DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are active.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/8/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 6-7, 14, and 18-19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 18, the limitation “at least one selected from the group of a cartridge or cartridge case” in lines 1-2 should instead say, for example, “at least one selected from the group consisting of a cartridge [[or]] and a cartridge case” in order to reflect the proper format for a Markush grouping. See MPEP § 2117(I).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “further comprising” in line 1 should instead say, for example, “further comprises”.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase “further comprising” in line 1 should instead say, for example, “wherein the bolt lever further comprises” in order to reflect that the upper protrusion is a component of the previous recited bolt lever.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a bolt carrier group” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a bolt carrier group was already recited in claim 11, from which claim 15 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stenzel (US 2022/0364810), herein ‘Stenzel’.
Regarding claim 1, Stenzel discloses a bolt lever (30) for a firearm (10), the bolt lever comprising:
a main body (Fig. 9);
a hole extending at least partially through the main body (Fig. 9); and
an ejector arm (32) that extends in a forward direction from the main body (par. 35).
Regarding claim 3, Stenzel discloses wherein the ejector arm is designed to interface with a corresponding groove in a bolt carrier group (Fig. 5; par. 29).
Regarding claim 4, Stenzel discloses wherein the ejector arm comprises a proximal portion (Fig. 9; rear portion connected to main body of catch 30) and a distal portion (Fig. 9; forward-facing surface portion 36) that are connected by a joint (Fig. 9; connecting portion between previously described proximal and distal portions).
Regarding claim 5, Stenzel discloses wherein the proximal portion and the distal portion are each disposed at an angle above horizontal (Fig. 6; entirety of ejector arm 32 is disposed at an angle above horizontal).
Regarding claim 6, Stenzel discloses wherein the ejector arm is designed to contact at least one selected from the group consisting of a cartridge (28) and a cartridge case (26) during operation of the firearm (Fig. 4; par. 29).
Regarding claim 7, Stenzel discloses wherein contact between the ejector arm and at least one selected from the group consisting of a cartridge (28) and a cartridge case (26) occurs when a bolt carrier group (22, 126; Fig. 2) is moving rearward (Fig. 4; par. 29).
Regarding claim 8, Stenzel discloses an upper protrusion designed to allow the bolt lever to be operated from an exterior of the firearm (Figs. 5-9; par. 35-36).
Regarding claim 9, Stenzel discloses wherein the bolt lever is designed to pivot about the hole (Figs. 5-8).
Regarding claim 10, Stenzel discloses wherein the bolt lever is attached to a lower receiver (12) of the firearm (Fig. 1; par. 29).
Regarding claim 11, Stenzel discloses a firearm (10) comprising:
a bolt carrier group (22, 126; Fig. 2);
a receiver (12; Fig. 1); and
a bolt lever (30) attached to the receiver (Fig. 1; par. 29),
wherein the bolt lever comprises an ejector arm (32).
Regarding claim 12, Stenzel discloses wherein the bolt lever comprises a main body (Fig. 9) and a hole extending at least partially through the main body (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, Stenzel discloses wherein the ejector arm extends in a forward direction from the bolt lever (Fig. 11; par. 35).
Regarding claim 15, Stenzel discloses wherein the ejector arm is designed to interface with a corresponding groove in the bolt carrier group (Fig. 5; par. 29).
Regarding claim 16, Stenzel discloses wherein the ejector arm comprises a proximal portion (Fig. 9; rear portion connected to main body of catch 30) and a distal portion (Fig. 9; forward-facing surface portion 36) that are connected by a joint (Fig. 9; connecting portion between previously described proximal and distal portions).
Regarding claim 17, Stenzel discloses wherein the proximal portion and the distal portion are each disposed at an angle above horizontal (Fig. 6; entirety of ejector arm 32 is disposed at an angle above horizontal).
Regarding claim 18, Stenzel discloses wherein the ejector arm is designed to contact at least one selected from the group consisting of a cartridge (28) and a cartridge case (26) during operation of the firearm (Fig. 4; par. 29).
Regarding claim 19, Stenzel discloses wherein the bolt lever further comprises an upper protrusion designed to allow the bolt lever to be operated from an exterior of the firearm (Figs. 5-9; par. 35-36).
Regarding claim 20, Stenzel discloses wherein the bolt lever is designed to pivot about a hole (Figs. 5-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stenzel (US 2022/0364810) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, respectively, and further in view of Gomez (US 2012/0167424), herein ‘Gomez’.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Stenzel discloses wherein the bolt lever further comprises a portion (Fig. 6; par. 36, 38-39) designed to interface with a magazine follower (20), but does not expressly teach wherein the portion is a forward protrusion.
Gomez teaches a firearm (1) comprising a bolt lever (20) including a main body (25), a hole (26) extending at least partially through the main body (par. 43), and a forward protrusion (29) designed to interface with a magazine follower (45; par. 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the bolt lever of Stenzel to comprise a forward protrusion designed to interface with a magazine follower as taught by Gomez with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable the magazine follower to move the bolt lever vertically into the path of the bolt carrier group when the magazine is empty to lock the bolt carrier group in a locked-back position (Gomez; par. 44, 53-54).
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Troy Chambers/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3641
/BENJAMIN S. GOMBERG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3641