DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11, 14-16 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 11, line 5 recite, “one or more upwardly extending portions from.” For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “one or more upwardly extending portions extending from.”
Claim 1, line 6 and claim 11, line 6 recite the limitation, “the upwardly extending portions” on line 6. For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “the one or more upwardly extending portions.”
Claims 2 and 5 recite, “the molded candy edible portion.” For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “the molded candy of the edible portion.”
Claim 3 recites, “wherein the intermediate partitions on the top side of the base portion.” For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “wherein the intermediate partitions extending from the top side of the base portion.”
Claim 4, line 3, claim 5, lines 2-3; claim 11, line 12 recite; claim 20, line 3, recite, “top side base portion.” For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “the top side of the base portion.”
Claims 6 and 14 recite, “wherein the finger-grasping portion comprises a pair of bendable plastic extensions and includes a gap between the finger- grasping portion bendable plastic extensions facilitate securing to fingers of different sizes.” For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “wherein the finger-grasping portion comprises a pair of bendable plastic extensions and includes a gap between each bendable plastic extension of the pair of bendable plastic extensions to facilitate securing of the ring candy confection apparatus to fingers of different sizes.”
Claim 7 recites, “each sticker” on line 2. For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “each sticker of the plurality of stickers.”
Claim 8, line 1; claim 9, line 4 and claim line 2, recite, “the stickers.” For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “the plurality of stickers.”
Claim 9 recites, “at gap of the finger-grasping portion distancing to prevent.” It appears that there is a word missing between “portion” and “distancing.”
Claim 10 recites, “forms an image with the stickers combines to allow the ring candy confection apparatus to become. It appears that there is a term or phrase missing between “stickers” and “combines”
Claim 10 recites, “wherein particular placement configuration of the plurality of stickers forms an image” on lines 1-2. For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “wherein particular placement of the plurality of stickers produces a formed image.”
Claim 10 recites “the formed image and upwardly extending portion” on lines 3-4. For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “the formed image and the upwardly extending portion.”
Claim 15 recites, “one or more upwardly extending portions” on line 6. For matters of form, this limitation should recite, “the one or more upwardly extending portions.”
Claim 15 recites, “cleaning the at least one pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions from the top side of the base” on lines 6-7. For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “cleaning the at least one pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions on the top side of the base”
Claim 16, lines 1-2 and claim 18, lines 3 recite, “said edible portion” and “the edible portion.” For matters of form, these limitations should be amended to recite, “said consumable edible portion.”
Claims 16 and 20 recites, “the molded candy edible portion.” For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “the molded candy of the consumable edible portion.”
Claim 19 recites, “forms an image with the stickers combines to allow the ring candy confection apparatus to become. It appears that there is a term or phrase missing between “stickers” and “combines”
Claim 19 recites, “wherein particular placement configuration of the plurality of stickers between ribs on the base intermediate partitions forms an image.” For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “wherein particular placement configuration of the plurality of stickers between ribs on the base intermediate partitions produces a formed image.”
Claim 19 recites “the formed image and upwardly extending portion.” For matters of form, this limitation should be amended to recite, “the formed image and the upwardly extending portion.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 line 2 and claim 11, lines 7-8 recite, “the pedestal upwardly extending portions and intermediate partitions,” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 2, line 4, claim 11, line 10 and claim 16, line 4 recites, “the upper side” on line 4, which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 4 recites, “a sports ball object of various shapes decorative in relation the finger grasping portion.” It is not clear as to what is decorative in relation to the finger-grasping portion, the upwardly extending portion or the sports ball object of various shapes.
Claim 4 recites the limitation, “raised therefrom.” (see line 3). It is not clear as to what “raised therefrom” is referring to, “the sports ball object” or “the upwardly extending portion.”
Claim 5, line 3 and claim 11, lines 12-13 recite the limitation, “raised to appear for a floating illusion.” It is not clear as to what is “raised to appear for a floating illusion,” “the sports ball object” or “the upwardly extending portion.”
Claims 7 and 9 recite, “wherein the adhesive decorative element comprises a plurality of stickers of a sticker sheet.” This limitation is not clear as to whether the apparatus only requires the plurality of stickers or whether the limitation requires a sticker sheet comprising a plurality of stickers.
Claim 8 is rejected based on their dependence to claim 7.
Claim 9 recites, “the gap in the finger-grasping portion” on lines 2-3. This limitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 9 recites, “at gap of the finger-grasping portion,” on line 4. It is not clear whether this limitation is referring to the same gap as recited on line 2 or another gap.
Claim 10 recites, “the formed image” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 11 recites, “said edible portion” on line 7, which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 11, line 12 and claim 17 lines 1-2 recite, “the upwardly extending portion” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 11, line 12 recites, “the sports” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claims 12-14 are rejected based on their dependence to a rejected claim.
Claim 15 recites, “with at least one pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions with plate sections between the top side of said base portion” on lines 2-3. It is initially unclear as to what the term, “between” is modifying, “the one or more upwardly extending portions” or “plate sections.” Additionally, the term, “between” means to separate two or more structural elements; however the claim does not specify what the one or more upwardly extending portions (or plate sections) are between – the claim only recites one structural element (the top side of the base portion).
Claim 16 recites, “the pedestal upwardly extending portion and intermediate partitions,” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 17 recites, “the intermediate partitions,” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 18 is rejected based on its dependence to a rejected claim.
Claim 19 recites, “the base intermediate partitions” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 20 recites the limitation, “raised therefrom.”. It is not clear as to what “raised therefrom” is referring to, “the sports ball object”; “the upwardly extending portion” or the top side base portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Ring Pop Twister” (referred to as “RingPop”) in view of Cecere (US 20060040019) and Diamond (US 20180352829 – i.e. Diamond829) and in further view of Diamond (US 5957746 – i.e. Diamond746), “KoolKidsCrafts – Spinning Tops are Kool Toys” (referred to as KoolKidsCrafts) and Verbert (BE1010627).
Regarding claim 1, RingPop teaches a ring candy confection apparatus (pages 1 and 2) comprising an edible portion (see page 2 and the description, “These are tasty hard candy lollipops”); a base portion which, as shown on pages 2 and 3, would obviously have had a top portion and includes a finger-grasping portion on the bottom side of the base portion (see page 2). As shown on page 3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that RingPop is teaching and suggesting a pedestal on which the edible portion is supported.
Claim 1 differs from RingPop in specifically reciting that the apparatus comprises, “at least one pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions from the top side of said base portion, the upwardly extending portions providing intermediate partitions upon the top side of said base portion for securing and supporting said edible portion.”
Cecere (US 20060040019) teaches a candy confection apparatus comprising an edible portion (see figure 3, item 30 and paragraph 27-28); comprising a base portion having a top and bottom side (see figure 3 and 4, item 20; the top side near item 31 and the bottom side near item 27). The bottom side includes a portion graspable by one’s finger (see figure 3 and 4, item 25). There is a pedestal (see figure 4, item 22) having one or more upwardly extending portions from the top side of the base portion (see figure 4, item 24) and which upwardly extending portions provide intermediate partitions upon the top side of the base portion for securing and supporting the edible portion (see paragraph 28: “Located upon pedestal 23 are a series of either projections or recesses 24 which provide a means for preventing the candy 30 from rotating once the candy 30 is molded onto the base”). Diamond829 teaches a ring candy confection apparatus comprising an edible portion (Figure 5A and 5F, item 202; paragraph 25), a base portion (Figure 5F, item 508,520) which as shown in figure 5 comprises a top side. Diamond829 further teaches the base portion comprising a bottom side that includes a finger-grasping portion (see figure 5A, item 206; paragraph 25 “finger grasping portion”) and a pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions from the top side; the upwardly extending portions providing intermediate partitions on the top side of the base portion for securing and supporting the edible portion (see figure 5A, item 406; paragraph 25; see paragraph 31, “hard candy 202 fixed in position by an extended interior post 406 as a candy novelty ring”; and figure 6, showing partitions). Diamond829 teaches that the structure as taught by Cecere would have been equally applicable to VanderSchuit’s base portion top side.
To therefore modify RingPop and to use a pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions that provide intermediate partitions upon the top side of the baser portion for securing and supporting the edible portion, as taught by Cercere would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of ensuring that the edible portion was secured and did not rotate when affixed to the pedestal of the base portion.
Regarding the limitation of, “an adhesive decorative element for positioning on the top side of the base portion between the intermediate partitions on the top side of said base portion,” the claim differs from RingPop in this regard.
It is initially noted that the claim only requires a decorative element that is capable of being positioned between the intermediate partitions. It is further noted however, that RingPop also teaches an attachment that is securable to the surface top side of the base portion (see page 4 and 5).
Additionally, Diamond829 further teaches that it has been conventional to provide an adhesive decorative element that can be positioned on the top side of the base portion (see paragraph 9, “The movable spinning object may include a round disk, the surface of which may include a printed design or label, or sticker…”).
KoolKidsCrafts further teaches spinning toys, like that of RingPop (see the description of RingPop: “It’s also a ring and also a spin top”; see pages 9-11) can be decorated on the top surface with various decorations including stickers, which would obviously have been an adhesive decorative element (see page 2, first paragraph: “If you can use metallic stickers it will add weight so the top spins better…”; see page 2, last paragraph: “metallic stickers”).
Additionally, it is noted that Diamond746 additionally teaches that it has been conventional to support an edible portion (see figure 1, item 22; figure 6, item 52 and column 2, lines 60; column 3, lines 64-65) on a non-edible base portion having a top and bottom portion and which bottom portion has a portion that is finger graspable (see figure 1 and 3, item 20, 27; figure 6, item 50, 57). Diamond746 further teaches that it has been desirable to provide stickers that can help to provide amusement and play value to the apparatus even after the edible portion has been consumed (see column 6, lines 4-7).
Verbert teaches a container that can comprise items such as candy/confections (see page 4 of the machine translation, 5th paragraph: “sweets”) and which can further include a plurality of stickers (see figure 6 and page 3, 2nd paragraph, “stickers”) for decorating the non-edible support (see page 4, last paragraph onto page 5).
To therefore modify the combination and to also include an adhesive decorative element that is capable of being positioned on the top side of the base portion between intermediate partitions on the top side of the base portion would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for being able to use other known decorations known to be used for similar types of apparatus so as to provide additional decorations that can be applied to RingPop’s base portion top side. Such a modification would have been an obvious substitution of one type of decorative element for another both used for providing an added play element to RingPop’s ring candy confection apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, as shown on pages 2 and 3 and the description, RingPop teaches that the edible portion is a shaped hard candy which would therefore have suggested that the edible portion comprises molded candy (see page 2, “These are tasty hard candy lollipops”). Diamond829 further teaches using candy molds (see paragraph 32, “candy molds”) as does Cecere (see paragraph 16, “preventing the candy material from rotating when molded thereon”). The combination in view of Cecere further teaches and suggests that the pedestal upwardly extending portions and intermediate partitions provide an interference friction fit with the molded candy edible portion to secure the edible portion therewith and thereby being fixed to the upper side of the base portion.
Regarding claim 3, in view of Cercere, the combination teaches that the intermediate partitions on the top side of the base portion comprise ribs on the base portion supporting the edible portion thereon.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination, as applied to claim 2 above, which relies on RingPop as the primary reference, and in further view of Feng (US 20150374010) and Barricini (US 2469589).
Claim 4 differs from the combination as applied to claim 2, in specifically reciting that the upwardly extending portion supports a sports ball object of various shapes decorative in relation to the finger-grasping portion and top side base portion raised therefrom.
Feng teaches a molded hard candy (see figure 1a-1e, item 103 and paragraph 2 and 33) and which is affixed to an upwardly extending portion that supports a sports ball object (see figures 3a-3e which shows a ball such as a football). Barrincini further teaches that it has been conventional to support a molded candy (figure 1, item 10; column 1, lines 4-10) on a support that can take any of a variety of decorative shapes (see figures 1 and 3, item 18 and column 4, lines 27-33).
Since the combination is already teaching that the support can hold various types of confections, to modify the combination such that the upwardly extending portion further includes a decorative sport ball object would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, as an obvious matter of aesthetic design so as to present a specific type of decorative effect after consumption of the edible portion.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination, as applied to claim 4 above, which relies on RingPop as the primary reference, and in further view of Hart (US 6054158)
Regarding claim 5, it is initially noted that the combination as applied to claim 4 teaches that the upwardly extending portion would support the sports ball object in relation to the finger grasping portion and top side base portion.
Regarding the limitation of, the sport ball object being, “raised to appear for a floating illusion, with the molded candy edible portion being at least partially transparent,” it is noted that Barrincini teaches that the candy can be transparent so that the ornamental upper portion of the pedestal is visible (see column 3, lines 65). This would appear to result in the sports ball object appearing as a floating illusion in relation to the top side and lower portion of the apparatus.
Nonetheless, Hart further teaches a support (see item 6 and 6a) that comprises a decorative end portion (see item 8 and 8a) which decorative end portion also supports a candy that is translucent in order to allow viewing of the decorative support through the candy (see column 1, lines 27-31).
To therefore modify the combination as applied to claim 4 to provide an at least partially transparent molded edible candy portion would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, for the purpose of viewing a decorative element through the molded edible candy portion.
Since the prior art is suggesting an at least partially transparent molded candy edible portion, the combination would also have suggested that the sports ball decorative object would also have provided an appearance of a floating illusion.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination, as applied to claim 1 above, which relies on RingPop as the primary reference, and in further view of Rycroft (US 20050095325)
Regarding claim 6, in view of RingPop and Diamond829, the combination teaches that the finger-grasping portion includes a gap between the extensions for securing one’s finger (see page 2 of RingPop; Diamond829 figure 4, item 206). Diamond829 further teaches that the finger grasping portion is made from plastic (see paragraph 16, 27)
Claim 6 differs from the combination as applied to claim 1 in specifically reciting that the extensions are bendable plastic extensions.
Rycroft teaches a candy confection apparatus comprising an edible portion (Figure 1, item 14; paragraph 28) secured to a pedestal (figure 1, item 16; paragraph 28) and where there is a flexible plastic finger grasping portion comprising a pair of bendable extensions with a gap there-between (see figure 1, item 12 and paragraph 28: “wrist bracelet 12 is fabricated from plastic…”; “flexible wrist bracelet”), so as to make it easier for the apparatus to adjust to varying sizes of the user (see paragraph 28).
To therefore modify the combination and to provide the plastic extensions as bendable would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to also be able to make it easier to accommodate varying sizes of the finger of the user.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination, as applied to claim 1 and 6 above, which relies on RingPop as the primary reference, and in further view of Cruz (BR 202014025411 U2) and Witkowski (US 20030056410).
Regarding claim 7, it is noted that KoolKidsCrafts teaches providing a plurality of stickers that can be used to decorate a top portion of a base portion, as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Verbert as applied to claim 1 is similar in this regard. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the stickers are capable of being applied in a particular placement configuration and therefore would also have been capable of being placed onto the top side of the base portion of the ring candy confection as taught by RingPop.
Claim 7 differs from the combination as applied to claim 1, in specifically reciting that the plurality of stickers is on a sticker sheet, such that each sticker is removable from the sticker sheet to apply to the top side of the base portion.
Cruz teaches packaging comprising confections (see the abstract) and which package can comprise a sheet with a plurality of stickers (see figure 4, item 7) which are removable and attachable onto the nonedible portion for the purpose of decorating the package (figure 4, paragraph 7 and 11 of the machine translation).
Witkowski (US 20030056410) further evidences that it has been conventional to provide an adhesive decorative element (see figure 21 and paragraphs 98-99) as paragraph of a package that can comprise an edible portion (see paragraphs 61-62) so as to provide an additional play element as part of the package (see paragraph 9 and 11).
The combination as applied to claim 1 already teaches including stickers with the confectionery package. To modify the combination to further provide the plurality of stickers as removable from a sheet, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, based on conventional expedients by which decorative stickers can be provided with a confectionery package.
Regarding claim 8, the stickers as taught by the prior art are capable of being placed after the edible portion is removed from the base portion. That is, this is an intended use that the prior art would have been capable of performing.
Regarding claim 9, in view of Cruz and Witkowski, the combination teaches a plurality of stickers of a sticker sheet. In view of RingPop and Diamond829 the combination teaches that the gap in the finger grasping portion would be capable of facilitating folding the sticker sheet inward for placing the sticker sheet at gap of the finger-grasping portion distancing to prevent the stickers from touching the edible portion. It is additionally noted that since Verbert and Cruz already teach packaging stickers with the packaging, to specifically position the sheet of stickers within the gap between the finger grasping portion would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as a rearrangement of the specific positioning of the contents in the package. That is, once it was taught to package stickers together with a confection apparatus, it is not seen that patentability can be predicated on the specific orientation of how the stickers have been arranged in the package, as such an orientation would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts absent a sufficient showing that the specific orientation was critical.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination, as applied to claim 7 above, which relies on RingPop as the primary reference, and in further view of Johnson (GB 2395475).
Regarding claim 10, which recites that “particular placement configuration of the plurality of stickers forms an image with the sticker combines to allow the ring candy confection apparatus to become a decorative element with the formed image and upwardly extending portion,” it is noted that since the prior art already teaches providing a plurality of stickers, the prior art combination would also have been capable of providing a decorative element when the stickers were placed on the top side of the base portion. Specifically regarding the decorative element with the formed image, once it was recognized to provide a plurality of stickers for decorating a non-edible substate which comprises a confection, it is not seen that patentability can be predicated on the specific image that was formed, as this would have been an obvious matter of engineering and/or design choice.
Nonetheless, KoolKidsCrafts teaches providing any type of decoration on the top side of RingPop’s base portion. Additionally, Verbert also teaches decorations which together can also provide a formed image (see figure 6). Johnson (GB2395475) also teaches a non-edible support that can comprise edible portions (see page 1, under “Field of the Invention”; page 2, first two paragraphs under “Detailed Description of the Invention). The apparatus can further comprise stickers that can be provided for attachment to the various portions of the support (see page 3, last sentence). Johnson teaches that the faces of the non-edible packaging can be patterned or alternatively stickers may be provided for attachment to the faces of the box. This would have suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art that the stickers can also provide the pattern to attach to the faces of the box.
To therefore modify the combination to provide a formed image would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, as an obvious matter of engineering and/or design choice.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Ring Pop Twister” (referred to as “RingPop”) in view of Cecere (US 20060040019) and Diamond (US 20180352829 – i.e. Diamond829) and in further view of Feng (US 20150374010), Barricini (US 2469589) and Hart (US 6054158).
Regarding claim 11, RingPop teaches a ring candy confection apparatus (pages 1 and 2) comprising an edible portion (see page 2 and the description, “These are tasty hard candy lollipops”); a base portion which, as shown on pages 2 and 3, would obviously have had a top portion and includes a finger-grasping portion on the bottom side of the base portion (see page 2). As shown on page 3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that RingPop is teaching and suggesting a pedestal on which the edible portion is supported.
Claim 11 differs from RingPop in specifically reciting that the apparatus comprises, “at least one pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions from the top side of said base portion, the upwardly extending portions providing intermediate partitions upon the top side of said base portion for securing and supporting said edible portion, the pedestal upwardly extending portions and intermediate partitions providing an interference friction fit with the molded candy edible portion to secure the edible portion therewith and thereby being fixed to the upper side of the base portion”
Cecere (US 20060040019) teaches a candy confection apparatus comprising an edible portion (see figure 3, item 30 and paragraph 27-28); comprising a base portion having a top and bottom side (see figure 3 and 4, item 20; the top side near item 31 and the bottom side near item 27). The bottom side includes a portion graspable by one’s finger (see figure 3 and 4, item 25). There is a pedestal (see figure 4, item 22) having one or more upwardly extending portions from the top side of the base portion (see figure 4, item 24) and which upwardly extending portions provide intermediate partitions upon the top side of the base portion for securing and supporting the edible portion (see paragraph 28: “Located upon pedestal 23 are a series of either projections or recesses 24 which provide a means for preventing the candy 30 from rotating once the candy 30 is molded onto the base”). Cecere thus teaches that the intermediate partitions and the upwardly extending portions would have provided an interference friction fit with the candy edible portion to secure the edible portion therewith and thereby being fixed to the upper side of the base portion.
Diamond829 teaches a ring candy confection apparatus comprising an edible portion (Figure 5A and 5F, item 202; paragraph 25), a base portion (Figure 5F, item 508,520) which as shown in figure 5 comprises a top side. Diamond829 further teaches the base portion comprising a bottom side that includes a finger-grasping portion (see figure 5A, item 206; paragraph 25 “finger grasping portion”) and a pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions from the top side; the upwardly extending portions providing intermediate partitions on the top side of the base portion for securing and supporting the edible portion (see figure 5A, item 406; paragraph 25; see paragraph 31, “hard candy 202 fixed in position by an extended interior post 406 as a candy novelty ring”; and figure 6, showing partitions). Diamond829 teaches that the structure as taught by Cecere would have been equally applicable to RingPop’s base portion top side.
To therefore modify RingPop and to therefore use a pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions that provide intermediate partitions upon the top side of the base portion that provide an interference friction fit for securing, supporting and fixing the edible portion, as taught by Cercere would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of ensuring that the edible portion was secured and did not rotate after it has been affixed to the pedestal of the base portion.
Regarding the edible portion being molded candy, RingPop teaches that the edible portion is a shaped hard candy which would therefore have suggested that the edible portion comprises molded candy. Diamond829 further teaches using candy molds (see paragraph 32) as does Cecere (see paragraph 16) such that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified RingPop, if necessary, and to use molded candy as an obvious matter of engineering and/or design.
Claim 11 differs from the above combination in specifically reciting the apparatus comprising, “a decorative object of a sports ball shape in relation to the finger-grasping portion and top side base portion raised with the upwardly extending portion to support the sports raised to appear as a floating illusion, with the molded candy edible portion being at least partially transparent.
Feng teaches a molded hard candy (see figure 1a-1e, item 103 and paragraph 2 and 33) and which is affixed to an upwardly extending portion that supports a sports ball object (see figures 3a-3e which shows a ball such as a football). Barrincini further teaches that it has been conventional to support a molded candy (figure 1, item 10; column 1, lines 4-10) on a support that can take any of a variety of decorative shapes (see figures 1 and 3, item 18 and column 4, lines 27-33).
Since the combination is already teaching that the support can hold various types of confections, to modify the combination such that the upwardly extending portion further includes a decorative sport ball object would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, as an obvious matter of aesthetic design so as to present a specific type of decorative effect after consumption of the edible portion.
Further regarding the limitation of, the sport ball object being, “raised to appear for a floating illusion, with the molded candy edible portion being at least partially transparent,” it is noted that Barrincini teaches that the candy can be transparent so that the ornamental upper portion of the pedestal is visible (see column 3, lines 65). This would appear to result in the sports ball object appearing as a floating illusion in relation to the top side and lower portion of the apparatus. Nonetheless, Hart further teaches a support (see item 6 and 6a) that comprises a decorative end portion (see item 8 and 8a) which decorative end portion also supports a candy that is translucent in order to allow viewing of the decorative support through the candy (see column 1, lines 27-31).
To therefore modify the combination to provide an at least partially transparent molded edible candy portion would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, for the purpose of viewing a decorative element through the molded edible candy portion.
Since the prior art is suggesting an at least partially transparent molded candy edible portion, the combination would also have suggested that the sports ball decorative object would also have provided an appearance of a floating illusion.
Regarding claim 12, in view of Cercere, the combination teaches that the intermediate partitions on the top side of the base portion comprise ribs on the base portion supporting the edible portion thereon.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination as applied to claim 11 above, which relies on RingPop as the primary reference, and in further view of Diamond (US 5957746 – i.e. Diamond746), “KoolKidsCrafts” and Verbert (BE1010627).
Claim 13 differs from the combination as applied to claim 11 in specifically reciting, “an adhesive decorative element for positioning on the top side of the base portion between the intermediate partitions on the top side of said base portion.”
It is initially noted that the claim only requires a decorative element that is capable of being positioned between the intermediate partitions.
However, Diamond829 further teaches that it has been conventional to provide an adhesive decorative element that can be positioned on the top side of the base portion (see paragraph 9, “The movable spinning object may include a round disk, the surface of which may include a printed design or label, or sticker…”).
KoolKidsCrafts further teaches spinning toys, like that of RingPop (see the description of RingPop: “It’s also a ring and also a spin top”; see pages 9-11) can be decorated on the top surface with various decorations including stickers, which would obviously have been an adhesive decorative element (see page 2, first paragraph: “If you can use metallic stickers it will add weight so the top spins better…”; see page 2, last paragraph: “metallic stickers”).
Additionally, it is noted that Diamond746 additionally teaches that it has been conventional to support an edible portion (see figure 1, item 22; figure 6, item 52 and column 2, lines 60; column 3, lines 64-65) on a non-edible base portion having a top and bottom portion and which bottom portion has a portion that is finger graspable (see figure 1 and 3, item 20, 27; figure 6, item 50, 57). Diamond746 further teaches that it has been desirable to provide stickers that can help to provide amusement and play value to the apparatus even after the edible portion has been consumed (see column 6, lines 4-7).
Verbert teaches a container that can comprise items such as candy/confections (see page 4 of the machine translation, 5th paragraph: “sweets”) and which can further include a plurality of stickers (see figure 6 and page 3, 2nd paragraph, “stickers”) for decorating the non-edible support (see page 4, last paragraph onto page 5).
To therefore modify the combination and to also include an adhesive decorative element that is capable of being positioned on the top side of the base portion between intermediate partitions on the top side of the base portion would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for being able to use other known decorations known to be used for similar types of apparatus so as to provide additional decorations that can be applied to RingPop’s base portion top side. Such a modification would have been an obvious substitution of one type of decorative element for another both used for providing an added play element to RingPop’s ring candy confection apparatus.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination, as applied to claim 11 above, which relies on RingPop as the primary reference, and in further view of Rycroft (US 20050095325)
Regarding claim 14, in view of RingPop and Diamond829, the combination teaches that the finger-grasping portion includes a gap between the extensions for securing one’s finger (see page 2 of RingPop; Diamond829 figure 4, item 206). Diamond829 further teaches that the finger grasping portion is made from plastic (see paragraph 16, 27)
Claim 14 differs from the combination as applied to claim 11, in specifically reciting that the extensions are bendable plastic extensions.
Rycroft teaches a candy confection apparatus comprising an edible portion (Figure 1, item 14; paragraph 28) secured to a pedestal (figure 1, item 16; paragraph 28) and where there is a flexible plastic finger grasping portion comprising a pair of bendable extensions with a gap there-between (see figure 1, item 12 and paragraph 28: “wrist bracelet 12 is fabricated from plastic…”; “flexible wrist bracelet”), so as to make it easier for the apparatus to adjust to varying sizes of the user (see paragraph 28).
To therefore modify the combination and to provide the plastic extensions as bendable would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to also be able to make it easier to accommodate varying sizes of the finger of the user.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Ring Pop Twister” (referred to as “RingPop”) in view of Cecere (US 20060040019) and Diamond (US 20180352829 – i.e. Diamond829) and in further view of Diamond (US 5957746 – i.e. Diamond746), “KoolKidsCrafts”, Verbert (BE1010627) and Johnson (GB 2395475) and in further view of and Cruz (BR 202014025411 U2) and Witkowski (US 20030056410).
Regarding claim 15, RingPop teaches a method of assembling a ring candy confection comprising forming a base portion with at least one pedestal having an upwardly extending portion (see page 3). A consumable edible portion is obviously formed at a top side of the base portion, as shown in figures 2 and 3. There is a finger grasping portion at a bottom side of the base portion, as shown on page 2.
RingPop teaches cleaning the at least one pedestal from the top side of the base portion of remaining edible portion (see page 7 and 8). Regarding cleaning remaining edible portion and debris, since the reference is teaching that the top side of the base portion is to be free of any particulate as shown on page 8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have cleaned any particulates for the purpose of providing a debris free engaging surface as shown on page 9.
Claim 15 differs from RingPop in specifically reciting, “at least one pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions with plate sections between the top side of the base portion.”
However, Cecere and Diamond829 have been incorporated herein as already discussed above with respect to claim 1 to teach the above recited structure. To therefore modify RingPop and to use a pedestal having one or more upwardly extending portions with plate sections between the top side of the base portion would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, as a substitution of one anchoring expedient for another, both useful for securing an edible portion to a non-edible base.
Claim 15 differs from the above combination in specifically reciting, providing adhesive decorative element stickers from a sticker sheet; applying stickers to the plate sections of the base portion and forming an image particular placement configuration using the stickers applied to the plate sections on the base portion.
However, Diamond829 further teaches that it has been conventional to provide an adhesive decorative element that can be positioned on the top side of the base portion (see paragraph 9, “The movable spinning object may include a round disk, the surface of which may include a printed design or label, or sticker…”).
KoolKidsCrafts further teaches spinning toys, like that of RingPop (see the description of RingPop: “It’s also a ring and also a spin top”; see pages 9-11) can be decorated on the top surface with various decorations including stickers, which would obviously have been an adhesive decorative element (see page 2, first paragraph: “If you can use metallic stickers it will add weight so the top spins better…”; see page 2, last paragraph: “metallic stickers”).
Additionally, it is noted that Diamond746 additionally teaches that it has been conventional to support an edible portion (see figure 1, item 22; figure 6, item 52 and column 2, lines 60; column 3, lines 64-65) on a non-edible base portion having a top and bottom portion and which bottom portion has a portion that is finger graspable (see figure 1 and 3, item 20, 27; figure 6, item 50, 57). Diamond746 further teaches that it has been desirable to provide stickers that can help to provide amusement and play value to the apparatus even after the edible portion has been consumed (see column 6, lines 4-7).
Verbert teaches a container that can comprise items such as candy/confections (see page 4 of the machine translation, 5th paragraph: “sweets”) and which can further include a plurality of stickers (see figure 6 and page 3, 2nd paragraph, “stickers”) for decorating the non-edible support (see page 4, last paragraph onto page 5).
To therefore modify the combination and to also include an adhesive decorative element that is capable of being positioned on the top side of the base portion between intermediate partitions on the top side of the base portion would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for being able to use other known decorations known to be used for similar types of apparatus so as to provide additional decorations that can be applied to RingPop’s base portion top side. Such a modification would have been an obvious substitution of one type of decorative element for another both used for providing an added play element to RingPop’s ring candy confection apparatus.
Further regarding the specific placement of the stickers, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to position the stickers to the plate sections as an obvious matter of design and a rearrangement of parts, especially as KoolKidsCrafts also teaches providing a balanced arrangement of decorations.
Further regarding the stickers being provided from a sticker sheet, the claim differs from the above combination in this regard.
However, Cruz teaches packaging comprising confections (see the abstract) and which package can comprise a sheet with a plurality of stickers (see figure 4, item 7) which are removable and attachable onto the nonedible portion for the purpose of decorating the package (figure 4, paragraph 7 and 11 of the machine translation).
Witkowski (US 20030056410) further evidences that it has been conventional to provide an adhesive decorative element (see figure 21 and paragraphs 98-99) as paragraph of a package that can comprise an edible portion (see paragraphs 61-62) so as to provide an additional play element as part of the package (see paragraph 9 and 11).
The combination as applied to claim 15 already teaches including stickers with the confectionery package. To modify the combination to further provide the plurality of stickers as removable from a sheet, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, based on conventional expedients by which decorative stickers can be provided with a confectionery package.
Regarding forming a specific image, it is noted that since the prior art already teaches providing a plurality of stickers, the prior art combination would also have been capable of providing a decorative element when the stickers were placed on the top side of the base portion. Specifically regarding the decorative element with the formed image, once it was recognized to provide a plurality of stickers for decorating a non-edible substate which comprises a confection, it is not seen that patentability can be predicated on the specific image that was formed, as this would have been an obvious matter of engineering and/or design choice.
Nonetheless, KoolKidsCrafts teaches providing any type of decoration on the top side of RingPop’s base portion. Additionally, Verbert also teaches decorations which together can also provide a formed image (see figure 6). Johnson (GB2395475) also teaches a non-edible support that can comprise edible portions (see page 1, under “Field of the Invention”; page 2, first two paragraphs under “Detailed Description of the Invention). The apparatus can further comprise stickers that can be provided for attachment to the various portions of the support (see page 3, last sentence). Johnson teaches that the faces of the non-edible packaging can be patterned or alternatively stickers may be provided for attachment to the faces of the box. This would have suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art that the stickers can also provide the pattern to attach to the faces of the box.
To therefore modify the combination to provide a formed image would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, as an obvious matter of engineering and/or design choice.
Regarding claim 16, as shown on pages 2 and 3 and the description, RingPop teaches that the edible portion is a shaped hard candy which would therefore have suggested that the edible portion comprises molded candy. Diamond829 further teaches using candy molds (see paragraph 32) as does Cecere (see paragraph 16). The combination in view of Cecere further teaches and suggests that the pedestal upwardly extending portions and intermediate partitions provide an interference friction fit with the molded candy edible portion to secure the edible portion therewith and thereby being fixed to the upper side of the base portion.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination, as applied to claim 16 above, which relies on RingPop as the primary reference, and in further view of Feng (US 20150374010) and Barricini (US 2469589).
Claim 17 differs from the combination as applied to claim 16, in specifically reciting that the upwardly extending portion supports a sports ball object of various shapes decorative in relation to the finger-grasping portion and top side base portion raised therefrom.
Feng teaches a molded hard candy (see figure 1a-1e, item 103 and paragraph 2 and 33) and which is affixed to an upwardly extending portion that supports a sports ball object (see figures 3a-3e which shows a ball such as a football). Barrincini further teaches that it has been conventional to support a molded candy (figure 1, item 10; column 1, lines 4-10) on a support that can take any of a variety of decorative shapes (see figures 1 and 3, item 18 and column 4, lines 27-33).
Since the combination is already teaching that the support can hold various types of confections, to modify the combination such that the upwardly extending portion further includes a decorative sport ball object would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, as an obvious matter of aesthetic design so as to present a specific type of decorative effect after consumption of the edible portion.
Regarding claim 18, in view of Cercere, the combination teaches that the intermediate partitions on the top side of the base portion comprise ribs on the base portion supporting the edible portion thereon.
Regarding claim 19, which recites that “particular placement configuration of the plurality of stickers between ribs on the base intermediate partitions forms an image with the sticker combines to allow the ring candy confection apparatus to become a decorative element with the formed image and upwardly extending portion,” it is noted that since the prior art already teaches providing a plurality of stickers, the prior art combination would also have been capable of providing a decorative element when the stickers were placed on the top side of the base portion. Specifically regarding the decorative element with the formed image, once it was recognized to provide a plurality of stickers for decorating a non-edible substate which comprises a confection, it is not seen that patentability can be predicated on the specific image that was formed, as this would have been an obvious matter of engineering and/or design choice.
Nonetheless, KoolKidsCrafts teaches providing any type of decoration on the top side of RingPop’s base portion. Additionally, Johnson (GB 2395475) teaches that the faces of the non-edible packaging can be patterned or alternatively stickers may be provided for attachment to the faces of the box. This would have suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art that the stickers can also provide the pattern to attach to the faces of the box. Verbert also teaches decorations which together can also provide a formed image (see figure 6). To therefore modify the combination to position the stickers between the ribs on the base intermediate partitions to form an image would have been an obvious matter of engineering and/or design choice.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination, as applied to claim 19 above, which relies on RingPop as the primary reference, and in further view of Hart (US 6054158)
Regarding claim 20, it is initially noted that the combination as applied to claims 17 and 19 teaches that the upwardly extending portion would support the sports ball object decorative of various shapes in relation to the finger grasping portion and top side base portion raised therefrom.
Regarding the limitation of, the sport ball object being, “a floating illusion, with the molded candy edible portion being at least partially transparent,” it is noted that Barrincini teaches that the candy can be transparent so that the ornamental upper portion of the pedestal is visible (see column 3, lines 65). This would appear to result in the sports ball object appearing as a floating illusion in relation to the top side and lower portion of the apparatus. Nonetheless, Hart further teaches a support (see item 6 and 6a) that comprises a decorative end portion (see item 8 and 8a) which decorative end portion also supports a candy that is translucent in order to allow viewing of the decorative support through the candy (see column 1, lines 27-31).
To therefore modify the combination as applied to claim 19 to provide an at least partially transparent molded edible candy portion would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, for the purpose of viewing a decorative element through the molded edible candy portion.
Since the prior art is suggesting an at least partially transparent molded candy edible portion, the combination would also have suggested that the sports ball decorative object would also have provided an appearance of a floating illusion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
VanderSchuit (US 20050083676) teaches a ring candy confection apparatus (see figure 5, item 500) comprising an edible portion (figure 5, item 508 and paragraph 69); a base portion (see figure 5, item 504; paragraph 68, 72), which as shown in figure 5 would obviously have had a top portion and includes a finger-grasping portion on the bottom side of the base portion (see figure 5, item 506; paragraph 68). As shown in figure 5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that VanderSchuit is teaching and suggesting a pedestal on which the edible portion is supported (see figure 5).
Gillmour-Bryant (US 20050153621) teaches a ring candy confection apparatus comprising a pedestal with portions for friction fitting a molded candy (Figure 1 and Figure 2, item 12, 26’).
Beaber (US 20210030017) teaches a ring candy confection apparatus comprising a pedestal with portions for friction fitting a molded candy (Figure 1 and Figure 4, item 405, 120).
/VIREN A THAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792