DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Application No. 19/202,732 filled on 05/08/2025.
Claims 1-27 are presented for examination.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/ columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching
all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-18 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battlogg (US 2020/0174512 A1) (hereinafter Battogg-4512) in view of Battlogg (US 20180298959A1) (hereinafter Battogg-8959).
Claim 12. Battlogg-4512 teaches a haptic input/output (I/O) device for a recreational vehicle (See Abstract, Para. [0001] “ A haptic operating device used in a vehicle, such as a watercraft, aircraft, helicopters”), the haptic I/O device comprising:
a knob configured to receive input and provide output via rotation (See Abstract, “the haptic operating device has a rotary knob which can be rotated about the stationary central part”);
a position sensor configured to identify a rotational position of the knob (See Para. [0039], “a sensor for detecting an angle change or an absolute angle position is associated with the rotary knob”);
a mechanical actuator configured to actuate the knob (See Para. [0007], “a magnetorheological transfer apparatus for targeted influencing of a rotational movement of the rotary knob”, and see Para. [0106], “The actuator can provide various types of feedback in the case of an elevated pulse”); and
an I/O device controller, configured to:
determine a profile associated with the current function (See Para. [0060], “possible torque profiles against the rotational angle of a haptic operating device according to the invention, and
Battlogg-4512 fails to teach, an I/O device controller, configured to: determine a current function for the haptic I/O device to provide functionality for control of the recreational vehicle;
determine a profile associated with the current function, wherein the profile defines haptic feedback comprising any one of: (i) one or more detents, (ii) one or more end stops, (iii) one or more return-to-position forces, or (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii); and
cause the haptic I/O device to operate according to the profile to provide the haptic feedback and control the recreational vehicle.
However, Battlogg-8959 teaches, an I/O device controller (See Para. [0049], “the haptic operating device to comprise the control device”) , configured to: determine a current function for the haptic I/O device to provide functionality for control of the recreational vehicle (See Para. [0174], [0177], “rotating actuator to control automobile radio volume with a brief glance or without looking at it”), and/or see Para. [0212], “operation or control in or of self-driving vehicles having an adaptive haptic operating device, the available menu items and the latching points of the operating device being adapted on the basis of an operating or driving state”);
determine a profile associated with the current function, wherein the profile defines haptic feedback comprising any one of: (i) one or more detents, (ii) one or more end stops, (iii) one or more return-to-position forces, or (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii) (See Para. [0052], “the latching torque profile can be individually adapted to the operator via the rotational angle”, and see Para. [0148], “The profile of the torque increase and decrease can be set or varied depending on the situation, for example as a square-wave, sinusoidal, sawtooth, or arbitrary profile. A stop can also be simulated. The stop can be hard or can have a predefined or situation-dependent torque profile”, and/or see Para. [0289], “The latching pattern of the rotating controller then adapts automatically, thus, for example, “on”—“off” or volume control with a latching pattern possibly having a dynamic stop”); and
cause the haptic I/O device to operate according to the profile to provide the haptic feedback (See Para. [0155], “the rotary knob can be electromagnetically driven, for example, and can also actively exert a force (force feedback) in order to be able to statically generate a specific counter torque”) and control the recreational vehicle (See Para. [0002], “the invention can be used in various technical fields, for example for operating vehicles”), and Para. [0005]-[0006], [0174], “radio volume control of the automobile from rotating actuator of the haptic operating device”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Battlogg-4512 with control device as taught by Battlogg-8959 to incorporate the above claimed invention in order to operating technical feature of recreational vehicles.
Claim 13. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, wherein to cause the haptic I/O device to operate according to the profile comprises the I/O device controller to:
detect, using the position sensor, actuation of the knob (See Battlogg-4512, Para. [0039], “at least one sensor for detecting an axial actuation in the form of, e.g., an actuation sensor and/or a sensor for detecting an angle change or an absolute angle position is associated with the rotary knob”. Additionally, see Battlogg-8959, at least Para. [0028], [0036], “At least one actuation sensor for sensing an axial actuation force and/or an axial actuation travel is preferably arranged on the basic body and/or the rotating unit.”, and Para. [0196], [0224], “a torque profile is dynamically changed during rotation of the rotating unit and/or the rotating unit latches at a number of haptically perceptible latching points during rotation, the number of haptically perceptible latching points then being dynamically changed, in particular during operation.”, and/or see Para. [0301], “Appropriate rotation of the rotating unit 202 can activate one of the eight gears by means of the corresponding menu item Si to S8. In this case, each gear may be assigned an arbitrary latching pattern/torque profile, for example, with the result that the operator recognizes the selected position without looking.”);
operate the mechanical actuator according to an operating mode to provide the haptic feedback (See Battlogg-8589, Para. [0016], [0033], [0155], [0207], [0291], discloses “haptic feedback”); and
provide an indication of the detected actuation to the recreational vehicle to control the recreational vehicle (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [0174], [0289], “control the volume of the radio with a brief glance or without looking at rotating actuators”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Battlogg-4512 with the teaching of Battlogg-8959 as discussed above to incorporate the claimed invention and control many technical feature of vehicles as disclosed in the publication of Battlogg-8959.
Claim 14. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 13, wherein to provide the indication of the actuation to the recreational vehicle comprises to provide the indication of the actuation to a vehicle controller of the recreational vehicle (See Battlogg-4512, Para. [0038], “provides haptic feedback in the region of the end position”, and Battlogg-8959, Para. [0155], “the rotary knob can be electromagnetically driven, for example, and can also actively exert a force (force feedback) in order to be able to statically generate a specific counter torque”).
Claim 15. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, wherein:
the current function is a shifter for selecting a transmission gear of the recreational vehicle (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [00132], “the gear shift can be automatically changed to the parked position “P” when a vehicle is switched off.”); and
the profile defines a plurality of set positions for selecting each transmission gear option (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [0032], discloses “gear position P and D”).
Claim 16. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 15, wherein the haptic feedback comprises the mechanical actuator biasing the knob of the haptic I/O device to settle at one of the plurality of set positions (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [0032], “in self-drive mode, the gear shift can be automatically changed to either “D” or “P””).
Claim 17. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 15, wherein the I/O device controller is further configured to:
detect, using the position sensor, actuation of the knob indicating a transmission gear option selection based on the knob settling at one of the plurality of set positions (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [00132], “the gear shift can be automatically changed to the parked position “P” when a vehicle is switched off.”, and/or see Para. [0301], “the menu item “S” is actuated, a submenu is activated and the selection possibilities from eight different gears here are provided, as illustrated in FIG. 8H. Appropriate rotation of the rotating unit 202 can activate one of the eight gears by means of the corresponding menu item Si to S8.”);
operate the mechanical actuator to provide the haptic feedback (See Battlogg-8959, at least Para. [0033], [0137], [0155], discloses “haptic feedback”), [0207]); and
provide an indication of the actuation to the recreational vehicle to control the recreational vehicle, including setting a transmission of the recreational vehicle to the transmission gear option selection see Para. [0301], “the menu item “S” is actuated, a submenu is activated and the selection possibilities from eight different gears here are provided, as illustrated in FIG. 8H. Appropriate rotation of the rotating unit 202 can activate one of the eight gears by means of the corresponding menu item Si to S8.).
Claim 18. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, wherein the profile further defines the haptic feedback as comprising active feedback (See Battlogg-512, [0060], “possible torque profiles against the rotational angle of a haptic operating device according to the invention”, Para. [0023], [0038] “provide haptic feedback”) . Additionally, see Battlogg-8959, [Para. [0033], [0052], discloses “haptic feedback, and the haptic latching pattern can also vary the haptic torque ”, and Para. [0144], [048], [0224], [0240], discloses “torque profile against rotational angle of haptic operating device”).
Claim 21. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, wherein the I/O device controller is further configured to:
determine an accessory is connected to the vehicle (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [0295], “audio system in vehicle];
determine an accessory profile associated with an accessory function to control the accessory (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [0172], “volume scale and function of the haptic knob is adapted thereto”);
determine the current function is the accessory function (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [0289], “performs the desired action using the rotating controller. The latching pattern of the rotating controller then adapts automatically, thus, for example, volume control with a latching pattern possibly having a dynamic stop.”); and
cause the haptic I/O device to operate according to the accessory profile to control the accessory (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [0295], “the rotating unit 202 in the direction of rotation 227 (here to the right or in the clockwise direction) then makes it possible to select the menu item for setting the radio or the audio system.”).
Claim 22. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, wherein the I/O device controller is further configured to:
receive information associated with the recreational vehicle from a vehicle controller of the recreational vehicle (See Battlogg-4512, “detecting a rotation of the rotary part during the manual actuation thereof”); and
operate the mechanical actuator to provide an indication of the received information (See Battlogg-4512, Para. [0046], “controlling an input of the haptic operating device of the vehicle according to the manual actuation of the rotary element and setting a property of the rotary element according to a currently selected menu of the haptic operating device or the smart appliance”).
Claim 23. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, wherein:
the haptic I/O device further comprises a magnet (See Battlogg-4512, Para. [0001], [0005], “The present invention relates to a haptic operating device comprising a magnetorheological transfer apparatus”. Additionally, see Battlogg-8959, Para. [0258], “a permanent magnet 25”);
the position sensor is a magnetic encoder configured to detect rotation of the magnet (See Battlogg-4512, Para. [0046], “a sensor such as a rotary encoder’); and
the mechanical actuator is a brushless direct current motor (See Battlogg-4512, Para. [0118], “The haptic operating device may contain a vibration motor”).
Claim 24. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, further comprising a directional light system configured to provide output according to the profile (See Battlogg-4512, Para. [0070], “an illumination unit 266 to illuminate user interface with the rotary knob of the haptic operating device”).
Claim 25. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, further comprising an enclosure with one or more environmental seals configured to provide ingress protection for the position sensor and the mechanical actuator (See Battlogg-8959, Para. [0278], “The space surrounding the rotating bodies 11 and possibly virtually the entire internal space can be filled with a magnetorheological fluid as the medium 6. A sealing ring 46 acts as a seal with respect to the bearing which is thus protected from the particles in the magnetorheological fluid.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Battlogg-4512 with a seal/housing around components as taught by Battlogg-8959 to incorporate the claimed invention in order to protect components of the components the rotating body the teaching of Battlogg-8959 as discussed above to incorporate the claimed invention in order to prevent damage and produce less friction.
Claims 1-8 are method claims corresponding to device claims 12-18 above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same rationales set forth as above for claims 12-18.
Claim 27 is a vehicle claim corresponding to device claim 12 above and having substantially the same technical features as claim 12, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, claim 27 is rejected for the same rationales set forth as above for claim 12.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battlogg (US 2020/0174512 A1) (hereinafter Battogg-4512) in view of Battlogg (US 20180298959A1) (hereinafter Battogg-8959) and further in view of Vanhelle et al. (US 2016/0216763, this reference is from IDS filed on 10/06/2025) (hereinafter Vanhelle).
Claim 19. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, but fails to teach, wherein the I/O device controller is further configured to:
determine the haptic I/O device has not been actuated for a period;
determine a standby profile of a standby function; and
cause the haptic I/O device to operate according to the standby profile.
However, Vanhelle teaches, determine the haptic I/O device has not been actuated for a period (See Para. [0056], “standby configuration”, and/or see Para. [0020], “absence of application of magnetic field”));
determine a standby profile of a standby function (See Para. [0056], “standby configuration with reduced power when the user is in a peripheral area”); and
cause the haptic I/O device to operate according to the standby profile (See Para. [0056], “standby configuration and the sensor detects the presence of the user when the user is within a predefined area around the grip member”, and Para. [0062], “The torque sensor 29 is used to almost instantly determine the direction of rotation of the grip element 3 generated by the user and thus allows one to configure the haptic feedback and the control as soon as the user begins to exert a force on the grip element”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Battlogg-4512 in view of Battlogg-8959 with a standby configuration as taught by Vanhelle in order reduce power consumption.
Claim 20. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, but fails to tech wherein the I/O device controller is further configured to:
determine a speed of the recreational vehicle is above a speed threshold;
determine a high-speed profile of a high-speed function; and cause the haptic I/O device to operate according to the high-speed profile.
However, Vanhelle teaches, determine a speed of the recreational vehicle is above a speed threshold (See Para. [0069], “the vehicle is in sports mode and the speed increases”);
determine a high-speed profile of a high-speed function (See Para. [0069], “higher speed in sports mode”); and
cause the haptic I/O device to operate according to the high-speed profile (See Para. [0026], “the haptic feedback to be modified according to parameters such as the speed of the vehicle”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Battlogg-4512 in view of Battlogg-8959 with a speed configuration of the vehicle as taught by Vanhelle to incorporate the claimed invention in order to improve user comfort.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battlogg (US 2020/0174512 A1) (hereinafter Battogg-4512) in view of Battlogg (US 20180298959A1) (hereinafter Battogg-8959) and further in view of Bushnell et al. (US 11,079,812 B2) (hereinafter Bushnell).
Claim 26. The teaching of Battlogg-4512 as modified by the teaching of Battlogg-8959 teaches the haptic I/O device of claim 12, further comprising a tactile dome positioned to be depressed by the knob when the knob receives axial force (See Battlogg-8959, “a haptic operating device has a display unit on the rotating unit and at least one actuation sensor for sensing an axial actuation force”). Examiner Note: Battlogg-8959 does not explicitly spell out tactile dome, but it could be a design choice. However, Bushnell teaches a tactile dome switch and modular button assembly to produce haptic /tactile output (See Colum 8, lines 31-39, and Col. 9, lines 12-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Battlogg-4512 in view of Battlogg-8959 with a tactile dome switch as taught by Bushnell in order to compress or translate in response to user input more conveniently.
Conclusion
/B M M HANNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657