DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lindberg US 2022/0332194.
Regarding claim 1, Lindberg discloses a computer system (see FIG. 2) comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine, by taking into account topography information of a stretch of road to betravelled by a vehicle (see paragraph [0014]), to which extent service braking can be applied before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat upon travelling said stretch of road (see paragraphs [0011]-[0020]); and to reserve an amount of energy to be stored in an energy storage system, ESS, of the vehicle for allowing endurance braking of the vehicle to avoid causing overheating of the service brake (see paragraphs [0006]-[0015]), wherein the amount of energy being reserved is adapted to the extent to which the service braking is determined to be applied upon the vehicle traveling said stretch of road. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 2, Lindberg discloses the processing circuitry being configured to reserve a greater amount of energy for allowing endurance braking upon said topography information indicating that service braking can be applied to a lesser extent before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat upon travelling said stretch of road as compared to said topography information indicating that service braking can be applied to a greater extent before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat upon travelling said stretch of road. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 3, Lindberg discloses the processing circuitry being configured to reserve a greater amount of energy for allowing endurance braking upon said topography information indicating that the stretch of road has greater downhill inclination as compared to said topography information indicating that the stretch of road has lesser downhill inclination. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 4, Lindberg discloses the processing circuitry being configured to reserve a greater amount of energy for allowing endurance braking upon said vehicle travelling at a higher speed on said stretch of road as compared to travelling at a lower speed. See FIG. 5 and 6 and paragraphs [0068]-[0073].
Regarding claim 5, Lindberg discloses wherein the amount of energy not being reserved in the ESS for endurance braking is utilized in the vehicle for purposes other than endurance braking. See paragraphs [0045]-[0059].
Regarding claim 6, Lindberg discloses the processing circuitry being configured to, when performing the determining; acquire a predetermined model which based on topography information of the stretch of road to be travelled by the vehicle indicates to which extent service braking can be applied before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat upon the vehicle travelling said stretch of road. See paragraph [0052].
Regarding claim 7, Lindberg discloses said model being configured to indicate the extent to which service braking can be applied in the form of a distance that the vehicle can travel along said stretch of road before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 8, Lindberg discloses the model being configured to take into account degree of downhill inclination of the stretch of road to be travelled upon indicating the extent to which service braking can be applied before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 9, Lindberg discloses the model being configured to take into account speed of the vehicle when travelling said stretch of road upon indicating the extent to which service braking can be applied before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 10, Lindberg discloses processing circuitry further being configured to control that the amount of energy reserved in the ESS for endurance braking is not used for purposes other than endurance braking. See paragraphs [0045]-[0059].
Regarding claim 11, Lindberg discloses wherein a service braking threshold temperature is set indicating at which temperature the service brake is considered to be overheated. See paragraphs [0011], [0012], [0020], and [0046]-[0054].
Regarding claim 12, Lindberg discloses the processing circuitry further being configured to harvest energy during the performing of the endurance braking, which harvested energy is restored in the ESS and reserved for endurance braking. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 13, Lindberg discloses the processing circuitry farther being configured to take into account one or more of vehicle-specific information affecting service braking in the form of weight, number of wheel axles, braking system, type of motor, historical braking behavior of a driver of the vehicle, battery health, current traffic information in the form of traffic stockings or weather conditions for determining to which extent service braking can be applied before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat upon travelling said stretch of road. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 14, Lindberg discloses vehicle comprising the computer system of claim 1. See paragraph [0074].
Regarding claim 15 , Lindberg discloses computer-implemented method, comprising: determining, by taking into account topography information of a stretch of road to be travelled by a vehicle, to which extent service braking can be applied before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat upon travelling said stretch of road; and reserving an amount of energy to be stored in an energy storage system, ESS, of the vehicle for allowing endurance braking of the vehicle to avoid causing overheating of the service brake, wherein the amount of energy being reserved is adapted to the extent to which the service braking is determined to be applied upon the vehicle traveling said stretch of road. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 16, Lindberg discloses wherein a greater amount of energy is reserved for allowing endurance braking upon said topography information indicating that service braking can be applied to a lesser extent before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat upon travelling said stretch of road as compared to said topography information indicating that service braking can be applied to a greater extent before the service brake of the vehicle is expected to overheat upon travelling said stretch of road. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 17, Lindberg discloses wherein a greater amount of energy is reserved for allowing endurance braking upon said topography information indicating that the stretch of road has greater downhill inclination as compared to said topography information indicating that the stretch of road has lesser downhill inclination. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 18, Lindberg discloses wherein a greater amount of energy is reserved for allowing endurance braking upon said vehicle travelling at a higher speed on said stretch of road as compared to travelling at a lower speed. See FIG. 2-6 and paragraphs [0041]-[0060].
Regarding claim 19, Lindberg discloses computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 18. See paragraph [0074].
Regarding claim 20, Lindberg discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which when executed by the processing circuitry cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 18. See paragraph [0074].
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747