DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/625,772, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Applicant’s specification mentions the word “automotive” only two times in their specification, yet seeks to have protection for claims specifically related to such. In other examples, the word “automobile” such as discussed in claim 2, never appears once in the specification. Receiving “data associated with the automotive race participant” (claim 3) is never mentioned in the specification at all. These are merely representations of what Applicant has not shown provided support for in the previous applications.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: At least claims 2-7 do not find adequate support in the originally filed specification to support the claim language as listed.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 has double commas in the first line of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0271367 to Vaden in view of US Patent No. 10,086,261 to Kim.
With regard to claim 1, Vaden discloses a method comprising: identifying, by a processing device, first data associated with an automotive race participant, wherein the first data comprises automotive race-related performance data of the automotive race participant (0024-0025; 0036-0044); generating, based on historical performance data associated with one or more competitions involving a competitor, second data associated with a computer-generated visual representation of the competitor (0024-0028); generating, based on the first data and the second data, a simulation comprising at least one image of the automotive race participant and the computer-generated visual representation of the competitor engaged in an automotive racing competition (0024-0044).
Vaden is not explicitly clear about designating a winner of the race. However, Kim teaches generating an indication of a winner of the simulation of the automotive racing competition (col. 3, lines 1-9; col. 9, lines 33-40).
With regard to claim 2¸Vaden discloses wherein the computer-generated visual representation associated with the competitor comprises an automobile (fig. 1B).
With regard to claim 3, Vaden discloses further comprising receiving, from one or more sensor devices, the first data associated with the automotive race participant (0038).
With regard to claim 4, Vaden discloses further comprising executing a model to predict one or more actions of the competitor (0047-0049).
With regard to claim 5, Kim teaches further comprising publishing the indication of the winner of the simulation of the automotive racing competition to one or more computing devices (fig. 2; col. 11, lines 24-36).
With regard to claim 6, Vaden discloses further comprising processing video content comprising the automotive race participant, wherein the simulation of the automotive racing competition is based at least in part on the video content comprising the automotive race participant (0024-0028 this is taking an alternative view of Vaden in that rather than participating in the game the user is merely watching the simulation, wherein each of the cars participating would either qualify as the first car of would be that of the competitor thus reading on the claims of gathering data about a first car and its competitors, now making it historical data, and then uploading it and transforming it into a computer simulation based off all of the data).
With regard to claim 7, Vaden discloses wherein the simulation comprises video content associated with the automotive race participant engaged in the automotive racing competition (fig. 1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Kim with the disclosure of Vaden such that a clear winner is determined thus fulfilling the actual goal of the race.
Claims 8-20 are mirrored claims to claims 1-7 in different statutory classes and as such are rejected in like manner.
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 11,471,774 to Tureaud in view of Vaden.
With regard to claims 1-20, Tureaud discloses all elements described as the specification is the same, but does not go into detail about how such is accomplished in an automotive race situation. However, Vaden provides details of using real world historical data and current input in the situation of automotive racing (0024-0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Vaden with the disclosure of Tureaud in order to actually accomplish the suggestion by Tureaud that such an invention could be used with automotive racing (col. 3, lines 8-31) thus providing the needed details to accomplish such a competition that were not provided by Tureaud.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the notice of references cited.
/Jay Trent Liddle/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715