DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gee Hoo Industrial Corp (TWM247226U, Oct. 21, 2004) (herein “Gee”)
Gee Hoo Industrial Corp including English translation was cited in the IDS filed on Oct. 16, 2025.
Regarding claim 1, Gee teaches a cycling training device comprising: a drive assembly (i.e., exercise bike foot having pedals, see Fig. 1 below), wherein the drive assembly includes a pedal assembly (see Fig. 1 below) or is configured to be coupled to a bicycle with a rear wheel removed; and a support assembly (i.e., base 20) coupled to the drive assembly and configured to support the drive assembly on a surface, wherein the support assembly 20 includes: a support leg (i.e., the base being a “leg”) defining an internal volume (i.e., chamber 26, see Fig. 1 below and para. [0010]); and a drawer 27 (see Fig. 1 below and para. [0011]) translatable between a closed state in which the drawer 27 is contained within the internal volume 26 of the support leg and an open state in which the drawer 27 extends at least partially from the internal volume 26 of the support leg 20, thereby permitting access to the drawer 27.
Regarding claim 2, Gee teaches the cycling training device of claim 1, further comprising a slide within the internal volume and coupled to an internal surface of the support leg 20, wherein the drawer includes a carriage movable along the slide (i.e., drawer 27 forms a carriage which slides within cavity 26, Fig. 1-2, [0011]).
Regarding claim 3, Gee teaches the cycling training device of claim 2, wherein the carriage includes at least one compartment shaped to receive a tool (i.e., drawer 27 may contain tools, [0016]) or detachable component of the drive assembly.
Regarding claim 11, Gee teaches the cycling training device of claim 1, wherein a cross-section of the drawer 27 corresponds to a cross-section of the support leg 20 (i.e., drawer 27 forms a rectangular cross-section and is housed within base 20 which also has a rectangular cross-section, Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, none of the prior art either alone or combination teach or suggest the cycling training device of claim 1, wherein the support leg is operably coupled to a support hub, and the support assembly further comprises at least one additional support leg coupled to and supported by the support hub.
Claims 5-10 depend either directly or indirectly to claim 4.
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 12, none of the prior art either alone or in combination teach or suggest a cycling training device comprising: a drive assembly, wherein the drive assembly includes an axle adapted to be connected to a pair of drop-outs of a bicycle with a rear wheel removed from the pair of drop- outs to operably connect the bicycle to the cycling training device; a support assembly coupled to the drive assembly and configured to support the drive assembly on a surface, wherein the support assembly includes: a primary support leg; a first lateral support leg disposed on a first side of the primary support leg; a second lateral support leg disposed on a second side of the primary support leg opposite the first lateral support leg; and a drawer translatable between a closed state in which the drawer is contained within the primary support leg and an open state in which the drawer extends at least partially from the support assembly, thereby permitting access to the drawer.
Claims 13-19 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 12.
Regarding claim 20, none of the prior art either alone or in combination teach or suggest an exercise device comprising: a tubular support member; and a drawer translatable between a closed state in which the drawer is contained within the internal volume of the tubular support member and an open state in which the drawer extends at least partially from the internal volume of the tubular support member to provide access to the drawer, the drawer comprising: a carriage movable along a slide internal to the tubular support member, the carriage comprising a compartment shaped to receive a detachable component or tool of the exercise device; and a faceplate assembly coupled to the carriage, wherein the faceplate assembly includes a faceplate such that, in the closed state, the faceplate abuts a support hub at the end of the tubular support member and the drawer extends through the support hub into the tubular support member.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784