Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because computer-readable media can be comprised of transitory subject matter. Examiner suggests including “non-transitory” to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 5,629,936).
Regarding claim 1, 8, 15, Lee discloses A computer-implemented method for managing a queue of video streaming packets, comprising:
receiving a video streaming packet from a video streaming source; (col 16 lines 64-67);
removing, from the queue, a queued packet based on a size of the queue achieving a threshold and based on an index assigned to the queued packet being within a drop interval from an adjacent queued packet that is not dropped from the queue (col. 9 lines 8-26; fig. 5 (buffer full) if buffer is full, drop packet at the position the pointer indicates, and then update the pointer. pointer state changes whenever a packet is dropped; when a pointer state is 1 and an arriving packet causes overflow, the packet at the front of the buffer is dropped and the pointer state changes to 2); and
appending the video streaming packet to the queue (fig. 5 append the packet).
Regarding claim 2, 9, 16, Lee discloses increasing the drop interval to an increased drop interval based on no packets in the queue being within the drop interval from an associated adjacent queued packet in the queue (col. 13 lines 42-65).
Regarding claim 3, 10, 17, Lee discloses receiving a second video streaming packet from the video streaming source;
removing, from the queue, a second queued packet based on the size of the queue achieving a threshold and based on a second index assigned to the second queued packet being within the increased drop interval from a second adjacent queued packet that is not dropped from the queue; and
appending the second video streaming packet to the queue (col. 13 lines 42-65).
Regarding claim 4, 11,18, Lee discloses wherein the drop interval is an exponent of two, and wherein the increased drop interval is a next exponent of two (col. 13 lines 41-43).
Regarding claim 5, 12, 19, Lee discloses determining whether the queued packet is within the drop interval based at least in part on whether the index modulo the drop interval is greater than zero (col. 13 lines 41-43).
Regarding claim 7, 14, Lee discloses removing a first queued packet from the queue for processing (fig. 16 dropping packets).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 5,629,936) in view of Francini (US 2012/0182870).
Regarding claim 6, 13, 20, Lee does not specifically disclose decreasing the drop interval based at least in part on detecting the size of the queue being less than a second threshold.
However, Francini discloses decreasing the drop interval based at least in part on detecting the size of the queue being less than a second threshold ([0094]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the decreased drop interval of Francini into the system of Lee in order to improve video quality and optimize latency.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426