Double Patenting
Claims 1-16, 18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,342,055 in view of Ricciardi (US 2018/0301169)
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,342,055
1. A system comprising:
a first program that is executing on a computing device that is accessible to a speaker, wherein the first program is configured to:
segment an audio signal that is generated by the computing device into multiple segments that are arranged in a sequential order, store each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files,
populate the multiple files into a first file buffer, and
transmit the multiple files, one by one from the first file buffer, to a computer server that is accessible via a network; and
a second program that is executing on the computer server,
wherein the second program is configured to:
access a second file buffer in which the multiple files are populated, one by one, upon receipt from the computing device, concatenate the multiple files to create a concatenated file that is representative of the audio signal, and store the concatenated file in a storage medium.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first program is further configured to: establish, for each of the multiple segments, a number that is representative of a position in the sequential order,
wherein each of the multiple files is identifiable by the number established for a corresponding one of the multiple segments stored therein.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the first program is further configured to: monitor for a digital signal that is generated by the computing device and that indicates recording of the audio signal has stopped, and transmit a request to the second program in response to detecting the digital signal.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the second program performs said concatenating and said storing in response to receiving the request from the first program.
5. The system of claim 3, wherein the request is a POST request transmitted in accordance with a Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP).
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the first program is further configured to: encode each of the multiple files using a binary-to-text encoding scheme before the multiple files are populated into the first file buffer.
7. The system of claim 5, wherein the second program is further configured to: decode each of the multiple files after the second file buffer is accessed and the multiple files are retrieved from the second file buffer, such that each of the multiple files is identifiable by a name that is created by the first program.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the storage medium is part of the computer server.
9. A method that is performed by a client-side program executing on a client device and a server-side program executing on a server, the method comprising:
segmenting, by the client-side program, an audio signal that is generated by the client device into multiple segments that are arranged in a sequential order; storing, by the client-side program, each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files;
populating, by the client-side program, the multiple files into a file buffer of the client device;
transmitting, by the client-side program, the multiple files to the server, one by one in the sequential order;
accessing, by the server-side program, a file buffer of the server in which the multiple files are populated, one by one in the sequential order, upon receipt from the client device;
concatenating, by the server-side program, the multiple files to create a concatenated file that is representative of the audio signal; and storing, by the server-side program, the concatenated file in a storage medium.
10. The method of claim 9, further comprising: converting, by the server-side program, the concatenated file from a first format to a second format.
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising: storing, by the server-side program, the concatenated file, in the second format, in a container of a cloud storage system of which the server is a part.
12. The method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving, by the server-side program from the cloud storage system, a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) upon the concatenated file being stored in the container; and saving, by the server-side program, the URL to a database.
13. The method of claim 9, further comprising: performing, by the server-side program, an audio drift normalization operation using the concatenated file.
14. A method that is performed by a client-side program executing on a client device, the method comprising:
segmenting an audio signal that is generated by the client device into multiple segments that are arranged in a sequential order;
storing each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files;
encoding each of the multiple files with a corresponding one of multiple timestamps; populating the multiple encoded files in a file buffer of the client device; and
transmitting the multiple files, one by one in the sequential order, to a destination that is external to the client device.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the multiple segments have a predetermined length.
16. The method of claim 14, further comprising: monitoring for a digital signal, from the client device, that indicates recording of the audio signal has stopped; and transmitting a message to the destination
to prompt reconstruction of the audio signal from the multiple files.
18. A method that is performed by a server-side program executing on a server,
the method comprising: accessing a file buffer of the server in which multiple files are populated, one by one in a sequential order, upon receipt from a source external to the server;
decoding each of the multiple files from a first format to a second format;
concatenating the multiple decoded files to create a concatenated file that is representative of an original file prior to segmentation into the multiple files at the source; and
storing the concatenated file in a storage medium.
20. The method of claim 18, further comprising: storing the concatenated file in a container of a cloud storage system of which the server is a part; receiving, from the cloud storage system, a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) upon the concatenated file being stored in the container; and saving the URL that provides access to the concatenated file to a database
1. A system comprising:
a first application program executing on a computing device that is accessible to a speaker, wherein the first application program is configured to: acquiring a stream of media that originates on the computing device, segment the media into multiple segments having a predetermined length and arranged in a sequential order, store each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files,
establish, for each of the multiple segments, a number that is representative of a placement in the sequential order, encode each of the multiple files using a binary-to-text encoding scheme, so as to produce multiple encoded files, populate the multiple encoded files in a first array buffer using names created upon creation of the multiple files,
transmit the multiple encoded files, one by one, to a cloud storage system for storage, monitor for a signal, from the computing device, to stop generating the media, and in response to receiving the signal, stop saving the media and transmit a request to
a second application program that is executing on a computer server accessible to the computing device via a network; and the second application program that is configured to: in response to receiving the request from the first application program, retrieve the multiple encoded files from the cloud storage system, decode each of the multiple encoded files, so as to reproduce the multiple files that are populated in a second array buffer until each of the multiple files is identifiable by a corresponding one of the names created by the first application program, concatenate the multiple files in a file buffer to create a concatenated file that is representative of the stream of the media, and store the concatenated file in a storage medium.
1.establish, for each of the multiple segments, a number that is representative of a placement in the sequential order,
each of the multiple files is identifiable by a corresponding one of the names created by the first application program
1.
monitor for a signal, from the computing device, to stop generating the media, and in response to receiving the signal, stop saving the media and transmit a request to
a second application program
1.concatenate the multiple files in a file buffer to create a concatenated file
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the request is transmitted in accordance with a POST request method supported by Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP).
1.encode each of the multiple files using a binary-to-text encoding scheme, so as to produce multiple encoded files, so as to produce multiple encoded files, populate the multiple encoded files in a first array buffer using names created upon creation of the multiple files,
, decode each of the multiple encoded files, so as to reproduce the multiple files that are populated in a second array buffer until each of the multiple files is identifiable by a corresponding one of the names created by the first application program,
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the storage medium is part of a networked computing device that is accessible to the computer server via a second network.
1. A system comprising:
a first application program executing on a computing device that is accessible to a speaker, wherein the first application program is configured to: acquiring a stream of media that originates on the computing device, segment the media into multiple segments having a predetermined length and arranged in a sequential order, store each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files,
establish, for each of the multiple segments, a number that is representative of a placement in the sequential order, encode each of the multiple files using a binary-to-text encoding scheme, so as to produce multiple encoded files,
populate the multiple encoded files in a first array buffer using names created upon creation of the multiple files,
transmit the multiple encoded files, one by one, to a cloud storage system for storage, monitor for a signal, from the computing device, to stop generating the media, and in response to receiving the signal, stop saving the media and transmit a request to
a second application program that is executing on a computer server accessible to the computing device via a network; and the second application program that is configured to: in response to receiving the request from the first application program, retrieve the multiple encoded files from the cloud storage system, decode each of the multiple encoded files, so as to reproduce the multiple files that are populated in a second array buffer until each of the multiple files is identifiable by a corresponding one of the names created by the first application program, concatenate the multiple files in a file buffer to create a concatenated file that is representative of the stream of the media, and store the concatenated file in a storage medium.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the second application program is further configured to convert the concatenated file from a first format to a second format.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the second application program is further configured to store the concatenated file, in the second format, in a container of the cloud storage system.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein when the second application program stores the concatenated file, in the second format, in the container of the cloud storage system, a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) is provided in return, and wherein the second application program is further configured to save the URL of the container to a database.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the second application program is further configured to perform an audio drift normalization operation using the concatenated file.
1. A system comprising:
a first application program executing on a computing device that is accessible to a speaker, wherein the first application program is configured to: acquiring a stream of media that originates on the computing device, segment the media into multiple segments having a predetermined length and arranged in a sequential order,
store each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files,
establish, for each of the multiple segments, a number that is representative of a placement in the sequential order, encode each of the multiple files using a binary-to-text encoding scheme, so as to produce multiple encoded files, populate the multiple encoded files in a first array buffer using names created upon creation of the multiple files,
transmit the multiple encoded files, one by one, to a cloud storage system for storage, monitor for a signal, from the computing device, to stop generating the media, and in response to receiving the signal, stop saving the media and transmit a request to
a second application program that is executing on a computer server accessible to the computing device via a network; and the second application program that is configured to: in response to receiving the request from the first application program, retrieve the multiple encoded files from the cloud storage system, decode each of the multiple encoded files, so as to reproduce the multiple files that are populated in a second array buffer until each of the multiple files is identifiable by a corresponding one of the names created by the first application program, concatenate the multiple files in a file buffer to create a concatenated file that is representative of the stream of the media, and store the concatenated file in a storage medium.
1.segment the media into multiple segments having a predetermined length and arranged in a sequential order,
1.
monitor for a signal, from the computing device, to stop generating the media, and in response to receiving the signal, stop saving the media and transmit a request to
a second application program
1. in response to receiving the request from the first application program, retrieve the multiple encoded files from the cloud storage system, decode each of the multiple encoded files, so as to reproduce the multiple files that are populated in a second array buffer
1. A system comprising:
a first application program executing on a computing device that is accessible to a speaker, wherein the first application program is configured to: acquiring a stream of media that originates on the computing device, segment the media into multiple segments having a predetermined length and arranged in a sequential order,
store each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files,
establish, for each of the multiple segments, a number that is representative of a placement in the sequential order, encode each of the multiple files using a binary-to-text encoding scheme, so as to produce multiple encoded files, populate the multiple encoded files in a first array buffer using names created upon creation of the multiple files,
transmit the multiple encoded files, one by one, to a cloud storage system for storage, monitor for a signal, from the computing device, to stop generating the media, and in response to receiving the signal, stop saving the media and transmit a request to
a second application program that is executing on a computer server accessible to the computing device via a network; and the second application program that is configured to: in response to receiving the request from the first application program,
retrieve the multiple encoded files from the cloud storage system, decode each of the multiple encoded files, so as to reproduce the multiple files that are populated in a second array buffer until each of the multiple files is identifiable by a corresponding one of the names created by the first application program, concatenate the multiple files in a file buffer to create a concatenated file that is representative of the stream of the media, and store the concatenated file in a storage medium.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein when the second application program stores the concatenated file, in the second format, in the container of the cloud storage system, a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) is provided in return, and wherein the second application program is further configured to save the URL of the container to a database
The instant application fails to disclose audio signal that is generated by the computing device and upon receipt from the computing device, concatenate the multiple files to create a concatenated file that is representative of the audio signal and encoding each of the multiple files with a corresponding one of multiple timestamps;
Ricarrdi discloses audio signal that is generated by the computing device ([0072] As an example, a 2-minute video 202n′ is shown to be captured and stored in video capture device 106n. In one embodiment, while capturing the video 202n′, short (e.g., 10-second) video segments 202n″ (i.e., portions of a complete video of unknown length while being captured) may be communicated via the network 204 to the server 206. The server 206 may, in one embodiment, process the video segments 202n″ as received. In an alternative embodiment, rather than uploading the video 202n′ in a real-time manner, app on the video capture device 106n may be configured to capture the entire video 202n′ and send multiple, short video segments 202n″, such as 10-seconds (10s), via the communications network 204 to server 206; [0210]; A “change” soft-button 3506 that enables a user to select a different audio track that plays behind the highlight video; Note: The video has corresponding audio tracks.)
and upon receipt from the computing device, concatenate the multiple files to create a concatenated file that is representative of the audio signal. ([0072]; The server 206 may be configured to receive the video segments 202n″ and to “stitch” the video segments 202n″ into the full-length video 202n. [0172] Highlight reels may be enhanced (i) by the addition of introductory title slides, (ii) by the application of transition effects between video clips, (iii) by the provision of a sound track, (iv) by the addition of still photos of the team, players, or other scenes, and (v) other features.) encoding each of the multiple files with a corresponding one of multiple timestamps;( [0011]; using the mobile app, an actual and/or relative timestamp may be applied to video content captured by users at a sporting event, thereby enabling the video content captured by multiple users to be synchronized)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the teachings of the instant application to be modified so that the media of the patent is an audio-video signal recorded by a mobile device and is uploaded to the server at fixed intervals and the segments of the multimedia audio-video segments are stitched together by the servers upon receipt of the audio-video segments and encoded with the timestamps. This would have been advantageous because it achieved a cost effective and expedited process to gather videos at games from multiple audio-video recording devices. ([0010])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
As per claim 1, the system is directed to software per se as it claim the system comprising a “first program” and a “second program” and fails to disclose any hardware elements such a process or memory that is part of the system. A software (first program, second program) executing on a computer device fails to incorporate the hardware components as part of the system. Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 due to its dependency on claim 1 as it fails to disclose the hardware elements, such as memory and/or processor as part of the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-12, 14-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricciardi (US 2018/0301169) in view of Lohmar et al. – hereinafter Lohmar (US 2019/0173935)
As per claim 1, Ricciardi discloses a system comprising:
a first program that is executing on a computing device that is accessible to a speaker, ( [0244] In an embodiment, the video recording devices 3904 may be mobile devices (e.g., mobile phones), video cameras, or fixed-position cameras, such as cameras that may be mounted to a goalposts, examiner note: mobile phone have speakers)
wherein the first program is configured to: segment an audio signal that is generated by the computing device into multiple segments that are arranged in a sequential order, ([0072] As an example, a 2-minute video 202n′ is shown to be captured and stored in video capture device 106n. In one embodiment, while capturing the video 202n′, short (e.g., 10-second) video segments 202n″ (i.e., portions of a complete video of unknown length while being captured) may be communicated via the network 204 to the server 206. The server 206 may, in one embodiment, process the video segments 202n″ as received. In an alternative embodiment, rather than uploading the video 202n′ in a real-time manner, app on the video capture device 106n may be configured to capture the entire video 202n′ and send multiple, short video segments 202n″, such as 10-seconds (10s), via the communications network 204 to server 206. [0081] ; [0210]; A “change” soft-button 3506 that enables a user to select a different audio track that plays behind the highlight video; Fig. 5; Note: The video has corresponding audio tracks)
concatenate the multiple files to create a concatenated file that is representative of the audio signal, and store the concatenated file in a storage medium.( [0012]; Successive video segments may be stitched together… The completed stitched video may be stored in the storage unit for processing.; [0210]; A “change” soft-button 3506 that enables a user to select a different audio track that plays behind the highlight video)
Ricciardi fails to disclose store each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files, populate the multiple files into a first file buffer, and transmit the multiple files, one by one from the first file buffer, to a computer server that is accessible via a network; and a second program that is executing on the computer server, wherein the second program is configured to: access a second file buffer in which the multiple files are populated, one by one, upon receipt from the computing device.
Lohmar discloses store each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files, ( [0090] A video manager 708 may enable the user to review one more videos, store the videos in a particular fashion, identify the videos through timestamps, categories, locations, or any other organizational technique, as understood in the art. ; [0101]; A fragmented MP4 file (or ISO-BMFF file) is structure differently like a regular MP4 file. The file starts with the file type (ftyp), followed by exactly one movie box and other boxes. The media data are described through fragments, which are the combination of a movie fragment box (moof) and an associated media data box (mdat). )
populate the multiple files into a first file buffer, and ([0054] Packager 306 writes the fragments (e.g., CMAF chunks) into a buffer 308, which is monitored by a buffer monitor 309. An HTTP client 310, which has opened an HTTP connection with an HTTP request, receives bytes of the fragments (e.g., CMAF chunks) from buffer 308 in order to create the body of the HTTP request. Buffer monitor 309 monitors the upload process, including the draining of the buffer 308. )
transmit the multiple files, one by one from the first file buffer, to a computer server that is accessible via a network; and ( [0010] Embodiments provide a new rate adaptation scheme that monitors the progress of the elastic rate adaptation scheme and ensures that the client send-buffer is uploading the live video feed within a delay constraint and/or is not adding too much jitter.)
a second program that is executing on the computer server, wherein the second program is configured to: access a second file buffer in which the multiple files are populated, one by one, upon receipt from the computing device, ([0047]; Other processing functions may also be employed in this pipeline. For example, a de-jitter buffer may also be located before the ABR transcoder to ensure continuous input into the ABR transcoder (such as de-jitter buffer 314 in FIG. 3). The post-processing functions may be co-located with the HTTP ingest server 106 or may be distributed.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the teachings of Ricciardi to be modified so that the segment are stored as separate file and in a first buffer and then transmitted to the server which stores it into a second file buffer and access the files for ABR (adaptive bitrate) transcoder. This would have been advantageous because it ensures that session throughput is adjusted as quickly as possible to the available link bitrate. (Lohmar, [0008])
As per claim 2, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the system of claim 1. Ricciardi discloses wherein the first program is further configured to: establish, for each of the multiple segments, a number that is representative of a position in the sequential order, wherein each of the multiple files is identifiable by the number established for a corresponding one of the multiple segments stored therein. ([0081; ’ In one embodiment, short fade-to-black or other transition video segments may be displayed between video segments A.sub.1, A.sub.2, and A.sub.3. A; [0082]; In video A, video segments A.sub.1, A.sub.2, and A.sub.3 include a player wearing jersey number “7.” )
As per claim 8, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the system of claim 1. Ricciardi discloses wherein the storage medium is part of the computer server. ([0012]; Successive video segments may be stitched together… The completed stitched video may be stored in the storage unit for processing.)
As per claim 9, Ricciardi discloses a method that is performed by a client-side program executing on a client device and a server-side program executing on a server, the method comprising:
segmenting, by the client-side program, an audio signal that is generated by the client device into multiple segments that are arranged in a sequential order; ([0072] As an example, a 2-minute video 202n′ is shown to be captured and stored in video capture device 106n. In one embodiment, while capturing the video 202n′, short (e.g., 10-second) video segments 202n″ (i.e., portions of a complete video of unknown length while being captured) may be communicated via the network 204 to the server 206. The server 206 may, in one embodiment, process the video segments 202n″ as received. In an alternative embodiment, rather than uploading the video 202n′ in a real-time manner, app on the video capture device 106n may be configured to capture the entire video 202n′ and send multiple, short video segments 202n″, such as 10-seconds (10s), via the communications network 204 to server 206. [0081] ; [0210]; A “change” soft-button 3506 that enables a user to select a different audio track that plays behind the highlight video; Fig. 5; Note: The video has corresponding audio tracks)
concatenating, by the server-side program, the multiple files to create a concatenated file that is representative of the audio signal; and storing, by the server-side program, the concatenated file in a storage medium. ( [0012]; Successive video segments may be stitched together… The completed stitched video may be stored in the storage unit for processing.; [0210]; A “change” soft-button 3506 that enables a user to select a different audio track that plays behind the highlight video)
Ricciardi fails to disclose storing by the client-side program, each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files;
populating, by the client-side program, the multiple files into a file buffer of the client device;
transmitting, by the client-side program, the multiple files to the server, one by one in the sequential order;
accessing, by the server-side program, a file buffer of the server in which the multiple files are populated, one by one in the sequential order, upon receipt from the client device;
Lohmar disclose storing, by the client-side program, each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files; ( [0090] A video manager 708 may enable the user to review one more videos, store the videos in a particular fashion, identify the videos through timestamps, categories, locations, or any other organizational technique, as understood in the art. ; [0101]; A fragmented MP4 file (or ISO-BMFF file) is structure differently like a regular MP4 file. The file starts with the file type (ftyp), followed by exactly one movie box and other boxes. The media data are described through fragments, which are the combination of a movie fragment box (moof) and an associated media data box (mdat). )
populating, by the client-side program, the multiple files into a file buffer of the client device; ([0054] Packager 306 writes the fragments (e.g., CMAF chunks) into a buffer 308, which is monitored by a buffer monitor 309. An HTTP client 310, which has opened an HTTP connection with an HTTP request, receives bytes of the fragments (e.g., CMAF chunks) from buffer 308 in order to create the body of the HTTP request. Buffer monitor 309 monitors the upload process, including the draining of the buffer 308. )
transmitting, by the client-side program, the multiple files to the server, one by one in the sequential order; ( [0010] Embodiments provide a new rate adaptation scheme that monitors the progress of the elastic rate adaptation scheme and ensures that the client send-buffer is uploading the live video feed within a delay constraint and/or is not adding too much jitter.)
accessing, by the server-side program, a file buffer of the server in which the multiple files are populated, one by one in the sequential order, upon receipt from the client device; ([0047]; Other processing functions may also be employed in this pipeline. For example, a de-jitter buffer may also be located before the ABR transcoder to ensure continuous input into the ABR transcoder (such as de-jitter buffer 314 in FIG. 3). The post-processing functions may be co-located with the HTTP ingest server 106 or may be distributed.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the teachings of Ricciardi to be modified so that the segment are stored as separate file and in a first buffer and then transmitted to the server which stores it into a second file buffer and access the files for ABR (adaptive bitrate) transcoder. This would have been advantageous because it ensures that session throughput is adjusted as quickly as possible to the available link bitrate. (Lohmar, [0008])
As per claim 10, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the method of claim 9. Lohmar discloses further comprising: converting, by the server-side program, the concatenated file from a first format to a second format. (; ([0014] Also disclosed are embodiments related to extending existing HTTP servers to start piping any received data chunk from the request to any post-processing function, like de-jitter buffers and ABR transcoders/packagers (i.e., prior to receiving all data chunks from the request; Examiner note: functionality of ABR transcoder)
As per claim 11, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the method of claim 10. Lohmar discloses further comprising: storing, by the server-side program, the concatenated file, in the second format, in a container of a cloud storage system of which the server is a part. ; ([0014] Also disclosed are embodiments related to extending existing HTTP servers to start piping any received data chunk from the request to any post-processing function, like de-jitter buffers and ABR transcoders/packagers (i.e., prior to receiving all data chunks from the request)
As per claim 12, Ricciardi / Lohmar discloses the method of claim 11. Lohmar discloses further comprising: receiving, by the server-side program from the cloud storage system, a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) upon the concatenated file being stored in the container; and saving, by the server-side program, the URL to a database. ([0079] In this example, HTTP POST is used here as the HTTP method to indicate an uplink stream. Another solution could be to use HTTP PUT. The HTTP URL in the HTTP request (here/upload/xyz/live-session1.mp4) indicates the target channel of the uplink streaming session. The URL is account specific and is secured, so that only authorized senders can upload. The account owner authorizes which senders are allowed to send data.)
As per claim 14, Ricciardi discloses a method that is performed by a client-side program executing on a client device, the method comprising:
segmenting an audio signal that is generated by the client device into multiple segments that are arranged in a sequential order; ([0072] As an example, a 2-minute video 202n′ is shown to be captured and stored in video capture device 106n. In one embodiment, while capturing the video 202n′, short (e.g., 10-second) video segments 202n″ (i.e., portions of a complete video of unknown length while being captured) may be communicated via the network 204 to the server 206. The server 206 may, in one embodiment, process the video segments 202n″ as received. In an alternative embodiment, rather than uploading the video 202n′ in a real-time manner, app on the video capture device 106n may be configured to capture the entire video 202n′ and send multiple, short video segments 202n″, such as 10-seconds (10s), via the communications network 204 to server 206. [0081] ; [0210]; A “change” soft-button 3506 that enables a user to select a different audio track that plays behind the highlight video; Fig. 5; Note: The video has corresponding audio tracks)
encoding each of the multiple files with a corresponding one of multiple timestamps; ( [0011]; using the mobile app, an actual and/or relative timestamp may be applied to video content captured by users at a sporting event, thereby enabling the video content captured by multiple users to be synchronized)
Ricciardi fails to disclose storing each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files, populating the multiple encoded files in a file buffer of the client device; and transmitting the multiple files, one by one in the sequential order, to a destination that is external to the client device.
Lohmar discloses storing each of the multiple segments in a different one of multiple files; ( [0090] A video manager 708 may enable the user to review one more videos, store the videos in a particular fashion, identify the videos through timestamps, categories, locations, or any other organizational technique, as understood in the art. ; [0101]; A fragmented MP4 file (or ISO-BMFF file) is structure differently like a regular MP4 file. The file starts with the file type (ftyp), followed by exactly one movie box and other boxes. The media data are described through fragments, which are the combination of a movie fragment box (moof) and an associated media data box (mdat). )
populating the multiple encoded files in a file buffer of the client device; and ([0054] Packager 306 writes the fragments (e.g., CMAF chunks) into a buffer 308, which is monitored by a buffer monitor 309. An HTTP client 310, which has opened an HTTP connection with an HTTP request, receives bytes of the fragments (e.g., CMAF chunks) from buffer 308 in order to create the body of the HTTP request. Buffer monitor 309 monitors the upload process, including the draining of the buffer 308. )
transmitting the multiple files, one by one in the sequential order, to a destination that is external to the client device. ( [0010] Embodiments provide a new rate adaptation scheme that monitors the progress of the elastic rate adaptation scheme and ensures that the client send-buffer is uploading the live video feed within a delay constraint and/or is not adding too much jitter.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the teachings of Ricciardi to be modified so that the segment are stored as separate file and in a first buffer and then transmitted to the server which stores it into a second file buffer and access the files for ABR (adaptive bitrate) transcoder. This would have been advantageous because it ensures that session throughput is adjusted as quickly as possible to the available link bitrate. (Lohmar, [0008])
As per claim 15, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the method of claim 14. Ricciardi discloses wherein the multiple segments have a predetermined length. ([0072]; In one embodiment, while capturing the video 202n′, short (e.g., 10-second) video segments 202n″ (i.e., portions of a complete video of unknown length while being captured) may be communicated via the network 204 to the server 206. The server 206 may, in one embodiment, process the video segments 202n″ as received. In an alternative embodiment, rather than uploading the video 202n′ in a real-time manner, app on the video capture device 106n may be configured to capture the entire video 202n′ and send multiple, short video segments 202n″, such as 10-seconds (10s), via the communications network 204 to server 206.)
As per claim 18, Ricciardi discloses a method that is performed by a server-side program executing on a server, the method comprising:
concatenating the multiple decoded files to create a concatenated file that is representative of an original file prior to segmentation into the multiple files at the source; and storing the concatenated file in a storage medium. ([0012]; Successive video segments may be stitched together… The completed stitched video may be stored in the storage unit for processing.)
Ricciardi fails to disclose accessing a file buffer of the server in which multiple files are populated, one by one in a sequential order, upon receipt from a source external to the server;
and decoding each of the multiple files from a first format to a second format;
Lohmar discloses accessing a file buffer of the server in which multiple files are populated, one by one in a sequential order, upon receipt from a source external to the server; ([0047]; Other processing functions may also be employed in this pipeline. For example, a de-jitter buffer may also be located before the ABR transcoder to ensure continuous input into the ABR transcoder (such as de-jitter buffer 314 in FIG. 3). The post-processing functions may be co-located with the HTTP ingest server 106 or may be distributed.)
and decoding each of the multiple files from a first format to a second format; ([0014] Also disclosed are embodiments related to extending existing HTTP servers to start piping any received data chunk from the request to any post-processing function, like de-jitter buffers and ABR transcoders/packagers (i.e., prior to receiving all data chunks from the request; Examiner note: functionality of ABR transcoder)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the teachings of Ricciardi to be modified so that the segment are stored as separate file and in a first buffer and then transmitted to the server which stores it into a second file buffer and access the files for ABR (adaptive bitrate) transcoder to a second format. This would have been advantageous because it ensures that session throughput is adjusted as quickly as possible to the available link bitrate. (Lohmar, [0008])
As per claim 20, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the method of claim 18, further comprising: Lohmar discloses storing the concatenated file in a container of a cloud storage system of which the server is a part; (( [0090] A video manager 708 may enable the user to review one more videos, store the videos in a particular fashion, identify the videos through timestamps, categories, locations, or any other organizational technique, as understood in the art. ; [0101]; A fragmented MP4 file (or ISO-BMFF file) is structure differently like a regular MP4 file. The file starts with the file type (ftyp), followed by exactly one movie box and other boxes. The media data are described through fragments, which are the combination of a movie fragment box (moof) and an associated media data box (mdat). )
receiving, from the cloud storage system, a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) upon the concatenated file being stored in the container; and saving the URL that provides access to the concatenated file to a database ([0079] In this example, HTTP POST is used here as the HTTP method to indicate an uplink stream. Another solution could be to use HTTP PUT. The HTTP URL in the HTTP request (here/upload/xyz/live-session1.mp4) indicates the target channel of the uplink streaming session. The URL is account specific and is secured, so that only authorized senders can upload. The account owner authorizes which senders are allowed to send data.)
Claims 3-5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricciardi (US 2018/0301169) / Lohmar (US 2019/0173935) further in view of Uesaka (US 2022/0256098)
As per claim 3, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the system of claim 1. The combined teachings of Ricciardi / Lohmar fail to disclose wherein the first program is further configured to: monitor for a digital signal that is generated by the computing device and that indicates recording of the audio signal has stopped, and transmit a request to the second program in response to detecting the digital signal.
Uesaka discloses wherein the first program is further configured to: monitor for a digital signal that is generated by the computing device and that indicates recording of the audio signal has stopped, and transmit a request to the second program in response to detecting the digital signal. ([0081] Upon receipt of the recording end request from the user terminal 20, the recording system 30 transmits, to the data processing server 50, the recorded data held in a storage section of the recording system 30.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the combined teachings of Ricciardi / Lohmar to be modified so that the first program detects a stop signal from the recording and transmit to the server. This would have been beneficial enabling the recording of performances by performers in a public venue without infringing the privacy of many passersby. (Uesaka, [0013])
As per claim 4, Ricciardi / Lohmar / Uesaka disclose the system of claim 3. Lohmar discloses wherein the second program performs said concatenating and said storing in response to receiving the request from the first program. ( [0012]; Successive video segments may be stitched together… The completed stitched video may be stored in the storage unit for processing.)
As per claim 5, Ricciardi / Lohmar / Uesaka disclose the system of claim 3. Lohmar discloses wherein the request is a POST request transmitted in accordance with a Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP). ([0078] An example HTTP Request for an uplink live stream using HTTP chunked delivery follows:; TABLE-US-00001 POST /upload/xyz/live-session1.mp4 HTTP/1.1 )
As per claim 16, please see the discussion under claim 3 as similar logic applies.
Claims 6-7, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricciardi (US 2018/0301169) / Lohmar (US 2019/0173935) further in view of Mardan, A. (2018). Setting up Node.js and Other Essentials. In: Practical Node.js. Apress, Berkeley, CA. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4842- 3039-8 - hereinafter Mardan
As per claim 6, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the system of claim 1. The combined teachings of Ricciardi / Lohmar fail to disclose wherein the first program is further configured to: encode each of the multiple files using a binary-to-text encoding scheme before the multiple files are populated into the first file buffer.
Mardan discloses wherein the first program is further configured to: encode each of the multiple files using a binary-to-text encoding scheme before the multiple files are populated into the first file buffer. (Page 13: Buffer is functionally similar to JavaScript's ArrayBuffer. We use the class name Buffer to work with buffer objects. To create a buffer object, use from. Buffer can be created from an array, another buffer, ArrayBuffer or a string:Page 14; As you saw in the preceding code, to convert Buffer to a string, you can use toString() method.)
It would have been obvious for the combined teachings of Ricciardi / Lohmar to be modified so that the identified chunk from the video from the captured video device is converted from an Array Buffer to a string as taught by Mardan and uploading the media files having different media container formats to the cloud storage system. This would have been beneficial because it makes it easier for applications to work with binary data.
As per claim 7, Ricciardi / Lohmar / Marden disclose the system of claim 5. Lohmar discloses wherein the second program is further configured to: decode each of the multiple files after the second file buffer is accessed and the multiple files are retrieved from the second file buffer, ([0141] As shown in FIG. 1, the ingest server (media sink) is forwarding the data to subsequent functions link ABR transcoders. For any transcoding or any video rendering, the system needs to first decode the incoming stream. A wide range of different codecs and codec profiles are available)
such that each of the multiple files is identifiable by a name that is created by the first program.( [0220] Segmented: The FLUS Chunks of the fragmented movie file are individual and addressable resources. Each FLUS Chunk starts with an ‘styp’ box, followed by other boxes.)
As per claim 17, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the method of claim 14. Marden discloses wherein said encoding causes each of the multiple files to be converted from a raw array buffer to a string. (Page 13: Buffer is functionally similar to JavaScript's ArrayBuffer. We use the class name Buffer to work with buffer objects. To create a buffer object, use from. Buffer can be created from an array, another buffer, ArrayBuffer or a string:Page 14; As you saw in the preceding code, to convert Buffer to a string, you can use toString() method.)
As per claim 19, please see the discussion under claim 17 as similar logic applies.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricciardi (US 2018/0301169) / Lohmar (US 2019/0173935) further in view of Pokharel et al. – hereinafter Pokharel (US 2020/0126583)
As per claim 13, Ricciardi / Lohmar disclose the method of claim 9. The combined teachings of Ricciardi / Lohmar fail to disclose further comprising: performing, by the server-side program, an audio drift normalization operation using the concatenated file.
Pokharel discloses further comprising: performing, by the server-side program, an audio drift normalization operation using the concatenated file. ([0081] FIG. 9 shows a diagrammatic graph of language element number as a function of time offset for an example master transcript and an example secondary audio track. The master transcript is the reference audio track. The secondary audio track exhibits negative audio drift relative to the master transcript. The audio drift in the secondary audio track can be reduced by calculating a linear best fit line (i.e., linear regression line) through the secondary audio track data and calculating a respective time offset from the master transcript value for each language element number. )
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of the invention for the combined teachings of Ricciardi / Lohmar to be modified so that the server side program performs a audio drift normalization process on the concatenated file. This would be beneficial to reduce or eliminate transcription and time-coding errors in transcripts. (Pokharel, [0004])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent toapplicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from theexaminer should be directed to Chirag R Patel whose telephone number is (571)272-7966. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday from 9:00AM to 6:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, theexaminer's supervisor, Glenton Burgess, can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceedingis assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Chirag R Patel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454