DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 19, 20 are independent. File date on 5-8-2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 7, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robb et al. (US PGPUB No. 20220385615) in view of Xu et al. (Patent No. WO 2021098632 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 19, 20, Robb discloses a computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices, comprising:
a) one or more processors; and b) memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions (Robb ¶ 127: The computing device components described below may have computer executable instructions for generating, surfacing and providing operations associated with delayed messaging suggestions. In a basic configuration, the computing device 1200 may include at least one processing unit 1202 and a system memory 1204.) for:
c) while displaying, via the display generation component, a messaging user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first set of one or more inputs; Robb ¶ 067: Computing device 302A displays an email application user interface. The email application user interface currently displays draft email 304, which a sending user (user S 318) is drafting to recipient users (user A 310, user B 312, user C 314, and user D 316).;)
d) wherein the computer system is configured to schedule delayed transmission times of respective messages while operating in the delayed messaging mode; (Robb ¶ 067: Computing device 302A displays an email application user interface. The email application user interface currently displays draft email 304, which a sending user (user S 318) is drafting to recipient users (user A 310, user B 312, user C 314, and user D 316).; ¶ 026: a notification that an email will be automatically delayed may be surfaced based on a sending user drafting an email at any time, one or more recipient users being outside of their core working hours, two or more recipient users having overlapping core working hours (if there is more than one recipient), and a threshold number, ratio, and/or percentage or recipient users being within a threshold number of time zones from the sending user.) and
while operating in the delayed messaging mode:
e) composing a first message; and composing a second message, wherein the first message; and f) the second message are scheduled to be transmitted at a first predetermined time. (Robb ¶ 000: FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (User A and User B; two messages for two users and different predetermined times))
Robb does not explicitly disclose for d) in response to receiving the first set of one or more inputs, activating a delayed messaging mode.
However, Xu discloses:
d) in response to receiving the first set of one or more inputs, activating a delayed messaging mode. (Xu page 13: in some embodiments of the present invention, in order to simplify the user's operation of triggering the trigger instruction to delay sending the first message, in the instant messaging display interface, the delayed sending button can be displayed on the information input area, and the user can operate The delayed sending button triggers the delayed sending instruction, that is, step 101, receiving the user's first input of the first message, may include: on the instant messaging display interface, receiving a touch on the delayed sending button displayed on the information input area Input; in this way, the user touches the delayed sending button through the touch input to the delayed sending button as the first input, so that the delayed sending of the first message can be triggered simply and quickly, and the convenience of the user's operation is improved.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for d) in response to receiving the first set of one or more inputs, activating a delayed messaging mode as taught by Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Xu for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables activation of delayed messaging option before generation of messages for delayed messaging processing. (Xu page 13)
Furthermore, for Claim 19, Robb discloses wherein a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for performing operations. (Robb ¶ 127: The computing device components described below may have computer executable instructions for generating, surfacing and providing operations associated with delayed messaging suggestions. In a basic configuration, the computing device 1200 may include at least one processing unit 1202 and a system memory 1204.)
Regarding Claim 2, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1.
Robb does not specifically disclose for a) a first menu is displayed in the messaging user interface, wherein the plurality of message composition options includes a delayed messaging mode option, and for b) the first set of one or more inputs includes a first input corresponding to the delayed messaging mode option, the delayed messaging mode is activated in response to receiving a first input.
However, Xu discloses wherein:
a) a first menu of a plurality of message composition options is displayed in the messaging user interface, wherein the plurality of message composition options includes a delayed messaging mode option; and
b) the first set of one or more inputs includes a first input corresponding to the delayed messaging mode option, wherein the delayed messaging mode is activated in response to receiving a first input. (Xu page 13: in some embodiments of the present invention, in order to simplify the user's operation of triggering the trigger instruction to delay sending the first message, in the instant messaging display interface, the delayed sending button can be displayed on the information input area, and the user can operate The delayed sending button triggers the delayed sending instruction, that is, step 101, receiving the user's first input of the first message, may include: on the instant messaging display interface, receiving a touch on the delayed sending button displayed on the information input area Input; in this way, the user touches the delayed sending button through the touch input to the delayed sending button as the first input, so that the delayed sending of the first message can be triggered simply and quickly, and the convenience of the user's operation is improved.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for a) a first menu is displayed in the messaging user interface, wherein the plurality of message composition options includes a delayed messaging mode option, and for b) the first set of one or more inputs includes a first input corresponding to the delayed messaging mode option, the delayed messaging mode is activated in response to receiving a first input as taught by Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Xu for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables activation of delayed messaging option before generation of messages for delayed messaging processing. (Xu page 13)
Regarding Claim 3, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: while operating in the delayed messaging mode, displaying, in the messaging user interface and via the display generation component, a delivery time indicator that identifies the first predetermined time, and wherein the delivery time indicator, when selected, initiates a process for changing the first predetermined time to a second predetermined time. (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (email type message; user inputs; display screens, different display sections));
Regarding Claim 7, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein:
a) the messaging user interface includes a first message input field; b) the first message is a first type of message (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (email type message; user inputs; display screens, different display sections)); and
c) composing the first message includes displaying, in the first message input field and via the display generation component, a first preview of the first message with a first visual representation; (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (message composition objects; user inputs)) and
the one or more programs further include instructions for:
d) while the computer system is not operating in the delayed messaging mode, composing a fourth message of the first type of message, wherein composing the fourth message includes displaying, in the first message input field and via the display generation component, a second preview of the fourth message with a second visual representation that is different from the first visual representation. (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (message composition objects; user inputs; display screens, different display sections))
4. Claims 4, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robb in view of Xu and further in view of Lewinson et al. (Patent No. WO 2016065454 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1.
Robb does not explicitly disclose predetermined time is a default time.
However, Lewinson discloses wherein the first predetermined time is a default time. (Lewinson ¶ 078: As such the user is depicted establishing through a calendar function the delivery date for the voice message and may through a similar pop-out dialog box enter the time. Absent an entry by the user the system may default to a predetermined time set by the messaging system or a default established by the user.; ¶ 051: supporting communications to and from electronic devices implementing temporally delayed messaging according to embodiments of the invention.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for predetermined time is a default time as taught by Lewinson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lewinson for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables messaging that processed multiple types of objects such as image objects, audio objects, and link objects. (Lewison ¶ 092; ¶ 051)
Regarding Claim 8, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 7.
Robb does not explicitly disclose type of message is a message that includes a respective image.
However, Lewinson discloses wherein the first type of message is a message that includes a respective image. (Lewinson ¶ 092: the creation of a video and / or image message or the incorporation of a video and / or image within a message may progress according to a process flow similar to those described above in respect of Figures 4 to 18 above. Accordingly, a user may be presented with the audiovisual (AV or A V) option as standard or as part of an extended message set according to a subscription level of the user. As depicted in first screen image 1900A the user may select the normal options in terms of sending alert(s), expecting reply(ies), and establishing the time / date for the delayed message to be sent. The user may select a voicemail, an image (photograph) and / or video to send. In second screen image 1900B the user has sent a message embedding a video which is timed for delivery at a later date / time.; ¶ 051: supporting communications to and from electronic devices implementing temporally delayed messaging according to embodiments of the invention.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for type of message is a message that includes a respective image as taught by Lewinson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lewinson for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables messaging that processed multiple types of objects such as image objects, audio objects, and link objects. (Lewison ¶ 092; ¶ 051)
Regarding Claim 9, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 7.
Robb does not explicitly disclose type of message is a message that includes a link to a respective source.
However, Lewinson discloses wherein the first type of message is a message that includes a link to a respective source. (Lewinson ¶ 074: The second formatted message 790B therefore contains the message and links to the URLs associated with the expected replies established by the sender. In step 765 the recipient upon reading the message either selects a URL link or closes the message without replying.; ¶ 051: supporting communications to and from electronic devices implementing temporally delayed messaging according to embodiments of the invention.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for type of message is a message that includes a link to a respective source as taught by Lewinson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lewinson for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables messaging that processed multiple types of objects such as image objects, audio objects, and link objects. (Lewison ¶ 092; ¶ 051)
Regarding Claim 10, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 7.
Robb does not explicitly disclose type of message is an audio message.
However, Lewinson discloses wherein the first type of message is an audio message. (Lewison ¶ 092: the creation of a video and / or image message or the incorporation of a video and / or image within a message may progress according to a process flow similar to those described above in respect of Figures 4 to 18 above. Accordingly, a user may be presented with the audiovisual (AV or A V) option as standard or as part of an extended message set according to a subscription level of the user. As depicted in first screen image 1900A the user may select the normal options in terms of sending alert(s), expecting reply(ies), and establishing the time / date for the delayed message to be sent. The user may select a voicemail, an image (photograph) and / or video to send. In second screen image 1900B the user has sent a message embedding a video which is timed for delivery at a later date / time.; ¶ 051: supporting communications to and from electronic devices implementing temporally delayed messaging according to embodiments of the invention.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for type of message is an audio message. as taught by Lewinson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lewinson for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables messaging that processed multiple types of objects such as image objects, audio objects, and link objects. (Lewison ¶ 092; ¶ 051)
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robb in view of Xu and further in view of Oksum et al. (US PGPUB No. 20080005250).
Regarding Claim 5, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for performing operations.
Robb does not explicitly disclose a selectable cancellation interface object that, when selected, causes deactivation of the delayed messaging mode.
However, Oksum discloses wherein while operating in the delayed messaging mode, displaying, in the messaging user interface and via the display generation component, a selectable cancellation interface object that, when selected, causes deactivation of the delayed messaging mode. (Oksum ¶ 014: It is an additional object of the invention to provide a messaging system which automatically reminds senders that delayed electronic mail messages are scheduled to be sent and gives the senders the opportunity to cancel or reschedule or amend the electronic mail messages any time before it is sent.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for a selectable cancellation interface object that, when selected, causes deactivation of the delayed messaging mode as taught by Oksum. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Oksum for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables a plurality of message processing commands such as a delayed messaging cancellation command. (Oksum ¶ 014)
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robb in view of Xu and further in view of Oksum and Coughlan et al. (US Patent No. 8,041,344).
Regarding Claim 6, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 5, the one or more programs further including instructions for performing operations.
Robb does not explicitly disclose for a) after composing the first message and the second message in the delayed messaging mode, receiving a second input corresponding to the selectable cancellation interface object, and for b) in response to receiving the second input, deactivating the delayed messaging mode.
However, Oksum discloses:
a) after composing the first message and the second message in the delayed messaging mode, receiving a second input corresponding to the selectable cancellation interface object; b) in response to receiving the second input, deactivating the delayed messaging mode. (Oksum ¶ 014: It is an additional object of the invention to provide a messaging system which automatically reminds senders that delayed electronic mail messages are scheduled to be sent and gives the senders the opportunity to cancel or reschedule or amend the electronic mail messages any time before it is sent.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for a) after composing the first message and the second message in the delayed messaging mode, receiving a second input corresponding to the selectable cancellation interface object, and for b) in response to receiving the second input, deactivating the delayed messaging mode as taught by Oksum. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Oksum for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables a plurality of message processing commands such as a delayed messaging cancellation command. (Oksum ¶ 014)
Robb does not explicitly disclose for c) while the delayed messaging mode is deactivated and while continuing to display the messaging user interface, composing a third message without delaying a transmission time of the third message (composing after determining delayed mode is not activated).
However, Coughlan discloses:
c) while the delayed messaging mode is deactivated and while continuing to display the messaging user interface, composing a third message without delaying a transmission time of the third message. (Coughlan col 7: The messaging system 140, performs a check to see if the delayed mode has been selected. Alternatively, whether or not the delay mode is selected, and with the cooperation of the physiological/message analysis module 150, the system can automatically manage the delaying of one or more message based on an impaired state of the sender. If the delay mode is not selected, or it is determined that the sender is not in an impaired condition, the messaging system, in cooperation with the memory 120 and controller 170, forwards the message as usual.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for c) while the delayed messaging mode is deactivated and while continuing to display the messaging user interface, composing a third message without delaying a transmission time of the third message (composing after determining delayed mode is not activated). as taught by Coughlan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Coughlan for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables messaging processing and further determining whether operating in delayed messaging mode or not operating in delayed messaging mode. (Coughlan page 7)
7. Claim 11-13, 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robb in view of Xu and further in view of Li et al. (US Patent No. 11,916,862).
Regarding Claim 11, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
a) while operating in the delayed messaging mode, displaying, in the messaging user interface and via the display generation component, a first selectable message composition object, (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (message composition objects; user inputs)) wherein:
the messaging user interface includes a first message;
composing the first message includes:
b) receiving, via the one or more input devices, a fourth input corresponding to the first selectable message composition object; and c) in response to receiving the fourth input, displaying, via the display generation component, the first message in the first message. (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (message composition objects; user inputs))
composing the second message includes:
d) receiving, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input corresponding to the first selectable message composition object; and e) in response to receiving the fifth input, displaying, via the display generation component, the second message in the first message. (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (message composition objects; user inputs))
Robb does not explicitly disclose the first message transcript, and for c) message transcript, and for e) message transcript.
However, Li discloses wherein the messaging user interface includes a first message transcript, and for c) message transcript, and for e) message transcript. (Li col 8: the audio/video component 118 can be configured to generate a transcript of the conversation, and can store the transcript in association with the audio and/or video data. The transcript can include a textual representation of the audio and/or video data. In at least one example, the audio/video component 118 can use known speech recognition techniques to generate the transcript. In some examples, the audio/video component 118 can generate the transcript concurrently or substantially concurrently with the conversation. That is, in some examples, the audio/video component 118 can be configured to generate a textual representation of the conversation while it is being conducted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb the first message transcript, and for c) message transcript, and for e) message transcript as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Li for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system the enables automatic conversion of messaging objects into text objects such as transcripts for easier management and manipulation of messaging objects. (Li col 8)
Regarding Claim 12, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 11, wherein: The first message transcript includes a first message section that includes one or more transmitted messages; and the first message and the second message are displayed in a first subsection of a second message section of the first message that is visually separated from the first message section of the first message transcript. (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (display screen divided into separate display areas))
Robb does not explicitly disclose the message transcript.
However, Li discloses wherein the first message transcript.
(Li col 8: the audio/video component 118 can be configured to generate a transcript of the conversation, and can store the transcript in association with the audio and/or video data. The transcript can include a textual representation of the audio and/or video data. In at least one example, the audio/video component 118 can use known speech recognition techniques to generate the transcript. In some examples, the audio/video component 118 can generate the transcript concurrently or substantially concurrently with the conversation. That is, in some examples, the audio/video component 118 can be configured to generate a textual representation of the conversation while it is being conducted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for the message transcript as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Li for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system the enables automatic conversion of messaging objects into text objects such as transcripts for easier management and manipulation of messaging objects. (Li col 8)
Regarding Claim 13, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 12, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
a) while the computer system is operating in the delayed messaging mode, composing a fifth message, wherein the fifth message is scheduled to be transmitted at a second predetermined time different from the first predetermined time; (Robb FIG. 4: ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (display User A and User B scheduled at different times)) and
b) in response to composing the fifth message, displaying, via the display generation component, the fifth message in a second subsection of the second message section that is visually separated from the first subsection of the second message section. (Robb FIG. 4: ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (first and second subsections: composing message and information associated with scheduled messages))
Regarding Claim 18, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1.
b) the first message includes third content that is received via the one or more input devices, (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (user input displayed with display section))
wherein receiving the third content includes:
c) receiving a sixth input corresponding to the first received message; (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (user input displayed within display section))
d) in response to receiving the sixth input, displaying, via the display generation component, a third message input field; and e) receiving a seventh input to prepare the third content in the third message input field. (Robb FIG. 3; FIG. 4; ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (user input displayed within display section))
Robb does not explicitly disclose for a) the messaging user interface includes a second message transcript with a first received message.
However, Li discloses wherein:
a) the messaging user interface includes a second message transcript with a first received message. (Li col 8: the audio/video component 118 can be configured to generate a transcript of the conversation, and can store the transcript in association with the audio and/or video data. The transcript can include a textual representation of the audio and/or video data. In at least one example, the audio/video component 118 can use known speech recognition techniques to generate the transcript. In some examples, the audio/video component 118 can generate the transcript concurrently or substantially concurrently with the conversation. That is, in some examples, the audio/video component 118 can be configured to generate a textual representation of the conversation while it is being conducted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for a) the messaging user interface includes a second message transcript with a first received message as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Li for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system the enables automatic conversion of messaging objects into text objects such as transcripts for easier management and manipulation of messaging objects. (Li col 8)
8. Claim 14 - 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robb in view of Xu and further in view of Coughlan et al. (US Patent No. 8,041,344).
Regarding Claim 14, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1.
Robb does not explicitly disclose message that includes content that is received while the computer system is not operating in the delayed messaging mode.
However, Coughlan discloses wherein the first message includes first content that is received while the computer system is not operating in the delayed messaging mode. (Coughlan page 7: The messaging system 140, performs a check to see if the delayed mode has been selected. Alternatively, whether or not the delay mode is selected, and with the cooperation of the physiological/message analysis module 150, the system can automatically manage the delaying of one or more message based on an impaired state of the sender. If the delay mode is not selected, or it is determined that the sender is not in an impaired condition, the messaging system, in cooperation with the memory 120 and controller 170, forwards the message as usual.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for message includes content that is received while the computer system is not operating in the delayed messaging mode as taught by Coughlan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Coughlan for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables messaging processing and further determining whether operating in delayed messaging mode or not operating in delayed messaging mode. (Coughlan page 7)
Regarding Claim 15, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1.
Robb does not explicitly disclose second content that is received while the computer system is operating in delayed messaging mode.
However, Coughlan discloses wherein the second message includes second content that is received while the computer system is operating in delayed messaging mode. (Coughlan page 7: The messaging system 140, performs a check to see if the delayed mode has been selected. Alternatively, whether or not the delay mode is selected, and with the cooperation of the physiological/message analysis module 150, the system can automatically manage the delaying of one or more message based on an impaired state of the sender. If the delay mode is not selected, or it is determined that the sender is not in an impaired condition, the messaging system, in cooperation with the memory 120 and controller 170, forwards the message as usual.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for second content that is received while the computer system is operating in delayed messaging mode as taught by Coughlan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Coughlan for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables messaging processing and further determining whether operating in delayed messaging mode or not operating in delayed messaging mode. (Coughlan page 7)
Regarding Claim 16, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein:
a) the messaging user interface includes a second message input field; (Robb FIG. 4: ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (message input section))
b) in accordance with a determination that the computer system is operating in the delayed messaging mode, the second message input field is displayed in a first visual style; (Robb FIG. 4: ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (display User A and User B scheduled at different times; (message input section)) and
c) the second message input field is displayed in a second visual style that is different from the first visual style. (Robb FIG. 4: ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (message input section: bold text, normal font text))
Robb does not explicitly disclose for c) in accordance with a determination that the computer system is not operating in the delayed messaging mode.
However, Coughlan discloses for c) in accordance with a determination that the computer system is not operating in the delayed messaging mode. (Coughlan page 7: The messaging system 140, performs a check to see if the delayed mode has been selected. Alternatively, whether or not the delay mode is selected, and with the cooperation of the physiological/message analysis module 150, the system can automatically manage the delaying of one or more message based on an impaired state of the sender. If the delay mode is not selected, or it is determined that the sender is not in an impaired condition, the messaging system, in cooperation with the memory 120 and controller 170, forwards the message as usual.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for in accordance with a determination that the computer system is not operating in the delayed messaging mode as taught by Coughlan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Coughlan for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables messaging processing and further determining whether operating in delayed messaging mode or not operating in delayed messaging mode. (Coughlan page 7)
Regarding Claim 17, Robb discloses the computer system of claim 16, wherein:
a) the second message input field includes a second selectable message composition object that is selectable to compose a respective message; (Robb FIG. 4: ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (display User A and User B scheduled at different times; (message input section))
b) the second selectable message composition object is presented in a third visual style; (Robb FIG. 4: ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (display User A and User B scheduled at different times; (message input section)) and
c) the second selectable message composition object is presented in a fourth visual style that is different than the third visual style. (Robb FIG. 4: ¶ 010: a computing environment surfacing a suggestion to delay the sending of an email message based on remote recipients (outside of a time zone threshold from a sending user) being outside of their core working hours during the drafting of the email by the sending user outside of the sending user's core working hours.; (message input section: bold text, normal font text))
Robb does not explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that the computer system is operating in the delayed messaging mode.
However, Coughlan discloses for b) in accordance with a determination that the computer system is operating in the delayed messaging mode; and for c) in accordance with a determination that the computer system is not operating in the delayed messaging mode. (Coughlan page 7: The messaging system 140, performs a check to see if the delayed mode has been selected. Alternatively, whether or not the delay mode is selected, and with the cooperation of the physiological/message analysis module 150, the system can automatically manage the delaying of one or more message based on an impaired state of the sender. If the delay mode is not selected, or it is determined that the sender is not in an impaired condition, the messaging system, in cooperation with the memory 120 and controller 170, forwards the message as usual.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Robb for in accordance with a determination that the computer system is not operating in the delayed messaging mode as taught by Coughlan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Coughlan for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables messaging processing and further determining whether operating in delayed messaging mode or not operating in delayed messaging mode. (Coughlan page 7)
Conclusion
/KYUNG H. SHIN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2447