DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 19/203157, filed on 05/08/2025.
As per the Preliminary Amendment filed on 05/15/2025 claims 1-6 are pending in this application; claims 1, 5, and 6 are independent.
Priority/Continuity
PCT Application No. PCT/JP2022/042443, filed on 11/15/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 05/16/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claims 1, 5, and 6, the claims recite the limitations, “IoT device,” without reciting the full meaning of the acronym “IoT” at least once.
Appropriate correction(s) is required.
Claim Interpretations
Claims 1-5 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim limitations in this application that use, if any, the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a request module,” “a creation module,” “a creation module,” “a transmission module,” with respect to claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, respectively, and “a setting module” and “a start request module,” with respect to claims 3 and, respectively.
A review of the specification shows that the paragraphs 0025-30, 34-38, and 45-47, of the specification discloses a limited description of the corresponding structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to the independent claim 1, the claim cites, in line 5, a term, “normal communication,” which is a relative term, and renders the claim indefinite. The term “normal communication” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim nor the specification captures scope of any “abnormal communication” either, for making a reasonable differentiation of “normal” opposite of “abnormal.”
For examination purpose, the Examiner interprets that with the term “normal communication,” the claim meant to cover a scope any form of non-malicious communication.
As to the independent claims 5 and 6, the claims are rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1.
As to the dependent claims 2-4, the claims are dependent on either claim 1, and therefore, inherit 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al (“Nomura et al,” US 2020/0374290, patented on 11/20/2020), in view of Kuramoto et al (“Kuramoto,” WO2021/186810, published on 09/23/2021, for mapping purpose, used US 2023/0155918, as an English Translation version, filed on 09/06/2022, with respect to PCT filling PCT/JP2020/046061).
As to claim 1, Nomura teaches a communication control system comprising a gateway and an IoT device connected to the gateway (Nomura: pars 0007, 0021-0024, a system and method for network configuration and controlling management. Where, a number of IoT devices are connected to a IoT gateway), wherein the gateway includes:
from the IoT device, information regarding normal communication performed by the IoT device (Nomura: pars 0007, 0021-0024, the IoT gateway device periodically collect the information on the IoT devices); and
a creation module configured to create a whitelist in which details of communication permitted for each IoT device are designated on a basis of the information regarding normal communication performed by the IoT device, which is transmitted from the IoT device (Nomura: pars 0007, 0021-0024, 0036, 0070-0071, a creation apparatus [i.e., creation module], separately connected with the gateway over the network or mounted into the gateway. Where the creation apparatus creates whitelist applied to the respective IoT gateways with the collected information on IoT devices that are connected with the gateway. Where the white lists serving to specify communication contents permitted for the respective IoT devices), and
the IoT device includes [ ] to transmit the information regarding normal communication performed by the IoT device to the gateway (Nomura: pars 0007, 0021-0024, the IoT gateway device periodically collect the information on the IoT devices).
Nomura does not explicitly teach a request module configured to request, and the IoT device includes a transmission module configured to transmit, in response to a request from the request module.
However, in an analogous art, Kuramoto teaches a request module configured to request, and the IoT device includes a transmission module configured to transmit, in response to a request from the request module (Kuramoto: pars 0073-0075, a device identifier acquisition unit that acquires the device identifier of a first device from the communication between the first device connected to the first gateway device using a port-PU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuramoto with the method/system of Nomura to include the limitation(s), a request module configured to request, and the IoT device includes a transmission module configured to transmit, in response to a request from the request module, where one would have been motivated for the benefit of collecting information on IoT devices that are connected with the gateway using appropriated hardware and configuration for the transmission/communication (Kuramoto: pars 0073-0075).
As to claim 2, the combination of Nomura and Kuramoto teaches the communication control system according to claim 1,
Nomura and Kuramoto further teaches wherein the request module requests a Network Secure Transparency Object (NSTO) as the information regarding normal communication performed by the IoT device (Nomura: pars 0007, 0051, 0057, 0063, the IoT device information that is collected includes, device identifier, port identifier, IP address or MAC address for IP, etc. [i.e. NSTO information]).
As to claim 3, the combination of Nomura and Kuramoto teaches the communication control system according to claim 1,
Nomura and Kuramoto further teaches wherein the gateway further includes a setting module configured to set the whitelist created by the creation module (Nomura: pars 0007, 0021-0024, 0036, 0070-0071, the IoT devicesare connected to the IoT gateways, the respective IoT gateways enable access control using the white list information on the IoT device. An extraction unit that extracts white lists of IoT devices that satisfies a prescribed condition related to the number of the IoT devices).
As to claim 4, the combination of Nomura and Kuramoto teaches the communication control system according to claim 1,
Kuramoto further teaches wherein the IoT device further includes a start request module configured to request the gateway to start communication, and the request module receives a request to start communication from the start request module and requests, from the IoT device, the information regarding normal communication performed by the IoT device (Kuramoto: pars 0057, 0073-0075, the device identifier acquisition unit that acquires the device identifier of a first device during the communication process between the first device connected to the first gateway device using a port-PU. The communication process relays data from the device 10 connected to the first gateway device).
As to claim 5, Nomura teaches a gateway (Nomura: pars 0007, 0021-0024, a system and method for network configuration and controlling management. Where, a number of IoT devices are connected to a IoT gateway) comprising:
from an IoT device, information regarding normal communication performed by the IoT device (Nomura: pars 0007, 0021-0024, the IoT gateway device periodically collect the information on the IoT devices); and
a creation module configured to create a whitelist in which details of communication permitted for each IoT device are designated on a basis of the information regarding normal communication performed by the IoT device, which is transmitted from the IoT device (Nomura: pars 0007, 0021-0024, 0036, 0070-0071, a creation apparatus [i.e., creation module], separately connected with the gateway over the network or mounted into the gateway. Where the creation apparatus creates whitelist applied to the respective IoT gateways with the collected information on IoT devices that are connected with the gateway. Where the white lists serving to specify communication contents permitted for the respective IoT devices).
Nomura does not explicitly teach a request module configured to request.
However, in an analogous art, Kuramoto teaches a request module configured to request (Kuramoto: pars 0073-0075, a device identifier acquisition unit that acquires the device identifier of a first device from the communication between the first device connected to the first gateway device using a port-PU)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuramoto with the method/system of Nomura to include the limitation(s), a request module configured to request, where one would have been motivated for the benefit of collecting information on IoT devices that are connected with the gateway using appropriated hardware and configuration for the transmission/communication (Kuramoto: pars 0073-0075).
As to claim 6, the claim is directed to a method, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the system claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Luu Pham can be reached on (571) 270-5002. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAHANGIR KABIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439