DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the header panel configured to couple with the pivot mount and the wall system must be shown or the features canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 11-12, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blackburn (US 2019/0260782).
Regarding claim 1, Blackburn discloses a ballistic resistant panel system (Fig. 5) comprising:
a panel 23, the panel comprising:
a ballistic resistant layer 9; and
an outer layer 24 secured to at least one side of the ballistic resistant layer (Fig. 5; Par. 0021: “the bulletproof door panel 9 is mounted onto an inside panel 24 of the main entry door 23”); and
a pivot mount (Door Hinge, not shown; Par. 0022: “It is preferred that the foot bolt 10 be located at the lower inside corner, opposite from the door hinge side of door”) connected to the panel and configured to secure the panel with respect to a wall system and facilitate selective movement of the panel about the pivot mount and relative to the wall system (Fig. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 2, Blackburn further discloses a lock 10 secured to the panel and configured to lock the panel at a location relative to the wall system (Fig. 5-6; Par. 0022-0023).
Regarding clam 4, Blackburn further discloses wherein the pivot mount includes one or more hinge secured to the panel and securable to the wall system (Door Hinge, not shown; Par. 0022: “It is preferred that the foot bolt 10 be located at the lower inside corner, opposite from the door hinge side of door”).
Regarding claim 9, Blackburn further discloses wherein the panel has a height and width configured to cover a doorway along the wall system (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Blackburn further discloses wherein the outer layer secured to at least one side of the ballistic resistant layer comprises a first outer layer secured to a first side of the ballistic resistant layer and a second outer layer secured to a second side of the ballistic resistant layer (Par. 0021: “a secondary panel made of a corkboard material and of size similar to the bulletproof door panel 9 can be attached onto the bulletproof door panel 9 with adhesive thus concealing the appearance of the bulletproof door panel 9”).
Regarding claim 12, Blackburn further discloses, wherein the first outer layer has a surface forming one or more of a white board surface, a chalkboard surface, a magnetic surface, a cork board surface, and a glass surface (Par. 0021: Par. 0021: “a secondary panel made of a corkboard material and of size similar to the bulletproof door panel 9 can be attached onto the bulletproof door panel 9 with adhesive thus concealing the appearance of the bulletproof door panel 9”).
Regarding claim 15, Blackburn further discloses a method of securing an opening in a wall system, the method comprising:
identifying an attacker risk at one or more locations along the wall system (Par. 0024); and
adjusting a position of a ballistic resistant panel from a non-securing position spaced from the one or more locations along the wall system to a securing position covering the one or more locations along the wall system (Par. 0017-0020; Par. 0021-0022; Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 16, Blackburn further discloses locking the ballistic resistant panel in the securing position (Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 17, Blackburn further discloses interacting with an outer surface of the ballistic resistant panel when the ballistic resistant panel is in the non-securing position (Fig. 5; Par. 0021-0022; Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 20, Blackburn further discloses wherein the ballistic resistant panel is mounted to the wall system (Par. 0017-0020; Par. 0021-0022; Fig. 2-6).
Claims 1, 7, 10, 15, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zimmer (US 2012/0060436).
Regarding claim 1, Zimmer discloses a ballistic resistant panel system comprising:
a panel 110A, 110B, the panel comprising:
a ballistic resistant layer (Claim 2; Par. 0031); and
an outer layer secured to at least one side of the ballistic resistant layer (claim 2; Par. 0031); and
a pivot mount 130 connected to the panel and configured to secure the panel with respect to a wall system and facilitate selective movement of the panel about the pivot mount and relative to the wall system (Par. 0038-0039; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Zimmer further discloses a header panel configured to couple with the pivot mount and the wall system (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Zimmer further discloses wherein the panel has a height and width configured to cover a window along the wall system (Fig. 4; Par. 0027: “a panel system 100 configured for securing a building 101, openings 102 of a building 101, doors, or windows of a building, or other means of entering any structure”).
Regarding claim 15, Zimmer further discloses method of securing an opening in a wall system, the method comprising: identifying an attacker risk at one or more locations along the wall system; and adjusting a position of a ballistic resistant panel from a non-securing position spaced from the one or more locations along the wall system to a securing position covering the one or more locations along the wall system (claim 19-20).
Regarding claim 18, Zimmer further discloses wherein the one or more locations along the wall system comprise a window.
Regarding claim 19, Zimmer further discloses wherein the ballistic resistant panel is mounted to a ceiling adjacent the wall system. (Par. 0039: the mounting hinge 130 may support the vertically hanging weight of the panel system 100 from any structure of a building. Non-limiting examples include walls, ceilings, overhangs, ledges, planters, and balconies”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackburn in view of Aliev (US 10,167,644).
Regarding claim 3, Blackburn fails to disclose one or more wheels secured to the panel to facilitate the movement of the panel relative to the wall system.
Aliev teaches that it is known in the art of ballistic doors to use wheels to facilitate movement (Fig. 6b, 12; Col. 12, lines 20-62: “FIG. 12 depicts a wheel caster attached to the door frame in accordance with aspects of the disclosure. For example, as shown in FIG. 12, a wheel caster 49 may be attached to the bottom corner connector 59 of the door 42. In an exemplary embodiment the weight of the door with the panel on it is approximately 60 lbs. Without a support (e.g., a wheel caster), opening and closing the door may be challenging in terms of weight alone. Additionally, opening and closing the door would shake (or vibrate) the whole structure, possibly causing the structure to feel unstable. Thus, in accordance with aspects of the disclosure, the wheel caster 49 may be attached to bottom of the door 42 to allow for an easier and smoother opening and closing…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Blackburn such that the panel had a wheel, in view of Aliev, to obtain the desired result of easier and smoother movement of the panel.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackburn in view of Shah et al (US 2019/0211595) [hereinafter Shah].
Regarding claims 5-6, Blackburn fails to expressly disclose wherein the one or more hinge comprises one or both of a continuous geared hinge and a load bearing ball bearing hinge.
Shah teaches that it is known in the art of panel hinges to provide one or both of a continuous geared hinge (Fig. 5) and a load bearing ball bearing hinge (Par. 0028: “Referring now to FIGS. 1-3, in the present application, the hinge 12 is shown as a continuous geared hinge, which as is well known in the art are provided in a variety of formats”) wherein the pivot mount extends continuously along a height of the panel (Fig. 5).
Applicant should note that "when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield predictable results." KSR at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams 383 US 39, 50-51 (1966)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Blackburn such that the hinge was a continuous geared hinge, in view of Shah, because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention. The replacement would be expected to yield door hinges that act as the critical pivot points that connect a door to its frame and allow the door to swing open and closed smoothly while securely bearing its weight and keeping the door aligned for proper locking and latching.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackburn in view of McCarthy et al (US 2015/0096479) [hereinafter McCarthy].
Regarding claim 8, Blackburn fails to expressly discloses a wall stiffener configured to couple with the pivot mount and the wall system.
McCarthy teaches that it is known in the art of ballistic panels to provide a wall stiffener 98 configured to couple with the pivot mount 36 and the wall system (Fig. 11; Par. 0070).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Blackburn such that the panel had a wall stiffener configured to couple with the pivot mount and the wall system, in view of McCarthy, to obtain the desired result of supporting the panels weight and anchoring the hinges keeping the panel stable and aligned.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackburn in view of Hunt et al (US 5,816,017) [hereinafter Hunt].
Regarding claim 13, Blackburn fails to disclose an edge wrap extending around a surface of the ballistic resistant layer and a surface of the outer layer.
Hunt teaches that it is known in the art of door panels to provide an edge wrap extending around a surface of the ballistic resistant layer and a surface of the outer layer (Col. 2, lines 5-9: “The metal channels act as covers for housing the door rods between the frame and the incombustible core of the fire door and for securement of the rods to the core, and as metal edge wraps for enhancing the structural integrity of the door edge housing the vertical door rod therein”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Blackburn such that the panel had an edge wrap extending around a surface of the ballistic resistant layer and a surface of the outer layer, in view of Hunt, to obtain the desired result of enhancing the structural integrity of the door panel.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackburn in view of Spransy (2016/0281416).
Regarding claim 14, Blackburn further discloses wherein the outer layer is a finished surface layer configured from cork material for concealing the appearance of the bulletproof door panel (Par. 0021). Blackburn fails to expressly disclose wherein the finished surface layer is configured from white board material.
Spransy teaches that it is known in the art of ballistic panels to provide a finished surface 18 layer is configured from white board material (Par. 0015: “In some embodiments, the ballistic skin may be covered with cork or a white board material. Hence, the classroom barrier can be disguised as a simple bulletin board for everyday use”; Par. 0034).
Applicant should note that "when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield predictable results." KSR at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams 383 US 39, 50-51 (1966)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Blackburn such that a finished surface layer is configured from white board material, in view of Spransy, because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention. The replacement would be expected to yield concealing the bullet proof door panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JOSHUA E FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641