DETAILED ACTION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schenk et al [US 2012/0281987 A1] who teaches The invention relates to a detection system for determining data embedded into the light output of a light source in a form of a repeating sequence of N symbols. The detection system includes a camera and a processing unit. The camera is configured to acquire a series of images of the scene via specific open/closure patterns of the shutter. The processing unit is configured to process the acquired series of images to determine the repeating sequence of N symbols. By carefully triggering when a shutter of the camera is open to capture the different symbols of the encoded light within each frame time of a camera, a conventional camera with a relatively long frame time may be employed. Therefore, the techniques presented herein are suitable for detecting the invisible "high frequency" coded light while using less expensive cameras as those used in the prior art.
Covare et al [US 2011/0202151 A1] who teaches The communication between the display device 110 and the light adapter 140 may be uni-directional or bi-directional. In some configurations, the light fixture 150 or other light source controlled by the lighting system may generate light encoded with data that is received by a photosensor and/or camera included in or coupled to the display device 110. A camera or other sensor in the computing device 180 may detect the signal from the light fixtures 150 that are co-located with the computing device 180. The computing device 180 may decode the fixture identifier or fixture identifiers. (Paragraph [0043 & 0091])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph et al [US 2009/0195064 A1] in view of Weaver [US 2009/0218951 A1]
In regards to claims 1, Joseph discloses each lighting module (Fig. 1, 112 and 116 & Paragraph [0053 & 0063]) comprising the at least one lighting module (Fig. 1, 112 and 116 & Paragraph [0053 & 0063]) installed in a lighting system and receiving a data encoded power signal (Paragraph [0055]) through a two-wire path (Fig. 1, 108),
Joseph does not specify remote programming device for programming at least one lighting module that is configured to be assigned to a lighting zone; each lighting module comprising a unique module address and each lighting zone comprising a zone address the remote programming device comprising: a portable housing; a user interface housed by the portable housing; and a processor housed within the portable housing and responsive to the user interface, the processor configured to wirelessly communicate with a selected lighting module of the at least one lighting module and configured to receive the unique module address of the selected lighting module from the selected lighting module and to provide instructions to encode the unique module address onto the data encoded power signal in order to reassign the selected lighting module to a selected lighting zone without wiring modifications to the lighting system.
Weaver discloses remote programming device (Fig. 2a, 130) for programming at least one lighting module (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) that is configured to be assigned to a lighting zone (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n); each lighting module (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) comprising a unique module address (Paragraph [0021]) and each lighting zone (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) comprising a zone address the remote programming device (Fig. 2a, 130) comprising: a portable housing (Fig. 2a, 130); a user interface (Fig. 2a, 144) housed by the portable housing (Fig. 2a, 130); and a processor (Fig. 2a & Paragraph [0029]) housed within the portable housing (Fig. 2a, 130) and responsive to the user interface (Fig. 2a, 144), the processor (Fig. 2a & Paragraph [0029]) configured to wirelessly communicate (Fig. 2a, 222a and 142) with a selected lighting module of the at least one lighting module (Paragraph [0032]) and configured to receive the unique module address (Paragraph [0021]) of the selected lighting module (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) from the selected lighting module (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) and to provide instructions to encode (Paragraph [0045-50]) the unique module address (Paragraph [0021]) in order to reassign the selected lighting module to a selected lighting zone (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n)
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Weaver with Joseph with remote programming device for programming at least one lighting module that is configured to be assigned to a lighting zone; each lighting module comprising a unique module address and each lighting zone comprising a zone address the remote programming device comprising: a portable housing; a user interface housed by the portable housing; and a processor housed within the portable housing and responsive to the user interface, the processor configured to wirelessly communicate with a selected lighting module of the at least one lighting module and configured to receive the unique module address of the selected lighting module from the selected lighting module and to provide instructions to encode the unique module address onto the data encoded power signal in order to reassign the selected lighting module to a selected lighting zone without wiring modifications to the lighting system for purpose of sense illumination of the lighting node and further configured for optical communication with the lighting node, a controller radio device configured for radio communication with the lighting node, and a controller memory configured to store a group identifier. The lighting node and the controller may each further include a power supply and a processor as disclosed by Weaver (Abstract).
In regards to claims 2. Joseph in view of Weaver discloses the remote programming device of Claim 1, wherein each lighting module stores its unique module address (Weaver: Paragraph [0021]) and its zone address (Weaver: Paragraph [0030]).
In regards to claims 8. Joseph discloses the at least one lighting module (Fig. 1, 112 and 116 & Paragraph [0053 & 0063]) installed in a lighting system (Fig. 1, 112 and 116 & Paragraph [0053 & 0063]) and receiving a data encoded power signal (Paragraph [0055]) through a two-wire path (Fig. 1, 108),
Joseph does not specify a method to program at least one lighting module that is configured to be assigned to a lighting zone, each lighting module comprising a unique module address and each lighting zone comprising a zone address, the method comprising: with a remote programming device that includes a portable housing, a user interface, and a processor that is responsive to the user interface, wirelessly communicating with a selected lighting module of the at least one lighting module;
receiving the unique module address of the selected lighting module from the selected lighting module; and providing instructions to encode the unique module address onto the data encoded power signal in order to reassign the selected lighting module to a selected lighting zone without wiring modifications to the lighting system.
Weaver discloses a method to program at least one lighting module (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) that is configured to be assigned to a lighting zone (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n), each lighting module comprising a unique module address (Paragraph [0021]) and each lighting zone (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) comprising a zone address (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n), the method comprising: with a remote programming device (Fig. 2a, 130) that includes a portable housing (Fig. 2a, 130), a user interface (Fig. 2a, 144), and a processor (Fig. 2a & Paragraph [0029]) that is responsive to the user interface (Fig. 2a, 144),
wirelessly communicating (Fig. 2a, 222a and 142) with a selected lighting module of the at least one lighting module (Paragraph [0032]); receiving the unique module address (Paragraph [0021]) of the selected lighting module from the selected lighting module (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n); and providing instructions to encode (Paragraph [0045-50]) the unique module address (Paragraph [0045-50]) in order to reassign the selected lighting module (Paragraph [0021]) to a selected lighting zone without wiring modifications to the lighting system (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Weaver with Joseph with a method to program at least one lighting module that is configured to be assigned to a lighting zone, each lighting module comprising a unique module address and each lighting zone comprising a zone address, the method comprising: with a remote programming device that includes a portable housing, a user interface, and a processor that is responsive to the user interface, wirelessly communicating with a selected lighting module of the at least one lighting module; receiving the unique module address of the selected lighting module from the selected lighting module; and providing instructions to encode the unique module address onto the data encoded power signal in order to reassign the selected lighting module to a selected lighting zone without wiring modifications to the lighting system for purpose of sense illumination of the lighting node and further configured for optical communication with the lighting node, a controller radio device configured for radio communication with the lighting node, and a controller memory configured to store a group identifier. The lighting node and the controller may each further include a power supply and a processor as disclosed by Weaver (Abstract).
In regards to claims 9. Joseph in view of Weaver discloses the method of Claim 8 further comprising storing, by the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0021]), the unique module address of the selected lighting module and the zone address of the selected lighting zone (Weaver: Paragraph [0030]).
In regards to claims 15. Joseph discloses the lighting system (Fig. 1, 112 and 116 & Paragraph [0053 & 0063]) comprising: a two-wire communication network (Fig. 1, 108) configured to transmit a data encoded power signal (Paragraph [0055]) to at least one lighting module of the plurality of lighting modules (Fig. 1, 112 and 116 & Paragraph [0053 & 0063]).
Joseph does not specify a lighting system for reassigning lighting zones without wiring modifications, a plurality of lighting modules, each lighting module of the plurality of lighting modules including a unique module address and one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs),each lighting zone including a unique zone address; a remote programming device comprising a user interface and a processor responsive to the user interface, the processor configured to wirelessly communicate with a selected lighting module of the at least one lighting module and configured to receive the unique module address of the selected lighting module from the selected lighting module and to provide instructions to encode the unique module address onto the data encoded power signal in order to reassign the selected lighting module to a selected lighting zone without the wiring modifications to the lighting system.
Weaver discloses a lighting system (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) for reassigning lighting zones without wiring modifications, a plurality of lighting modules (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n), each lighting module of the plurality of lighting modules (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) including a unique module address (Paragraph [0021]) and one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Paragraph [0034]),each lighting zone (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n & Paragraph [0018]) including a unique zone address (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n); a remote programming device (Fig. 2a, 130) comprising a user interface (Fig. 2a, 144) and a processor (Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0023]) responsive to the user interface (Fig. 2a, 144), the processor (Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0023]) configured to wirelessly communicate (Fig. 2a, 222a and 142) with a selected lighting module of the at least one lighting module (Paragraph [0032]) and configured to receive the unique module address (Paragraph [0021]) of the selected lighting module (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) from the selected lighting module (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) and to provide instructions to encode the unique module address (Paragraph [0045-50]) in order to reassign the selected lighting module (Paragraph [0032]) to a selected lighting zone (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n) without the wiring modifications to the lighting system (Fig. 2a, 210a to 210n).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Weaver with Joseph with remote programming device for programming at least one lighting module that is configured to be assigned to a lighting zone; each lighting module comprising a unique module address and each lighting zone comprising a zone address the remote programming device comprising: a portable housing; a user interface housed by the portable housing; and a processor housed within the portable housing and responsive to the user interface, the processor configured to wirelessly communicate with a selected lighting module of the at least one lighting module and configured to receive the unique module address of the selected lighting module from the selected lighting module and to provide instructions to encode the unique module address onto the data encoded power signal in order to reassign the selected lighting module to a selected lighting zone without wiring modifications to the lighting system for purpose of sense illumination of the lighting node and further configured for optical communication with the lighting node, a controller radio device configured for radio communication with the lighting node, and a controller memory configured to store a group identifier. The lighting node and the controller may each further include a power supply and a processor as disclosed by Weaver (Abstract).
In regards to claims 16. Joseph in view of Weaver discloses the lighting system of Claim 15, wherein the remote programming device further comprises a portable housing (Weaver Fig. 2a, 130) that houses the user interface (WeaveFig. 2a, 144) and the processor (Weaver Fig. 2a & Paragraph [0029]).
Claims 3-5, 7, 10-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph et al [US 2009/0195064 A1] in view of Weaver [US 2009/0218951 A1] and further in view of Zampini et al [US 2009/0085500 A1]
In regards to claims 3. Joseph in view of Weaver discloses the remote programming device of Claim 1,
Joseph in view of Weaver does not specify wherein the remote programming device comprises a smartphone executing one or more appropriate applications.
Zampini discloses wherein the remote programming device comprises a smartphone executing one or more appropriate applications (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Zampini with Joseph in view of Weaver with wherein the remote programming device comprises a smartphone executing one or more appropriate applications for purpose of improvements to the operation of the lighting network system developed by the manufacturer may be delivered to the customer post installation without the need to modify or exchange installed hardware as disclosed by Zampini (Paragraph [0084]).
In regards to claims 4. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the remote programming device of Claim 3, wherein the selected lighting module includes at least one light emitting diode (LED) (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]) and the smartphone (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]) includes an optical receiver (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0036-37]), the at least one LED flashing (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]) an address of the selected lighting module (Zampini: Paragraph [0073 & 0080 & 0126]) and the optical receiver detecting the address of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Fig. 2a & Paragraph [0036-37]) from the flashing at least one LED (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]).
In regards to claims 5. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the remote programming device of Claim 3, wherein the selected lighting module includes at least one light emitting diode (LED) (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]) and the smartphone includes a camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]), the at least one LED flashing (Zampini: Paragraph [0080]) an address of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]) and the camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]) detecting the address of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0024]) from the flashing at least one LED (Zampini: Paragraph [0080]).
In regards to claims 7. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the remote programming device of Claim 3, wherein the selected lighting module includes a bar code (Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]) and the smartphone includes a camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]), the bar code encoded with the unique address of the selected lighting module(Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]) and the camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]) reading the bar code (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0036-37]) to determine the unique address of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0045-50])
In regards to claims 10. Joseph in view of Weaver discloses the method of Claim 8,
Joseph in view of Weaver does not specify wherein the remote programming device comprises a smartphone executing one or more appropriate applications.
Zampini discloses wherein the remote programming device comprises a smartphone executing one or more appropriate applications (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Zampini with Joseph in view of Weaver with wherein the remote programming device comprises a smartphone executing one or more appropriate applications for purpose of improvements to the operation of the lighting network system developed by the manufacturer may be delivered to the customer post installation without the need to modify or exchange installed hardware as disclosed by Zampini (Paragraph [0084]).
In regards to claims 11. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the method of Claim 10 further comprising flashing, with at least one light emitting diode (LED) (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]), an address of the selected lighting module (Zampini: Paragraph [0073 & 0080 & 0126]), and detecting, with an optical receiver (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0036-37]), the address of the selected lighting module (Zampini: Paragraph [0073 & 0080 & 0126]) from the flashing at least one LED (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]), wherein the selected lighting module includes the at least one LED (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]) and the smartphone (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]) includes the optical receiver (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0036-37]).
In regards to claims 13. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the method of Claim 10 further comprising flashing (Zampini: Paragraph [0080]), with at least one light emitting diode (LED) (Zampini: Paragraph [0080]), an address of the selected lighting module, and detecting (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0036-37]), with a camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]), the address of the selected lighting module(Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]) from the flashing at least one LED (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]), wherein the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]) includes the at least one LED (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]) and the smartphone includes the camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]).
In regards to claims 14. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the method of Claim 10 further comprising reading, with a camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]), a bar code encoded (Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]) with the unique address of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]), wherein the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]) includes the bar code and the smartphone includes the camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]).
In regards to claims 17. Joseph in view of Weaver discloses the lighting system of Claim 15,
Joseph in view of Weaver does not specify wherein the remote programming device comprises a smartphone executing one or more appropriate applications.
Zampini discloses wherein the remote programming device comprises a smartphone executing one or more appropriate applications (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Zampini with Joseph in view of Weaver with wherein the remote programming device comprises a smartphone executing one or more appropriate applications for purpose of improvements to the operation of the lighting network system developed by the manufacturer may be delivered to the customer post installation without the need to modify or exchange installed hardware as disclosed by Zampini (Paragraph [0084]).
In regards to claims 18. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the lighting system of Claim 17, wherein the selected lighting module includes at least one LED (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]) and the smartphone (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]) includes an optical receiver (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0036-37]), the at least one LED flashing an address of the selected lighting module (Zampini: Paragraph [0073 & 0080 & 0126]) and the optical receiver (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0036-37]) detecting the address of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]) from the flashing (Zampini: Paragraph [0073 & 0080 & 0126]) at least one LED (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]).
In regards to claims 19. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the lighting system of Claim 17, wherein the selected lighting module (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 220a & Paragraph [0036-37]) includes at least one LED and the smartphone includes a camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]), the at least one LED flashing (Zampini: Paragraph [0080]) an address of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0045-50 & 0021 & 0030]) and the camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]) detecting (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0036-37]) the address of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0024]) from the flashing at least one LED (Zampini: Paragraph [0080]).
In regards to claims 20. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the lighting system of Claim 17, wherein the selected lighting module includes a bar code (Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]) and the smartphone includes a camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]), the bar code encoded with the unique address of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]) and the camera (Zampini Fig. 1c, 102 and 120 & Paragraph [0061 & 0050]) reading the bar code (Weaver: Fig. 2a, 130 & Paragraph [0036-37]) to determine the unique address (Weaver: Paragraph [0021 & 0030]) of the selected lighting module (Weaver: Paragraph [0045-50]).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph et al [US 2009/0195064 A1] in view of Weaver [US 2009/0218951 A1] and further in view of Zampini et al [US 2009/0085500 A1] and further in view of Stam et al [US 2002/0047624 A1]
In regards to claims 6. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the remote programming device of Claim 5,
Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini does not specify wherein a rate of flashing of the at least one LED is less than approximately 30 Hz.
Stam discloses wherein a rate of flashing of the at least one LED is less than approximately 30 Hz (Paragraph [0038])
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Stam with Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini with wherein a rate of flashing of the at least one LED is less than approximately 30 Hz for purpose of independently controlling the intensity of each light source so as to produce a desired resultant hue as disclosed by Stam (Abstract)
In regards to claims 12. Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini discloses the method of Claim 11,
Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini does not specify wherein a rate of flashing of the at least one LED is less than approximately 30 Hz.
Stam discloses wherein a rate of flashing of the at least one LED is less than approximately 30 Hz (Paragraph [0038]).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Stam with Joseph in view of Weaver and further in view of Zampini with wherein a rate of flashing of the at least one LED is less than approximately 30 Hz for purpose of independently controlling the intensity of each light source so as to produce a desired resultant hue as disclosed by Stam (Abstract).
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845