DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered.
1) The 112f interpretation has been clarified.
2) Please note the newly applied 112b rejection regarding the term “belts”.
3) The 103 rejection is maintained because the amendments do not further clarify the invention as reflected in the Applicant’s disclosure and arguments. The amendments do not alter the interpretation previously applied because the coil cover of Konnerth does accommodate coils.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim limitation(s):
A detection member that detects (claim 5)
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because it uses/they use generic placeholder(s):
member
coupled with functional language:
detects
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder(s) is/are not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim(s) %% has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
“sensor or switch that detects the belt 60”
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 15, the claim recites a single belt but then also recites a plurality of “belts”.
Regarding claim 4, “the two belts” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Novel modified patient immobilization device with an integrated coil support system for MR-guided online adaptive radiotherapy in the management of brain and head-and-neck tumours” by D. Konnerth et al. Tech Innov Pat Supp Radi Onco. 20 (2021) 35-40 (Konnerth, of record) in view of Zink (US 2022/0057460, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Konnerth discloses a coil unit that is fixed to a subject by a belt, the coil unit comprising: a receive coil unit that receive a nuclear magnetic resonance signal of the subject; and a coil cover that has flexibility and accommodates at least one receive coil, and on which the receive coil unit is two-dimensionally arranged, wherein the coil cover itself has, formed therein, a plurality of through-holes penetrating from one surface of the coil cover to the other surface of the coil cover, the through-holes being disposed at positions corresponding to a size of the subject, into which the belts are inserted (Figs. 4 and 5: “Anterior coil” has through holes that receive fastener straps, accommodates at least one coil). Konnerth does not explicitly disclose that the coil unit comprises a plurality of receive coils. However, Zink teaches an MR receiver coil that comprises a plurality of coils (Figs. 2-4). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the plurality of coils as taught by Zink to the coil unit of Konnerth, as to provide robust sensing of an MR signal.
Regarding claim 2, Konnerth does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of through-holes are two-dimensionally arranged (although the apertures appear to be arranged two-dimensionally as shown in Figs. 4 and 5) to correspond to positions of the plurality of receive coils. However, Zink teaches a two-dimensional arrangement of through holes in an MR receive unit ([0068]…[0070]: “apertures 108”, Figs. 2-4). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the aperture arrangement of Zink to the receive coil of Konnerth, as to provide an ordered arrangement.
Regarding claim 3, Konnerth discloses that the coil unit is fixed to the subject by the belt inserted into at least four through-holes (Figs. 4 and 5 show that the fasteners are inserted through four apertures, two on opposite sides of the patient).
Regarding claim 4, Konnerth discloses that the coil unit is fixed to the subject by the two belts (Figs. 4 and 5: “fasteners”).
Regarding claim 7, Konnerth discloses that the coil cover is made of a transparent material (Figs. 4 and 5 show that coils are covered by a material transparent to NMR signals).
Regarding claim 8, Konnerth discloses a magnetic resonance imaging system comprising: a belt; the coil unit according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and a table on which a subject is placed, wherein the table includes an engaging member with which belt is engaged, and the subject is fixed to the table by the belt engaged with the engaging member (Figs. 4 and 5: “Novel coil support system” is connected to and engaged between the fasteners and the table on which the patient lies).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M IP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3793