DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18, 20 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, Applicant has amended the language of the independent claims to now include “plurality of topics by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content to each of the plurality of topics;” and has argued that the prior art relied upon in rejecting the claims does not disclose this feature. However, these features are considered obvious when the previously relied upon prior art is considered in view of Slaney. See 35 USC 103 Rejections section below for further explanation on how the claims are obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freed et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0189417 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Freed”) in view of Cui et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0272321 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Cui”) and in further view of Slaney et al. (U.S. Pulbication No. 2011/0055238 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Slaney”).
Regarding claim 1, Freed discloses a computer-implemented method to provide topic-organized search results, the method comprising: (“The method for personalizing a query by use of dynamic faceting”)(e.g., abstract and paragraphs [0003] and [0015])
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, an input query; (“A user 101 in the plurality of users submits a query 107”)(e.g., paragraph [0019])
processing, by the computing system, the input query with a generative model to generate a plurality of topics; (“The personalization engine 110 selects useful facets 173 according to the respective usefulness factors based on the user cluster for the user 101 and the navigation-type cluster for the query 107.” “In block 220, the personalization engine 110 derives navigation-type clusters based on search queries and/or navigation topics.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0019] and [0026])
determining, by the computing system, search results using the plurality of topics; (“The personalization engine 110 produces facets-scored results 199 by scoring and ranking search results responsive to the query 107 based on the useful facets 173, and subsequently presents the facets-scored results 199 to the user 101.” “Users in different user clusters may receive distinctive facets and associated results with a same query by the same content node, as the personalization engine 110 attempts to identify the results by use of personalized facets and associated values.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0019] and [0021]
generating, by the computing system, instructions for presenting a topic-organized search results page that is structured according to the plurality of topics by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content to each of the plurality of topics; and (“the personalization engine 110 selects, ranks and presents the useful facets 173 for Cluster 1 user cluster and Cluster A navigation-type cluster for User X searching by Query. The personalization engine 110 ranks facets relevant to competition within and/or amongst technologies highly as more useful for guiding User X to navigate through search results of Query, and displays high-ranked facets from the top for User X such that User X may find information sought out with Query with the most likelihood.”)(e.g., paragraph [0039])
providing, by the computing system, the instructions for presenting the topic-organized search results page to cause display of the topic-organized search results page on a display device. (“the personalization engine 110 selects, ranks and presents the useful facets 173 for Cluster 1 user cluster and Cluster A navigation-type cluster for User X searching by Query. The personalization engine 110 ranks facets relevant to competition within and/or amongst technologies highly as more useful for guiding User X to navigate through search results of Query, and displays high-ranked facets from the top for User X such that User X may find information sought out with Query with the most likelihood.”)(e.g., paragraph [0039])
However, Freed does not appear to specifically use of a generative model to generate the plurality of topics and does not appear to specifically disclose by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content.
On the other hand, Cui, which relates to systems and methods for double level ranking (title), does disclose a generative model to generate a plurality of topics; (“This may involve using supervised or unsupervised machine learning techniques, wherein the LLM classifies these clusters into predefined or dynamically generated topic categories.” – LLM is the generative model)(e.g., paragraph [0026])
On the other hand, Slaney, which relates to generating non-overlapping facets for a query (title), does disclose generating, by the computing system, instructions for presenting a topic-organized search results page that is structured according to the plurality of topics by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content to each of the plurality of topics; and (“Thus, search results may be organized/partitioned so that users can more easily find those search results in which they are interested. Finding and providing relevant search results can be particularly problematic for relatively broad queries. For example, there are many different aspects to the search results for a broad query such as "San Francisco". In a web-page search, it may be possible to find one web page that describes each of the desired aspects of San Francisco. On the other hand, this tends not to be true for multimedia objects--e.g., each picture would likely show just one portion of San Francisco. It can therefore be informative to a user if the available search results are organized/partitioned so that different aspects of the query are presented separately. As used herein to facilitate understanding, such different aspects are termed facets. Hence, each facet may describe and/or relate to a different aspect of the query. Two facets may be considered substantially non-overlapping if the contents of a first facet have little or no overlap with the contents of a second facet.” “the search results associated with each facet 206 may be exclusive of other facets so that non-overlapping facets can be presented.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0024]-[0026] and [0038])
Freed discloses a dynamic faceting for personalized search and discovery. E.g., title. However, Freed does not appear to specifically disclose processing the input query with a generative model to determine the topics. On the other hand, Cui which also relates to search engines and ranking documents (e.g., abstract and paragraph [0012]) provides that it is known for topics to be classified into predefined or dynamically generated topic categories. E.g., paragraph [0026]. Cui further provides “this list is then dynamically re-ranked at the topic-level using the LLM, which analyzes the cosine similarity between an embedding representation of the query and the paragraph-level embeddings. This approach not only aligns with the user's and/or AI's intent, but also addresses the drawbacks in conventional systems associated with keyword overloading and context misrepresentation.” E.g., paragraph [0005]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to incorporate using the LLM as disclosed in Cui to Freed to enhance the user’s experience by having improved topic generation. However, neither reference appears to specifically disclose that generating includes mapping a group of the search results to non-overlapping content to each of the plurality of topics. On the other hand, Slaney, which relates to generating non-overlapping facets for a query does disclose that it is beneficial to organize and create non-overlapping facets to enable relevant information to be identified and presented in an efficient and comprehendible manner to the user. E.g., paragraph [0009]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further incorporate the non-overlapping facets for a query as disclosed in Slaney to the Freed-Cui combination to further enhance the manner in which results are generated and displayed to the user such that the results are in a more efficient and comprehendible manner to further enhance the user’s experience when searching for information.
Regarding claim 2, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Freed further discloses wherein processing, by the computing system, the input query with the generative model to generate the plurality of topics comprises:
supplementing, by the computing system, the input query with one or more sets of context data to generate a context-supplemented input query; and (“Users in different user clusters may receive distinctive facets and associated results with a same query by the same content node, as the personalization engine 110 attempts to identify the results by use of personalized facets and associated values.”)(e.g., paragraph [0021])
Freed in view of Cui further discloses processing, by the computing system, the context-supplemented input query with the generative model to generate the plurality of topics. (“Similarly, the facets presented in the same navigation state for the same user may vary based on context and need of the user as dynamically analyzed each time. Further, the personalization engine 110 dynamically updates search indices of the content node according to trends of the dynamically personalized facets and associated values based on the user clusters and the navigation-type clusters such that future searches and discoveries may be more targeted and focused with similar users and/or information requests.”)(Freed: e.g., paragraph [0021])(“ This may involve tokenization, part-of-speech tagging, generating embeddings, and syntactic parsing to understand the grammatical structure. Here, the model further utilizes contextual embeddings, where each word or token is represented in the context of its surrounding text, allowing the model to grasp nuanced meanings and differentiations in similar words used in different contexts.”)(Cui: e.g., paragraphs [0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2. Freed further discloses wherein the one or more sets of context data comprise user preferences or user browsing history associated with a user that submitted the input query. (“Similarly, the facets presented in the same navigation state for the same user may vary based on context and need of the user as dynamically analyzed each time. Further, the personalization engine 110 dynamically updates search indices of the content node according to trends of the dynamically personalized facets and associated values based on the user clusters and the navigation-type clusters such that future searches and discoveries may be more targeted and focused with similar users and/or information requests.” “Also navigation activities of the users are orthogonally clustered into navigation-type clusters based on browsing activities, etc. Certain embodiments of the present invention implement a dynamic mapping of a user and a query to a pair of a user cluster and a navigation-type cluster as derived, then values of respective facets are evaluated for respective usefulness to each pair of clusters, in order to provide targeted search/discovery result to the user.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0021] and [0043]).
Regarding claim 4, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Freed further discloses wherein processing, by the computing system, the input query with the generative model to generate the plurality of topics comprises processing, by the computing system, the input query with the generative model to generate a plurality of topic tuples as an output of the generative model, wherein each of the plurality of topic tuples comprises one or more topic-specific queries and identifies one or more particular search index types or data sources to query using the one or more one or more topic-specific queries. (“The learning process 150 trains the personalization engine 110 to determine useful facets with respective usefulness factors for the user clusters and the navigation-type clusters by machine learning.” “The personalization engine 110 produces facets-scored results 199 by scoring and ranking search results responsive to the query 107 based on the useful facets 173, and subsequently presents the facets-scored results 199 to the user 101.” “the personalization engine 110 implements dynamic and personalized faceting as well as dynamic search index based on the personalized faceting.” “a search index for contents with the candidate facets and associated values, as well as additional dimensions derived from block 350, in order to optimize future searches by use of the candidate facets that are potentially useful for searches.” “the present invention cumulate the facets by machine learning and integrate the dynamically derived facets and evaluated facet values with search indices such that future search/discovery requests may be efficiently performed for existing types of cluster pairs.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0018]-[0020], [0041] and [0043]).
Regarding claim 5, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 4. Freed further discloses wherein determining, by the computing system, the search results for each of the plurality of topics comprises, for each topic tuple, querying, by the computing system, the one or more particular search index types or data sources identified by the topic tuple with the one or more topic-specific queries to retrieve the search results for the topic associated with the topic tuple. (“Accordingly, searches performed through the personalization engine 110 may automatically return facets including the new facets ranked by usefulness, as personalized for each user when searches and navigation queries are invoked by a user belonging to the cluster for which these new facets are relevant. In the same embodiments, the personalization engine 110 may instantiate facet-value pairs in additional fields/parameters with data values acquired from machine learning, user feedback on facet suggestions, etc., in the fully or partially rebuilt search index, such that the personalization engine 110 dynamically customizes and presents facets useful for a user presently searching and navigating.” “certain embodiments of the present invention cumulate the facets by machine learning and integrate the dynamically derived facets and evaluated facet values with search indices such that future search/discovery requests may be efficiently performed for existing types of cluster pairs.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0042]-[0043])
Regarding claim 8, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Freed in view of Cui further discloses wherein the topic-organized search results page presents the plurality of topics ordered from general to specific. (“the personalization engine 110 selects, ranks and presents the useful facets 173 for Cluster 1 user cluster and Cluster A navigation-type cluster for User X searching by Query. The personalization engine 110 ranks facets relevant to competition within and/or amongst technologies highly as more useful for guiding User X to navigate through search results of Query, and displays high-ranked facets from the top for User X such that User X may find information sought out with Query with the most likelihood.”)(Freed: e.g., paragraph [0039])(“the sub-topic paragraph-level embeddings may be ranked based on their cosine similarity and/or relevance scores. Here, higher cosine similarity scores, or higher relevance scores, may indicate higher relevance to the query. Accordingly, the sub-topic paragraph-level embeddings may be sequentially ranked such that the sub-topic paragraph-level embeddings with the highest score are ranked first (i.e., are the most relevant), followed by the next sub-topic paragraph-level embeddings with the second highest score, and so on, until each of the sub-topic paragraph-level embeddings are ranked in order.”)(Cui: e.g., paragraph [0036])
Regarding claim 10, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Freed in view of Cui further discloses further comprising: processing, by the computing system, the input query with an intent classification model to generate one or more intent labels that describes an intent of the input query; (“including dynamic and personalized faceting of search/discovery based on user type, needs, context as well as intent at the time of information request. Users of the personalization engine 110 are clustered into user clusters based on the user type, needs, context and intent of an information request based on comprehensive aspects of users.”)(e.g., Freed: paragraphs [0019], [0023], [0025] and [0043])(“In instances where semantic search is employed, the search engine can interpret the intent and contextual meaning of queries. In instances where semantic vector search is utilized, the search engine may leverage embeddings to find textually and contextually similar results.”)(Cui: e.g., paragraph [0031])
wherein processing, by the computing system, the input query with the generative model to generate the plurality of topics comprise processing, by the computing system, the input query and the one or more intent labels with the generative model to generate the plurality of topics. (“the personalization engine 110 maps the navigation intent of the received query 107 to one of the navigation-type clusters as specified from block 220 of FIG. 2.”)(Freed: e.g., paragraph [0036])(“This may involve using supervised or unsupervised machine learning techniques, wherein the LLM classifies these clusters into predefined or dynamically generated topic categories.” – LLM is the generative model)(Cui: e.g., paragraph [0026])
Regarding claim 11, Freed in view of Cui discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Cui further discloses wherein the generative model comprises a sequence processing model, the sequence processing model comprising a language model or a multi-modal model. (“The LLM may apply segmentation algorithms to identify shifts in topic within text. This can involve detecting changes in the pattern of term usage or shifts in semantic embeddings. For each potential subtopic segment, the model evaluates the local context, examining how terms and their meanings change in relation to the surrounding text, which helps in delineating subtopics. The LLM may additionally employ clustering algorithms (e.g., K-means or hierarchical clustering) on embeddings to group text segments into topics and subtopics based on their semantic similarity. This may involve using supervised or unsupervised machine learning techniques, wherein the LLM classifies these clusters into predefined or dynamically generated topic categories.”)(e.g., paragraph [0026])
Regarding claim 12, Freed discloses a computing system, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: (e.g., paragraphs [0064] and [0066])
obtaining, by the computing system comprising one or more computing devices, an input query; (“A user 101 in the plurality of users submits a query 107”)(e.g., paragraph [0019])
processing, by the computing system, the input query with a generative model to generate a plurality of topics; (“The personalization engine 110 selects useful facets 173 according to the respective usefulness factors based on the user cluster for the user 101 and the navigation-type cluster for the query 107.” “In block 220, the personalization engine 110 derives navigation-type clusters based on search queries and/or navigation topics.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0019] and [0026])
determining, by the computing system, search results using the plurality of topics; (“The personalization engine 110 produces facets-scored results 199 by scoring and ranking search results responsive to the query 107 based on the useful facets 173, and subsequently presents the facets-scored results 199 to the user 101.” “Users in different user clusters may receive distinctive facets and associated results with a same query by the same content node, as the personalization engine 110 attempts to identify the results by use of personalized facets and associated values.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0019] and [0021]
generating, by the computing system, instructions for presenting a topic-organized search results page that is structured according to the plurality of topics by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content to each of the plurality of topics; and (“the personalization engine 110 selects, ranks and presents the useful facets 173 for Cluster 1 user cluster and Cluster A navigation-type cluster for User X searching by Query. The personalization engine 110 ranks facets relevant to competition within and/or amongst technologies highly as more useful for guiding User X to navigate through search results of Query, and displays high-ranked facets from the top for User X such that User X may find information sought out with Query with the most likelihood.”)(e.g., paragraph [0039])
providing, by the computing system, the instructions for presenting the topic-organized search results page to cause display of the topic-organized search results page on a display device. (“the personalization engine 110 selects, ranks and presents the useful facets 173 for Cluster 1 user cluster and Cluster A navigation-type cluster for User X searching by Query. The personalization engine 110 ranks facets relevant to competition within and/or amongst technologies highly as more useful for guiding User X to navigate through search results of Query, and displays high-ranked facets from the top for User X such that User X may find information sought out with Query with the most likelihood.”)(e.g., paragraph [0039])
However, Freed does not appear to specifically use of a generative model to generate the plurality of topics and does not appear to specifically disclose by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content.
On the other hand, Cui, which relates to systems and methods for double level ranking (title), does disclose a generative model to generate a plurality of topics; (“This may involve using supervised or unsupervised machine learning techniques, wherein the LLM classifies these clusters into predefined or dynamically generated topic categories.” – LLM is the generative model)(e.g., paragraph [0026])
On the other hand, Slaney, which relates to generating non-overlapping facets for a query (title), does disclose generating, by the computing system, instructions for presenting a topic-organized search results page that is structured according to the plurality of topics by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content to each of the plurality of topics; and (“Thus, search results may be organized/partitioned so that users can more easily find those search results in which they are interested. Finding and providing relevant search results can be particularly problematic for relatively broad queries. For example, there are many different aspects to the search results for a broad query such as "San Francisco". In a web-page search, it may be possible to find one web page that describes each of the desired aspects of San Francisco. On the other hand, this tends not to be true for multimedia objects--e.g., each picture would likely show just one portion of San Francisco. It can therefore be informative to a user if the available search results are organized/partitioned so that different aspects of the query are presented separately. As used herein to facilitate understanding, such different aspects are termed facets. Hence, each facet may describe and/or relate to a different aspect of the query. Two facets may be considered substantially non-overlapping if the contents of a first facet have little or no overlap with the contents of a second facet.” “the search results associated with each facet 206 may be exclusive of other facets so that non-overlapping facets can be presented.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0024]-[0026] and [0038])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine Cui, Freed and Slaney for the same reasons as provided in claim 1, above.
Claims 13-16 and 19 have substantially similar limitations as stated in claims 2-5 and 10, respectively; therefore, they are rejected under the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 20, Freed discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: (e.g., paragraph [0079])
obtaining, by the computing system comprising one or more computing devices, an input query; (“A user 101 in the plurality of users submits a query 107”)(e.g., paragraph [0019])
processing, by the computing system, the input query with a generative model to generate a plurality of topics; (“The personalization engine 110 selects useful facets 173 according to the respective usefulness factors based on the user cluster for the user 101 and the navigation-type cluster for the query 107.” “In block 220, the personalization engine 110 derives navigation-type clusters based on search queries and/or navigation topics.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0019] and [0026])
determining, by the computing system, search results using the plurality of topics; (“The personalization engine 110 produces facets-scored results 199 by scoring and ranking search results responsive to the query 107 based on the useful facets 173, and subsequently presents the facets-scored results 199 to the user 101.” “Users in different user clusters may receive distinctive facets and associated results with a same query by the same content node, as the personalization engine 110 attempts to identify the results by use of personalized facets and associated values.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0019] and [0021]
generating, by the computing system, instructions for presenting a topic-organized search results page that is structured according to the plurality of topics by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content to search results for each of the plurality of topics; and (“the personalization engine 110 selects, ranks and presents the useful facets 173 for Cluster 1 user cluster and Cluster A navigation-type cluster for User X searching by Query. The personalization engine 110 ranks facets relevant to competition within and/or amongst technologies highly as more useful for guiding User X to navigate through search results of Query, and displays high-ranked facets from the top for User X such that User X may find information sought out with Query with the most likelihood.”)(e.g., paragraph [0039])
providing, by the computing system, the instructions for presenting the topic-organized search results page to cause display of the topic-organized search results page on a display device. (“the personalization engine 110 selects, ranks and presents the useful facets 173 for Cluster 1 user cluster and Cluster A navigation-type cluster for User X searching by Query. The personalization engine 110 ranks facets relevant to competition within and/or amongst technologies highly as more useful for guiding User X to navigate through search results of Query, and displays high-ranked facets from the top for User X such that User X may find information sought out with Query with the most likelihood.”)(e.g., paragraph [0039])
However, Freed does not appear to specifically use of a generative model to generate the plurality of topics and does not appear to specifically disclose by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content.
On the other hand, Cui, which relates to systems and methods for double level ranking (title), does disclose a generative model to generate a plurality of topics; (“This may involve using supervised or unsupervised machine learning techniques, wherein the LLM classifies these clusters into predefined or dynamically generated topic categories.” – LLM is the generative model)(e.g., paragraph [0026])
On the other hand, Slaney, which relates to generating non-overlapping facets for a query (title), does disclose generating, by the computing system, instructions for presenting a topic-organized search results page that is structured according to the plurality of topics by mapping a group of the search results with distinct, non-overlapping content to each of the plurality of topics; and (“Thus, search results may be organized/partitioned so that users can more easily find those search results in which they are interested. Finding and providing relevant search results can be particularly problematic for relatively broad queries. For example, there are many different aspects to the search results for a broad query such as "San Francisco". In a web-page search, it may be possible to find one web page that describes each of the desired aspects of San Francisco. On the other hand, this tends not to be true for multimedia objects--e.g., each picture would likely show just one portion of San Francisco. It can therefore be informative to a user if the available search results are organized/partitioned so that different aspects of the query are presented separately. As used herein to facilitate understanding, such different aspects are termed facets. Hence, each facet may describe and/or relate to a different aspect of the query. Two facets may be considered substantially non-overlapping if the contents of a first facet have little or no overlap with the contents of a second facet.” “the search results associated with each facet 206 may be exclusive of other facets so that non-overlapping facets can be presented.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0024]-[0026] and [0038])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine Cui, Freed and Slaney for the same reasons as provided in claim 1, above.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney and in further view of Lippe et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220405336 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Lippe”).
Regarding claim 6, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. However, none of the references appears to specifically disclose wherein generating, by the computing system, the instructions for presenting the topic-organized search results page comprises, for each of at least one of the search results, applying, by the computing system, a template to metadata associated with the search result to generate a result representation for inclusion in the topic-organized search results page.
On the other hand, Lippe, which relates to modification, personalization and customization of search results and search result ranking in an internet-based search engine (title), does disclose wherein generating, by the computing system, the instructions for presenting the topic-organized search results page comprises, for each of at least one of the search results, applying, by the computing system, a template to metadata associated with the search result to generate a result representation for inclusion in the topic-organized search results page. (“The representative system, method, and apparatus embodiments provide or impose, for each subject, topic, field, or feature, various user-selectable or user-determined levels of organization and classification on the stored data in the various databases and the resulting search results.” )(e.g., paragraphs [0072]-[0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine Slaney, Cui and Freed for the same reasons as provided in claim 1, above. However, none of the references appears to specifically applies a template to metadata associated with the search result to generate a result representation for inclusion in the topic-organized search results page. On the other hand, Lippe provides that it is known to apply a template to metadata to provide an organized “container” for search results and the template defines which set(s) of search results are returned, order, and how the search results are rendered. E.g., paragraph [0074]. This provides enhanced personalization and customization of search results and provides an enhanced manner to display results to the user. E.g., paragraph [0010]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the template of Lippe with the Freed-Cui-Slaney combination to enhance the manner in which the results are presented to the user.
Claim 17 has substantially similar limitations as stated in claim 6; therefore, it is rejected under the same subject matter.
Claims 7, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freed in view of Cui in further view of Slaney and in further view of Suba et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0328567 A1, which claims priority to U.S. Prov. Application No. 63/637,593, hereinafter referred to as “Suba”).
Regarding claim 7, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. However, none of the references appears to specifically disclose wherein generating, by the computing system, the instructions for presenting the topic-organized search results page comprises, for each of at least one of the topics, processing, by the computing system, data associated with the topic with a second generative model to generate a textual justification or preamble for the topic, wherein the textual justification or preamble is included in the topic-organized search results page.
On the other hand, Suba, which relates to a method for augmented component search utilizing structured and unstructured datasheet data (title), does disclose wherein generating, by the computing system, the instructions for presenting the topic-organized search results page comprises, for each of at least one of the topics, processing, by the computing system, data associated with the topic with a second generative model to generate a textual justification or preamble for the topic, wherein the textual justification or preamble is included in the topic-organized search results page. (“In some embodiments, for each product retrieved, the system 100 may attempt to generate a justification, using an LLM like GPT-4®, which is capable of generating logical, readable justifications based on both the user query and the retrieved specifications. For example, the model may explain how and why a selected product meets the user's criteria. This then ensures the user receives not only relevant results but also transparent reasoning behind each suggestion. In some embodiments, if a strong justification cannot be formed, that result may be discarded, to minimize false positives and improve overall precision.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0023], [0028] and [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine Cui, Freed and Slaney for the same reasons as provided in claim 1, above. However, neither reference appears to specifically disclose providing a justification for the topic on the search page. On the other hand, Suba provides that “search results for technical data should be easily interpretable and provide clear reasoning for why a product meets a user's criteria. Merely listing product names or IDs is often insufficient. Users increasingly expect natural language explanations that clarify how and why certain components match their requirements. These explanations not only improve transparency and user trust but also streamline decision-making in data-driven industrial workflows.” E.g., paragraphs [0005]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to include the justification information as disclosed in Suba to the Freed-Cui-Slaney combination to further enhance the user’s experience by allowing the user to understand why the search results are being retrieved and how/why the results were retrieved.
Claim 18 has substantially similar limitations as stated in claim 7; therefore, it is rejected under the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 21, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. However, none of the references appears to specifically disclose wherein generating the instructions further comprises, for each of at least one of the plurality of topics, generating a textual preamble for the topic using a second generative model, and wherein the textual preamble is displayed on the topic-organized search results page.
On the other hand, Suba, which relates to a method for augmented component search utilizing structured and unstructured datasheet data (title), does disclose wherein generating the instructions further comprises, for each of at least one of the plurality of topics, generating a textual preamble for the topic using a second generative model, and wherein the textual preamble is displayed on the topic-organized search results page. (“In some embodiments, for each product retrieved, the system 100 may attempt to generate a justification, using an LLM like GPT-4®, which is capable of generating logical, readable justifications based on both the user query and the retrieved specifications. For example, the model may explain how and why a selected product meets the user's criteria. This then ensures the user receives not only relevant results but also transparent reasoning behind each suggestion. In some embodiments, if a strong justification cannot be formed, that result may be discarded, to minimize false positives and improve overall precision.”)(e.g., paragraphs [0023], [0028] and [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine Suba with Cui, Freed and Slaney for the same reasons as provided in claim 7, above.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freed in view of Cui in further view of Slaney and in further view of Felt et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0307761 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Felt”).
Regarding claim 9, Freed in view of Cui and in further view of Slaney discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. However, none of the reference appears to specifically disclose wherein the topic-organized search results page presents the plurality of topics respectively in a plurality of visual cards, wherein the plurality of visual cards are arranged vertically, and wherein the search results for each topic are arranged horizontally within the visual card associated with that topic.
On the other hand, Felt, which relates to an advanced user interface for voice search and results display (title), does disclose wherein the topic-organized search results page presents the plurality of topics respectively in a plurality of visual cards, wherein the plurality of visual cards are arranged vertically, and wherein the search results for each topic are arranged horizontally within the visual card associated with that topic. (“The advanced voice search feature may provide relevant search results to a user's voice request in the form of categorized search results presented as items on a set of “category cards” displayed in a visual user interface.” “A navigation command may enable the user to navigate between category cards. In an example, the user may voice a “go back” command to go back to a previous category card, a “go forward” command to go to a next category card in a set of sequenced category cards, a “start over” command to begin a new voice request, a “list all” command to list a set of available category cards in a cascading arrangement, a “reorder” command to list the available cards in a user defined order based on subsequent verbal input, and/or may speak a different type of navigation command that navigation module 450 is configured to recognize.”)(e.g., Figures 13A-13C and 14A-D and paragraphs [0017] and [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine Cui, Freed and Slaney for the same reasons as provided in claim 1, above. However, none of the references appears to specifically disclose the topic-organized search results page presents the plurality of topics respectively in a plurality of visual cards arranged vertically with the results for each topic arranged horizontally within the visual card associated with the topic. On the other hand, Felt provides employing visual cards or category cards to improve with research results, because Felt acknowledges “a user may be presented with too many search results and/or results with low relevance in response to a voice search request, and the presentation of the search results in a user interface may be suboptimal.” E.g., paragraph [0001]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s claimed invention to incorporate the category cards as disclosed in Felt to the Freed-Cui-Slaney combination to further enhance the manner in which results are presented to users so that results are displayed in an organized easy to understand manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed on form PTO-892, and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD L BOWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165