards to claim 16,Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the computer readable code to determine whether the gaze criterion is satisfied comprises computer readable code to: determine whether a target of the gaze vector is within a threshold distance of at least one of the hand, a controller, and a user input component. (fig. 17a eye gaze [0084, 212, 217] Lacey.
In regards to claim 17, see rational of claim 3, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the computer readable code to invoke an action corresponding to the input gesture further comprises computer readable code to: determine a gesture activation state based on the hand gesture state (fig. 2 gesture and gaze) Pfeuffer and one or more suppression criteria.[409] Lacey
In regards to claim 19, see rational of claim 3, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi system of claim 18, wherein the computer readable code to determine the hand gesture state comprises computer readable code to: determine a hand orientation state from a plurality of candidate hand orientation states based on the geometric characteristics of the hand relative to the head; (fig. 2a and 2b flipped state) Salvi, and determine the hand gesture state based on the hand orientation state and the gaze vector. (fig. 4a and 4b flipped state [0015, 0023, 0044-0048, 148,] Salvi) and (abstract, [158, 0364]) Lacey);
In regards to claim 20, see rational of claim 3, Pfeuffer and Lacey in view of Salvi system of claim 18, wherein the computer readable code to invoke an action corresponding to the input gesture further comprises computer readable code to: determine a gesture activation state based on the hand gesture state (fig. 2 gesture and gaze) Pfeuffer and one or more suppression criteria. [409] Lacey
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622