Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daniel (US 20180172605).
Regarding claim-1. Daniel discloses a conveyor belt insert ([0002-0003], [0028-0036], Fig.3-8) comprising:
at least one layer (Fig.5-8); and
a plurality of reflectors (302/406//504/702/802, Fig.3-5,7-8) disposed in the at least one layer (embedded inside belt as shown in Fig.3-4,5, 7-8), wherein the reflectors are configured to alter a signal transmitted from a monitoring system configured to detect surface wear of a conveyor belt ([0033-0034], [0036]), and wherein the reflectors are disposed at various depths within the at least one layer relative to an outer surface of the conveyor belt (406, 504, 702 are disposed at various depth of belt, See Fig.4-5, and 7).
Regarding claim-2. Daniel discloses wherein the reflectors (302/406//504/702/802, Fig.3-5,7-8) are produced from a radio frequency absorbent material and/or a reflective material (metallic material).
Regarding claim-3. Daniel discloses wherein the reflectors are produced from a copper mesh fabric (metal reflectors are solid or mesh, [0033], [0035-0036]).
Regarding claim-4. Daniel discloses wherein the reflectors span at least partially across a width of the conveyor belt ([0033], [0035], [0036], Fig.5, 7-8).
Regarding claim-5. Daniel discloses wherein at least a portion of the reflectors (406, 504, 702) are arranged in a linear configuration to form one or more reflective strips (See Fig.4-5, and 7; different pattern 504 or 508, [0033] and placing reflectors at different levels allows multiple wear depths to be monitored [0030]).
Regarding claim-6. Daniel discloses wherein each of the reflective strips are spaced apart from an adjacent one of the reflective strips (See Fig.4-5, and 7).
Regarding claim-7. Daniel discloses wherein at least a portion of at least one or the reflective strips may be perforated and/or cut across a width thereof in segmented intervals (mesh, [0033], [0035-0036], See Fig.4-5, and 7 for segment intervals).
Regarding claim-8. Daniel discloses wherein at least one of the reflective strips is comprised of a linear array of spaced apart reflectors ([0033-0036], See Fig.4-5, and 7 linear array of spaced apart reflectors).
Regarding claim-9. Daniel discloses wherein the reflective strips are vertically spaced apart from one another within the at least one layer ([0033-0036], See Fig.4-5, and 7 vertically spaced apart).
Regarding claim-10. Daniel discloses a wear monitoring system for a conveyor belt (Abstract; [0002-0003], [0028-0036], Fig.3-8) comprising:
at least one target portion (See Fig.3-5) provide with the conveyor belt, wherein the target portion includes at least one layer having one or more reflectors disposed at various depths within the at least one layer relative to an outer surface of the conveyor belt (406, 504, 702 are disposed at various depth of belt, See Fig.4-5, and 7); and
a sensing assembly disposed adjacent to the at least one target portion, wherein the wear monitoring system is configured to detect surface wear of the conveyor belt ([0002], [0028-0036], Fig.3-8).
Regarding claim-11. Daniel discloses wherein a generally constant intensity of a signal emitted by the sensing assembly indicates surface wear of the conveyor belt ([0028-0036], Fig.3-8).
Regarding claim-12. Daniel discloses wherein a decrease in intensity of a signal emitted by the sensing assembly indicates a presence of the one or more reflectors ([0028-0036], Fig.3-8).
Regarding claim-13. Daniel discloses wherein the at least one target portion includes at least two reflective strips formed by the one or more reflectors (See Fig.3-5, and 7; different pattern 504 or 508, [0033] and placing reflectors at different levels allows multiple wear depths to be monitored [0030]).
Regarding claim-14. Daniel discloses wherein at least two target portions are provided with the conveyor belt (See Fig.3-5, and 7; different pattern 504 or 508, [0033] and placing reflectors at different levels allows multiple wear depths to be monitored [0030]).
Regarding claim-15. Daniel discloses wherein the sensing assembly includes one or more sensing pairs, each of the sensing pairs including at least one transmitter and at least one receiver (Abstract; [0002], [0028-0036], Fig.3-8).
Regarding claim-16. Daniel discloses wherein the at least one transmitter (303/402/510/604) is disposed adjacent an outer surface of the conveyor belt (See Fig.3-8).
Regarding claim-17. Daniel discloses wherein the at least one receiver (304/403/509/605) is disposed adjacent the conveyor belt opposite the at least one transmitter (See Fig.3-8).
Regarding claim-18. Daniel discloses wherein the at least one transmitter is configured to emit one or more signals and the at least one receiver is configured to receive the one or more signals emitted by the transmitter (Abstract; [0028-0036], See Fig.3-8).
Regarding claim-19. Daniel discloses wherein the one or more sensing pairs are radio frequency pairs comprised of at least one radio frequency transmitter and at least one radio frequency receiver (Abstract; [0002], [0004], [0028-0036], See Fig.3-8).
Regarding claim-20. Daniel discloses a method of monitoring surface wear of a conveyor belt, comprising: providing a wear monitoring system comprising at least one target portion provided with the conveyor belt and a sensing system, wherein the sensing system comprises at least one sensing pair including at least one transmitter and at least one receiver; emitting one or more signals from the at least one transmitter; receiving by the at least one receiver the one or more signals from the at least one transmitter; and determining a surface wear of the conveyor belt based upon an intensity of the one or more signals (Abstract; [0002-0004], [0028-0036], See Fig.3-8).
Conclusion
Note: Examiner strongly suggests applicant to take a look at Notice of References Cited PTO-892 as there are other prior arts that are pertains to claimed invention.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651