DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed 5/8/2025 in which Claims 1-22 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 16, 21, 22 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,311,880 in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0285816 to Sezanayev.
Claims 1, 21 and 22 each describe displaying a user interface to provide the first secure credential authorization to use one or more functions of a vehicle, receiving a sequence of user inputs to restrict use of the first secure credential to authorize a function for a predetermined period of time equivalent to the co-pending patent claims of 1, 18 and 19.
Co-pending patent claims 1, 18 and 19 do not expressly disclose while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information; and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions.
Sezanayev teaches an alcohol level sensor 10 is located not on a vehicle door, but instead on a door key 10. The door key-located sensor 10 senses whether an alcohol level in a potential driver is within an allowable range or outside of the allowable range through touching the door key 10 of fingers and/or hand by the potential driver. Such a sensor can be formed as a known transdermal sensor which can sense an alcohol level in blood of a potential driver through his skin (see ¶ 0038) FIG. 5a shows an alcohol level a sensor 10' which is arranged directly on a body 11 of a mechanical key 12, while FIG. 5b shows an alcohol level sensor 10'' located on a push button 13 of a remotely operated key 14. When a potential driver touches the vehicle door key 10, 10', 10'' his alcohol level is sensed and corresponding signals are sent to the door lock 5, the vehicle ignition system 8, or both remotely by means of a transmitter 15 and receivers 16 and 17 so as to allow opening of the door lock 5 (see ¶ 0039).
Claim 1 of instant application 19/202,990
Claims of U.S. Patent 12,311,880
1. A computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
1. A computer system, comprising: a display generation component; one or more input devices; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface object corresponding to a first secure credential, wherein the first secure credential is enrolled on the computer system and is configured to provide authorization to use one or more functions of a vehicle;
displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface object corresponding to a first secure credential stored on the computer system, wherein the first secure credential is enrolled on the computer system and is configured enables the computer system to provide authorization to use one or more functions of a vehicle that is separate from the computer system;
while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the first secure credential, detecting, at the computer system, a sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to restrict use of the first secure credential to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time
while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the first secure credential, detecting, at the computer system, a sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to restrict use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time;
in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential enrolled on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions
in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions,
and while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information; in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions
wherein restricting the use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions prohibits the computer system from providing authorization to use the first function of the one or more functions of the vehicle that is separate from the computer system during the predetermined period of time
and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions.
and detecting, at the computer system, a second sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to selection of a contactable user from a plurality of contactable users, wherein selection of the contactable user enables the contactable user, using a second external device separate from the computer system, to restore use of the first secure credential enrolled stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 5, 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0186333 to Santiano et al (“Santiano”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0285816 to Sezanayev.
As to Claim 1, Santiano discloses a computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices, comprising: one or more processors (One or more processors 320 may include processors in network server 160 and/or processors in personal device 120, see ¶ 0020; Fig. 1; System 100 may allow for one or more personal devices 120 to transfer electronic keys and associated with an electronic key application (e.g., illustrated in FIGS. 4-13) over network 150 to cloud platform 190 and/or vehicle 130… Cloud platform 190 may comprise one or more network servers 160, see ¶ 0023-0027; Network server 160 may provide authorized user data 252, vehicle data 254, and owner information 256 for use in an electronic key application (as further described with reference to FIGS. 4-13) that is displayed and executed on a personal device 120 operated by a vehicle owner, see ¶ 0032; The GUI [display generation component] may be displayed as part of a screen on a personal device 120, see ¶ 0034); and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (system may further include a storage device configured to store the electronic key and the permission settings, see Abstract; non-transitory computer-readable medium may store instructions executable by one or more processors connected to the cloud network to perform a method, see ¶ 0008; Memory 240 may store among other things, server programs 244 and an operating system 246, see ¶ 0029),
Santiano discloses the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface object corresponding to a first secure credential is enrolled on the computer system, and is configured to provide authorization to use one or more functions of a vehicle (Network server 160 may provide authorized user data 252, vehicle data 254, and owner information 256 for use in an electronic key application (as further described with reference to FIGS. 4-13) that is displayed and executed on a personal device 120 operated by a vehicle owner. Based on user input or user interaction with the GUI, network server 160 may receive authorized user data 252, vehicle data 254, and owner information 256 from network 150 through I/O device 230, and may analyze such data to control and/or restrict vehicle 130 permissions by generating/modifying and sending electronic keys, see ¶ 0032; The GUI may be displayed as part of a screen on a personal device 120, see ¶ 0034; graphical user interfaces (GUIs) showing a permission tab and a history tab of an electronic key for editing. Based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.”, see ¶ 0035, Figs. 4 - 5);
while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the first secure credential, detecting, at the computer system, a sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to restrict use of the first secure credential to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time (personal device 120 may store the electronic key [first secure credential] and the permission settings in memory 240 or database 260, see ¶ 0050; a home screen 400 including “Car Info,” “Control,” “Climate,” and “Keys” options for user selection located at the top of the screen. In the illustration, the home screen also includes the option to edit [sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request] an electronic key 402 for one or more registered users and to send a new electronic key 404…electronic keys may also include a time limit for use, and expire after the time limit is up. For example, in the illustration, the electronic key for “David Smith,” has 3 days and 16 hours left before it expires [restrict use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0034; Fig. 4; based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.” For example, vehicle permissions including permissions to allow driving, set drive duration, set speed limit, and set drive mode are shown. The user may touch the edit permission button to modify these permissions [in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, wherein restricting the use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions prohibits the computer system from providing authorization to use the first function of the one or more functions of the vehicle that is separate from the computer system during the predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0035; Fig. 5; when a user selects “Schedule,” the electronic key application proceeds to the schedule screen 1200. Schedule screen 1200 may include options for always permitting electronic key access, on a recurring basis, or for a temporary time period. Specific days of the week permitting electronic key access may be set, and specific times permitting electronic key access may also be set, see ¶ 0042, Fig. 12).
in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (personal device 120 may store the electronic key [first secure credential] and the permission settings in memory 240 or database 260, see ¶ 0050; a home screen 400 including “Car Info,” “Control,” “Climate,” and “Keys” options for user selection located at the top of the screen. In the illustration, the home screen also includes the option to edit [sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request] an electronic key 402 for one or more registered users and to send a new electronic key 404…electronic keys may also include a time limit for use, and expire after the time limit is up. For example, in the illustration, the electronic key for “David Smith,” has 3 days and 16 hours left before it expires [restrict use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0034; Fig. 4; based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.” For example, vehicle permissions including permissions to allow driving, set drive duration, set speed limit, and set drive mode are shown. The user may touch the edit permission button to modify these permissions [in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, wherein restricting the use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions prohibits the computer system from providing authorization to use the first function of the one or more functions of the vehicle that is separate from the computer system during the predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0035; Fig. 5; when a user selects “Schedule,” the electronic key application proceeds to the schedule screen 1200. Schedule screen 1200 may include options for always permitting electronic key access, on a recurring basis, or for a temporary time period. Specific days of the week permitting electronic key access may be set, and specific times permitting electronic key access may also be set, see ¶ 0042, Fig. 12);
Santiano does not expressly disclose while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information; and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions.
Sezanayev teaches while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information (an alcohol level sensor 10 is located not on a vehicle door, but instead on a door key 10. The door key-located sensor 10 senses whether an alcohol level [biometric information] in a potential driver is within an allowable range or outside of the allowable range through touching the door key 10 of fingers and/or hand by the potential driver. Such a sensor can be formed as a known transdermal sensor which can sense an alcohol level in blood of a potential driver through his skin, see ¶ 0038); and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (If the sensor 4 senses that the alcohol level of the potential drive is absent or within an allowable range, it sends a signal to the door lock 5 and the door lock can open either automatically or by a key, see ¶ 0034; When a potential driver touches the vehicle door key 10, 10', 10'' his alcohol level is sensed and corresponding signals are sent to the door lock 5, see ¶ 0039) and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (If however to the contrary the sensor 4 senses an alcohol level in a potential driver which is outside of the allowable range, the sensor sends a signal to the door lock 5 and the door lock 5 cannot open either automatically or by a key, see ¶ 0034; When a potential driver touches the vehicle door key 10, 10', 10'' his alcohol level is sensed and corresponding signals are sent to the door lock 5, see ¶ 0039).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Santiano with Sezanayev to teach while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information; and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to blocking unlocking of a door/doors of the vehicles and additionally by block operation of the ignition system if the sensor/sensors sense an alcohol level in the potential driver which is outside an allowable range (see ¶ 0024).
As to Claim 5, Santiano and Sezanayev depending from Claim 1, Santiano discloses wherein the first function comprises driving the vehicle, and restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions comprises restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize driving of the vehicle (Vehicle data 254 may include vehicle make, model, drive, drivers, speed limit, duration, drive mode, mileage, and/or any vehicle related information associated with vehicle 130, including vehicle permission information, see ¶ 0030; network server 160 may receive authorized user data 252, vehicle data 254, and owner information 256 from network 150 through I/O device 230, and may analyze such data to control and/or restrict vehicle 130 permissions by generating/modifying and sending electronic keys, see ¶ 0032; permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.” For example, vehicle permissions including permissions to allow driving, set drive duration, set speed limit, and set drive mode are shown, see ¶ 0035).
As to Claim 17, Santiano and Sezanayev depending on Claim 1, Sezanayev teaches wherein the biometric information includes a blood alcohol level (an alcohol level sensor 10 is located not on a vehicle door, but instead on a door key 10. The door key-located sensor 10 senses whether an alcohol level [biometric information] in a potential driver is within an allowable range or outside of the allowable range through touching the door key 10 of fingers and/or hand by the potential driver. Such a sensor can be formed as a known transdermal sensor which can sense an alcohol level in blood of a potential driver through his skin, see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 18, Santiano and Sezanayev depending on Claim 1, Sezanayev teaches wherein the biometric information is received from a blood alcohol level test device (an alcohol level sensor 10 [blood alcohol level test device] is located not on a vehicle door, but instead on a door key 10. The door key-located sensor 10 senses whether an alcohol level [biometric information] in a potential driver is within an allowable range or outside of the allowable range through touching the door key 10 of fingers and/or hand by the potential driver. Such a sensor can be formed as a known transdermal sensor which can sense an alcohol level in blood of a potential driver through his skin, see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 19, Santiano and Sezanayev depending on Claim 1, Sezanayev teaches wherein the determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria includes a determination that the biometric information indicates a blood alcohol level below a threshold value (If the sensor 4 senses that the alcohol level of the potential drive is absent or within an allowable range, it sends a signal to the door lock 5 and the door lock can open either automatically or by a key, see ¶ 0034; When a potential driver touches the vehicle door key 10, 10', 10'' his alcohol level is sensed and corresponding signals are sent to the door lock 5, see ¶ 0039).
As to Claim 20, Santiano and Sezanayev depending on Claim 1, Sezanayev teaches wherein the determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria includes a determination that the biometric information indicates a blood alcohol level above a threshold value (If however to the contrary the sensor 4 senses an alcohol level in a potential driver which is outside of the allowable range, the sensor sends a signal to the door lock 5 and the door lock 5 cannot open either automatically or by a key, see ¶ 0034; When a potential driver touches the vehicle door key 10, 10', 10'' his alcohol level is sensed and corresponding signals are sent to the door lock 5, see ¶ 0039).
As to Claim 21, Santiano discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (The non-transitory computer-readable medium may store instructions executable by one or more processors connected to the cloud network to perform a method. The method may include generating an electronic key for permitting one or more registered users to access and operate a vehicle, and the electronic key may include a plurality of permission settings, see ¶ 0008; System 100 may allow for one or more personal devices 120 to transfer electronic keys and associated with an electronic key application (e.g., illustrated in FIGS. 4-13) over network 150 to cloud platform 190 and/or vehicle 130… Cloud platform 190 may comprise one or more network servers 160, see ¶ 0023-0027; Network server 160 may provide authorized user data 252, vehicle data 254, and owner information 256 for use in an electronic key application (as further described with reference to FIGS. 4-13) that is displayed and executed on a personal device 120 operated by a vehicle owner, see ¶ 0032; The GUI [display generation component] may be displayed as part of a screen on a personal device 120, see ¶ 0034), the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface object corresponding to a first secure credential, wherein the first secure credential is enrolled on the computer system and is configured to provide authorization to use one or more functions of a vehicle (Network server 160 may provide authorized user data 252, vehicle data 254, and owner information 256 for use in an electronic key application (as further described with reference to FIGS. 4-13) that is displayed and executed on a personal device 120 operated by a vehicle owner. Based on user input or user interaction with the GUI, network server 160 may receive authorized user data 252, vehicle data 254, and owner information 256 from network 150 through I/O device 230, and may analyze such data to control and/or restrict vehicle 130 permissions by generating/modifying and sending electronic keys, see ¶ 0032; The GUI may be displayed as part of a screen on a personal device 120, see ¶ 0034; graphical user interfaces (GUIs) showing a permission tab and a history tab of an electronic key for editing. Based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.”, see ¶ 0035, Figs. 4 - 5);
while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the first secure credential, detecting, at the computer system, a sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to restrict use of the first secure credential to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time (personal device 120 may store the electronic key [first secure credential] and the permission settings in memory 240 or database 260, see ¶ 0050; a home screen 400 including “Car Info,” “Control,” “Climate,” and “Keys” options for user selection located at the top of the screen. In the illustration, the home screen also includes the option to edit [sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request] an electronic key 402 for one or more registered users and to send a new electronic key 404…electronic keys may also include a time limit for use, and expire after the time limit is up. For example, in the illustration, the electronic key for “David Smith,” has 3 days and 16 hours left before it expires [restrict use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0034; Fig. 4; based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.” For example, vehicle permissions including permissions to allow driving, set drive duration, set speed limit, and set drive mode are shown. The user may touch the edit permission button to modify these permissions [in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, wherein restricting the use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions prohibits the computer system from providing authorization to use the first function of the one or more functions of the vehicle that is separate from the computer system during the predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0035; Fig. 5; when a user selects “Schedule,” the electronic key application proceeds to the schedule screen 1200. Schedule screen 1200 may include options for always permitting electronic key access, on a recurring basis, or for a temporary time period. Specific days of the week permitting electronic key access may be set, and specific times permitting electronic key access may also be set, see ¶ 0042, Fig. 12).
in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (personal device 120 may store the electronic key [first secure credential] and the permission settings in memory 240 or database 260, see ¶ 0050; a home screen 400 including “Car Info,” “Control,” “Climate,” and “Keys” options for user selection located at the top of the screen. In the illustration, the home screen also includes the option to edit [sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request] an electronic key 402 for one or more registered users and to send a new electronic key 404…electronic keys may also include a time limit for use, and expire after the time limit is up. For example, in the illustration, the electronic key for “David Smith,” has 3 days and 16 hours left before it expires [restrict use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0034; Fig. 4; based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.” For example, vehicle permissions including permissions to allow driving, set drive duration, set speed limit, and set drive mode are shown. The user may touch the edit permission button to modify these permissions [in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, wherein restricting the use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions prohibits the computer system from providing authorization to use the first function of the one or more functions of the vehicle that is separate from the computer system during the predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0035; Fig. 5; when a user selects “Schedule,” the electronic key application proceeds to the schedule screen 1200. Schedule screen 1200 may include options for always permitting electronic key access, on a recurring basis, or for a temporary time period. Specific days of the week permitting electronic key access may be set, and specific times permitting electronic key access may also be set, see ¶ 0042, Fig. 12).
Santiano does not expressly disclose while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information; and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions.
Sezanayev teaches while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information (an alcohol level sensor 10 is located not on a vehicle door, but instead on a door key 10. The door key-located sensor 10 senses whether an alcohol level [biometric information] in a potential driver is within an allowable range or outside of the allowable range through touching the door key 10 of fingers and/or hand by the potential driver. Such a sensor can be formed as a known transdermal sensor which can sense an alcohol level in blood of a potential driver through his skin, see ¶ 0038); and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (If the sensor 4 senses that the alcohol level of the potential drive is absent or within an allowable range, it sends a signal to the door lock 5 and the door lock can open either automatically or by a key, see ¶ 0034; When a potential driver touches the vehicle door key 10, 10', 10'' his alcohol level is sensed and corresponding signals are sent to the door lock 5, see ¶ 0039) and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (If however to the contrary the sensor 4 senses an alcohol level in a potential driver which is outside of the allowable range, the sensor sends a signal to the door lock 5 and the door lock 5 cannot open either automatically or by a key, see ¶ 0034; When a potential driver touches the vehicle door key 10, 10', 10'' his alcohol level is sensed and corresponding signals are sent to the door lock 5, see ¶ 0039).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Santiano with Sezanayev to teach while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information; and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to blocking unlocking of a door/doors of the vehicles and additionally by block operation of the ignition system if the sensor/sensors sense an alcohol level in the potential driver which is outside an allowable range (see ¶ 0024).
As to Claim 22, Santiano discloses a method, comprising: at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices: displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface object corresponding to a first secure credential, wherein the first secure credential is enrolled on the computer system and is configured to provide authorization to use one or more functions of a vehicle (Network server 160 may provide authorized user data 252, vehicle data 254, and owner information 256 for use in an electronic key application (as further described with reference to FIGS. 4-13) that is displayed and executed on a personal device 120 operated by a vehicle owner. Based on user input or user interaction with the GUI, network server 160 may receive authorized user data 252, vehicle data 254, and owner information 256 from network 150 through I/O device 230, and may analyze such data to control and/or restrict vehicle 130 permissions by generating/modifying and sending electronic keys, see ¶ 0032; The GUI may be displayed as part of a screen on a personal device 120, see ¶ 0034; graphical user interfaces (GUIs) showing a permission tab and a history tab of an electronic key for editing. Based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.”, see ¶ 0035, Figs. 4 - 5);
while displaying the user interface object corresponding to the first secure credential, detecting, at the computer system, a sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to restrict use of the first secure credential to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time (personal device 120 may store the electronic key [first secure credential] and the permission settings in memory 240 or database 260, see ¶ 0050; a home screen 400 including “Car Info,” “Control,” “Climate,” and “Keys” options for user selection located at the top of the screen. In the illustration, the home screen also includes the option to edit [sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request] an electronic key 402 for one or more registered users and to send a new electronic key 404…electronic keys may also include a time limit for use, and expire after the time limit is up. For example, in the illustration, the electronic key for “David Smith,” has 3 days and 16 hours left before it expires [restrict use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0034; Fig. 4; based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.” For example, vehicle permissions including permissions to allow driving, set drive duration, set speed limit, and set drive mode are shown. The user may touch the edit permission button to modify these permissions [in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, wherein restricting the use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions prohibits the computer system from providing authorization to use the first function of the one or more functions of the vehicle that is separate from the computer system during the predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0035; Fig. 5; when a user selects “Schedule,” the electronic key application proceeds to the schedule screen 1200. Schedule screen 1200 may include options for always permitting electronic key access, on a recurring basis, or for a temporary time period. Specific days of the week permitting electronic key access may be set, and specific times permitting electronic key access may also be set, see ¶ 0042, Fig. 12).
in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential enrolled on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (personal device 120 may store the electronic key [first secure credential] and the permission settings in memory 240 or database 260, see ¶ 0050; a home screen 400 including “Car Info,” “Control,” “Climate,” and “Keys” options for user selection located at the top of the screen. In the illustration, the home screen also includes the option to edit [sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request] an electronic key 402 for one or more registered users and to send a new electronic key 404…electronic keys may also include a time limit for use, and expire after the time limit is up. For example, in the illustration, the electronic key for “David Smith,” has 3 days and 16 hours left before it expires [restrict use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize at least a first function of the one or more functions for a predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0034; Fig. 4; based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith.” For example, vehicle permissions including permissions to allow driving, set drive duration, set speed limit, and set drive mode are shown. The user may touch the edit permission button to modify these permissions [in response to detecting the sequence of one or more user inputs, restricting use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, wherein restricting the use of the first secure credential stored on the computer system to authorize the first function of the one or more functions prohibits the computer system from providing authorization to use the first function of the one or more functions of the vehicle that is separate from the computer system during the predetermined period of time], see ¶ 0035; Fig. 5; when a user selects “Schedule,” the electronic key application proceeds to the schedule screen 1200. Schedule screen 1200 may include options for always permitting electronic key access, on a recurring basis, or for a temporary time period. Specific days of the week permitting electronic key access may be set, and specific times permitting electronic key access may also be set, see ¶ 0042, Fig. 12).
Santiano does not expressly disclose while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information; and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions.
Sezanayev teaches while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information (an alcohol level sensor 10 is located not on a vehicle door, but instead on a door key 10. The door key-located sensor 10 senses whether an alcohol level [biometric information] in a potential driver is within an allowable range or outside of the allowable range through touching the door key 10 of fingers and/or hand by the potential driver. Such a sensor can be formed as a known transdermal sensor which can sense an alcohol level in blood of a potential driver through his skin, see ¶ 0038); and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (If the sensor 4 senses that the alcohol level of the potential drive is absent or within an allowable range, it sends a signal to the door lock 5 and the door lock can open either automatically or by a key, see ¶ 0034; When a potential driver touches the vehicle door key 10, 10', 10'' his alcohol level is sensed and corresponding signals are sent to the door lock 5, see ¶ 0039) and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (If however to the contrary the sensor 4 senses an alcohol level in a potential driver which is outside of the allowable range, the sensor sends a signal to the door lock 5 and the door lock 5 cannot open either automatically or by a key, see ¶ 0034; When a potential driver touches the vehicle door key 10, 10', 10'' his alcohol level is sensed and corresponding signals are sent to the door lock 5, see ¶ 0039).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Santiano with Sezanayev to teach while use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is restricted, receiving biometric information; and in response to receiving the biometric information: in accordance with a determination that the biometric information satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions and in accordance with a determination that the biometric information does not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to blocking unlocking of a door/doors of the vehicles and additionally by block operation of the ignition system if the sensor/sensors sense an alcohol level in the potential driver which is outside an allowable range (see ¶ 0024).
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0186333 to Santiano et al (“Santiano”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0285816 to Sezanayev in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0120864 to Fischer et al (“Fischer”).
As to Claim 2, Santiano and Sezanayev depending from Claim 1, Santiano and Sezanayev do not expressly disclose wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, in accordance with a determination that the predetermined period of time has elapsed after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions.
Fischer discloses wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, in accordance with a determination that the predetermined period of time has elapsed after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (More specifically, if the mobile device has a restriction that does not allow the occupant to drive the vehicle at a predefined time, the ignition system may be enabled if the current time is outside the window of the restricted predefined time, see ¶ 0072).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been in order to modify Santiano and Sezanayev with Fischer to teach wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, in accordance with a determination that the predetermined period of time has elapsed after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to enable the ignition system if the current time is outside the window of the restricted predefined time (see ¶ 0072).
As to Claim 3, Santiano and Sezanayev depending from Claim 1, Santiano and Sezanayev do not expressly disclose wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: detecting a request to use the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions; and72116548721Attorney Docket No.: P51335US1/77770000577101 in response to detecting the request to use the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions: in accordance with a determination that use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is not currently restricted, authorizing the first function of the one or more functions, and in accordance with a determination that use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is currently restricted, forgoing authorizing. Fischer discloses wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: detecting a request to use the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (The processor is further programmed to receive input at the user interface to associate the device with a pre-approval setting for enabling a vehicle start request when the device having the pre-approval setting and a vehicle key are detected by the processor, see ¶ 0004; the VCS 1 may allow one or more restriction settings to be associated with the one or more mobile devices via the user interface display 4, see ¶ 0026; The VCS 1 may output the driver authorization settings 308 to the display 4 based on a request to configure the driver authorization system via the occupants input...The driver authorization configuration 308 may request a password [first secure credential] before outputting the one or more selectable entries 304, see ¶ 0058) and72
116548721Attorney Docket No.: P51335US1/77770000577101 in response to detecting the request to use the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions: in accordance with a determination that use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is not currently restricted, authorizing the first function of the one or more functions, and in accordance with a determination that use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is currently restricted, forgoing authorizing (In operation 424, in response to the mobile device 53 recognized as a previously paired mobile device having no restrictions, the VCS 1 may enable the ignition system allowing for a vehicle drive-away event. In one example, the previously paired mobile device may have a restriction, however, the ignition system may be enabled if the restriction is within a predefined threshold. More specifically, if the mobile device has a restriction that does not allow the occupant to drive the vehicle at a predefined time, the ignition system may be enabled if the current time is outside the window of the restricted predefined time, see ¶ 0072).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been in order to modify Santiano and Sezanayev with Fischer to teach wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: detecting a request to use the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions; and72116548721Attorney Docket No.: P51335US1/77770000577101 in response to detecting the request to use the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions: in accordance with a determination that use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is not currently restricted, authorizing the first function of the one or more functions, and in accordance with a determination that use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions is currently restricted, forgoing authorizing. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to associate the device with a pre-approval setting for enabling a vehicle start request when the device having the pre-approval setting and a vehicle key are detected by the processor (see Abstract).
As to Claim 4, Santiano and Sezanayev depending from Claim 1, Santiano and Sezanayev do not expressly disclose wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions: detecting a request to use the first secure credential to authorize a respective operation of the vehicle; and in response to detecting the request to use the secure credential to authorize the respective operation: in accordance with a determination that the respective operation corresponds to the first function, forgoing authorizing the respective operation, and in accordance with a determination that the respective operation corresponds to a second function different from the first function, authorizing the respective operation. Fischer discloses wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions: detecting a request to use the first secure credential to authorize a respective operation of the vehicle (The processor is further programmed to receive input at the user interface to associate the device with a pre-approval setting for enabling a vehicle start request [respective operation] when the device having the pre-approval setting and a vehicle key are detected by the processor, see ¶ 0004; the VCS 1 may allow one or more restriction settings to be associated with the one or more mobile devices via the user interface display 4, see ¶ 0026; The VCS 1 may output the driver authorization settings 308 to the display 4 based on a request to configure the driver authorization system via the occupants input...The driver authorization configuration 308 may request a password [first secure credential] before outputting the one or more selectable entries 304, see ¶ 0058); and in response to detecting the request to use the secure credential to authorize the respective operation: in accordance with a determination that the respective operation corresponds to the first function, forgoing authorizing the respective operation (The VCS 1 may output the driver authorization settings 308 to the display 4 based on a request to configure the driver authorization system via the occupants input...The driver authorization configuration 308 may request a password [first secure credential] before outputting the one or more selectable entries 304. The password may include, but is not limited to, a predefined numerical password, a voice password, an alphanumeric password, and/or a question and answer password process. In response to the password being correct, the VCS 1 may output the one or more selectable entries 304. If the password is incorrect, the VCS 1 may not allow access to the one or more selectable entries 304, see ¶ 0058; The selectable list entries 304 may include, but are not limited to, an entry 304-A for pairing a mobile device, an entry 304-B for configuring restrictions for a mobile device, an entry 304-C for sending a temporary disable request [forgoing authorizing a vehicle start, e.g. respective operation], see ¶ 0060), and in accordance with a determination that the respective operation corresponds to a second function different from the first function, authorizing the respective operation (the VCS 1 may prevent a powertrain start request until the system recognizes both the vehicle key and a previously paired mobile device [second function], see ¶ 0026; The VCS 1 may output the driver authorization settings 308 to the display 4 based on a request to configure the driver authorization system via the occupants input...The driver authorization configuration 308 may request a password [first secure credential] before outputting the one or more selectable entries 304. The password may include, but is not limited to, a predefined numerical password, a voice password, an alphanumeric password, and/or a question and answer password process. In response to the password being correct, the VCS 1 may output the one or more selectable entries 304. If the password is incorrect, the VCS 1 may not allow access to the one or more selectable entries 304, see ¶ 0058; The selectable list entries 304 may include, but are not limited to, an entry 304-A for pairing a mobile device [second function], an entry 304-B for configuring restrictions for a mobile device, an entry 304-C for sending a temporary disable request [forgoing authorizing a vehicle start, e.g. respective operation], see ¶ 0060).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been in order to modify Santiano and Sezanayev with Fischer to teach wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions: detecting a request to use the first secure credential to authorize a respective operation of the vehicle; and in response to detecting the request to use the secure credential to authorize the respective operation: in accordance with a determination that the respective operation corresponds to the first function, forgoing authorizing the respective operation, and in accordance with a determination that the respective operation corresponds to a second function different from the first function, authorizing the respective operation. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to associate the device with a pre-approval setting for enabling a vehicle start request when the device having the pre-approval setting and a vehicle key are detected by the processor (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 6, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0186333 to Santiano et al (“Santiano”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0285816 to Sezanayev in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0029560 to Mohaupt et al (“Mohaupt”).
As to Claim 6, Santiano and Sezanayev depending from Claim 5, Santiano and Sezanayev do not expressly disclose wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize driving of the vehicle: 73 116548721Attorney Docket No.: P51335US1/77770000577101detecting an attempt to use the first secure credential to perform a second respective operation of the vehicle; and in response to detecting the attempt to use the secure credential to perform the second respective operation: in accordance with a determination that the second respective operation corresponds to driving of the vehicle, forgoing authorizing the second respective operation, and in accordance with a determination that the second respective operation does not correspond to driving of the vehicle, authorizing performance of the second respective operation. Mohaupt teaches the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize driving of the vehicle: 73 116548721Attorney Docket No.: P51335US1/77770000577101detecting an attempt to use the first secure credential to perform a second respective operation of the vehicle (checking a further authorization of the mobile communication device for unlocking or locking the vehicle, based on the position of the mobile communication device and based on the digital key value. The checking of the authorization for unlocking or locking the vehicle [second respective operation] can acknowledge an authorization, to unlock the vehicle and/or lock the vehicle, see ¶ 0019); and
in response to detecting the attempt to use the secure credential to perform the second respective operation: in accordance with a determination that the second respective operation corresponds to driving of the vehicle, forgoing authorizing the second respective operation (checking of the authorization to operate the vehicle engine can acknowledge an authorization, to start the vehicle engine and/or operate the vehicle engine during the journey, if the determining of the position of the mobile communication device determines a position of the mobile communication device inside the vehicle and the received key value is valid, see ¶ 0018), and in accordance with a determination that the second respective operation does not correspond to driving of the vehicle, authorizing performance of the second respective operation (checking a further authorization of the mobile communication device for unlocking or locking the vehicle, based on the position of the mobile communication device and based on the digital key value. The checking of the authorization for unlocking or locking the vehicle can acknowledge an authorization, to unlock the vehicle and/or lock the vehicle, if the determining of the position of the mobile communication device determines a position of the mobile communication device outside the vehicle (and in proximity to the vehicle, for example), and the received key value is valid, see ¶ 0019).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Santiano and Sezanayev with Mohaupt to teach after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize driving of the vehicle: 73 116548721Attorney Docket No.: P51335US1/77770000577101detecting an attempt to use the first secure credential to perform a second respective operation of the vehicle; and in response to detecting the attempt to use the secure credential to perform the second respective operation: in accordance with a determination that the second respective operation corresponds to driving of the vehicle, forgoing authorizing the second respective operation, and in accordance with a determination that the second respective operation does not correspond to driving of the vehicle, authorizing performance of the second respective operation. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to prevent unauthorized entry to a vehicle (see ¶ 0008).
As to Claim 9, Santiano and Sezanayev depending from Claim 1, Santiano teaches wherein selection of the contactable user requests permission from the contactable user to restore use of the first secure credential (touch screen buttons for the electronic keys of authorized users “Jane Doe” and “David Smith” include an option to edit 402. A touch screen button to send a new electronic key 404, perhaps to a user not shown, see ¶ 0034; graphical user interfaces (GUIs) showing a permission tab and a history tab of an electronic key for editing Based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review... permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith” [second sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a selection of the contactable user]. For example, vehicle permissions including permissions to allow driving, set drive duration, set speed limit, and set drive mode are shown, see ¶ 0035-0036);
Santiano and Sezanayev do not expressly disclose first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions when proximity criteria are satisfied.
Mohaupt teaches first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions when proximity criteria are satisfied (checking of the authorization to operate the vehicle engine can acknowledge an authorization, to start the vehicle engine and/or operate the vehicle engine during the journey, if the determining of the position of the mobile communication device determines a position of the mobile communication device inside the vehicle and the received key value is valid, see ¶ 0018).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Santiano and Sezanayev with Mohaupt to teach first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions when proximity criteria are satisfied. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to check the authorization of the mobile communication device for operating the vehicle engine, based on the position of the mobile communication device and based on the digital key value (see Abstract).
As to Claim 17, Santiano and Sezanayev depending from Claim 1, Santiano and Sezanayev do not expressly disclose the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, detecting a fourth sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to restore use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions; and in response to receiving the fourth sequence of one or more user inputs: in accordance with a determination that the fourth sequence of one or more user inputs satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions; and in accordance with a determination that the fourth sequence of one or more user inputs do not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions. Mohaupt discloses wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, detecting a fourth sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to restore use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (obtaining information about a biometric authentication (for example, by means of a fingerprint, facial feature analysis or voice analysis) of a user of the mobile communication device. The checking of the authorization of the mobile communication device for operating the vehicle engine can further be based on the information about the biometric authentication, see ¶ 0021; The biometric authentication can be based, by way of example, on unlocking the mobile communication device 200 for the purpose of using the communication device or on biometric authentication for the purpose of obtaining authorization for operating the vehicle engine, see ¶ 0066); and in response to receiving the fourth sequence of one or more user inputs: in accordance with a determination that the fourth sequence of one or more user inputs satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (The checking 130 of the authorization of the mobile communication device 200 for operating the vehicle engine (and/or the checking of the further authorization) may further be based on the information about the biometric authentication, see ¶ 0066; checking a further authorization of the mobile communication device for unlocking or locking the vehicle, based on the position of the mobile communication device and based on the digital key value, see ¶ 0019); and in accordance with a determination that the fourth sequence of one or more user inputs do not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions (The checking 130 of the authorization of the mobile communication device 200 for operating the vehicle engine (and/or the checking of the further authorization) may further be based on the information about the biometric authentication, see ¶ 0066; checking a further authorization of the mobile communication device for unlocking or locking the vehicle, based on the position of the mobile communication device and based on the digital key value, see ¶ 0019).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Santiano and Sezanayev with Mohaupt to teach the one or more programs further include instructions for: after restricting use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions, detecting a fourth sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to restore use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions; and in response to receiving the fourth sequence of one or more user inputs: in accordance with a determination that the fourth sequence of one or more user inputs satisfies unlocking criteria, restoring use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions; and in accordance with a determination that the fourth sequence of one or more user inputs do not satisfy unlocking criteria, maintaining restriction of use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to prevent unauthorized entry to a vehicle (see ¶ 0008).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10, 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0186333 to Santiano et al (“Santiano”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0285816 to Sezanayev in further view of Japanese Patent Publication 2019/046122 to Tsubouchi et al (“Tsubouchi”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 7, Santiano and Sezanayev depending from Claim 1, Santiano teaches detecting a second sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to selection of a contactable user from a plurality of contactable users (touch screen buttons for the electronic keys of authorized users “Jane Doe” and “David Smith” include an option to edit 402. A touch screen button to send a new electronic key 404, perhaps to a user not shown, see ¶ 0034; at step 1304, process 1300 may include providing the electronic key to the one or more registered users [contactable user] through the cloud network. Upon selection of authorized users and setting of permissions, the vehicle owner may send a new key (as described with reference to FIGS. 6 and 11). System 100 may allow for one or more personal devices 120 to transfer electronic keys associated with an electronic key application over network 150 to cloud platform 190 and/or vehicle 130, see ¶ 0045).
Santiano does not expressly disclose wherein selection of the contactable user enables the contactable user to restore use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions.
However, Santiano teaches personal device 120 may store the electronic key [first secure credential] and the permission settings in memory 240 or database 260 (see ¶ 0050). One or more “send” screens 700 may be displayed. In the illustration, screen 702 displays a pop-up box when a user selects the “send invite” button [second sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to selection of a contactable user from a plurality of contactable users]. The pop-up or dialog box provides a notification message to the user to confirm that a new electronic key may be sent to an authorized user (see ¶ 0037, Fig. 7); the updated key [secure credential] may be sent to personal device 120 of the registered user and/or vehicle 130 to replace the existing key on that device. The modified permissions may also be provided in the form of an alert or message sent to the vehicle operator, notifying of a change in permissions. Any user who has access to the electronic key application may send or access a key request to a vehicle owner by specifying desired customizations. An owner can edit pre-customized key request and send back or provide the electronic key with the modified permission settings to one or more registered users (see ¶ 0049) but does not expressly disclose restoring the use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions. Tsubouchi teaches “authorized user U10” and “other user U20” refer to the other user terminal 50 used by authorized user U10 and other user U20…the other user terminal 50 installs an application for accessing the access control device 1 and executes the application (see ¶ 0029); access control unit 36 sets access restrictions for restricting accesses of other users U20…when the detection unit 32 detects the occurrence of an emergency, the access control unit 36 permits access of the user U20…thereby canceling the access restriction (see ¶ 0065-0066). Examiner broadly construes that Tsubouchi’s second external device, other user terminal 50, having Santiano’s key application installed is capable of canceling an access restriction set on its device.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Santiano and Sezanayev with Tsubouchi to teach wherein selection of the contactable user enables the contactable user to restore use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reliably transmit information in an emergency while protecting privacy in normal times (see ¶ 0005).
As to Claim 8, Santiano, Sezanayev and Tsubouchi depending from Claim 7, Santiano teaches wherein selection of the contactable user requests permission from the contactable user to restore use of the first secure credential to authorize the first function of the one or more functions from a remote location (a system for remotely granting vehicle permissions over a cloud network. The system may include one or more processors connected to the cloud network. The one or more processors may generate an electronic key for permitting one or more registered users to access and operate a vehicle, and the electronic key may include a plurality of permission settings, see ¶ 0006; vehicle 130 may include a vehicle controller 360 capable of communicating with a transceiver 310 and personal device 120 executing an electronic key application through network 150. Transceiver 310 may be capable of receiving one or more vehicle permission instructions (further described with reference to FIGS. 4-13) from one or more personal devices 120 and/or cloud platform 190 over network 150. Transceiver 310 may be capable of transmitting authorized user data 352 from vehicle 130 to one or more personal devices 120 and/or cloud platform 190 over network 150... Controller 360 may be configured to receive vehicle owner instructions to control, send, and/or edit electronic key permissions. The vehicle owner may modify or edit electronic keys according to requests from one or more registered users 370, see ¶ 0033; touch screen buttons for the electronic keys of authorized users “Jane Doe” and “David Smith” include an option to edit 402. A touch screen button to send a new electronic key 404, perhaps to a user not shown, see ¶ 0034; graphical user interfaces (GUIs) showing a permission tab and a history tab of an electronic key for editing Based on user input or user selection to edit electronic key 402 of “David Smith,” one or more editing screens 500 may be displayed for user modification and/or review... permission screen 502 displays touch screen buttons and tabs in order to modify vehicle access permissions for “David Smith”, see ¶ 0035-0036).
As to Claim 10, Santiano, Sezanayev and Tsubouchi depending from Claim 7, Santiano teaches wherein the plurality of contactable users includes a first set of contactable users that have a predetermined relationship to a user of the computer system and a second set of contactable users that do not have the predetermined relationship to the user of the computer system and wherein the contactable user is user within the first set of contactable users (Screen 800 lists a “Master Key” for use by the owner, a “For Jane” key for use by “Jane Doe,” a “Don't Crash My Car!” key for “John Doe” and “Jane Doe,” and an “Asleep or drunk” key. In the illustration, electronic keys may be assigned to individual users, groups of users, or not assigned to any users. Electronic keys may also be assigned based on a particular category or scenario, and may be titled accordingly, see ¶ 0038).
As to Claim 11, Santiano and Tsubouchi depending from Claim 7, Santiano wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: in response to detecting the second sequence of one or more user inputs corresponding to selection of the contactable user from the plurality of contactable users, initiating a process for transmitting a second secure credential to an electronic device associated with the contactable user wherein the second secure credential is configured to provide authorization to use at least a subset of the one or more functions of the vehicle that includes the first function of the one or more functions (A touch screen button to send a new electronic key 404 [second secure credential], perhaps to a user not shown, see ¶ 0034; Based on user input or user selection to send a new electronic key 404, one or more “send a new key” screens 600 may be displayed for user modification and/or review. In the illustration, duration, drive, and parental controls may be set, see ¶ 0036).
As to Claim 14, Santiano and Tsubouchi depending from Claim 7, Santiano wherein the plurality of contactable users includes one or more previously-identified emergency contacts, and the one or more programs further include instructions for: prior to detecting the second sequence of one or more inputs, displaying a suggestion to select at least one of the one or more previously-identified emergency contacts as the contactable user (a home screen 400 including “Car Info,” “Control,” “Climate,” and “Keys” options for user selection located at the top of the screen. In the illustration, the home screen also includes the option to edit an electronic key 402 for one or more registered users and to send a new electronic key 404. In FIG. 4, electronic keys visible for selection are “John Doe,” “Jane Doe,” and “David Smith.” A touch screen button for the electronic key of “John Doe,” the owner of the vehicle, does not include an option to edit. However, touch screen buttons for the electronic keys of authorized users “Jane Doe” and “David Smith” include an option to edit 402, see ¶ 0034).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 12-13, 15, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622