DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 02/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an insulation means is formed with an insulating resin-based material to include a partial air gap in claim 1.
Because this claim limitation is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 1 recites the limitation "the thermoelectric legs" in lines 3 and 4, however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-7 are rejected due to their respective dependence on claim 1.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 4 recites the limitation "the support structure" in line 2, however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 5-7 are rejected due to their respective dependence on claim 4.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the pod is formed with a wider cross-sectional area as going from a hot side to a cold side,” however, the limitation “formed with a wider cross-sectional area” is unclear because the claim does not define another structure or cross-sectional area to which the limitation “the pod is formed with a wider cross-sectional area” is compared. Claims 5-7 are rejected due to their respective dependence on claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0110266) in view of Satoh et al. (US 2020/0161525).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a thermoelectric device module (abstract) comprising: an insulation means surrounding the thermoelectric device ([0039] discloses absorbent material surrounding the TEMs), wherein the insulation means is formed with an insulating resin-based material ([0052] discloses a hydrogel) to include to a partial air gap ([0039] discloses perforations; [0052] discloses a spacer mesh).
While Lee does disclose a thermoelectric device module (abstract), Lee does not explicitly disclose the thermoelectric device module comprises at least one or more n-type and p-type thermal legs, and a conductor for electrically connecting the thermoelectric legs.
Satoh discloses a thermoelectric device module and further discloses the thermoelectric device module comprises n-type and p-type thermal legs ([0037]), and a conductor for electrically connecting the thermoelectric legs ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the thermoelectric device of Lee with n-type and p-type thermal legs and a conductor for electrically connecting the thermoelectric legs, as disclosed by Satoh, because as evidenced by Lee, the use of electrically connected n-type and p-type legs to form a thermoelectric device amounts to the use of known components in the art for their intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the thermoelectric devices of Lee with electrically connected n-type and p-type legs based on the teaching of Satoh.
Modified Lee discloses the thermoelectric device module comprises an insulation means surrounding the thermoelectric legs (Lee – [0039]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lee further discloses the insulation means is formed of a metastructure (Lee – [0039], the disclosed absorbent material satisfies the limitation “metastructure”) having a negative Poisson’s ratio (Lee – [0089] and [0115] disclose an auxetic pattern).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lee further discloses the insulation means is provided with a pod (Lee – 1614 in Fig. 16B).
With regard to the limitation “to supplement the support structure,” the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Regarding claim 5, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Lee does not explicitly disclose the pod is an inverted triangle shape with an apex facing the hot side, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the pod of modified Lee as an inverted triangle shape with an apex facing the hot side because such a modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lee further discloses the pod protrudes from an edge of a partial air gap formed in a metastructure (Lee – 1614 protrudes from an edge of 1612 in Fig. 16B; as depicted in Fig. 2, 1614 in Fig. 16B necessarily protrudes from an edge of air gaps (Lee – [0039], [0052]) in the absorbent material metastructure depicted as 218 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Lee depicts a plurality of pods are provided (Lee – 1614 in Fig. 16B; [0067], [0068]), modified Lee does not explicitly disclose two or more but not more than four pods are provided.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide between two and four pods in the apparatus of modified Lee because as taught by Lee, the number and pattern of mating structures 1614 are exemplary only, and it is contemplated herein that other patterns and numbers of mating structures 1614 may be used ([0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726