DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 15, 16 and 20 are amended
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 13, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajanna et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0038347 in view of Jin et al. US Patent Publication No. 2018/0192034.
Regarding Claim 1, Rajanna discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors to [0039]:
receive media data and metadata associated with the media data [0048],
determine, based on the metadata , whether a motion compensation trigger is satisfied during playback of the media data [0051; a facial feature emotion recognition system may be triggered in response to a measured change in heart rate, to help determine the type of user reaction corresponding to the change in the user's measured heart rate];
and in response to the motion compensation trigger being satisfied [0052, 0067, 0072-0074; where it has been determined that the user is scared by the media content item that they are viewing, control circuitry may modify the content of the media content item in an appropriate manner… assignment of a warning message or messages may depend on the user reaction threshold, and/or the level by which a user reaction is greater than the user reaction threshold]:
where it has been determined that the user is scared by the media content item that they are viewing, control circuitry may modify the content of the media content item in an appropriate manner].
Rajanna fails to clearly disclose wherein the metadata comprises motion indication data for the media data, wherein the motion indication data corresponds to motion detected during capture of the media data and perform a corrective action on the media data to obtain adjusted media data.
In an analogous art, Jin discloses wherein the metadata comprises motion indication data for the media data, wherein the motion indication data corresponds to motion detected during capture of the media data [[0063] the stereoscopic camera can further capture additional metadata and transmit the metadata to the playback device. The metadata can include, e.g., inertial measurement data from an accelerometer or a gyroscope. The video stabilization algorithm can use the additional metadata to improve the accuracy or precision of the perceived stabilization] and perform a corrective action on the media data to obtain adjusted media data [0059; The playback device adjusts the captured video frame sequence in such a manner to correct, or stabilize, the scene for the user of the playback device].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajanna and Jin, before the effective filing date of the invention so the metadata can be transmitted to the playback device in a real time [Jin 0041].
Regarding Claim 8, Rajanna discloses a method comprising:
receive media data and metadata associated with the media data [0048],
determine, based on the metadata , whether a motion compensation trigger is satisfied during playback of the media data [0051; a facial feature emotion recognition system may be triggered in response to a measured change in heart rate, to help determine the type of user reaction corresponding to the change in the user's measured heart rate];
and in response to the motion compensation trigger being satisfied [0052, 0067, 0072-0074; where it has been determined that the user is scared by the media content item that they are viewing, control circuitry may modify the content of the media content item in an appropriate manner… assignment of a warning message or messages may depend on the user reaction threshold, and/or the level by which a user reaction is greater than the user reaction threshold]:
where it has been determined that the user is scared by the media content item that they are viewing, control circuitry may modify the content of the media content item in an appropriate manner].
Rajanna fails to clearly disclose wherein the metadata comprises motion indication data for the media data, wherein the motion indication data corresponds to motion detected during capture of the media data and perform a corrective action on the media data to obtain adjusted media data.
In an analogous art, Jin discloses wherein the metadata comprises motion indication data for the media data, wherein the motion indication data corresponds to motion detected during capture of the media data [[0063] the stereoscopic camera can further capture additional metadata and transmit the metadata to the playback device. The metadata can include, e.g., inertial measurement data from an accelerometer or a gyroscope. The video stabilization algorithm can use the additional metadata to improve the accuracy or precision of the perceived stabilization] and perform a corrective action on the media data to obtain adjusted media data [0059; The playback device adjusts the captured video frame sequence in such a manner to correct, or stabilize, the scene for the user of the playback device].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajanna and Jin, before the effective filing date of the invention so the metadata can be transmitted to the playback device in a real time [Jin 0041].
Regarding Claim 15, Rajanna discloses a system comprising [Figure 1]:
one or more processors; and one or more computer readable medium comprising computer readable code executable by the one or more processors to [Figure 5]:
receive media data and metadata associated with the media data [0048],
determine, based on the metadata , whether a motion compensation trigger is satisfied during playback of the media data [0051; a facial feature emotion recognition system may be triggered in response to a measured change in heart rate, to help determine the type of user reaction corresponding to the change in the user's measured heart rate];
and in response to the motion compensation trigger being satisfied [0052, 0067, 0072-0074; where it has been determined that the user is scared by the media content item that they are viewing, control circuitry may modify the content of the media content item in an appropriate manner… assignment of a warning message or messages may depend on the user reaction threshold, and/or the level by which a user reaction is greater than the user reaction threshold]:
where it has been determined that the user is scared by the media content item that they are viewing, control circuitry may modify the content of the media content item in an appropriate manner].
Rajanna fails to clearly disclose wherein the metadata comprises motion indication data for the media data, wherein the motion indication data corresponds to motion detected during capture of the media data and perform a corrective action on the media data to obtain adjusted media data.
In an analogous art, Jin discloses wherein the metadata comprises motion indication data for the media data, wherein the motion indication data corresponds to motion detected during capture of the media data [[0063] the stereoscopic camera can further capture additional metadata and transmit the metadata to the playback device. The metadata can include, e.g., inertial measurement data from an accelerometer or a gyroscope. The video stabilization algorithm can use the additional metadata to improve the accuracy or precision of the perceived stabilization] and perform a corrective action on the media data to obtain adjusted media data [0059; The playback device adjusts the captured video frame sequence in such a manner to correct, or stabilize, the scene for the user of the playback device].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajanna and Jin, before the effective filing date of the invention so the metadata can be transmitted to the playback device in a real time [Jin 0041].
Regarding Claims 2, and 9, the combination of Rajanna and Jin discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium and a method, wherein the motion compensation trigger is based on user-specific comfort data of a viewer [Rajanna 0051; a change in the user's heart rate may be caused by the user laughing, or it could be because the user is afraid, etc.].
Regarding Claims 3, and 10, the combination of Rajanna and Jin discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium and a method, wherein the motion compensation trigger is based on one or more physical characteristics of a viewer [Rajanna 0067; the intensity of the user reaction may be based on the speed and/or or duration of the user's physical reaction, e.g., the speed at which a user covers their face or averts their gaze from user display 102].
Regarding Claims 4, and 11, the combination of Rajanna and Jin discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium and a method, wherein the motion compensation trigger is based on a user-selected motion level [Rajanna 0105 & 0067; a physical body movement in reaction to the scene].
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Rajanna and Jin discloses a method, wherein performing the corrective action comprises: replacing the media data with alternative media data for playback [Rajanna 0069; control circuitry modifies the content of the interactive media content item based on the user reaction to one or more portions of the interactive media content item and a tag of one or more of the selectable program options of the interactive media content item].
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Rajanna and Jin discloses a system, wherein the computer readable code to perform a corrective action comprises computer readable code to: replace a portion of the media data with alternative media data for playback [Rajanna 0069; control circuitry modifies the content of the interactive media content item based on the user reaction to one or more portions of the interactive media content item and a tag of one or more of the selectable program options of the interactive media content item].
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Rajanna and Jin discloses a method, wherein the motion indication data comprises an indication of a phobia event in the media data [Rajanna 0073; it has been determined that a user reaction relating to fear is greater than a user fear threshold].
Claims 5, 7, 12, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajanna et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0038347 in view of Jin et al. US Patent Publication No. 2018/0192034 in further view of Folmer et al. US Patent Publication No. 2018/0224930.
Regarding Claim 5, Rajanna fails to disclose determining whether a change in acceleration satisfies a threshold.
In an analogous art, Folmer discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the computer readable code to determine whether the motion compensation trigger is satisfied comprises computer readable code to: determine whether a change in acceleration satisfies a threshold [0007; computing the virtual reality velocity responsive to detecting two or more steps, each step being triggered by a rate of change in data from the motion sensor satisfying a threshold rate of change used for step detection].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajanna, Jin and Folmer, before the effective filing date of the invention, in order to develop immersive, realistic, and natural ways for users to interact and experience virtual movement with such interactive displays [Folmer 0002].
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Rajanna, Jin and Folmer discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the computer readable code to perform a corrective action comprises computer readable code to: determine a prescriptive motion based on the motion detected during capture of the media data; and apply the prescriptive motion to the media data [Folmer 0038].
Regarding Claims 12 and 18, the combination of Rajanna and Jin fails to disclose adjusting a level of immersiveness of the media data.
In an analogous art, Folmer discloses a method and a system, wherein the computer readable code to perform a corrective action comprises computer readable code to: adjust a level of immersiveness of the media data [0117; the incrementally reducing can produce non-constant virtual reality velocity values in between steps, thereby creating a more immersive experience for the user].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajanna, Jin and Folmer, before the effective filing date of the invention, in order to develop immersive, realistic, and natural ways for users to interact and experience virtual movement with such interactive displays [Folmer 0002].
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Rajanna, Jin and Folmer discloses a method wherein performing the corrective action comprises: adjusting a field of view of the media data [Folmer 0043].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajanna et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0038347 in view of Jin et al. US Patent Publication No. 2018/0192034 in further view of Powell US Patent Publication no. 2021/0044725.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Rajanna and Jin fails to disclose select lens-specific calibration data for each of one or more portions of the media data in accordance with one or more capture devices of the one or more portions of the media data.
In an analogous art, Powell discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, further comprising:
select lens-specific calibration data for each of one or more portions of the media data in accordance with one or more capture devices of the one or more portions of the media data [0045],
and wherein the lens-specific calibration data is used to obtain the adjusted media data [0049].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajanna, Jin and Powell, before the effective filing date of the invention, to generate a distortion corrected image from the raw image based on at least the camera-specific optical center [Powell 0003].
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajanna et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0038347 in view of Jin et al. US Patent Publication No. 2018/0192034 in further view of Zhang et al. US Patent Publication No. 2014/0317668.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Rajanna and Jin fails to clearly teach that the motion indication data is encoded in a metadata track for the media data.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses a system wherein the motion indication data is encoded in a metadata track for the media data [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajanna, Jin and Zhang, before the effective filing date of the invention, so that a client may determine the most suitable segments for download based on the quality metrics [Zhang 0028].
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Rajanna, Jin and Zhang discloses a system wherein the corrective action is performed in accordance with rendering information in the metadata track [Rajanna [0068] a database having metadata relating to one or more scenes or frames of the interactive media content item, indicating the content of the scene/frame. For example, a scene may be tagged by a content provider and/or another user as containing a particular type and/or severity of content].
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bradley et al. US Patent No. 12,167,094 - The media source data is accessed, and further based on the input criterion, matching segments (e.g., scenes and audio) are determined from metadata information that describes the segments; the media playback content is generated from the matching segments. A user may also specify criteria/instructions that describe how to play the matching segments, such as in linear order, or based on relative relevance such as scene impactfulness. A matching scene can be repeated, and/or augmented with annotation data. For any matching scene or transition between two matching scenes, specified playback speed and audio volume can be specified and applied. As part of generation, the media content presentation can be fit to a specified time constraint.
Parry US Patent Publication No. 2022/0377518 - a media delivery system of a media service and at least a first and second device associated with respective first and second user accounts of the media service. The first device is also associated with an active media content item provided by the media delivery system that is automatically captured by the second device. For example, as the second device is moved proximate to the first device, one or more wireless communications are transmitted between the devices that trigger device-to-device media capturing. Resultantly, an identifier for the active media content item is stored to a library of the second user account of the media service. The identifier is stored in response to detecting the proximity of the devices and determining that the second device is moving towards the first device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAHAR AQIL RIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424