DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The “Related Application Information” needs to be updated to include all of the related Application Numbers and their respective Patent Numbers.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kass (US 2013/0036553 in view of Castelazo (US 2019/0059457 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Kass discloses a breast separator device( in figure 1, 100, and para. (0015), for a wearer having a cleavage area between a first and second breast( in figure 1a- not numbered) comprising:
an elongated body ( as in figure 1 at 100 and with a length defined in para. (0016) ) with a top end 102 in figure 1 and para. (0017), a bottom end 104 in figure 1 and para. (0017), a front portion 101 in figure 1 and para. (0017) , a base portion 210 in figure 2 in para. (0025),
a first ( upper top left corner in figure 1 not numbered) and second wing (upper right corner- not numbered- in figure 1) extending outward from the elongated body (at 101);
wherein the elongated body ( 100 at 101 in figure 1), when placed within the cleavage area between the first and second breast ( not numbered – of wearer in figure 1A), is configured to maintain a separation between the first breast and the second breast in the cleavage area.
However, Kass does not disclose a plurality of openings extending through the elongated body.
Castelazo discloses a breast separator support 1 with perforations (openings) 7 through the separator 1 at front 100 as disclosed in para. (0020) and figure 1 in order to allow for ventilation and cooling to the wearer while the separator is worn to prevent overheating and skin irritation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the breast separator of Kass with the teaching of Castelazo to provide the perforations or openings within the breast separator to provide ventilation and cooling to the wearer when worn to avoid overheating and skin irritation to the wearer.
In regard to claim 2, Kass discloses the breast separator 100 in figure 1 as claimed in claim 1 and further discloses the first wing as being made of a different material than the elongated body (as in para. (0018).
In regard to claim 3, Kass discloses the breast separator 100 as claimed in claim 1 and further discloses the base portion 210 in figure 2 as having an hourglass shape.
In regard to claim 4, Kass discloses the breast separator 100 in figure 1 as claimed in claim 1 and further discloses the base portion 210 in figure 2 as being a trapezoid shape.
In regard to claim 5, Kass discloses the breast separator as claimed in claim 1 and further discloses the bottom end 204 in figure 1 as having a rectangular surface and the top end 102 in figure 1 as having a trapezoid surface with a rounded edge.
In regard to claim 7, the separator device of Kass is made at least in part of a silicone (see Kass- para. (0020).
In regard to claim 8, Kass discloses the breast separator 100 as claimed in claim 1 and further discloses the base portion 210 in figure 2 as being substantially flat.
In regard to claim 9 , Kass discloses the breast separator 100 as claimed in claim 1 and further discloses the device as being made at least in part of a sweat resistant material in para. 0015- as breathable- wicking material/fabric.
In regard to claim 10, Kass discloses the breast separator 100 as claimed in claim 1 and further discloses the breast separator device 100 as comprising an attachment portion of gripping material ( para. (0020)).
Claim(s) 11-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kass in view of Castelazo and Scotto (US 2016/0120235 A1).
In regard to claim 11, Kass discloses a breast separator device 100 for a wearer having a cleavage area between a first and second breast ( as in figure 1A- of Kass) comprising:
an elongated body (100 at 101 and para. (0016)with a top end (104-figure 1,para. (0017)), a bottom end (104 in figure 1, para. (0017), a front portion (at 101) in figure 1, para. (0017), a base portion at 210 in figure 2 and para. (0025),
a first (upper left wing in figure 1- not numbered) and second wing(upper right corner of 100 in figure 1- not numbered) extending outward from the elongated body (100 at 101 and para. (0016));
wherein the elongated body, when placed within the cleavage area between the first and second breast, is configured to maintain a separation between the first breast and the second breast in the cleavage area as seen in figure 1A.
However, Kass does not disclose a plurality of openings extending through the elongated body and that the breast separator is placed within a garment as a system and wherein the garments include a bra and tank top.
Castelazo discloses a breast separator support with perforations (openings) 7 through the separator as disclosed in para. (0020) and figure 1 in order to allow for ventilation and cooling to the wearer while the separator is worn to prevent overheating and skin irritation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the breast separator of Kass with the teaching of Castelazo to provide the perforations or openings within the breast separator to provide ventilation and cooling to the wearer when worn to avoid overheating and skin irritation to the wearer.
Scotto discloses a garment system of a shirt 10 with a shelf bra therein as in paras. (0019-0020 in Scotto) with a breast separator 26 within a pocket space between layers 18 with flaps 32 and 34 with fastener 36 to keep the support member from falling out.
Accordingly it would have been further obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to install the modified breast separator, with the openings- as discussed above - of Kass within a garment system of Scotto in order too securely place the breast separator on the wearer during use.
In regard to claim 12, Kass discloses the breast separator (100) as claimed in claim 11 and further discloses the first wing as being made of a different material than the elongated body as in Kass para. (0018) .
In regard to claims 13 and 14, Scotto discloses the shirt with a shelf bra (see Scotto, para. (0020) within the garment 10 that then holds the breast separator 26 therein.
In regard to claim 15, Kass discloses the breast separator 100 in figure 1 as claimed in claim 11 and further discloses the bottom end as having a rectangular surface and the top end as having a trapezoid surface with a rounded edge as discussed above in regard to claim 5.
In regard to claim 17, the separator device of Kass is made at least in part of a silicone as discussed above in regard to claim 7.
In regard to claim 18, Kass discloses the breast separator as claimed in claim 11 and further discloses the base portion as being substantially flat as discussed above in regard to claim 8.
In regard to claim 19 , Kass discloses the breast separator as claimed in claim 11 and further discloses the device as being made at least in part of a sweat resistant material as discussed above in regard to claim 9.
In regard to claim 20, Kass discloses the breast separator as claimed in claim 11 and further discloses the breast separator device as comprising an attachment portion as discussed above in regard to claim 10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-10 and 12-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,856,998. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims contain the same breast separator device structure comprising a base and front surface, a top and bottom end, a first and second side surface and being of an elongated length and made of silicone a well as having the shaped ends and being formed of the same claimed materials as in claims 1-10 .
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as providing the proper Terminal Disclaimer as outlined above.
None of the cited references, alone or in combination, disclose the elongated body as having a first width at a top end that is at least 150 percent of a second width at the bottom end wherein the elongated body has a first thickness at the top end that Is at least 150 percent of a second thickness at the bottom end as om claims 6 and 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GLORIA M HALE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732